DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230006531 A1 (Pormerantz et al.).
Regarding claim 1:
Pomerantz discloses a system for lidar (See abstract) comprising:
a rotor (Fig. 18, rotor [11]) arranged to rotate about a pivot (Fig. 18 showing rotational axis about a pivot.) using one or more bearings (The bearing is not shown for fig. 18. See fig. 9 showing a similar rotor is a pivot and bearings.), the rotor comprising:
a body encircling the pivot; (The body is not shown for the embodiment in fig. 18, see fig. 22B showing a similar embodiment with rotor [111] having a body for encircling a pivot.)
a mirror support extending from the body (Fig. 18, mirror [10] shown attached to rotate with the rotation of rotor [11].); and
a leg extending from the body (Fig. 18 showing a leg of rotor [11] for attaching magnet [12]);
a mirror [10] coupled with the rotor [11] at the mirror support and arranged to reflect light emitted from a laser (Fig. 18 light labeled [LASER]);
a motor arranged to apply a force to the rotor; (Para. [0302] the system includes an actuator to move the rotor. An electric motor is given as a specific example.)
a first magnet coupled with the leg of the rotor; (Fig. 18, magnet [12] is attached to the leg of rotor [11])
a base (Fig. 18 and para. [0305], the base is not explicitly drawn but is a part of the sidewalls magnets [13] are attached to.); and
a second magnet (Fig. 18, one of magnet [13a] or [13b]) coupled with the base (Para. [0305], sidewall for connecting magnets [13a] and [13b]) and arranged to limit an angular rotation (Fig. 18, angle [θ], see also para. [0305] describing the use of magnets [13a] and [13b] in limiting the rotation of rotor [11]) of the rotor by a pole of the second magnet facing a similar pole of the first magnet. (Fig. 18 showing that magnets [13a] and [13b] have poles facing a similar pole of magnet [12].)
Regarding claim 2:
Pomerantz discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the leg extends in a direction from the body of the rotor that is perpendicular to the mirror. (Fig. 18 showing that the leg of rotor [11] is perpendicular to mirror [10])
Regarding claim 3:
Pomerantz discloses a system for lidar (See abstract) comprising:
a rotor (Fig. 18, rotor [11]) arranged to rotate about a pivot (Fig. 18 showing rotational axis about a pivot.) using one or more bearings (The bearing is not shown for fig. 18. See fig. 9 showing a similar rotor is a pivot and bearings.);
a mirror coupled with the rotor (Fig. 18, mirror [10] shown attached to rotate with the rotation of rotor [11]) and arranged to reflect light emitted from a laser (Fig. 18 light labeled [LASER]);
a motor arranged to apply a force to the rotor (Para. [0302] the system includes an actuator to move the rotor. An electric motor is given as a specific example.);
a first magnet coupled with the rotor (Fig. 18, magnet [12] is attached to the rotor [11]);
a base (Fig. 18 and para. [0305], the base is not explicitly drawn but is a part of the sidewalls magnets [13] are attached to.); and
a second magnet (Fig. 18, one of magnet [13a] or [13b]) coupled with the base (Para. [0305], sidewall for connecting magnets [13a] and [13b]) and arranged to limit an angular rotation (Fig. 18, angle [θ], see also para. [0305] describing the use of magnets [13a] and [13b] in limiting the rotation of rotor [11]) of the rotor by a pole of the second magnet facing a similar pole of the first magnet. (Fig. 18 showing that magnets [13a] and [13b] have poles facing a similar pole of magnet [12])
Regarding claim 5:
Pomerantz discloses the system of claim 3, wherein
the rotor [11] comprises a body encircling the pivot. (The body is not shown for the embodiment in fig. 18, see fig. 22B showing a similar embodiment with rotor [111] having a body for encircling a pivot.)
