DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This office action is responsive to the Application No.:18/787,408 filed on 07/29/2024.
Claims 1-23 are pending and presented for examination.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Examiner Remarks
In the spirit of compact prosecution, Applicant is requested to contact the Examiner for an interview to discuss the inventive concepts of the instant application. Applicant may optionally amend the claims to further direct the claims toward a particular inventive concept described in the specification without an interview.
Additionally, the prior art rejection (if applicable) cites particular paragraphs, columns, and/or line numbers in the references for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 15 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 23 recites “the designated locations.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation and therefore, this claim is rendered as indefinite.
Claim 15 recites “the provision of the payload.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation and therefore, this claim is rendered as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, US 20250104379 in view of Martel, US 20180070126.
Claim 1:
Liu discloses a system (See Liu Abstract & Summary of the Invention) but failed to disclose sequence numbers. Martel discloses this feature in paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Liu by the teachings of Martel to enable improved management of media streams, more effectively (See Martel Abstract).
As modified:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses the following:
a data processing unit (DPU) to (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085);
receive image data associated with captured images (See Liu Figure 4; Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) of at least one media stream (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164), the image data comprising payload and headers (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108), the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) further to
separate the headers from the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108), to provide sequence numbers (See Martel Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016) for the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) to represent only image sections of the images (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108), and to
provide only the image sections in a shared buffer (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048) for access by a graphics processing unit (GPU) to enable the GPU to process the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) representing only the image sections using the sequence numbers (See Martel Paragraphs 0013; 0015-00161).
Claim 2:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses an image sensor to capture the images (See Liu Paragraph 0029); and a field programmable gate array (FPGA) (See Liu Paragraph 0177) to receive the images (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) and to provide the image data as concurrent media streams of the at least one media stream (See Liu Paragraph 0032; 0062; 0164).
Claim 3:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses wherein the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) is further to store the headers for the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) of a first one of the concurrent media stream (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164) and additional headers for additional payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) of a second one of the concurrent media streams (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164) in different ones of a plurality of buffers that are distinct from the shared buffer (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048), wherein the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) is further to arrange the payload and the additional payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108), belonging to the image sections and to additional image sections of the images (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108), in contiguous ones of the designated locations of the shared buffer (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048), and wherein the arrangement of the payload and the additional payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) enables the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085) to stitch the image sections and the additional image sections (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) together for use by at least one application (See Liu Paragraph 0044; 0050) or for further processing by the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085).
Claim 4:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses wherein the shared buffer (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048) is local to the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085) and wherein the plurality of buffers (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048) are local to a central processing unit (CPU) (See Liu Paragraph 0051) of a host machine (See Liu Paragraph 0071) or the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085).
Claim 5:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses wherein the shared buffer (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048) is on a GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085) card which comprises the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085) and wherein the plurality of buffers are in the host machine (See Liu Paragraph 0071) or the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085).
Claim 6:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses wherein the shared buffer (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048) is on an accelerator card or a converged card (See Liu Paragraph 0055) which comprises the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085) and the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) and wherein the plurality of buffers (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048) are in the host machine (See Liu Paragraph 0071) or the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085).
Claim 7:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses wherein the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) is further to discard other payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) that are other than the image sections following the arrangement of the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) representing only the image sections for the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085).
Claim 8:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses wherein the image sensor (See Liu Paragraph 0029) comprises a multi-array sensor (See Liu Paragraph 0029), and wherein different sensors (See Liu Paragraph 0029) of the multi-array sensor (See Liu Paragraph 0029) provide different and concurrent media streams of the at least one media stream (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164).
Claim 9:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses wherein the image sensor (See Liu Paragraph 0029) is further to communicate concurrent media streams (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164) of the at least one media stream (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164) to the FPGA (See Liu Paragraph 0177), and wherein the concurrent media streams (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164) are associated with different User Datagram Protocol (UDP) ports of the FPGA (See Liu Paragraph 0177).
Claim 10:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses wherein the at least one media stream includes two media streams (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164), wherein the headers (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) are associated with a first one of the two media streams (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164) and are provided in a first buffer (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048) for access by a host machine (See Liu Paragraph 0071) comprising a central processing unit (CPU) (See Liu Paragraph 0051), wherein additional headers (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) are associated with a second one of the two media streams (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164), and wherein the additional headers (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) are provided for in a second buffer for separate access (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048), relative to the headers (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) associated with the first one of the two media streams (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164), by the host machine (See Liu Paragraph 0071).
Claim 11:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses wherein the CPU (See Liu Paragraph 0051) or the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085) is to use information from an application (See Liu Paragraph 0044; 0050) to inform the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) of the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) representing only the image sections of the images (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) to be provided by the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) to the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085).
Claim 12:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses wherein the at least one media stream includes two media streams (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164), wherein the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) are associated with a first one of the two media streams (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164), representing only the image sections of the first one of the two media streams (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164), and are provided in the shared buffer (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048) for access by the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085), and wherein additional payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) are associated with a second one of the two media streams (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164), representing only additional image sections of the second one of the two media streams (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164), and are provided in the shared buffer (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048) or a different buffer for contiguous access (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048), with the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) associated with the first one of the two media streams (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164), by the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085).
Claim 13:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses a central processing unit (CPU) (See Liu Paragraph 0051) of a host machine (See Liu Paragraph 0071), the CPU to use information from an application (See Liu Paragraph 0044; 0050) to cause the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085) to process the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) representing only the image sections of the images (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108).
Claim 14:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses wherein the headers (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) are received for local access using a central processing unit (CPU) of a host machine (See Liu Paragraphs 0051; 0071), wherein the CPU enables the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) to provide the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) representing only the image sections for local access by the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085), and wherein the CPU enables the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085) to process the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) representing only the image sections based in part on the sequence numbers (See Martel Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016).
