Election/Restrictions
The election/restriction requirement is withdrawn in light of the arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the phrase "such that" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claims 2-12 are rejected for depending on claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "preferentially" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claims 14-20 are rejected for depending on claim 13 and including all the limitations of claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ide (US 2016/0083300A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ide et al discloses method of manufacturing a ceramic foundry filter for metal filtration [abstract], the method comprising: carbonizing (ST7) and pyrolyzing the 3D printed ceramic porous structure (ST8) as to introduce and form a network of carbon bonds to the 3D printed ceramic porous structure, in the manufacturing of the ceramic foundry filter for metal filtration [0060, 0083-0083],
wherein the carbonizing is effected by having a carbon precursor added to a ceramic printing medium [0007, 0013] used in 3D printing the 3D printed ceramic porous structure (figure 2),
prior to the 3D printed ceramic porous structure being 3D printed, such that the 3D printed ceramic porous structure is already embedded with carbon precursor material, said precursor material comprising at least one of a liquid resin [0072], powdered carbon [0108], a ceramic binder [0022, 0034], a ceramic material [0008, 0022], an antioxidant [0027], a rheological additive [0039], and a carbon slurry [0142]; and wherein the 3D printing process used is lithographic ceramic 3D printing, or 3D printing based on extrusion deposition, powder bed, ceramic jet printing, or fusion deposition modelling (selective laser printing is a subset of powder bed printing).
Regarding claim 2, Ide et al teaches wherein the precursor material is powdered carbon and comprises graphite [0036].
Regarding claim 3, Ide et al teaches wherein the method includes carbonizing and pyrolyzing the 3d printed ceramic porous structure without further impregnating and/or coating the 3d printed ceramic porous structure with a carbon precursor [0042; figure 1].
Regarding claim 4, Ide eat al teaches wherein the liquid resin is a phenolic liquid resin [0072].
Regarding claim 5, Ide et al teaches wherein the method includes carbonizing and pyrolyzing the 3d printed ceramic porous structure without further impregnating and/or coating the 3d printed ceramic porous structure with a carbon precursor [0042; figure 1].
Regarding claim 6, Ide eat al teaches wherein the liquid resin is a phenolic liquid resin [0072].
Regarding claim 7, Ide et al teaches wherein the ceramic printing medium includes a liquid resin0072], a ceramic material [0008, 0022], and a powdered carbon [0036] or carbon slurry [0142].
Regarding claim 8, Ide et al teaches wherein the pyrolyzing follows the 3D printing (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Ide et al disclose wherein the 3D printed ceramic porous structure is printed so as to be porous [0007].
Regarding claim 12, Ide et al discloses wherein the 3D printed ceramic porous structure is printed to include a plurality of pores and/or pathways sized and dimensioned to enable post-pyrolysis filtration of molten metal therethrough [0007].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ide (US 2016/0083300A1).
Regarding claim 9, Ide et al does not explicitly teach wherein the 3d printed ceramic porous structure is pyrolyzable at 900 C. However, Ide et al teaches “The infiltration of silicon and the reaction sintering of the carbon contained in the fired body with silicon contained in the fired body, are carried out at or above a melting point of silicon” [0096]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the 3d printed ceramic porous structure is pyrolyzable at 900 C since it is conventionally known to fire above the melting point. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 10, Ide et al does not explicitly disclose the ceramic porous structure, post pyrolyzing, is able to withstand temperature of 2700 C. However, composite structure is similar to the applicant’s structure and thus, has similar properties. Therefore, the claimed physical properties implicitly would have been achieved by the composite structure as claimed and rendered obvious (MPEP 2112.01(I,II)). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is
no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, amounts, process steps, and process conditions.
Double Patenting
Claim 13-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12071379B2 in view of Ide (US 2016/0083300A1). Both claim 13 of the instant application and claim 1 of ‘379 teaches a method of manufacturing a ceramic foundry filter for metal filtration, the method comprising: providing a 3D printed ceramic porous structure comprising a carbon precursor; impregnating the 3D printed ceramic porous structure with a first carbon precursor; coating the entirety of the exterior of the impregnated 3D printed ceramic porous structure with a second carbon precursor; and carbonizing and pyrolyzing the impregnated and coated 3D printed ceramic porous structure so as to introduce and form a network of carbon bonds internally and externally of the 3D printed ceramic porous structure in the manufacturing of the ceramic foundry filter for metal filtration, wherein the 3D printed ceramic porous structure is formed to have an interconnected network of a plurality of pores and/or pathways suitably sized and dimensioned for enabling, after the carbonizing and pyrolyzing, filtration of molten metal therethrough, wherein the first carbon precursor has a higher viscosity than the second precursor, wherein the second precursor comprises particles of a differing particle size to that of the first carbon precursor, and a different binder medium, ceramic material, antioxidant, and/or rheological additive, wherein the coating on the exterior of the impregnated 3D printed ceramic porous structure inhibits oxidation of the network of carbon bonds beneath the coating, and wherein the first carbon precursor preferentially impregnates the 3D printed porous structure relative to the second precursor, and so that the second precursor provides an external boundary layer with refractory properties. The instant application further recites the limitation: and wherein the 3D printing process used is one of lithographic ceramic 3D printing, or 3D printing based on extrusion deposition, powder bed, ceramic jet printing, or fusion deposition modelling. Analogous art, Ide et al, discloses selective laser printing used in printing process (see abstract), which is a subset of powder bed printing. Therefore, the instant application, claims 13-20, fall within an obviousness type non-statutory double patenting.
Conclusion
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754