DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8, the specification does not provide adequate disclosure to perform the claimed functions of verifying that the at least two of the domain walls were annihilated based on the measured magnetization state of the multi-turn loop.
[0011] In some embodiments, the read out circuit is further configured to measure a magnetization state of the multi-turn loop, and the controller is configured to verify that the at least two of the domain walls were annihilated based on the measured magnetization state of the multi-turn loop.
[0021] In some embodiments, the method further comprises measuring a magnetization state of the multi-turn loop; and verifying that the at least two of the domain walls were annihilated based on the measured magnetization state of the multi-turn loop.
[0095] For example, the multi-turn sensor system can measure the magnetization state of each of the spirals 102 and 104 before and after re-magnetization of the portion 114 of the multi-turn spiral 100 (e.g., blocks 204 and 226). The multi-turn sensor system can verify that the multi-turn spiral 100 has been filled with domain walls prior to re-magnetization and verify that the pair of domain walls has been annihilated after re-magnetization.
The specification is silent as to the manner in which the controller implements verifying that the at least two of the domain walls were annihilated based on the measured magnetization state of the multi-turn loop. The specification fails to provide the manner in which verification takes place. The specification appears to lack any formulas, any acts of comparisons or any other actions performed for verifying.
Regarding claim 18, the specification does not provide adequate disclosure to perform the claimed functions of the controller is configured to verify that the at least two of the domain walls were annihilated based on the measured magnetization state of the multi-turn loop.
[0011] In some embodiments, the read out circuit is further configured to measure a magnetization state of the multi-turn loop, and the controller is configured to verify that the at least two of the domain walls were annihilated based on the measured magnetization state of the multi-turn loop.
[0021] In some embodiments, the method further comprises measuring a magnetization state of the multi-turn loop; and verifying that the at least two of the domain walls were annihilated based on the measured magnetization state of the multi-turn loop.
[0095] For example, the multi-turn sensor system can measure the magnetization state of each of the spirals 102 and 104 before and after re-magnetization of the portion 114 of the multi-turn spiral 100 (e.g., blocks 204 and 226). The multi-turn sensor system can verify that the multi-turn spiral 100 has been filled with domain walls prior to re-magnetization and verify that the pair of domain walls has been annihilated after re-magnetization.
The specification is silent as to the manner in which the controller implements verifying that the at least two of the domain walls were annihilated based on the measured magnetization state of the multi-turn loop. The specification fails to provide the manner in which verification takes place. The specification appears to lack any formulas, any acts of comparisons performed for verifying.
The specification is silent as to the manner in which the controller implements verifying that the at least two of the domain walls were annihilated based on the measured magnetization state of the multi-turn loop. The specification fails to provide the manner in which verification takes place. The specification appears to lack any formulas, any acts of comparisons performed for verifying.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, line 3 it appears the “count in” should be -- count is --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 , 10 , 11, 13, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diegel et al. (CN 108369108 B) in view of Liu et al. (US 20130221949).
Regarding claim 1, Diegel et al. teach A multi-turn magnetic sensing system comprising: a multi-turn loop through which domain walls propagate in response to rotation of a magnetic field; (Note Fig. 5, spiral structure);
a magnetization component configured to provide the domain walls to the multi-turn loop; (Note domain wall generators 23 and 24, Fig. 6)
Diegel et al. does not teach one or more wires configured to annihilate at least two of the domain walls of the multi-turn loop.
Liu et al. teach one or more wires configured to annihilate at least two of the domain walls of the multi-turn loop. (By applying the reset current in sequence along series of reset lines 152, 154, 156, 158 instead of simultaneously along one long reset line, the individual reset line segment resistance can be significantly reduced. As a result, the magnitude of the reset current pulse is drastically increased given a certain reset bias voltage. The higher reset current pulse increases the reset field strength and therefore ability to remove the magnetic domain walls in the flux guide.) [par. 0043]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diegel et al. to include the teaching of one or more wires configured to annihilate at least two of the domain walls of the multi-turn loop to eliminate noise that may lower the SNR during measurements of an external field.
Regarding claims 2, Diegel et al. teach wherein the magnetization component comprises a reset wire configured to fill the multi-turn loop with domain walls. (Thus, the domain wall generator DWG23 (or DWG24) completely fills the DW spiral. [0152]) The examiner’s position is the connection between the domain wall generator and spiral is broadly interpreted as a rest wire. Also note par. [0154] The electrical connection for a helix with two DWGs is always “180° connection” (see Figure 5), and has been omitted in Figure 6 for clarity.
