DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Makarov, et al (U.S. Patent 11,133,162 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Makarov discloses a gas analyzing apparatus comprising:
A plasma generator (65) and an electron impact ion source (110) as ionization devices that are configured to generate an ion flow of a sample gas;
An analyser (100) that is configured to analyze the ion flow supplied from the ionization devices (Fig. 1);
A first sample inlet (30) that is configured to supply the sample gas to the plasma generator; and
A second sample inlet (75) that is configured to supply the sample gas to the electron impact ion source.
Regarding claim 5, Makarov discloses a split-flow type exhaust system that includes a first stage to supply a negative pressure to a chamber of the plasma generator and a second stage to exhaust gas from the analyzer (column 7, lines 34-37).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art fails to teach opening, when an internal pressure of the process chamber is high, the first sample inlet, closing the second sample inlet, deactivating the electron impact ion source and generating a plasma by the plasma generator; and closing, when the internal pressure of the process chamber is low, the first sample inlet, opening the second sample inlet, and activating the electron impact ion source.
Makarov does not teach closing either the first inlet or the second inlet at any time; in fact, if either inlet were to be closed in Makarov’s apparatus, no sample would reach the analyzer and the apparatus would not work.
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach the apparatus further comprising a controller that is configured to switch the first sample inlet and the second sample inlet. As described above, closing either sample inlet in Makarov’s apparatus would render it non-functional..
/MICHAEL MASKELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878 08 August 2026