Regarding claim 6:
Pomerantz discloses the system of claim 5, wherein:
the rotor further comprises a leg extending from the body (Fig. 18 showing a leg of rotor [11] for attaching magnet [12]); and
the first magnet is coupled with the leg of the rotor. (Fig. 18, magnet [12] is attached to the leg of rotor [11])
Regarding claim 7:
Pomerantz discloses the system of claim 3, wherein:
the base comprises a first bumper (Fig. 18, the first and second bumper are the sidewalls magnets [13a] and [13b] attach too.);
the second magnet is coupled with the first bumper (Fig. 18, each of the sidewalls has one of magnets [13a] or [13b] attached);
the base further comprises a second bumper (Fig. 18, the second side wall); and
a third magnet is coupled with the second bumper (Fig. 18, the other magnet is attached to the second sidewall.), the third magnet arranged to limit angular rotation of the rotor in a direction opposite that the first bumper limits rotation. (Fig. 18, the magnets [13a] and [13b] limit the angular rotation of the rotor in opposite directions.)
Regarding claim 8:
Pomerantz discloses the system of claim 3, wherein:
the first magnet is part of a first plurality of magnets coupled with the rotor (Fig. 20, Magnet [12b] is a plurality of magnet coupled to rotor [11]);
the second magnet is part of a second plurality of magnets coupled with the base (Fig. 20, second magnet [14a] is a plurality of magnets coupled with the sidewall of the base);
the first plurality of magnets are arranged on the rotor to have alternating polarities (Fig. 20, magnets [12b] are arranged with their polarities alternating);
the second plurality of magnets are arranged on the base to have alternating polarities (Fig. 20, magnets [14a] are arranged with their polarities alternating); and
the first plurality of magnets [12b] are arranged to limit the angular rotation of the rotor [11] by poles of the second plurality of magnets [14a] facing similar poles of the first plurality of magnets [12b] (Fig. 20 shows that magnets [12b] and [14a] have similar poles facing each other to limit the angular rotation of rotor [11]).
Regarding claim 9:
Pomerantz discloses the system of claim 3, further comprising
an angle encoder arranged to measure an angle of rotation of the rotor. (Para. [0303], the system may include a rotational encoder to send motion data to the controller.)
Regarding claim 11:
Pomerantz discloses the system of claim 3, wherein
the first magnet and the second magnet are rare-earth magnets. (Para. [0343], the magnets may be NdFeB magnets which is a type of rare-earth magnet)
Regarding claim 12:
Pomerantz discloses the system of claim 3, wherein
the first magnet is mounted parallel to the mirror. (Embodiment of Fig. 23B. Fig. 23B shows first magnet [111a]. Fig. 25 shows that magnet [111a] is parallel to mirror [140])
Regarding claim 14:
Pomerantz discloses a method for using an oscillating mirror (See abstract) comprising:
rotating a rotor (Fig. 18, rotor [11]) about a pivot (Fig. 18 showing rotational axis about a pivot.) using one or more bearings (The bearing is not shown for fig. 18. See fig. 9 showing a similar rotor is a pivot and bearings.), wherein a mirror is coupled with the rotor (Fig. 18, mirror [10] shown attached to rotate with the rotation of rotor [11]);
emitting light from a laser toward the mirror (Fig. 18 light labeled [LASER]);
reflecting light from the laser [LASER] using the mirror [10] while the mirror [10] is rotated with the rotor [11] (Fig. 18 showing that light [LASER] is reflected from mirror [10] while it’s rotated by rotor [11]); and
limiting rotation of the rotor using a first magnet (Fig. 18, magnet [12] is attached to the rotor [11]) and a second magnet (Fig. 18, magnet [13a]), the first magnet [12] coupled with the rotor [11] and the second magnet [13a] coupled with a base (Fig. 18 and para. [0305], the base is not explicitly drawn by is a part of the sidewalls magnets [13] are attached to.), the second magnet [13a] arranged to limit an angular rotation of the rotor [11] by a pole of the second magnet [13a] facing a similar pole of the first magnet [12]. (Fig. 18, showing that magnets [13a] and [13b] have poles facing a similar pole of magnet [12] and limiting the rotation of the rotor [11] to angle [θ], see also para. [0305] describing the use of magnets [13a] and [13b] in limiting the rotation of rotor [11])
Regarding claim 16:
Pomerantz discloses the method of claim 14, wherein;
the rotor [11] comprises a body encircling the pivot; (The body is not shown for the embodiment in fig. 18, see fig. 22B showing a similar embodiment with rotor [111] having a body for encircling a pivot.)
