DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/29/2024, 08/05/2025, 11/07/2025, 03/30/2026 and 07/02/2026 was filed on and after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CHINA on 05/11/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 202410585617.8 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2 and 8-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/786814. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter in Application No. 18/786814 are claiming the same embodiment with similar structural limitations.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application of claims 1, 2 and 8-10 corresponds to the subject matter of claims 1-5 of 18/786814; the details are as follows:
Claim 1 of the instant application recites, “an electrical connector, comprising: a conductive housing, the conductive housing defining a receiving slot configured to at least partially receive a mating module along a first direction; the conductive housing comprising a first conductive housing; the first conductive housing comprising a first front end surface and a first filling groove extending through the first front end surface along the first direction; a first terminal module, the first terminal module being at least partially disposed in the first conductive housing; the first terminal module comprising a first conductive terminal which is not in contact with the first conductive housing; and a first insulating fixing block, the first insulating fixing block being fixed in the first filling groove; the first insulating fixing block being located adjacent to a front end of the receiving slot,” (same elements recited in claim 1 of application 18/786814).
Claim 2 of the instant application recites, “the electrical connector according to claim 1, wherein the first insulating fixing block is molded in the first filling groove to be integrated with the first conductive housing,” (same elements recited in claim 1+5 of application 18/786814).
Claim 8 of the instant application recites, “the electrical connector according to claim 1, wherein the first conductive housing defines a first terminal module installation slot; the first terminal module installation slot communicates with the receiving slot; wherein the first conductive terminal comprises a first fixing portion and a first contact arm connected to the first fixing portion; the first fixing portion is at least partially located in the first terminal module installation slot; the first contact arm comprises a first contact portion protruding into the receiving slot,” (same elements recited in claim 1+2 of application 18/786814).
Claim 9 of the instant application recites, “the electrical connector according to claim 8, wherein the first insulating fixing block comprises a first slit and a second slit; the first slit and the second slit are arranged side by side along a second direction; the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction; the first terminal module has two first conductive terminals which are a first signal terminal and a second signal terminal, respectively; the first contact arm of the first signal terminal extends at least partially into the first slit; the first contact arm of the second signal terminal extends at least partially into the second slit,” (same elements recited in claim 1+2+3 of application 18/786814).
Claim 10 of the instant application recites, “the electrical connector according to claim 9, wherein the first terminal module comprises a first holding block fixed on the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal; the first holding block is received in the first terminal module installation slot, so that the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal are arranged overhead in the first terminal module installation slot in order not to be in contact with the first conductive housing,” (same elements recited in claim 1+2+3+4 of application 18/786814).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fan et al. US20250105541.
Regarding claim 1, Fan discloses an electrical connector, comprising: a conductive housing (fig. 2a; 610), the conductive housing (610) defining a receiving slot (fig. 3a; space of A) configured to at least partially receive a mating module (111) along a first direction (fig. 1a; Z); the conductive housing (610) comprising a first conductive housing (body of 610), the first conductive housing (610) comprising a first front end surface (fig. 1a; front surface of 610 faces 110) and a first filling groove (fig. 3a; narrow slots of A that are opposite each other in the X direction) extending through the first front end surface (front surface of 610 faces 110) along the first direction (Z); a first terminal module (fig. 3a; 240), the first terminal module (240) being at least partially disposed in the conductive housing (610); the first terminal module (240) comprising a first conductive terminal (fig. 6; 314) which is not in contact with the first conductive housing (610); and a first insulating fixing block (fig. 3a; 440), the first insulating fixing block (440) being fixed in the first filling groove (narrow slots of A, see figs. 2a and 3a), the first insulating fixing block (440) being located adjacent to a front end (front of 610) of the receiving slot (space of A).
Regarding claim 2, Fan discloses wherein the first insulating fixing block (440) is molded in the first filling groove to be integrated with the first conductive housing (610).
