DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 06/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 48-50 and 59-62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KOMISAREK (US 3241008).
Regarding claim 48, KOMISAREK discloses an electrode (Fig. 1, 1), comprising: a sintered body (Col 1, lines 63-66), the sintered body including merged or sintered particles comprised of a valve metal (Col 1, lines 63-66); and a compound (manga-gel [Col 2, lines 25-28]) adsorbed to crack sites of the sintered body or sites of the sintered body that at least partially lack an oxide layer (Col 2, lines 32-39), the compound being configured to at least partially passivate the sites (Col 2, lines 32-39).
Regarding claim 49, KOMISAREK further discloses that the compound adsorbed to crack sites comprises molecular and/or particle-like compounds and/or composites (Col 2, lines 32-39).
Regarding claim 50, KOMISAREK further discloses, further in combination with an electrolyte and a cathode to form an electrolytic capacitor (Col 1, lines 63-70), the electrode being an anode (Col 1, lines 63-70).
Regarding claim 59, KOMISAREK further discloses that the compound is a silicon-containing compound (manga-gel [Col 2, lines 25-28]).
Regarding claim 60, KOMISAREK further discloses that the silicon-containing compound comprises molecular and/or particle-like compounds and/or composites (manga-gel [Col 2, lines 25-28]).
Regarding claim 61, KOMISAREK further discloses that the electrode is an anode, and further in combination with a cathode to form a capacitive element (Col 1, lines 63-70).
Regarding claim 62, KOMISAREK further discloses, further in combination with a housing surrounding the anode and the cathode to form a capacitor (Fig. 2, 8 housing around the capacitor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 57-58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOMISAREK (US 3241008) in view of Hu et al (US 2004/0195957).
Regarding claim 57, KOMISAREK fails to teach the claim limitations.
Hu teaches that a coating compound on an anode ([0030]), wherein the compound is a phosphor- containing compound ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hu to the invention of KOMISAREK, in order to construct the devices using known materials in the art to meet user needs based on known material properties and availability of those materials. The use of conventional materials/components to perform their known function is obvious. MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claim 58, KOMISAREK, as modified by Hu, further teaches that the phosphor-containing compound comprises molecular and/or particle-like compounds and/or composites (a phosphor coating would contain molecular and/or particle-like compounds and/or composites).
Additional Relevant Prior Art:
Fournier et al (US 3950842) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1.
Kuzeci (US 2017/0271086) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-5.
LI et al (US 2022/0059287) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-4.
Hemphill et al (US 2023/0386756) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-9.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL P MCFADDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847