Regarding claim 10, Diegel et al. teach wherein the magnetization component comprises: one or more reset wires configured to generate a magnetic field having a strength sufficient to fill the multi-turn loop with the domain walls. (Thus, the domain wall generator DWG23 (or DWG24) completely fills the DW spiral. [0152]) The examiner’s position is the connection between the domain wall generator and spiral is broadly interpreted as a reset wire. Also note par. [0154] The electrical connection for a helix with two DWGs is always “180° connection” (see Figure 5), and has been omitted in Figure 6 for clarity.
Regarding claim 11, Diegel et al. teach multi-turn loop comprises a multi-turn spiral including a first spiral and a second spiral, the first spiral and the second spiral coupled together such that domain walls can propagate between the first and second spirals. (Note Fig. 8)
Regarding claim 13, Diegel et al. teach A method of initializing a multi-turn magnetic sensing system, the method comprising:
providing domain walls to a multi-turn loop; (Note domain wall generators 23 and 24, Fig. 6) and
Diegel et al. does not teach applying a magnetic field to a portion of the multi-turn loop to annihilate at least two of the domain walls of the multi-turn loop,
wherein after the applying the multi-turn loop is configured to change state in response to rotation of a magnetic field.
Liu et al. teach applying a magnetic field to a portion of the multi-turn loop to annihilate at least two of the domain walls of the multi-turn loop. (By applying the reset current in sequence along series of reset lines 152, 154, 156, 158 instead of simultaneously along one long reset line, the individual reset line segment resistance can be significantly reduced. As a result, the magnitude of the reset current pulse is drastically increased given a certain reset bias voltage. The higher reset current pulse increases the reset field strength and therefore ability to remove the magnetic domain walls in the flux guide.) [par. 0043] and
wherein after the applying the multi-turn loop is configured to change state in response to rotation of a magnetic field. ([0050] During measurement, a lower current pulse may be applied simultaneously through the switches 711, 721, 724, 726 and 718 to stabilize the sensors 122.) The Examiner’s position is that the state is changed from unstabilized to stabilized.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diegel et al. to include the teaching of applying a magnetic field to a portion of the multi-turn loop to annihilate at least two of the domain walls of the multi-turn loop, wherein after the applying the multi-turn loop is configured to change state in response to rotation of a magnetic field eliminate noise that may lower the SNR during measurements of an external field.
Regarding claim 14, Diegel et al. teach wherein the applying is performed using a coil that wraps around a portion of the multi-turn loop. ([0163] Figure 10 schematically illustrates the configuration of a sensor element according to the invention for counting 40 revolutions (U) in an exemplary application. The sensor element includes rings with coprime maximum rotation speeds of 5 (S5), 8 (S8), and 9 (S9). The top view shows a square spiral as exemplarily shown in Figure 7, which is illustrated here in a space-saving manner. The rings, DW locations, and domain walls are symbolically shown as in Figure 3d. For redundant rotation counting, rings S5 and S8 are needed, and their combination can count up to 40 rotations: 5U * 8U = 40U. By adding ring S9 for redundant rotation counting, there are three combinations of two rings each, which can count at least 40 rotations. ).
Regarding claim 19, Diegel et al. teach wherein the providing the domain walls to the multi-turn loop is performed using one or more reset wires that generate a magnetic field having a strength sufficient to fill the multi-turn loop with the domain walls. (Thus, the domain wall generator DWG23 (or DWG24) completely fills the DW spiral. [0152]) The examiner’s position is the connection between the domain wall generator and spiral is broadly interpreted as a reset wire. Also note par. [0154] The electrical connection for a helix with two DWGs is always “180° connection” (see Figure 5), and has been omitted in Figure 6 for clarity.
