CTNF 18/787,410 CTNF 99664 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority The instant application is a Continuation of PCT/CN2023/072659, filed 01/17/2023. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 07/29/2024, 03/20/2025 and 03/26/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07 AIA 07-07-aia The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 3- 6, 8-10, 12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Yin et al. (information disclosure 07/29/204 US20110310855A1 ) hereinafter “Yin” . Regarding Claim 1, Yin discloses, ‘A wireless communication method, comprising: transmitting, by a communication device, control information on a shared channel using one or more transmission layers, wherein the control information is transmitted on the shared channel using one or more transport blocks or one or more codewords, wherein the control information is multiplexed on the shared channel based on a type of the control information, wherein a number of transport blocks or a number of codewords is based on at least one of: a total number of the one or more transmission layers, or a first message received from a network device, and wherein an uplink transmission is associated with the shared channel.’ ( A terminal transmits UCI by multiplexing the UCI one or more code words i.e. tbs . Each codewords on one or multiple layers 1129 [0111]; A method for multiplexing UCI on a PUSCH. The UCI referred to as control data [0096]. The mapping of the control information is performed in two different ways depends on the type of control information [0047]. In FIG. 14, the different types of UCI multiplexed on different layers 1329. The mixed coded CQI/PMI 1317 may be mapped from a Layer 1 1329 a. The data block base for the mixed coded CQI/PMI 1321 may be directly below the mapped mixed coded CQI/PMI 1317 on Layer 1 1329 b. The mixed coded RI may be mapped from the bottom up on the required column of Layer1 [0121]. The UCI multiplexing with two code words for four layers in Fig. 17; the UCI multiplexing with two codewords for two layers in Fig. 15 and Fig. 18. ) Regarding Claim 3, ‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above), Yin discloses, ‘wherein the control information is multiplexed on one transport block for all types of the control information.’ (In Fig. 2 illustrates multiplex control information. Arrives at a rate of one tbs every TTI and bits are computed then the tbs segmented into code blocks [0045]. And, in Fig. 5 and Fig. 6. ) Regarding Claim 4, ‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above), Yin discloses, ‘wherein the control information is multiplexed on the shared channel by determining one set of coded bits for control information to be transmitted on the shared channel, wherein the one set of coded bits are determined based on bits of the control information.’ (determination of the set of coded bits, code block segmentation[Wingdings font/0xE0] channel coding[Wingdings font/0xE0] rate matching [Wingdings font/0xE0] code block concatenated to coded user and control info in Fig. 2 and in Fig. 3 determination of the type/length control info of bits. And, multiplexed control information for channel/precoding, uses the coded bits of the control information to Q-set denoted qo, q1, q2,…and the coded bits of UL-SCH to output the multiplexed operation [0048]. ) Regarding Claim 5, ‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above), Yin discloses, ‘wherein the control information is multiplexed on the shared channel by determining a number of coded modulation symbols for the control information in a transmission layer of a transport block onto which the control information is multiplexed.’ (the determination of the number of coded modulation symbol, the output of data/control multiplex operation and derive H=(G+Q CQI ) is the total number of bits on UL-SCH and H′=H/Q m is the total number of symbols with modulation order of Q m (e.g., Q m =2 for QPSK, Q m =6 for 16QAM and where g i , i=H′−1 are column vectors of length Q m ). H is the total number of coded bits allocated for UL-SCH data and CQI/PMI information. In Fig. 3, a method of encoding and multiplexing performed by an encoder on a BS/terminal. The determination of modulation scheme [0050]. ) Regarding Claim 6, ‘The method of claim 5’ (disclosed above), Yin discloses, ‘wherein the number of coded modulation symbols is determined to be one of the following or a minimum number of more than one of the following: a value based on a scaling factor, and a total number of resource elements or a total number of subcarriers to be used for the transmitting the control information in all or specific orthogonal frequency division multiplex (OFDM) symbols’ (A scale factor used to estimate channel by the modulation scheme [0099, 0113]. In Fig. 6, the terminal uses mixed coding. The coded control data 662 indicated by the repetition scaler and a mixed scalar k. And, the mixed scalar k determined based on pre-determined algorithm as mcs setting, resource allocation of offset, β-offset [0073]. The coded symbol that is the OFDM symbol. All the symbols-mapped to the PUSCH