DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraphs [0011] and [0041] of the Specification recites “the supporting column is configured to insert an external container to be dried” and “the supporting column 1 is configured to insert an external container to be dried”, respectively. These portions are suggested to be amended as “the supporting column is configured to insert into an external container to be dried” and “the supporting column 1 is configured to insert into an external container to be dried”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities: line 5 of claim 1 recites “the supporting column is configured to insert an external container to be dried”, which is suggested to be amended as “the supporting column is configured to insert into an external container to be dried”. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 2-10 are also objected to by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “heating component” and “blowing component” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-##### is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 109662677 A to Lin et al. (Lin) in view of US 11952708 B1 to Henry.
In reference to independent claim 1, Lin discloses:
A container drying and heating base (1), comprising:
a supporting column (51) with a hollow structure (511) inside;
a heating component (14) located below the supporting column (51) (see Fig. 1); and
a blowing component (11) located below the heating component (14) (see Fig. 1),
wherein the supporting column (51) is configured to insert into an external container (e.g. bottle) to be dried (see Figs. 6-7), the heating component (14) is configured to heat air, and the blowing component is (11) configured to blow the air into an interior of the external container to dry the external container; and
the supporting column (51) has a thin upper end and a thick lower end (see Fig. 5A), and is provided with a circular opening at a top (see Fig. 5A) and a plurality of notches along the circular opening (see annotations below).
Lin, however, is silent regarding a plurality of strip-shaped openings on the periphery of the supporting column.
Henry teaches a similar device (100) for drying an external container (in this case, a glove 200) including a column (see Figs. 1-2) that is slimmer and open on top and wider at a lower end (see Fig. 1), the column further having a plurality of vent ports (12, 33) along its periphery (see Figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the column of Lin to include the peripheral vent ports as taught by Henry in order to promote faster drying (see col. 8 at lines 12-15).
In reference to dependent claim 2, Lin further discloses: the supporting column (51) is disposed on an upper shell (101); and the upper shell is bowl-shaped (see Fig. 1).
In reference to dependent claim 3, Lin further discloses: the upper shell (101) is snap-fitted on a lower shell (102), and the lower shell is also bowl-shaped (see Fig. 1).
In reference to dependent claim 8, Lin further discloses: an inner wall of the upper shell is further provided with a positioning groove, and the positioning groove is wide at a top and narrow at a bottom (see [0125] and Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 4, Lin further discloses the upper housing (101) having a liquid guide structure (104). However, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the upper shell and the lower shell having a plurality of water-filtering holes that are vertically through.
Conclusion
/NGOC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799