the rotor [11] comprises a leg extending from the body (Fig. 18 showing a leg of rotor [11] for attaching magnet [12]);
the first magnet [12] is coupled with the leg of the rotor [11]; (Fig. 18, magnet [12] is attached to the leg of rotor [11]) and
the method further comprises limiting rotation of the rotor [11] by limiting travel of the leg of the rotor [11]. (Fig. 18 showing the traveling of the leg of rotor [11] is limited by magnets [12], [13a] and [13b])
Regarding claim 17:
Pomerantz discloses the method of claim 14, wherein:
the base comprises a first bumper (Fig. 18, the first and second bumper are the sidewalls magnets [13a] and [13b] attach to.);
the second magnet is coupled with the first bumper (Fig. 18, a sidewall has magnet [13a] attached);
the base further comprises a second bumper (Fig. 18, the second side wall); and
the method further comprises limiting an angular rotation of the rotor in a direction opposite that the first bumper limits rotation using a third magnet coupled with the second bumper (Fig. 18, the other magnet [13b] is attached to the second sidewall and the magnets [13a] and [13b] limit the angular rotation of the rotor in opposite directions.).
Regarding claim 18:
Pomerantz discloses the method of claim 14, wherein:
the first magnet is part of a first plurality of magnets coupled with the rotor (Fig. 20, Magnet [12b] is a plurality of magnet coupled to rotor [11]);
the second magnet is part of a second plurality of magnets coupled with the base (Fig. 20, second magnet [14a] is a plurality of magnets coupled with the sidewall of the base);
the first plurality of magnets are arranged on the rotor to have alternating polarities (Fig. 20, magnets [12b] are arranged with their polarities alternating);
the second plurality of magnets are arranged on the base to have alternating polarities (Fig. 20, magnets [14a] are arranged with their polarities alternating); and
the first plurality of magnets are arranged to limit the angular rotation of the rotor by poles of the second plurality of magnets facing similar poles of the first plurality of magnets (Fig. 20 shows that magnets [12b] and [14a] have similar poles facing each other to limit the angular rotation of rotor [11]).
Regarding claim 19:
Pomerantz discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising
measuring an angle of rotation of the rotor using an angle encoder. (Para. [0303], the system may include a rotational encoder to measure the angle of rotation)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230006531 A1 (Pormerantz et al.).
Regarding claims 10 and 20:
Claims 10 and 20 recite the limitation: wherein the mirror has a width equal to or greater than 1 cm.
However Pomerantz teaches that the mirror may have a diameter from 1 mm to 5 mm (See para. [0173])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the mirror of Pomerantz have a width equal to or greater than 1 cm, since such a modification would involve only a mere change in size of a component. Scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art. In re Rinehart, 189 USPQ 143 (CCAP 1976).
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230006531 A1 (Pormerantz et al.) in view of US 20200379090 A1 (Nothern et al.).
Regarding claim 4:
Pomerantz discloses the system of claim 3, wherein:
the system comprises the laser; (Fig. 1A, laser [112])
the laser is a first laser (Fig. 1A, [112]);
Pomerantz fails to teach
the system comprises a second laser;
the mirror is a first mirror;
the system comprises a second mirror coupled with the rotor;
the first laser is arranged to illuminate the first mirror; and
the second laser is arranged to illuminate the second mirror.
Nothern teaches a system for lidar comprising:
the system comprises the laser; (Fig. 10 and 11, a laser of lasers [1032] for projecting light beam [1034])
the laser is a first laser (Fig. 10 and 11, lasers [1032] are used to project two light beams , the first is [1034]);
the system comprises a second laser (Fig. 10 and 11, a laser of lasers [1032] for projecting second light beam [1044]);
the mirror is a first mirror (Fig. 10 and 11, mirror [832]);
the system comprises a second mirror (Fig. 10 and 11, mirror [842]) coupled with the rotor (Para. [0077] and [0078], scanning devices [840] and [830] and the motions of mirrors [832] and [842] is coupled by driving scanning devices [830] and [840] with identical amplitudes and frequencies or with identical angular offsets.);
the first laser is arranged to illuminate the first mirror [832] (Fig. 10 and 11, first light [1034] is arranged to illuminate mirror [832]); and
the second laser is arranged to illuminate the second mirror [842] (Fig. 10 and 11, second light [1044] is arranged to illuminate mirror [842]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have “the system comprises the laser; the laser is a first laser; the system comprises a second laser; the mirror is a first mirror; the system comprises a second mirror coupled with the rotor; the first laser is arranged to illuminate the first mirror; and the second laser is arranged to illuminate the second mirror” as taught by Nothern in the system for lidar of Pomerantz for the purpose of providing the system for lidar with a wider FOV (See Nothern Fig. 12 and para. [0086]).
