DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology such as “such as” in lines 3-4, lines 11-12 and “comprise” in line 6. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 7-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites in part” wherein said base tissue graft comprises human tissue.” In line 1 should be “wherein said base tissue graft is configured to comprise human tissue.”
Claim 8 recites in part” wherein said human tissue comprise soft, none-bone tissue.” In line 1 should be “wherein said human tissue is configured to comprise soft, none-bone tissue.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Double Patenting
applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AlA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b).
Claims 1,4-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,4,6-10,12-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,496,179 (Amended allowable claims on 8/19/2025) in view of Hunter et al et al U.S 2005/0175703.
Here, claim 1 of U.S Pat 12,496,179, recites
Claim 1 of U.S Pat 12,496,179 (not published yet)
A multi-layer, medicated, reconstructive tissue graft comprising: a base tissue graft having a top surface and a bottom surface, said base tissue graft modified by compressing, cutting and/or removing one or more portions of either or both said top surface and said bottom surface to create one or more designed surface features; a second graft layer or sheet applied to either or both said top surface and said bottom surface of said base tissue graft; and one or more medicants associated with said multi-layer reconstructive graft.
Claim 1 of U.S Pat’179 differs from pending claim 1 in that it fails to disclose “a second graft layer or sheet sprayed onto either or both said top surface and said bottom surface of said base tissue graft”. Hunter et al teach that the tissue cavity or surgical pocket into which a device or implant is placed can be treated with an anti-infective and/or fibrosis-inhibiting therapeutic agent prior to, during, or after the procedure. This can be accomplished in several ways including: (a) topical application of the agent into the anatomical space or surface where the device will be placed (particularly useful for this embodiment is the use of polymeric carriers which release the agent over a period ranging from several hours to several weeks. Compositions that can be used for this application include, e.g., fluids, microspheres, pastes, gels, microparticulates, sprays, aerosols, solid implants and other formulations which release a therapeutic agent into the region where the device or implant will be implanted); (b) microparticulate forms of the therapeutic agent are also useful for directed delivery into the implantation site; (c) sprayable collagen-containing formulations such as COSTASIS and crosslinked derivatized poly(ethylene glycol)-collagen(see paragraph 418); the present invention, therapeutic compositions of anti-infective and/or fibrosis-inhibiting agents may be fashioned in the form of microspheres, microparticles and/or nanoparticles having any size ranging from 50 nm to 500 .mu.m, depending upon the particular use. These compositions can be. These compositions can be formed by spray-drying methods, milling methods, coacervation methods, W/O emulsion methods, W/O/W emulsion methods, and solvent evaporation methods. In other aspects, these compositions can include microemulsions, emulsions, liposomes and micelles. Alternatively, such compositions may also be readily applied as a "spray", which solidifies into a film or coating for use as a device/implant surface coating or to line the tissues of the implantation site.(see paragraph 434). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of claim 1 U.S Pat’179 with the teaching of spraying a therapeutic agent to the tissue graft as taught by Hunter et al in order to release a therapeutic agent into the region of the implanted device.
As to claims 4-11 are not patentably distinct from each other because they are essentially the same to claims 4,6-10,12-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bates et al U.S 2008/0181950.
Claim 1: Bates et al disclose a multi-layer, medicated, reconstructive tissue graft (see paragraphs 48,49) comprising: a base tissue graft 39, see paragraph 55 having a top surface and a bottom surface (see fig. 3), said base tissue graft modified by compressing, cutting (see paragraph 124) and/or removing one or more portions of either or both said top surface and said bottom surface to create one or more designed surface features (see paragraphs 62, 66); a second graft layer or sheet (36 spray layer) sprayed onto either or both said top surface and said bottom surface of said base tissue graft (see paragraph 105). Note that the term "bioremodelable" refers to a natural or synthetic material capable of inducing tissue remodeling in a subject or host. A bioremodelable material can include at least one bioactive agent (e.g., growth factor, etc.) capable of inducing tissue remodeling. The ability to induce tissue remodeling may be ascribed to one or more bioactive agents in a bioremodelable material stimulating the infiltration of native cells into an a cellular matrix, stimulating new blood vessel formation (capillaries) growing into the matrix to nourish the infiltrating cells (angiogenesis), and/or effecting the degradation and/or replacement of the bioremodelable material by endogenous tissue. The bioremodelable material may include extracellular collagen matrix (ECM) material, including but not limited to submucosal tissue, such as small intestine submucosal (SIS) tissue or it may include other natural tissue source materials, or other natural or synthetic materials, including one or more bioactive substances capable of inducing tissue remodeling (see paragraph 33). Alternatively, it would have been obvious that the above description of Bates et al device show that one or more medicants (i.e., growth factor is part of medicants as applicant stated in claim 9 “said one or more medicants comprise at least one of … a growth factor) associated with said multi-layer reconstructive graft (see paragraph33). Thus, claim 1 is unpatentable over Bates et al.
Further, it is noted that, the claimed phrase “the base tissue graft being made by compressing, cutting or removing, or the second graft layer being sprayed on “ is product by process (see MPEP 2113, the steps do not hold any weight on the device claim.)
Claims 2-3: Bates et al disclose wherein said one or more medicants are also sprayed onto either or both said top surface and said bottom surface of said base tissue graft., wherein said one or more medicants are sprayed onto said base tissue graft before said second graft layer or sheet is sprayed onto said base tissue graft, whereby said second graft layer is located over said one or more medicants (see paragraphs 33, 105).
Claims 4-6: Bates et al disclose wherein said second graft layer or sheet comprises amnion membrane material (see paragraph 85)., wherein said one or more medicants are injected or inserted into said base tissue graft through said second graft layer or sheet (see paragraph 105)., wherein said one or more medicants are injected using a needle (an infusion needle, see paragraph 199) which is passed through said second graft layer or sheet.
Claims 7-9: Bates et al disclose wherein said base tissue graft comprises human tissue (see paragraph 84)., wherein said human tissue comprises soft, non-bone tissue (see paragraphs 48,49)., wherein said one or more medicants comprise at least one of: an antibiotic, a hormone, a growth factor (see paragraph 33), and a chemo-therapeutic agent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VI X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771