1-Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Election Restriction:
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II 15-18 and Group III 19-20, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/26/2026. The election is made final.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Abbreviations such as “QoS” must be introducing first time and defined in the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20210274389) in view of Leung (US 20210112439).
Referring to Claim 1. Wang discloses a QoS control method, comprising: obtaining, by a first communication device, first information, wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following: a round-trip delay requirement for a service (non-selected limitation as only one limitation is required ), an uplink delay requirement for a service (obtain latency tolerance for the UL/DL transmission of the service, refer to par 0058), a downlink delay requirement for a service (non-selected limitation as only one limitation is required ), a first delay requirement for a service (non-selected limitation as only one limitation is required ), or first indication information of a service (non-selected limitation as only one limitation is required ); and performing, by the first communication device, a first operation according to the first information, wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following: mapping a first tunnel for a data flow of the service, wherein the first tunnel is usable for transmitting uplink data and/or downlink data of the service (par 0051, 0120 allocate the latency requirement for the base-station for the communication between the base station and client/UE, refer to par 0052); determining QoS requirement related information of the first tunnel (non-selected limitation as only one limitation is required ); determining first related information of a QoS requirement for the service data flow (non-selected limitation as only one limitation is required ); mapping a second tunnel and/or mapping a third tunnel for the data flow of the service (non-selected limitation as only one limitation is required ), wherein the second tunnel is used for transmitting uplink data of the service and the third tunnel is used for transmitting downlink data of the service (non-selected limitation as only one limitation is required ); determining QoS requirement related information of the second tunnel and/or determining QoS requirement related information of the third tunnel (non-selected limitation as only one limitation is required ); determining second related information of a QoS requirement for the service data flow, and/or determining third related information of a QoS requirement for the service data flow (contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight); determining a delay monitoring requirement, comprising at least one of the following: determining a delay monitoring requirement of the first tunnel (contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight), determining a delay monitoring requirement of the second tunnel, determining a delay monitoring requirement of the third tunnel, or determining a delay monitoring requirement of the data flow of the service (contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight); determining an uplink delay requirement for the service and a downlink delay requirement for the service according to a round-trip delay requirement for the service (contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight), wherein a sum of the uplink delay requirement and the downlink delay requirement for the service does not exceed the round-trip delay requirement for the service (contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight); using a value of half of the round-trip delay requirement for the service as the first delay requirement for the service (contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight); performing mapping of a first QoS identifier based on the value of half of the round-trip delay requirement for the service (contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight); using a value twice the first delay requirement for the service as the round-trip delay requirement for the service (contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight); determining first indication information of the service (contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight); or sending second information, wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following: the QoS requirement related information of the first tunnel, the first related information of the QoS requirement for the service data flow (contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight), the QoS requirement related information of the second tunnel, the second related information of the QoS requirement for the service data flow (contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight), the QoS requirement related information of the third tunnel, the third related information of the QoS requirement for the service data flow, a delay monitoring requirement, or a related requirement for the service; wherein the related requirement for the service comprises at least one of the following: description information of the service, the round-trip delay requirement for the service, the uplink delay requirement for the service, the downlink delay requirement for the service, the first delay requirement for the service, or the first indication information of the service (contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight).
Leung, in analogous art, further emphasize it is well known in the art that the first communication device (SMF, refer to par 0051), obtain the downlink delay requirement of service (refer to QoS assigned to the downlink delay requirement, refer to par 0051: QOS includes the delay requirement, refer to par 0079, 0096 and abstract) and map to the first tunnel for the data flow of the service (refer to par 0051, 0052, 0060, 0079).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with Leung because Leung’s teaching would allow the system of Wang to consider and adjust the QoS as needed for the streaming services.