Claim 15:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses wherein the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) is to control the provision of the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) over a stream bit rate and burst size (See Liu Paragraphs 0105; 0164) which are associated with predictable workloads at a known consumption rate for the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085).
Claim 16:
Liu discloses a plurality of circuits (See Liu Abstract & Summary of the Invention) but failed to disclose sequence numbers. Martel discloses this feature in paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Liu by the teachings of Martel to enable improved management of media streams, more effectively (See Martel Abstract).
As modified:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses the following:
at least a data processing unit (DPU) (See Liu Figure 4; Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) to
receive image data associated with captured images (See Liu Figure 4; Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) of at least one media stream (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164), the image data comprising payload and headers (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108),
the DPU (See Liu Figure 4; Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) further to separate the headers from the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108),
to provide sequence numbers (See Martel Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016) for the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) to represent only image sections of the images (See Liu Figure 4; Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085),
and to provide only the image sections in a shared buffer (See Martell Paragraph 0013) for access by a graphics processing unit (GPU) to enable the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085) to process the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) representing only the image sections (See Liu Figure 4; Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) using the sequence numbers (See Martel Paragraphs 0013; 0015-00162).
Claim 17:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses an image sensor (See Liu Paragraph 0029) to capture the images (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108), the image sensor (See Liu Paragraph 0029) comprising a multi-array sensor (See Liu Paragraph 0029), wherein different sensors of the multi-array sensor (See Liu Paragraph 0029) provide different and concurrent media streams of the at least one media stream (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164); and a field programmable gate array (FPGA) (See Liu Paragraph 0177) to receive the images (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) and to provide the image data as the different and concurrent media streams of the at least one media stream (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164).
Claim 18:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses wherein the shared buffer (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048) is one of: local to the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085), on a GPU card which comprises the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085), or on an accelerator card or a converged card (See Liu Paragraph 0055) which comprises the GPU and the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085).
Claim 19:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses wherein the headers (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) are to be stored in a first one of a plurality of buffers (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048), wherein the plurality of buffers are distinct from the shared buffers (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048) and are local to a central processing unit (CPU) of a host machine (See Liu Paragraphs 0051; 0071) or the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) or are in the host machine (See Liu Paragraph 0071) or the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085), wherein the headers are for the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) of a first one of concurrent media streams of the at least one media stream (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164), and wherein additional headers for additional payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) of a second one of the concurrent media streams (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164) are in second one of a plurality of buffers (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048).
Claim 20:
Liu discloses a method for image processing (See Liu Abstract & Summary of the Invention) but failed to disclose sequence numbers. Martel discloses this feature in paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Liu by the teachings of Martel to enable improved management of media streams, more effectively (See Martel Abstract).
As modified:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses the following:
receiving, in a data processing unit (DPU) image data (See Liu Figure 4; Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) associated with captured images of at least one media stream (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164), the image data comprising payload and headers (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108),
separating, by the DPU (See Liu Figure 4; Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085), the headers from the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108);
providing sequence numbers (See Martel Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016) for the payload to represent only image sections of the images (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108);
and providing only the image sections in a shared buffer (See Martell Paragraph 0013) for access by a graphics processing unit (GPU) to enable the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085) to process the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) representing only the image sections using the sequence numbers (See Martel Paragraphs 0013; 0015-00163).
Claim 21:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses capturing the images (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) using an image sensor (See Liu Paragraph 0029), the image sensor (See Liu Paragraph 0029) comprising a multi-array sensor (See Liu Paragraph 0029), and wherein different sensors of the multi-array sensor (See Liu Paragraph 0029) provide different and concurrent media streams of the at least one media stream (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164); receiving the images (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) in a field programmable gate array (FPGA) (See Liu Paragraph 0177); and providing, from the FPGA (See Liu Paragraph 0177), the image data as the different and concurrent media streams of the at least one media stream (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164).
Claim 22:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses wherein the shared buffer (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048) is one of: local to the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085), on a GPU card which comprises the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085), or on an accelerator card or a converged card (See Liu Paragraph 0055) which comprises the GPU and the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085).
Claim 23:
The combination of Liu and Martel discloses storing, by the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085), the headers for the payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) of a first one of the concurrent media stream (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164) and additional headers for additional payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108) of a second one of the concurrent media streams (See Liu Paragraphs 0032; 0062; 0164) in different ones of a plurality of buffers (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048) that are distinct from the shared buffer (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048); arranging, by the DPU (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) the payload and the additional payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108), belonging to the image sections and to additional image sections of the images (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108), in contiguous ones of the designated locations of the shared buffer (See Martell Paragraphs 0013; 0015-0016; 0043; 0048); and enabling, using the arrangement of the payload and the additional payload (See Liu Paragraphs 0105-0108), the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085) to stitch the image sections and the additional image sections (See Liu Figure 4 Paragraphs 0079; 0084-0085) together for use by at least one application (See Liu Paragraph 0044; 0050) or for further processing by the GPU (See Liu Paragraphs 0083-0085).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20140139513 relates generally to methods and apparatus for enhanced processing of 3D graphics data.
Contact Information
/SHEREE N BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612 February 13, 2026
1 Martell’s Paragraph 0015 recites “a single shared media stream buffer having at least a pair of separate memory banks according to the determined sequence number indexes.”
2 Martell’s Paragraph 0015 recites “a single shared media stream buffer having at least a pair of separate memory banks according to the determined sequence number indexes.”
3 Martell’s Paragraph 0015 recites “a single shared media stream buffer having at least a pair of separate memory banks according to the determined sequence number indexes.”