Regarding claim 20, Diegel et al. teach a multi-turn loop through which domain walls propagate in response to rotation of a magnetic field; (Note Fig. 5, spiral structure ); and
a decoder configured to output a turn count that is based on output signals from the multi-turn loop. (In other words, the analysis and processing electronic device outputs the following as the counted rotations [0056]
Diegel et al. does not teach means for annihilating at least two of the domain walls of the multi-turn loop
Liu et al. teach one or more wires configured to annihilate at least two of the domain walls of the multi-turn loop. (By applying the reset current in sequence along series of reset lines 152, 154, 156, 158 instead of simultaneously along one long reset line, the individual reset line segment resistance can be significantly reduced. As a result, the magnitude of the reset current pulse is drastically increased given a certain reset bias voltage. The higher reset current pulse increases the reset field strength and therefore ability to remove the magnetic domain walls in the flux guide.) [par. 0043]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diegel et al. to include the teaching of one or more wires configured to annihilate at least two of the domain walls of the multi-turn loop eliminate noise that may lower the SNR during measurements of an external field.
Claims 4, 5, 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diegel et al. (CN 108369108 B) in view of Liu et al. (US 20130221949) further in view of Dettmann et al. (US 5521501).
Diegel et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 4, Diegel et al. does not teach wherein the one or more wires comprise a re-magnetization coil that wraps around a portion of the multi-turn loop.
Dettmann et al. teach wherein the one or more wires comprise a re-magnetization coil (6, Fig.3) that wraps around a portion of the multi-turn loop. (loop on 1, Fig. 3)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diegel et al. to include the teaching of wherein the one or more wires comprise a re-magnetization coil that wraps around a portion of the multi-turn loop to serve to generate a certain stabilization magnetic field, via which a certain sensor sensitivity is set. (Note Dettmann et al. column 3, lines 9-12)
Regarding claim 5, Diegel et al. does not teach wherein the one or more wires comprise a re-magnetization component positioned on one side of a portion of the multi-turn loop.
Dettmann et al. teach wherein the one or more wires comprise a re-magnetization component positioned on one side of a portion of the multi-turn loop. (6, Fig.3) (loop on 1, Fig. 3)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diegel et al. to include the teaching of a re-magnetization component positioned on one side of a portion of the multi-turn loop to serve to generate a certain stabilization magnetic field, via which a certain sensor sensitivity is set. (Note Dettmann et al. column 3, lines 9-12)
Regarding claim 6, Diegel et al. does not teach wherein the multi-turn loop comprises a multi-turn spiral, and wherein the one or more wires comprise a re-magnetization component that covers at least three quarters of a turn of the multi-turn spiral.
Dettmann et al. teach wherein the multi-turn loop comprises a multi-turn spiral, and wherein the one or more wires comprise a re-magnetization component that covers at least three quarters of a turn of the multi-turn spiral. (6, Fig.3) (loop on 1, Fig. 3)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diegel et al. to include the teaching of a re-magnetization component that covers at least three quarters of a turn of the multi-turn spiral to serve to generate a certain stabilization magnetic field, via which a certain sensor sensitivity is set. (Note Dettmann et al. column 3, lines 9-12)
Regarding claim 16, Diegel et al. does not teach wherein the applying is performed using a coil that wraps around a portion of the multi-turn loop.
Dettmann et al. teach wherein the applying is performed using a coil (6, Fig. 3) that wraps around a portion of the multi-turn loop. (loop on 1, Fig. 3)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diegel et al. to include the teaching of applying is performed using a coil that wraps around a portion of the multi-turn loop to serve to generate a certain stabilization magnetic field, via which a certain sensor sensitivity is set. (Note Dettmann et al. column 3, lines 9-12)
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diegel et al. (CN 108369108 B) in view of Liu et al. (US 20130221949) further in view of Schmitt et al. ( DE 102020132914 A1).
Diegel et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 7, Diegel et al. does not teach a read out circuit configured to measure a direction of an external magnetic field; and a controller configured to apply a current pulse to the one or more wires with a direction of the current pulse based on the measured external magnetic field.
Schmitt et al. teach a read out circuit configured to measure a direction of an external magnetic field; [0065] The angle sensor 904 is used in embodiments of the present disclosure to measure the direction of the external magnetic field in order to determine how to apply the current to the initialization device, and therefore the angle sensor 904 in its simplest form can be a quadrant detector, since one only needs to know in which 90° quadrant the external magnetic field is located.
and a controller (processing circuit 906, par. 0063 ) configured to apply a current pulse to the one or more wires with a direction of the current pulse based on the measured external magnetic field. ([0043] The direction in which the current is applied depends on the direction of an external magnetic field, typically the magnetic field generated by the magnet that the sensor will measure.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diegel et al. to include the teaching of a read out circuit configured to measure a direction of an external magnetic field; and a controller configured to apply a current pulse to the one or more wires with a direction of the current pulse based on the measured external magnetic field so that the spiral can be initialized very quickly by applying a current to the conductor in the right direction. (Note Schmitt et al. abstract)
Regarding claim 17, Diegel et al. does not teach measuring a direction of an external magnetic field, wherein the applying comprises applying a current pulse to a re-magnetization component, and wherein a direction of the current pulse is based on the measured external magnetic field.