Referring to Claim 2. Wang with Leung disclosed the method according to claim 1, Wang further discloses wherein the QoS requirement related information of the first tunnel comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the first tunnel, a first QoS requirement, or a related requirement for the service; and the first related information of the QoS requirement for the service data flow comprises at least one of the following: description information of the data flow of the service, the first QoS requirement, a second QoS requirement, a third QoS requirement, or the related requirement for the service; and/or the QoS requirement related information of the second tunnel comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the second tunnel, a data direction in the tunnel, fourth indication information, a second QoS requirement, a related requirement for the service, or identification information of an associated third tunnel; wherein the fourth indication information is used for indicating that the second tunnel is used only for transmitting uplink data; and/or the second related information of the QoS requirement for the service data flow comprises at least one of the following: the description information of the data flow of the service, the data direction of the service, the second QoS requirement, or the related requirement for the service; and/or the QoS requirement related information of the third tunnel comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the third tunnel, a data direction in the tunnel, fifth indication information, a third QoS requirement, a related requirement for the service, or identification information of the associated second tunnel; wherein the fifth indication information is used for indicating that the third tunnel is used only for transmitting downlink data; and/or the third related information of the QoS requirement for the service data flow comprises at least one of the following: the description information of the data flow of the service, the data direction of the service, the third QoS requirement, or the related requirement for the service (above limitation are contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight).
Referring to Claim 3. Wang with Leung disclosed the method according to claim 1, Wang further discloses wherein the first QoS requirement comprises at least one of the following: a first QoS identifier; a first delay budget; an uplink QoS requirement and a downlink QoS requirement; a round-trip QoS requirement; or second indication information; wherein the second indication information is used for indicating at least one of the following: a round-trip delay overhead of a first object does not exceed twice the first delay requirement; the round-trip delay overhead of the first object does not exceed the round-trip delay requirement for the service; the first object requires round-trip delay guarantee; an uplink delay overhead of the first object is allowed to exceed an uplink delay requirement of the first object or a first delay requirement of the first object; a downlink delay overhead of the first object is allowed to exceed a downlink delay requirement of the first object or the first delay requirement of the first object; a sum of the uplink delay overhead of the first object and the downlink delay overhead of the first object does not exceed a round-trip delay requirement of the first object; or the sum of the uplink delay overhead of the first object and the downlink delay overhead of the first object does not exceed a value twice the first delay requirement of the first object; wherein the first object comprises at least one of the following: the first tunnel or the data flow of the service (above limitation are contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight).
Referring to Claim 4. Wang with Leung disclosed the method according to claim 1, Wang further discloses wherein the first delay requirement comprises a time budget required for data to pass between a terminal and an anchor gateway; and/or the first indication information of the service is used to indicate at least one of the following: a round-trip delay overhead of the service does not exceed twice the first delay requirement; the round-trip delay overhead of the service does not exceed the round-trip delay requirement for the service; the service requires round-trip delay guarantee; the uplink delay requirement for the service is different from the downlink delay requirement; an uplink delay overhead of the service is allowed to exceed the uplink delay requirement for the service or the first delay requirement for the service; a downlink delay overhead of the service is allowed to exceed the downlink delay requirement or the first delay requirement for the service; a sum of the uplink delay overhead and the downlink delay overhead of the service does not exceed the round-trip delay requirement for the service; or the sum of the uplink delay overhead and the downlink delay overhead of the service does not exceed a value twice the first delay requirement for the service.
Referring to Claim 5. Wang with Leung disclosed the method according to claim 2, Wang further discloses wherein the identification information of the first tunnel comprises at least one of the following: a tunnel identifier of the first tunnel, a first QoS identifier of the first tunnel, an uplink QoS identifier of the first tunnel, or a downlink QoS identifier of the first tunnel (above limitation are contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight).
Referring to Claim 6. Wang with Leung disclosed the method according to claim 3, Wang further discloses wherein the first QoS identifier is able to be mapped to at least one of the following: uplink values and/or downlink values of a group of QoS parameters, values of a group of uplink QoS parameters, downlink values of a group of downlink QoS parameters, or values of a group of QoS parameters; or, wherein the uplink QoS requirement comprises at least one of the following: an uplink QoS identifier or an uplink delay budget; and/or the downlink QoS requirement comprises at least one of the following: a downlink QoS identifier or a downlink delay budget; or, wherein the round-trip QoS requirement comprises: a round trip QoS identifier, a round-trip delay budget, and a round trip error rate (above limitation are contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight).