NOTE: The limitation, “molded in the first filling groove,” has not been given significant patentable weight because the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. electrical connector, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. molded in the first filling groove. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Regarding claim 4, Fan discloses wherein the first insulating fixing block (440) comprises a first front surface (fig. 2a; front surface of 440); the first front surface (front surface of 440) is coplanar with the first front end surface (front surface of 610 faces 110) of the first conductive housing (610).
Regarding claim 8, Fan discloses wherein the first conductive terminal (314) defines a first terminal module installation slot (fig. 2b; sections of 220 that receives 220/240); the first terminal module installation slot (sections of 220 that receives 220/240) communicates with the receiving slot (space of A); wherein the first conductive terminal (314) comprises a first fixing portion (fig. 6; section of 314 that 410 covers) and a first contact arm (fig. 6; 311) connected to the first fixing portion (section of 314 that 410 covers); the first fixing portion (section of 314 that 410 covers) is at least partially located in the first terminal module installation slot (sections of 220 that receives 220/240); the first contact arm (311) comprises a first contact portion (section of 311 that contacts 111) protruding into the receiving slot (opening of A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. US20250105541 in view of Carbaugh et al. US20230026708.
Fan discloses all of the claim limitations except wherein the first insulating fixing block comprises a first dovetail protrusion; the first filling groove comprises a first dovetail groove; the first dovetail protrusion is fixed in the first dovetail groove.
However, Carbaugh teaches the first insulating fixing block (fig. 3c; 306) comprises a first dovetail protrusion (fig. 3c; 312); the first filling groove (fig. 6; 670) comprises a first dovetail groove (shape of the groove matches dovetail 312); the first dovetail protrusion (312) is fixed in the first dovetail groove (670).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first insulating fixing block comprises a first dovetail protrusion; the first filling groove comprises a first dovetail groove; the first dovetail protrusion is fixed in the first dovetail groove as suggested by Carbaugh for the benefit of providing better interfaces for different connector parts in order to greatly improve the retention strength of said parts.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. US20250105541(Fan1) in view of Fan et al. US20240145958(Fan2).
Regarding claim 9, Fan1 discloses wherein the first insulating fixing block (440) comprises a first slit and a second slit (fig. 3a; 442); the first slit and the second slit (442) are arranged side by side along a second direction (fig. 3a; X); the second direction (X) is perpendicular to the first direction (Z); the first terminal module (240) has two first conductive terminals (two 314); the first contact arm (311) of the first conductive terminal (314) extends at least partially into the first slit (442).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Fan1 does not disclose the two first conductive terminals being first and second signal terminals, respectively; the first contact arm of the first signal terminal extends at least partially into the first slit; the first contact arm of the second signal terminal extends at least partially into the second slit [claim 9]; wherein the first terminal module comprises a first holding block fixed on the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal; the first holding block is received in the first terminal module installation slot, so that the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal are arranged overhead in the first terminal module installation slot in order not to be in contact with the first conductive housing [claim 10].
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Fan2 teaches the two first conductive terminals (fig. 7b; 420a) being first and second signal terminals (420a), respectively; the first contact arm (fig. 7b; 421) of the first signal terminal (one terminal of 420a) extends at least partially into the first slit (fig. 8b; slit of 310 that receives 421 one terminal of 420a); the first contact arm (421) of the second signal terminal (other terminal of 420a) extends at least partially into the second slit (slit of 310 that receives 421 other terminal of 420a); the first terminal module (fig. 7a; 520) comprises a first holding block (fig. 7a; 820) fixed on the first fixing portion (fig. 7b; 403) of the first signal terminal (one terminal of 420) and the first fixing portion (403) of the second signal terminal (other terminal of 420); the first holding block (820) is received in the first terminal module installation slot (space of 310 that receives 520), so that the first fixing portion (403) of the first signal terminal (one terminal of 420) and the first fixing portion (403) of the second signal terminal (other terminal of 420) are arranged overhead in the first terminal module installation slot (space of 310 that receives 520) in order not to be in contact with the first conductive housing (fig. 4; 600).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the two first conductive terminals being first and second signal terminals, respectively; the first contact arm of the first signal terminal extending at least partially into the first slit; the first contact arm of the second signal terminal extends at least partially into the second slit and the first terminal module comprising a first holding block fixed on the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal; the first holding block is received in the first terminal module installation slot, so that the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal are arranged overhead in the first terminal module installation slot in order not to be in contact with the first conductive housing as suggested by Fan2 for the benefit of providing improved EMI shielding in order to optimize signal quality during transmission.