Schmitt et al. teach measuring a direction of an external magnetic field, [0065]
The angle sensor 904 is used in embodiments of the present disclosure to measure the direction of the external magnetic field in order to determine how to apply the current to the initialization device, and therefore the angle sensor 904 in its simplest form can be a quadrant detector, since one only needs to know in which 90° quadrant the external magnetic field is located.) wherein the applying comprises applying a current pulse to a re-magnetization component, and wherein a direction of the current pulse is based on the measured external magnetic field. (processing circuit 906, par. 0063 ) ([0043] The direction in which the current is applied depends on the direction of an external magnetic field, typically the magnetic field generated by the magnet that the sensor will measure.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diegel et al. to include the teaching of measuring a direction of an external magnetic field, wherein the applying comprises applying a current pulse to a re-magnetization component, and wherein a direction of the current pulse is based on the measured external magnetic field to so that the spiral can be initialized very quickly by applying a current to the conductor in the right direction. (Note Schmitt et al. abstract)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diegel et al. (CN 108369108 B) in view of Liu et al. (US 20130221949) further in view of Schmitt et al. (US 20220307865, cited by applicant).
Diegel et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 9, Diegel et al. does not teach wherein the multi-turn loop comprises a multi-turn spiral, and wherein the magnetization component comprises: a domain wall generator configured to generate domain walls at one end of the multi-turn spiral; and a magnetic target configured to generate an external magnetic field, wherein the providing domain walls to the multi-turn spiral comprises turning the magnetic target with respect to the multi-turn spiral such that the domain walls generated by the domain wall generator propagate around the multi-turn spiral.
Schmitt et al. teach wherein the multi-turn loop comprises a multi-turn spiral,(Note Fig. 5) and wherein the magnetization component comprises: a domain wall generator configured to generate domain walls at one end of the multi-turn spiral;(Note par. 0031, The DWG 204 generates domain walls in response to rotations in an external magnetic field) and a magnetic target configured to generate an external magnetic field, (Note par. 0027, To do this, a magnet is typically mounted to the end of the rotating shaft, the multi-turn sensor being sensitive to the rotation of the magnetic field as the magnet rotates with the shaft.) wherein the providing domain walls to the multi-turn spiral comprises turning the magnetic target with respect to the multi-turn spiral such that the domain walls generated by the domain wall generator propagate around the multi-turn spiral. (The DWG 204 generates domain walls in response to rotations in an external magnetic field, or the application of some other strong external magnetic field beyond the operating magnetic window of the sensor 102. These domain walls can then be injected into the magnetic strip 200. As the magnetic domain changes, the resistance of the GMR elements 202 will also change due to the resulting change in magnetic alignment.)[par. 0031]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diegel et al. to include the teaching of wherein the multi-turn loop comprises a multi-turn spiral, and wherein the magnetization component comprises: a domain wall generator configured to generate domain walls at one end of the multi-turn spiral; and a magnetic target configured to generate an external magnetic field, wherein the providing domain walls to the multi-turn spiral comprises turning the magnetic target with respect to the multi-turn spiral such that the domain walls generated by the domain wall generator propagate around the multi-turn spiral provide magnetising each element into an initialized state. (Note Schmitt et al. abstract)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diegel et al. (CN 108369108 B) in view of Liu et al. (US 20130221949) further in view of Gehringer et al. (US 20150130450)
Diegel et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 12, Diegel et al. does not teach wherein the one or more wires comprise a re-magnetization component including a plurality of sections, and the multi-turn magnetic sensing system further comprises a controller configured to apply current pulses to the sections of the re-magnetization component in sequence.