Referring to Claim 7. Wang with Leung disclosed the method according to claim 1, Wang further discloses wherein the performing at least one of the following: mapping a first tunnel for a data flow of the service, determining QoS requirement related information of the first tunnel, or determining first related information of a QoS requirement for the service data flow comprises: in a case that a first condition is met, performing at least one of the following: mapping the first tunnel for the data flow of the service, determining the QoS requirement related information of the first tunnel, or determining the first related information of the QoS requirement for the service data flow; wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: the service requires round-trip delay guarantee; it is determined that the uplink delay requirement for the service is the same as the downlink delay requirement for the service; it is determined that an uplink value of a QoS parameter of the service is the same as a value of a downlink QoS parameter; it is determined that a QoS identifier mapped for uplink data of the service is the same as a QoS identifier mapped for downlink data of the service; it is determined to use a value of half of the round-trip delay requirement for the service as the first delay requirement for the service or the first tunnel; or it is determined to perform mapping of a first QoS identifier based on the value of half of the round-trip delay requirement for the service (above limitation are contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight).
Referring to Claim 8. Wang with Leung disclosed the method according to claim 1, Wang further discloses wherein the performing at least one of the following: mapping a second tunnel and/or a third tunnel for the data flow of the service, determining QoS requirement related information of the second tunnel and/or determining QoS requirement related information of the third tunnel, or determining second related information of a QoS requirement for the service data flow and/or determining third related information of a QoS requirement for the service data flow comprises: in a case that a second condition is met, performing at least one of the following: mapping the second tunnel and/or the third tunnel for the data flow of the service, determining the QoS requirement related information of the second tunnel and/or the QoS requirement related information of the third tunnel, or determining the second related information of the QoS requirement for the service data flow and/or determining the third related information of the QoS requirement for the service data flow; wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following: the service requires round-trip delay guarantee; it is determined that the uplink delay requirement for the service is different from the downlink delay requirement for the service; it is determined that an uplink value of a QoS parameter of the service is different from a value of a downlink QoS parameter; or it is determined that a QoS identifier mapped for uplink data of the service is different from a QoS identifier mapped for downlink data of the service (above limitation are contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight).
Referring to Claim 9. Wang with Leung disclosed the method according to claim 2, Wang further discloses wherein the operation of determining the first QoS requirement comprises at least one of the following: performing at least one of the following according to the round-trip delay requirement for the service: splitting the round-trip delay requirement for the service to map to an uplink requirement and a downlink requirement in the first QoS requirement; splitting the round- trip delay requirement for the service into an uplink delay requirement for the service and a downlink delay requirement for the service; mapping the uplink delay requirement for the service obtained through splitting to the uplink requirement in the first QoS requirement; mapping the downlink delay requirement for the service obtained through splitting to the downlink requirement in the first QoS requirement; or splitting the round-trip delay requirement for the service to map to a first QoS identifier in the first QoS requirement; performing at least one of the following based on a value of half of the round-trip delay requirement for the service: mapping the value of half of the round-trip delay requirement for the service to a first delay budget in the first QoS requirement, or mapping the value of half of the round-trip delay requirement for the service to the first QoS identifier in the first QoS requirement; performing at least one of the following based on a value twice the first delay requirement for the service: using the value twice the first delay requirement for the service as a round-trip delay budget of the service, or mapping the value twice the first delay requirement for the service to a round-trip QoS requirement or the round-trip delay budget in the first QoS requirement; performing at least one of the following according to the uplink delay requirement for the service: mapping the uplink delay requirement for the service to the uplink requirement in the first QoS requirement, or mapping the uplink delay requirement for the service to the first QoS identifier in the first QoS requirement; or performing at least one of the following according to the downlink delay requirement for the service: mapping the downlink delay requirement for the service to the downlink requirement in the first QoS requirement, or mapping a downlink delay budget of the service to the first QoS identifier in the first QoS requirement; wherein the uplink requirement comprises at least one of the following: an uplink QoS requirement, an uplink delay budget, or an uplink QoS identifier; and the downlink requirement comprises at least one of the following: a downlink QoS requirement, a downlink delay budget, or a downlink QoS identifier (above limitation are contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight).
