Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-14, 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horn et al. (US 10,731,943), hereinafter (“Horn”).
Re claims 1, 4, 7, 9-11, 14, 16, 19, and 20, Horn (Fig 2) discloses an archery bowstring release comprising: a handle (12); a release neck (14) engaged with the handle; a release hook engaged with the release neck and configured to releasably engage an archery bowstring; and a release sear assembly (Fig 4A, 24 and/or26) engaged with the release hook, wherein the release sear assembly is configured to permit the release hook to pivot from a first reset position to a second tactile position based on an adjustment of an adjustable click sear (inherent), wherein the release hook emits a tactile feel or vibration rather than an audible click when pivoting to the second position, and wherein the release sear assembly is further configured to permit the release hook to pivot from the second tactile position to a third firing position (c. 5, l. 20-25).
Re claims 2 and 12, Horn discloses the archery bowstring release of claim 1, wherein the release hook is resettable from the second tactile position to the first reset position (inherent).
Re claims 3 and 13, Horn (Fig 7) discloses the archery bowstring release of claim 2, wherein the release sear assembly comprises an adjustable speed sear and an adjustable click sear.
Claim(s) 1, 11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Springer et al (US 2024/0318936), hereinafter (“Springer”). Springer discloses an archery bowstring release comprising: a handle (110); a release neck (114) engaged with the handle; a release hook (150) engaged with the release neck and configured to releasably engage an archery bowstring; and a release sear assembly engaged with the release hook, wherein the release sear assembly is configured to permit the release hook to pivot from a first reset position to a second tactile position, wherein the release hook emits a tactile feel or vibration rather than an audible click when pivoting to the second tactile position based on an adjustment of an adjustable click sear (inherent), and wherein the release sear assembly is further configured to permit the release hook to pivot from the second tactile position to a third firing position (p. [0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn in view of Rentz (US 9,618,295). Horn discloses the claimed invention with the exception of the archery bowstring release of claim 4, wherein the third finger position is adjustable via a removable set screw. Rentz teaches an archery release wherein the third finger position is adjustable via a removable set screw so that the user can adjust the positioning of the finger grooves to the desired location (c. 3, l. 44+). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the release in Horn to have the adjustment capability of Rentz. The motivation (as taught by Rentz) would be so that the user can adjust the positioning of the finger grooves to the desired location. All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to a skilled artisan at the time the invention was made.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn in view Langley (US 11,428,500). Horn discloses the archery bowstring release of claim 1, wherein the handle further comprises a lanyard attachment slot. Langley (Fig 10, 321) teaches an archery release a lanyard attachment slot. The slot in Langley enables an archer to connect a lanyard or string to release aid to prevent dropping and/or losing the release aid (c. 7, l. 65+). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the release in Horn to have the slot of Langley. The motivation (as taught by Langley) would be to enable an archer to connect a lanyard or string to release aid to prevent dropping and/or losing the release aid. All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to a skilled artisan at the time the invention was made.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn in view of Horn in view Springer (US 9,027,540). Horn discloses the archery bowstring release of claim 1, wherein the release hook is lockable. Springer teaches an archery release wherein the release hook is lockable (c. 4; l. 10+) to prevent the bowstring hook from full range of motion and retains the bowstring in the bowstring hook. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the release in Horn to be lockable. The motivation would be to prevent the bowstring hook from full range of motion and retains the bowstring in the bowstring hook. All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to a skilled artisan at the time the invention was made.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn. Horn discloses the claimed invention except for the material of the release being either aluminum, brass, or steel. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the material of the release, since it has been held to be within general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8-12-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument that the examiner’s reference to Horn does not disclose a tactile feel or vibration rather than an audible click; the examiner disagrees. Horn clearly discloses this limitation (see c. 5, l. 20-25).
In response to applicant’s argument that the examiner’s reference to Springer does not disclose a tactile feel or vibration rather than an audible click; the examiner disagrees. Springer clearly discloses this limitation (see p. [0029]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINALD S TILLMAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641