in modulation order by the modulation and coding scheme [0105]. ); And discloses, ‘a number of coded modulation symbols for the control information with a different type in the transmission layer’ ( the determination of the mixing scalar, k, may be based on a pre-defined algorithm from other parameters, such as MCS setting, type/size of control information, resource allocation offset (β-offset)’ (mcs setting [0053]); And discloses, ‘a value based on a number of bits of the control information, a number of a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits for the control information, an offset value, a sum of code block size for a corresponding or both uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) transport block of the shared channel transmission and a total number of resource elements or a total number of subcarriers to be used for the transmitting the control information in all OFDM symbols of a corresponding transport block or both transport blocks’ (In Fig. 2 the CRC included in the transport block [0045]. Code block segmentation and the CRC to perform the channel coding. Determination of data block from the mcs and the type/length of control information to calculate the resource allocation in Fig. 3); ‘a value based on the number of bits of the control information, the number of CRC bits for the control information, the offset value, a code rate of each of two transport blocks of the shared channel and a modulation order of each of the two transport blocks of the shared channel’; or ‘a value based on the number of bits of the control information, the number of CRC bits for the control information, the offset value, the code rate of the corresponding transport block of the shared channel and the modulation order of the corresponding transport block of the shared channel.’ Regarding Claim 8, ‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above), Yin discloses, ‘wherein each codeword is mapped to a corresponding transport block.’ (transport block segmented into one/more code blocks [0045]. The UCI on one/multiple codewords i.e. tbs [0111]. ) Regarding Claim 9, ‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above), Yin discloses, ‘wherein the first message indicates that the transmitting or the receiving of the control information on the shared channel is with more than four transmission layers.’ (The terminal transmit the UCI by multiplexing the UCI on one/multiple codewords i.e. tbs. Each codewords on one/multiple layers. the UCI multiplexing method of FIG. 10 on each layer 1129 that allows UCI multiplexing [0111-0112]. The UCI multiplexing on four layers in Fig. 17. ) Regarding Claim 10, ‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above), Yin discloses, ‘further comprising: receiving, by the communication device, a message indicative of disabling uplink transmission with two codewords, wherein the communication device determines a mapping of a codeword to a transmission layer based on a codeword-to-layer mapping rule for the number of codeword being equal to 1.’ (mapped coded-control information [Wingdings font/0xE0] PUSCH [Wingdings font/0xE0] one/more layers. One/more codeword mapped-to-layers [0096] and in Fig. 9 and Fig. 10.) Regarding Claim 12, Similar to method Claim 1, ‘A wireless communication method, comprising: receiving, by a network device, control information on a shared channel on one or more transmission layers from a communication device, wherein the control information is received on the shared channel using one or more transport blocks or one or more codewords, wherein the control information is multiplexed on the shared channel based a type of the control information, wherein a number of transport blocks or a number of codewords is based on at least one of: a total number of the one or more transmission layers, or a first message transmitted by the network device, and wherein an uplink transmission is associated with the shared channel.’ (Fig. 2 illustrates method for coding and multiplexing performed by a BS/terminal [0045].) Regarding Claim 15, ‘The method of claim 12’ (disclosed above), Similar to method Claim 8, ‘wherein each codeword is mapped to a corresponding transport block.’ Regarding Claim 16, ‘The method of claim 12’ (disclosed above), Similar to method Claim 9, ‘wherein the first message indicates that the transmitting or the receiving of the control information on the shared channel is with more than four transmission layers.’ Regarding Claim 17, Similar to method Claim 1 only inclusion of devices, processor in Fig. 19, ‘A communication device for wireless communication comprising one or more processors, configured to cause the communication device to: transmit control information on a shared channel using one or more transmission layers, wherein the control information is transmitted on the shared channel using one or more transport blocks or one or more codewords, wherein the control information is multiplexed on the shared channel based on a type of the control information, wherein a number of transport blocks or a number of codewords is based on at least one of: a total number of the one or more transmission layers, or a first message received from a network device, and wherein an uplink transmission is associated with the shared channel’ Regarding Claim 18, ‘The communication device of claim 1’ (disclosed above), Similar to method Claim 2, ‘wherein a payload of an indication field for a second transport block is zero in a downlink control information (DCI) corresponding to an uplink transmission in response to a determination of an absence of a reception of a first message, a configured maximum number of transmission layers or rank of the uplink transmission being not greater than a specific value.’ Regarding Claim 19, Similar to method Claim 12 only inclusion processor at NW device in Fig. 19 [0139-0140], ‘A network device for wireless communication comprising one or more processors, configured to cause the network device to: receive control information on a shared channel on one or more transmission layers from a communication device, wherein the control information is received on the shared channel using one or more transport blocks or one or more codewords, wherein the control information is multiplexed on the shared channel based a type of the control information, wherein a number of transport blocks or a number of codewords is based on at least one of: a total number of the one or more transmission layers, or a first message transmitted by the network device, and wherein an uplink transmission is associated with the shared channel.’ Regarding Claim 20, ‘The network device of claim 19’ (disclosed above), Similar to method Claim 13, ‘wherein a payload of an indication field for a second transport block is zero in a downlink control information (DCI) corresponding to an uplink transmission in response to an absence of a transmission of a first message, a configured maximum number of transmission layers or rank of the uplink transmission being not greater than a specific value.’ Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: • Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. • Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. • Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. • Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating • obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 7, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. in view of et al. (US-20230139269-A1) hereinafter “Ebrahim” . Regarding Claim 2, ‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above), Yin discloses, ‘an uplink transmission in response to determining an absence of a reception of a first message, a configured maximum number of transmission layers or rank of the uplink transmission being not greater than a specific value.’ (A number of symbols required for coding computed based on k*β-offset. And, the coded map to CQI/PMI and layer to a slot. A first/second CW mapped to a first/second layer. A coded ACK/NACK may be mapped on both the first codeword and the second codeword [0035]. The coded ACK/NACK and coded RI mapped to layer and table 1. The UCI multiplexed to the layers [0115-0118] and in Fig. 10, 12. The UCI multiplexing on two/four/multiple layers layer [0128] and in Fig. 15 and Fig. 17.) And didn’t disclose, ‘wherein a payload of an indication field for a second transport block is zero in a downlink control information (DCI) corresponding to’ the UL-transmission and the UCI, Ebrahim in the relevant art discloses, when a terminal receives a PDSCH with one tb and the value of max-no-of-codewords-scheduled-by-DCI, the harq-ack info associated with the first-tb and the terminal generates a NACK for the second-tb if harq- ACK-Spatial-Bundle-PUCCH is not provided and generates HARQ-ACK information with value of ACK for the second-tb if harq-ACK-Spatial-Bundle-PUCCH is provided [0192]. Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Yin and to include with that of Ebrahim to come up with the claim invention, Yin motive to use MIMO system to provide improved performance if the additional dimensionalities created by the multiple transmit/receive antenna utilized. Uses wireless link transmission includes uplink and downlink [0040]. In Fig. 2, transport block [Wingdings font/0xE0] code block segmentation [Wingdings font/0xE0] channel coding [Wingdings font/0xE0] rate matching [Wingdings font/0xE0] code block concatenate and channel coding [Wingdings font/0xE0] multiplex in Fig. 2 and provides the code block size [0045]. Discloses the mcs setting to identify the tbs index used to determine the PUSCH data block size [0099] to transmit UCI by the terminal and the UCI multiplexing uses one/multiple cw/tb [0111]. And, motive of Yin complements by max number of UCI information bits the terminal can transmit provided by max-payload-size [0226] that can improve the rate matching in UCI, Yin [0046] and Ebrahim [0145]. Regarding Claim 7, ‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above), Yin discloses, ‘wherein the control information includes hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information, And wherein the control information includes uplink control information (UCI), and wherein the shared channel includes a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).’ (the control/fata multiplexing performed includes harq-ack in the slots [0046-0047]. A method of multiplex UCI on a PUSCH comprises coding control/data, mapped the coded control data to a PUSCH, disclosure Claim 1.) And didn’t disclose the control information includes ‘scheduling request (SR), link recovery request (LRR), channel state information (CSI) part 1, or CSI part 2’, Ebrahim in the relevant art discloses, if a terminal multiplexes harq-ack in a PUSCH transmission, the terminal generates harq-ack codebook [0211]. UCI types reported in a PUCCH includes harq-ack, SR, LRR and CSI bits [0211-0212]. Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Yin and to include with that of Ebrahim to come up with the claim invention, Motive would be identical to improve the rate matching in UCI multiplexing. Additional motive to improve/increase the control data performance while decoding/recovery procedure [0087, 0103, 0104]. This would complemented by using parameters SR, LRR and the CSI to increase more reliability and data rates, Ebrahim [0110]. Regarding Claim 13, ‘The method of claim 12’ (disclosed above), Similar to method Claim 2, ‘wherein a payload of an indication field for a second transport block is zero in a downlink control information (DCI) corresponding to an uplink transmission in response to an absence of a transmission of a first message, a configured maximum number of transmission layers or rank of the uplink transmission being not greater than a specific value.’ Regarding Claim 14, ‘The method of claim 12’ (disclosed above), Similar to method Claim 7, ‘wherein the control information is multiplexed on one transport block for all types of the control information, wherein the control information includes hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information, scheduling request (SR), link recovery request (LRR), channel state information (CSI) part 1, or CSI part 2, and wherein the control information includes uplink control information (UCI), and wherein the shared channel includes a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).’ Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. in view of et al. (US-20120207111-A1) hereinafter “Jhang”. Regarding Claim 11, ‘The method of claim 3’ (disclosed above), Yin discloses, ‘wherein the one transport block for multiplexing the control information has a highest modulation and coding scheme value from among a plurality of transport blocks’ ( the channel condition can be estimated by the mcs setting and decides the tbs includes tbs index . The higher the MCS value represents better channel quality [0099]. The terminal transmits the UCI multiplex one/more codewords i.e. tbs; each codeword one/multiple layers [0111]), And didn’t disclose, ‘wherein the one transport block is from two transport blocks, and wherein the one transport block for multiplexing the control information is a first transport block in response to the two transport blocks having same modulation and coding scheme value.’ Jang in the relevant art discloses, first tb from the two tb includes higher mcs and have same mcs, disclosure Claim 1 to 5. Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Yin and to include with that of Jang to come up with the claim invention, Yin motive to improve the performance uses MIMO [0040], estimate channel condition/quality by higher MCS value and the rate matching [0099] and maximize the performance gain [0086]. Complemented by Jang, higher MCS level from the two tbs [0023]. Conclusion 07-96 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: 5G; NR; User Equipment (UE) radio access capabilities (3GPP TS 38.306 version 16.11.0 Release 16) NR; User Equipment (UE) radio access capabilities (Year: 2023); codebook-Parameters, page-36; maxMIMO-LayersForMulti-DCI-mTRP-r16, page-40; maxLayersMIMO-Adaptation-r16, page-98. 5G; NR; Physical layer procedures for control (3GPP TS 38.213 version 16.12.0 Release 16) NR; Physical layer procedures for control (Year: 2023). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466 /CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 2 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 3 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 4 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 5 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 6 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 7 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 8 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 9 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 10 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 11 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 12 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 13 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 14 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 15 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 16 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 17 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 18 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/787,410 Page 19 Art Unit: 2466