Referring to Claim 10. Wang with Leung disclosed the method according to claim 2, Wang further discloses wherein a sum of an uplink delay budget in the first QoS requirement and a downlink delay budget in the first QoS requirement does not exceed the round-trip delay requirement for the service (above limitation are contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight).
Referring to Claim 11. Wang with Leung disclosed the method according to claim 2, Wang further discloses wherein the operation of determining the second QoS requirement comprises at least one of the following: performing at least one of the following according to the round-trip delay requirement for the service: splitting the round-trip delay requirement for the service into an uplink delay requirement and a downlink delay requirement for the service, mapping a delay budget in the second QoS requirement according to the uplink delay requirement obtained through splitting, or mapping a QoS identifier in the second QoS requirement according to the uplink delay requirement obtained through splitting; or performing at least one of the following according to the uplink delay requirement for the service: mapping the delay budget in the second QoS requirement according to the uplink delay requirement for the service, or mapping the QoS identifier in the second QoS requirement according to the uplink delay requirement for the service; and/or the operation of determining the third QoS requirement comprises at least one of the following: performing at least one of the following according to the round-trip delay requirement for the service: splitting the round-trip delay requirement for the service into an uplink delay requirement and a downlink delay requirement for the service, mapping a delay budget in the third QoS requirement according to the downlink delay requirement for the service obtained through splitting, or mapping a QoS identifier in the third QoS requirement according to the downlink delay requirement for the service obtained through splitting; or performing at least one of the following according to the downlink delay requirement for the service: mapping the delay budget in the third QoS requirement according to the downlink delay requirement for the service, or mapping the QoS identifier in the third QoS requirement according to the downlink delay requirement for the service (above limitation are contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight).
Referring to Claim 12. Wang with Leung disclosed the method according to claim 9, Wang further discloses wherein a sum of the uplink delay requirement and the downlink delay requirement for the service does not exceed at least one of the following: the round-trip delay requirement for the service, or a value twice the first delay requirement for the service (above limitation are contingent based on non-selected limitation, no patentable weight).
Referring to Claim 13. Wang with Leung disclosed the method according to claim 1, Wang further discloses before the step of performing, by the first communication device, a first operation according to the first information, further comprising: obtaining, by the first communication device, third information, wherein the third information is used for indicating a result of delay monitoring (refer to par 0076: also received the division status, refer to par 0076, 0120); and the performing, by the first communication device, a first operation according to the first information comprises: performing, by the first communication device, the first operation according to the first information and the third information (refer to par 0076: also received the division status, refer to par 0076, 0120)
Referring to Claim 14. Wang with Leung disclosed the method according to claim 13, Wang further discloses wherein the result of delay monitoring comprises at least one of the following: a result of uplink delay monitoring (refer to par 0076: also received the division status, refer to par 0076, 0120); a result of downlink delay monitoring; or a result of round-trip delay monitoring; or, before the obtaining, by the first communication device, third information, further comprising: performing, by the first communication device, at least one of the following based on the first information: determining a delay monitoring requirement; or sending the delay monitoring requirement; wherein the delay monitoring requirement comprises at least one of the following: a delay monitoring requirement for the first tunnel, a delay monitoring requirement for the second tunnel, a delay monitoring requirement for the third tunnel, or a delay monitoring requirement for the data flow of the service; and/or the delay monitoring requirement comprises at least one of the following: description information of a tunnel that requires delay monitoring; description information of a service that requires delay monitoring; an uplink delay monitoring requirement; a downlink delay monitoring requirement; or a round-trip delay monitoring requirement.
Conclusion
/KAREN C TANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447