DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10, 11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takihara et al. (herein “Takihara”; US Pub. No. 2017/0165528 A1) in view of Umezawa (US Pub. No. 2010/0125006 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takihara discloses a golf ball comprising a spherical core (Fig. 1, item 4; noting a POSA would understand that a spherical core is inherent and/or obvious on a spherical golf ball), at least one intermediate layer positioned outside the spherical core (Fig. 1, item 6), and an outermost cover positioned outside the intermediate layer and having a plurality of dimples formed thereon (Fig. 1, item 8 and Fig. 2), wherein the spherical core is formed from a rubber composition containing a polybutadiene rubber and another rubber as a rubber component (par. [0035]; noting polybutadiene in combination with other rubbers is obvious), a co-crosslinking agent (par. [0036]), and a crosslinking initiator (par. [0039]), the co-crosslinking agent contains methacrylic acid, a metal salt of a methacrylic acid, or a mixture of methacrylic acid and a metal salt thereof (pars. [0036]-[0037]; listing salts thereof, and par. [0037] stating “The salt serves as a co-crosslinking agent”), a material hardness Hm of the intermediate layer is greater than a material hardness Hc of the cover (Table 7, Example 1; noting 63 Shore D for the intermediate layer, and 31 Shore D for the outer cover; the values anticipating or making obvious the claimed range), and a total lower volume Vi (mm³) of the plurality of dimples is 365 mm³ or more (par. [0110]; listing at least 450 mm3; the value anticipating and/or making obvious the claimed range; noting the Examiner construes “lower” to simply be the dimple volume below or lower than the outer sphere and further noting that the Examiner does not import any limitations from the specification into the claims), and an occupation ratio of the dimples defined by the following formula is 75% or more; occupation ratio (%) of dimples = 100 X total area of all dimples / surface area of a virtual sphere that is assumed to have no dimples on golf ball surface (par. [0108]; listing “greater than 81.0%”; the value anticipating and/or making obvious the claimed range). In the alternative, regarding the “total lower volume” of the dimples, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In addition, to support the Examiner’s assertion that lower total dimple volume is a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result) and can be optimized or found though routine experimentation, the Examiner evidences Takihara which specifically states that dimple volume (and thus the total lower volume) is a result-effective variable used to optimize golf ball flight trajectory (par. [0110]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact total lower dimple volume could be found through routine experimentation in order to optimize the golf ball’s flight trajectory. It is noted that Takihara does not specifically that the another rubber used in conjunction with the polybutadiene is butyl rubber. However, Umezawa discloses the ability to use polybutadiene with butyl rubber (par. [0029]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Takihara to use a rubber combination of polybutadiene and butyl rubber in the core as taught by Umezawa because doing so would be combining prior art elements (golf ball with a polybutadiene mixture in the core, and a golf ball with a polybutadiene mixture in the core with butyl rubber) according to know methods (using butyl rubber in the core as part of the mixture) to yield predictable results (the continued ability to use a polybutadiene mixture in the core, the mixture being polybutadiene and butyl rubber, the butyl rubber used to limit the COR of the core).
Regarding claim 2, the combined Takihara and Umezawa disclose that the total lower volume Vi (mm³) is 400 mm³ or more (Takihara: par. [0110]; listing at least 450 mm3; the value anticipating and/or making obvious the claimed range). Alternatively, also noting that the total lower volume can be found through routine optimization as per claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, the combined Takihara and Umezawa disclose that (Hs-Ho) is 20 or less in Shore C hardness (Takihara: par. [0052]; specifically listing “equal to or greater than 15”, the disclosed range making obvious the claimed range).
Regarding claim 5, the combined Takihara and Umezawa disclose that the spherical core has a surface hardness Hs of 80 or less in Shore C hardness (Takihara: par. [0055]; noting “equal to or greater than 70” makes obvious the claimed range), and a center hardness Ho of 60 or less in Shore C hardness (Takihara: par. [0053]; noting “equal to or greater than 30” makes obvious the claimed range).
Regarding claim 7, the combined Takihara and Umezawa disclose that the intermediate layer has a material hardness Hm of 60 or more in Shore D hardness (Takihara: Table 7, Example 1; noting 63 Shore D; the value anticipating or making obvious the claimed range).
Regarding claim 8, the combined Takihara and Umezawa disclose that the cover has a material hardness Hc of 40 or less in Shore D hardness (Takihara: Table 7, Example 1; noting 31 Shore D; the value anticipating or making obvious the claimed range).
Regarding claim 9, the combined Takihara and Umezawa disclose that the rubber composition further contains an isoprene rubber as the rubber component (Takihara: par. [0035]; Watanabe: Table 1, Example 1; and Umezawa: par. [0029]; noting a “blend of” makes this obvious).