Regarding claim 15:
Pomerantz discloses the method of claim 14, wherein:
the laser is a first laser (Fig. 1A, [112]);
Pomerantz fails to teach
the mirror is a first mirror;
the method further comprises:
emitting light from a second laser toward a second mirror concurrently with emitting light from the first laser toward the first mirror; and
reflecting light from the second laser using the second mirror while the second mirror is rotated with the rotor; and
the second mirror is coupled with the rotor.
Nothern teaches a method for lidar (See abstract) comprising:
the laser is a first laser (Fig. 10 and 11, lasers [1032] are used to project two light beams , the first is [1034])
the mirror is a first mirror; (Fig. 10 and 11, mirror [832])
the method further comprises:
emitting light from a second laser toward a second mirror (Fig. 10 and 11, second light [1044] is arranged to illuminate second mirror [842]) concurrently with emitting light from the first laser toward the first mirror (Fig. 10 and 11, first light [1034] is arranged to illuminate first mirror [832]); and
reflecting light from the second laser using the second mirror while the second mirror is rotated with the rotor (Fig. 10 and 11, second light [1044] is arranged to illuminate second mirror [842] and reflect light from second mirror [842] when rotated by scanning device [840]); and
the second mirror is coupled with the rotor. (Para. [0077] and [0078], scanning devices [840] and [830] and the motions of mirrors [832] and [842] is coupled by driving scanning devices [830] and [840] with identical amplitudes and frequencies or with identical angular offsets.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have “the laser is a first laser; the mirror is a first mirror; the method further comprises: emitting light from a second laser toward a second mirror concurrently with emitting light from the first laser toward the first mirror; and reflecting light from the second laser using the second mirror while the second mirror is rotated with the rotor; and the second mirror is coupled with the rotor” as taught by Nothern in the method for lidar of Pomerantz for the purpose of providing the method for lidar with a wider FOV (See Nothern Fig. 12 and para. [0086]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230006531 A1 (Pormerantz et al.) in view of US 20240219568 A1 (Dahlberg).
Regarding claim 13:
Pormerantz discloses the system of claim 3,
Pormerantz fails to teach
The system further comprising:
a routing mirror; and
a memory device comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, adjust the routing mirror to correct for errors in scan positions.
Dahlberg teaches a system for lidar (See Para. [0020]) comprising:
a routing mirror (Fig. 3, mirror [213]); and
a memory device comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (Fig. 3, controller [220] see also Para. [0035]), adjust the routing mirror [213] to correct for errors in scan positions (Para. [0048]-[0050], the controller [220] provides feedback control to correct positional errors of mirror [213]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have “the system further comprising: a routing mirror; and a memory device comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, adjust the routing mirror to correct for errors in scan positions.” as taught by Dahlberg in the system for lidar of Pomerantz for the purpose of correcting errors in the scanning position.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 7273289 B2 (Denham) teaches a mirror with permeant magnets attached parallel to the mirror to create an oscillation in the mirror for reflecting light from a laser at changing angles (See fig. 3). US 20230375826 A1 (Mohr et al.) teaches a system for lidar with 2 scanning mirrors (Surfaces of [702]) and 2 lasers (See fig. 7, scanning mirror [702] and lasers [710]). US 20080055546 A1 (DeCusatis et al.) teaches an oscillating optical system with magnets used for bumpers to dampen the motion of the system (See Fig. 3C and Para. [0056], Cushioning magnets [345] and [346] and attached magnet [350] attached to a leg [351]).
/SETH D MOSER/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872