Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bell et al. (9,592,913).
Regarding claim 1, Bell et al. disclose a composite seat frame assembly 1 for a seat, the composite seat frame assembly comprising: a seat pan section 41; and a seatback section 42; wherein the seat pan section and the seatback section are integrated to form a seat bench, wherein the seat bench includes a single composite member formed of one or more composite materials (col. 4, lines 5-10), wherein a passenger load applied to the seat bench is transferred from a seat belt shackle of the seat to a seat track on a floor (since Bell et al. disclose composite material and all the other limitations, it is well capable of performing similar function).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Bell et al. disclose one or more structural beams 31+32, wherein the one or more structural beams have a shallow sinusoidal shape (recess between 32 makes it appear sinusoidal), wherein the one or more structural beams are configured coupled to a rear portion of the seat pan section.
Regarding claim 12, Bell et al. disclose the one or more composite materials of the single composite member includes carbon fiber including at least one of a thermoplastic matrix or a thermoset matrix (col. 23, lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 15, Bell et al. disclose an aircraft seat, the aircraft seat comprising: a composite shell comprising: a seat pan section 41; and a seatback section 42; wherein the seat pan section and the seatback section are integrated to form a seat bench; wherein the seat bench includes a single composite member formed of one or more composite materials (col. 4, lines 5-10); and a base assembly 2 coupled to the seat bench, wherein the base assembly is configured to couple to a floor of an aircraft cabin, wherein the base assembly comprises: a leg sub-assembly including at least a front leg 23 and a rear leg 24, wherein the front leg is configured to couple to a front portion of the seat pan section, wherein the rear leg is configured to couple to a rear portion of the seat pan section (figure 21), wherein a passenger load applied to the seat bench is transferred from a seat belt shackle of the aircraft seat to a seat track on the floor of the aircraft cabin (since Bell et al. disclose composite material and all the other limitations, it is well capable of performing similar function).
Regarding claim 16, Bell et al. disclose at least one of the front leg or the rear leg 23, 24 are formed of the one or more composite materials or one or more additional composite materials (col. 4, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 19, Bell et al. disclose one or more structural beams 31+32, wherein the one or more structural beams have a shallow sinusoidal shape (recess between 32 makes it appear sinusoidal), wherein the one or more structural beams are configured coupled to a rear portion of the seat pan section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell et al. in view of Fullerton et al. (US 2008/0290715).
Regarding claims 2, 3 and 17, Fullerton et al. disclose a leg panel section, wherein the leg panel section is integrated with the seat pan section to form the seat bench, wherein one or more composite legs are at least one of coupled to or integrated with a portion of at least one of the seat pan section, the seatback section, or the leg panel section (figure 5 show the frame 200 with seat pan, seatback and leg panel and para 0039 discloses composite material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Fullerton et al. and use a leg panel in the invention of Bell et al. in order prevent any injuries.
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell et al. in view of Fullerton et al. as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Lee (11,006,760).
Regarding claims 4-6, Lee discloses one or more side panels 102, wherein the one or more side panels are configured to couple/integrated with the seat pan section 134, the seatback section, or the leg panel section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Lee and use side panels in the invention of Bell et al. in order to prevent any damages.
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the one or more side panels include one or more openings (figure 4 shows the opening on the side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Lee and use opening in the side panel of Bell et al. in order to reduce cost.
Claim(s) 10, 11, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell et al. in view of Le et al (US 2017/0158104).
Regarding claims 10, 11 and 20, Le et al. disclose one or more portions of the seatback section include one or more gauged ribs 399 to provide tailored structural reinforcement, wherein the one or more gauged ribs include one or more fiber reinforced composite ribs coupled to the one or more portions of the seatback section via robotic lay-up (para 0105).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Le et al. and use a ribs in the invention of Bell et al. in order to prevent damages. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Le et al. and use lay up method in Bell et al. because it is simple and cost effective.
Regarding claim 13, Le et al. disclose the single composite member of the seat bench is fabricated via stamping (para 0105).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Le et al. use stamping method in Bell et al. because it is simple and cost effective.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell et al. in view of Lee (11,006,760).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses one or more side panels 102, wherein the one or more side panels are configured to couple/integrated with the seat pan section 134, the seatback section, or the leg panel section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Lee and use side panels in the invention of Bell et al. in order to prevent any damages.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell et al. in view of Fullerton et al. as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Nelson et al. (US 2024/0415284).
Regarding claim 14, Nelson et al. disclose the leg panel section includes one or more kick panels 170.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Nelson et al. and use kick panels in the invention of Bell et al. in order to prevent any damages.
Conclusion
/SYED A ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636