Regarding claim 10, the combined Takihara and Umezawa disclose that the intermediate layer contains an ionomer resin as a resin component (Takihara: par. [0057]).
Regarding claim 11, the combined Takihara and Umezawa disclose that the cover contains a polyurethane as a resin component (Takihara: par. [0075]).
Regarding claim 13, the combined Takihara and Umezawa disclose that a mass ratio [the polybutadiene rubber / (the butyl rubber and the polyisoprene rubber)] of the polybutadiene rubber to the butyl rubber and the polyisoprene rubber ranges from 30/70 to 95/5 (Umezawa: par. [0029]; noting it is obvious that both butyl and polyisoprene can be a “blend of”, it is also obvious that the ratio of polybutadiene to butyl/polyisoprene can be 50/50). In the alternative, regarding the exact ratio of polybutadiene to butyl/polyisoprene rubber, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In addition, to support the Examiner’s assertion that ratio of polybutadiene to butyl/polyisoprene rubber is a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result) and can be optimized or found though routine experimentation, the Examiner evidences Umezawa which specifically states that that ratio of polybutadiene to butyl/polyisoprene rubber is a result-effective variable used to optimize COR (Umezawa: par. [0029]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact ratio of polybutadiene to butyl/isoprene rubber can be found through routine experimentation in order to optimize the core COR.
Regarding claim 14, the combined Takihara and Umezawa disclose that the co-crosslinking agent contains methacrylic acid, the metal salt of methacrylic acid, or the mixture of methacrylic acid and the metal salt thereof in an amount of 50 mass % or more (Takihara: par. [0038]; noting “equal to or less than 50 parts by weight” makes obvious the claimed range; noting a POSA would understand that “mass %” and “parts by weight” are the same). In the alternative, assuming arguendo that “mass %” and “parts by weight” are not the same, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In addition, to support the Examiner’s assertion that the amount of the co-crosslinking agent is a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result) and can be optimized or found though routine experimentation, the Examiner evidences Takihara which specifically states that the amount of the co-crosslinking agent is a result-effective variable that can be optimized for the “the feel [of the golf ball] at impact” (par. [0038]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact amount of co-crosslinking agent could be found through routine experimentation in order to optimize the feel at impact.
Regarding claim 15, the combined Takihara and Umezawa disclose that the co-crosslinking agent consists of methacrylic acid, the metal salt of methacrylic acid, or the mixture of methacrylic acid and the metal salt thereof (par. [0037], specifically stating “”The salt serves as a co-crosslinking agent”, or see Table 1, specifically listing “Zinc diacrylate”).
Regarding claim 16, the combined Takihara and Umezawa disclose that (Hs-H₁₅) is 0 or more and 5 or less. It is noted that the combined Takihara and Umezawa disclose that the value is 4 or less. However, under Titanium Metals, values can be made obvious when they do not overlap, but are simply close (see MPEP 2144.05(I)). Here, in par. [0038] of their specification, applicant specifically states that a value with the range of “5 or less…provides a better shot feeling with hitting the ball with a putter”. Restated, applicant has no criticality for the lesser included range of “4 or less” and a POSA would understand that any value of with the range of “5 or less” would have the same “same properties”; completely consistent with the holding in Titanium Metals. As such, based on applicant’s own disclosure, a POSA would understand a value of 4 and 5 to yield the same properties, the range of “4 or less” is obvious under the holding in Titanium Metals.
Regarding claim 17, the combined Takihara and Umezawa disclose that (Hs-H₁₅) is 0 or more and 5 or less. It is noted that the combined Takihara and Umezawa disclose that the value is 3 or less. However, under Titanium Metals, values can be made obvious when they do not overlap, but are simply close (see MPEP 2144.05(I)). Here, in par. [0038] of their specification, applicant specifically states that a value with the range of “5 or less…provides a better shot feeling with hitting the ball with a putter”. Restated, applicant has no criticality for the lesser included range of “3 or less” and a POSA would understand that any value of with the range of “5 or less” would have the same “same properties”; completely consistent with the holding in Titanium Metals. As such, based on applicant’s own disclosure, a POSA would understand a value of 3 and 5 to yield the same properties, the range of “3 or less” is obvious under the holding in Titanium Metals.
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takihara et al. (herein “Takihara”; US Pub. No. 2017/0165528 A1) in view of Umezawa (US Pub. No. 2010/0125006 A1) and in further view of Watanabe (US Pub. No. 2010/0298067 A1).