Claim(s) 11, 12, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. US20250105541 in view of Li et al. US20190252833.
Regarding claim 11, Fan discloses an electrical connector, comprising: a conductive housing (fig. 2a; 610), the conductive housing (610) defining a receiving slot (fig. 3a; space of A) configured to at least partially receive a mating module (111) along a first direction (fig. 1a; Z); the conductive housing (610) comprising a first conductive housing (body of 610), the first conductive housing (610) comprising a first front end surface (fig. 1a; front surface of 610 faces 110) and a first filling groove (fig. 3a; narrow slots of A that are opposite each other in the X direction) extending through the first front end surface (front surface of 610 faces 110) along the first direction (Z); a first terminal module (fig. 3a; 240), the first terminal module (240) being at least partially disposed in the conductive housing (610); the first terminal module (240) comprising a plurality of first conductive terminals (fig. 6; 314) which are not in contact with the first conductive housing (610); and a first insulating fixing block (fig. 3a; 440), the first insulating fixing block (440) being fixed in the first filling groove (narrow slots of A, see figs. 2a and 3a); the first insulating fixing block (440) comprising a first front surface (front surface of 440).
Fan does not disclose a first ground sheet, the first ground sheet being fixed to the first conductive housing, the first ground sheet comprising a first connecting plate at least partially covering the first front surface of the first insulating fixing block.
However, Li teaches a first ground sheet (fig. 7; 30), the first ground sheet (30) being fixed to the first conductive housing (fig. 3; 41, see fig. 10), the first ground sheet (30) comprising a first connecting plate (figs. 7 and 10; rear plate section of 30 that contacts 411) at least partially covering the first front surface (figs. 6 and 7; top surface of bottom 50) of the first insulating fixing block (bottom 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a first ground sheet, the first ground sheet being fixed to the first conductive housing, the first ground sheet comprising a first connecting plate at least partially covering the first front surface of the first insulating fixing block as suggested by Li for the benefit of optimizing a ground path for an electrical signal in order to improve signal quality.
Regarding claim 12, Fan modified by Li has been discussed above. Fan discloses wherein the first insulating fixing block (440) is molded in the first filling groove to be integrated with the first conductive housing (610).
NOTE: The limitation, “molded in the first filling groove,” has not been given significant patentable weight because the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. electrical connector, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. molded in the first filling groove. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Regarding claim 14, Fan modified by Li has been discussed above. Fan discloses wherein the first insulating fixing block (440) comprises a first front surface (fig. 2a; front surface of 440); the first front surface (front surface of 440) is coplanar with the first front end surface (front surface of 610 faces 110) of the first conductive housing (610).
Regarding claim 18, Fan modified by Li has been discussed above. Fan discloses wherein the first conductive terminal (314) defines a first terminal module installation slot (fig. 2b; sections of 220 that receives 220/240); the first terminal module installation slot (sections of 220 that receives 220/240) communicates with the receiving slot (space of A); wherein the first conductive terminal (314) comprises a first fixing portion (fig. 6; section of 314 that 410 covers) and a first contact arm (fig. 6; 311) connected to the first fixing portion (section of 314 that 410 covers); the first fixing portion (section of 314 that 410 covers) is at least partially located in the first terminal module installation slot (sections of 220 that receives 220/240); the first contact arm (311) comprises a first contact portion (section of 311 that contacts 111) protruding into the receiving slot (opening of A).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. US20250105541 and Li et al. US20190252833 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Carbaugh et al. US20230026708.
Fan and Li disclose all of the claim limitations except wherein the first insulating fixing block comprises a first dovetail protrusion; the first filling groove comprises a first dovetail groove; the first dovetail protrusion is fixed in the first dovetail groove.