Gehringer et al. teach wherein the one or more wires comprise a re-magnetization component (pulse wire 36) including a plurality of sections (beginning section, middle section and end section), and the multi-turn magnetic sensing system further comprises a controller configured to apply current pulses to the sections of the re-magnetization component in sequence. ([0163] In step S30 a history of quadrant values is recorded, or stored, in the history memory, wherein each of the quadrant values corresponds to one of the remagnetization pulses 52 triggered in the pulse wire sensor 12 by a specific change of the external magnetic field due to rotation of the encoder shaft, wherein each of the quadrant values is determined by the evaluation unit 15, which considers the current signal value (Px2) delivered by the xMR element 14 to the evaluation unit 15 due to the remagnetization pulse 52, and is delivered to the history memory 78.) Also note a controller is suggested by (applying current to the coil for a short period of time so that the external magnetic field of the excitation magnet is superimposed by an additional magnetic field and thereby a test-remagnetization pulse can be generated in the pulse wire which can be measured subsequently by means of the coil, wherein existence or non-existence of the test-remagnetization pulse is delivered as the additional signal from the coil to the evaluation unit;[0027]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diegel et al. to include the teaching of teach wherein the one or more wires comprise a re-magnetization component including a plurality of sections, and the multi-turn magnetic sensing system further comprises a controller configured to apply current pulses to the sections of the re-magnetization component in sequence to generate a test reamagnetization pulse. (Note Gerhringer et al. par. 0027)
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diegel et al. (CN 108369108 B) in view of Liu et al. (US 20130221949) further in view of Schneider et al. (US 20250347507).
Diegel et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 15, Diegel et al. does not teach wherein the determining is based on a location of a domain wall gap formed by the annihilation of the at least two of the domain walls.
Schneider et al. teach wherein the determining is based on a location of a domain wall gap formed by the annihilation of the at least two of the domain walls. (Note The domain-wall memory 1.1 is used for ensuring a multi-turn functionality, i.e., for counting several revolutions or passes.) (Note par. 0064 When the second component group 2 rotates further together with the magnets 2.1, 2.2, the orientation j of the magnetic field changes from j=0 to j=p in the first transition region SW1, and the domain wall(s) is/are displaced further, or a new domain wall is generated or deleted.) Examiner’s position is that domain wall is deleted is interpreted as annihilation and as a gap being present in addition to the determining (counting several revolutions).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diegel et al.to include the teaching of wherein the determining is based on a location of a domain wall gap formed by the annihilation of the at least two of the domain walls to provide a linear measuring device. (Note Schneider et al. par. 0016)
Regarding claim 3, Diegel et al. does not teach a decoder configured to output a turn count that is based on output signals from the multi-turn loop, wherein the decoder is configured to determine the turn count in based on a location of a domain wall gap formed by the annihilation of the at least two of the domain walls.
Schneider et al. teach a decoder (Note that a processor which is interpreted as a decoder must be present for the gmr tmr sensors of par. 0027), configured to output a turn count that is based on output signals from the multi-turn loop, wherein the decoder is configured to determine the turn count in based on a location of a domain wall gap formed by the annihilation of the at least two of the domain walls. (Note The domain-wall memory 1.1 is used for ensuring a multi-turn functionality, i.e., for counting several revolutions or passes.) (Note par. 0064 When the second component group 2 rotates further together with the magnets 2.1, 2.2, the orientation j of the magnetic field changes from j=0 to j=p in the first transition region SW1, and the domain wall(s) is/are displaced further, or a new domain wall is generated or deleted.) Examiner’s position is that domain wall is deleted is interpreted as annihilation and as a gap being present in addition to the determining (counting several revolutions).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diegel et al. to include the teaching of a decoder configured to output a turn count that is based on output signals from the multi-turn loop, wherein the decoder is configured to determine the turn count in based on a location of a domain wall gap formed by the annihilation of the at least two of the domain walls to provide a linear measuring device. (Note Schneider et al. par. 0016)
Examiner’s Note:
Claims 8 and 18 stand rejected under 35 USC 112(a) as outlined above. No prior art rejection has been applied to these claims because the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach the following features recited in these claims:
Regarding claim 8, the read out circuit is further configured to measure a magnetization state of the multi-turn loop, and the controller is configured to verify that the at least two of the domain walls were annihilated based on the measured magnetization state of the multi-turn loop as claimed in combination with all other limitations.
Regarding claim 18, measuring a magnetization state of the multi-turn loop; and verifying that the at least two of the domain walls were annihilated based on the measured magnetization state of the multi-turn loop as claimed in combination with all other limitations .
Conclusion
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858