Regarding claim 3, it is noted that the combined Takihara and Umezawa do not specifically disclose that when a center hardness (Shore C hardness) of the spherical core, a hardness (Shore C hardness) at each point of 2.5 mm, 5 mm, 7.5 mm, 10 mm, 12.5 mm and 15 mm from a center of the spherical core toward a surface of the spherical core, and a surface hardness (Shore C hardness) of the spherical core are represented by Ho, H2.5, H₅, H7.5, H10, H12.5, H15, Hs respectively, the following relationships (1) to (7) are satisfied; (H2.5-H₀) ≤ 5 (1), (H5-H2.5) ≤ 5 (2), (H7.5-H5) ≤ 5 (3), (H10-H7.5) ≤ 5 (4), (H12.5-H10) ≤ 5 (5), (H15-H12.5) ≤ 5 (6), and (Hs-H₁₅) ≤ 5 (7). However, Takihara discloses a golf ball that would inherently have some hardness gradient (pars. [0052]-[0053]). In addition, Watanabe discloses a similar three piece ball wherein a center hardness (Shore C hardness) of the spherical core, a hardness (Shore C hardness) at each point of 2.5 mm, 5 mm, 7.5 mm, 10 mm, 12.5 mm and 15 mm from a center of the spherical core toward a surface of the spherical core, and a surface hardness (Shore C hardness) of the spherical core are represented by Ho, H2.5, H₅, H7.5, H10, H12.5, H15, Hs respectively, the following relationships (1) to (7) are satisfied; (H2.5-H₀) ≤ 5 (1), (H5-H2.5) ≤ 5 (2), (H7.5-H5) ≤ 5 (3), (H10-H7.5) ≤ 5 (4), (H12.5-H10) ≤ 5 (5), (H15-H12.5) ≤ 5 (6), and (Hs-H₁₅) ≤ 5 (7) (see specifically, the NPL Examiner’s Calculation using Table 4, Example 3; noting values for H0, H7.5, H15, and HS are specifically given, values for H2.5, H5, H10, and H12.5 are linearly interpolated based on least square equation in the graph, completely consistent with the desired to obtain a “linear gradient” in par. [0041]; noting all the values for claim 3 are met; also noting that “JIS-C” and “Shore C” are the same scale, see as evidence, Hashimoto et al., US Pat. No. 5,093,402, col. 8, lines 39-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combined Takihara and Umezawa to use the “approximately linear gradient” of Table 4, Example 3 so that the above equations are met as taught by Watanabe because doing so would be combining prior art elements (a 3-piece golf ball having some core hardness gradient, and a 3-piece golf ball having a linear core hardness gradient) according to known methods (using of the linear core hardness gradient in the former 3-piece golf ball) to yield predictable results (the continued ability to use a core hardness gradient in a 3-piece golf ball, the core hardness gradient being linear so as to meet the claimed equation and provide a “spin rate-lowering effect on shots” with a driver and known to work in a 3-piece golf ball – see Watanabe: par. [0041]).
Regarding claim 12, the combined Takihara, Umezawa, and Watanabe disclose that (Hs-Ho) is 5 or more and 20 or less in Shore C hardness (Takihara: par. [0052]; specifically listing “equal to or greater than 15”, the disclosed range making obvious the claimed range, and/or Watanabe: Table 4, Example 3 listing specifically 18 which anticipates the claimed range).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
103 Discussion
Applicant’s Remarks and submission of Exhibits A and B are rendered moot as the Nesbitt reference is removed from rejection and replaced by Umezawa. This replacement of the tertiary reference was based on the claim amendments.
Applicant discusses specific embodiments within the original specification of the preferred invention against non-preferred (Golf Balls Nos. 1 to 7 vs other examples). The Examiner simply notes that the arguments do not make out a case for “unexpected results” as required under MPEP 716.02.
On pages 6-8, applicant specifically argues each reference in isolation. Specifically, applicant argues Watanabe ‘067 in isolation instead of what the reference teaches a POSA. Specifically, applicant argues that Watanabe discloses an intermediate layer having a hardness lower the cover in contradiction to what is claimed (see Remarks, page 7, applicant stating “core”, but the Examiner assumes that they mean “cover”). As noted in the previous interview, the argument is not compelling. The primary reference Takihara already shows this claimed relationship between the intermediate layer and the cover. Watanabe is brought in to show the core hardness profile. A POSA would understand that the core hardness profile disclosed in Watanabe could be adapted for the three piece golf ball as disclosed in Takihara regardless of other structures.
All arguments directed toward Nesbitt are moot as it is replaced by Umezawa.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW B STANCZAK/
Examiner, Art Unit 3711
7/13/26
/MICHAEL D DENNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711