However, Carbaugh teaches the first insulating fixing block (fig. 3c; 306) comprises a first dovetail protrusion (fig. 3c; 312); the first filling groove (fig. 6; 670) comprises a first dovetail groove (shape of the groove matches dovetail 312); the first dovetail protrusion (312) is fixed in the first dovetail groove (670).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first insulating fixing block comprises a first dovetail protrusion; the first filling groove comprises a first dovetail groove; the first dovetail protrusion is fixed in the first dovetail groove as suggested by Carbaugh for the benefit of providing better interfaces for different connector parts in order to greatly improve the retention strength of said parts.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. US20250105541(Fan1) and Li et al. US20190252833 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Fan et al. US20240145958(Fan2).
Regarding claim 19, Fan1 discloses wherein the first insulating fixing block (440) comprises a first slit and a second slit (fig. 3a; 442); the first slit and the second slit (442) are arranged side by side along a second direction (fig. 3a; X); the second direction (X) is perpendicular to the first direction (Z); the first terminal module (240) has two first conductive terminals (two 314); the first contact arm (311) of the first conductive terminal (314) extends at least partially into the first slit (442).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Fan1 does not disclose the two first conductive terminals being first and second signal terminals, respectively; the first contact arm of the first signal terminal extends at least partially into the first slit; the first contact arm of the second signal terminal extends at least partially into the second slit [claim 19]; wherein the first terminal module comprises a first holding block fixed on the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal; the first holding block is received in the first terminal module installation slot, so that the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal are arranged overhead in the first terminal module installation slot in order not to be in contact with the first conductive housing [claim 20].
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Fan2 teaches the two first conductive terminals (fig. 7b; 420a) being first and second signal terminals (420a), respectively; the first contact arm (fig. 7b; 421) of the first signal terminal (one terminal of 420a) extends at least partially into the first slit (fig. 8b; slit of 310 that receives 421 one terminal of 420a); the first contact arm (421) of the second signal terminal (other terminal of 420a) extends at least partially into the second slit (slit of 310 that receives 421 other terminal of 420a); the first terminal module (fig. 7a; 520) comprises a first holding block (fig. 7a; 820) fixed on the first fixing portion (fig. 7b; 403) of the first signal terminal (one terminal of 420) and the first fixing portion (403) of the second signal terminal (other terminal of 420); the first holding block (820) is received in the first terminal module installation slot (space of 310 that receives 520), so that the first fixing portion (403) of the first signal terminal (one terminal of 420) and the first fixing portion (403) of the second signal terminal (other terminal of 420) are arranged overhead in the first terminal module installation slot (space of 310 that receives 520) in order not to be in contact with the first conductive housing (fig. 4; 600).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the two first conductive terminals being first and second signal terminals, respectively; the first contact arm of the first signal terminal extending at least partially into the first slit; the first contact arm of the second signal terminal extends at least partially into the second slit and the first terminal module comprising a first holding block fixed on the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal; the first holding block is received in the first terminal module installation slot, so that the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal are arranged overhead in the first terminal module installation slot in order not to be in contact with the first conductive housing as suggested by Fan2 for the benefit of providing improved EMI shielding in order to optimize signal quality during transmission.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 5, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, provide or suggest a first ground sheet; the first ground sheet comprising a first mounting plate, a second mounting plate opposite to the first mounting plate, and a first connecting plate connecting one side of the first mounting plate and one side of the second mounting plate; the first mounting plate being fixed to the first conductive housing; the second mounting plate being provided with a first grounding elastic arm protruding into the receiving slot; the first connecting plate abutting against and at least partially covering the first front surface of the first insulating fixing block combined with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 15, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, provide or suggest the first ground sheet comprises a first mounting plate and a second mounting plate opposite to the first mounting plate; the first connecting plate connects one side of the first mounting plate and one side of the second mounting plate; the first mounting plate being fixed to the first conductive housing; the second mounting plate being provided with a first grounding elastic arm protruding into the receiving slot combined with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/MARCUS E HARCUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831