Response to Election
Applicant elected without travers to prosecute the embodiment shown in figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aumonier (2021/0108376) in view of Foster (GB2495724)
As to claim 1, Aumonier disclose artificial turf having a substrate with intergrally formed and protruding individually molded fibers ([0010]). Aumonier does not specify adding additional technology to the system.
Foster teaches adding fiber optic to artificial turf fiber so that colored field marking and advertisement may be displayed on the field and control by CPU 4 (figures 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the fiber optic display technology of Foster to the system of Aumonier because it would allow of change markings between sports and allow for on field advertisements.
As to claim 2, Foster teaches that CPU 4 causes multiple colors and patterns to be displayed on the pitch thus CPU is an RGB controller
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aumonier (2021/0108376) and Foster (GB2495724) ass applied to claim 2 above, furth in view of Balisle (20090305823)
As to claim 6, Aumonier nor Foster specify the use of pressure sensors with their artificial turf system. Belisle teaches artificial turf blades with integral pressure sensors (Figure 1). This allows for data collection and more accurate officiating of sporting events. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the pressure sensors of Balisle to the system of Aumonier and Foster because it would allow for more accurate officiating of sporting events.
As to claim 7, the pressure sensors of Balisle would inherently act in the claims manner.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aumonier (2021/0108376) in view of Balisle (20090305823)
As to claim 19, Aumonier disclose artificial turf having a substrate with integrally formed and protruding individually molded fibers ([0010]). Aumonier does not specify adding pressure sensors to the system.
Belisle teaches artificial turf blades with integral pressure sensors (Figure 1). This allows for data collection and more accurate officiating of sporting events. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the pressure sensors of Balisle to the system of Aumonier because it would allow for more accurate officiating of sporting events.
As to claim 20, the pressure sensors of Balisle would inherently perform in the claimed manner.
/NATHAN J FLYNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2421