DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the
specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The
broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to
as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35
U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35
U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a
non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the
claimed function;
functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for”
(e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or
“so that”; and
sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in
accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The
presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-
AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites
sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35
U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the
claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112,
sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without
reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited
function.
are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth
paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim
limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are
not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth
paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the
word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or
pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a
generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting
sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is
not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Data acquisition unit- claims 1,8,9,10,14,15 and 16.
Data concentration unit- claims 2,4,14,19.
Engine control unit- claim 3
1st data acquisition unit- claims 11, 12, 13, 17 and 18.
2nd data acquisition unit- claims 11, 12, 13, 17 and 18
U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being
interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as
performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may:
(1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35
U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient
structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing
that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed
function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-
AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Upon reviewing of the specification, the following appears to be the
corresponding structure for the Data acquisition unit:
[0016] Data acquisition units may include an ADC to transform an amplitude analog signal into a digital one. Advantageously, the ADC can have several input channels and digitize signal coming from different sense devices connected to one data acquisition unit.
[0014] Data acquisition units can communicate directly on the digital network, by means of a suitable data interface, or else access the network through a separate module, to which they are connected point-to-point, for example by a serial link.
Upon reviewing of the specification, the following appears to be the
corresponding structure for the Data concentration unit:
[0028] A system variant leading to high benefits features a distributed architecture with highly miniaturized data acquisition units (DATUs, SCAUs) placed next to each engine/aircraft sensor and sending smart sensing data via a centralized network bus to the main data Concentration Unit (DCU, EDCU) which then performs advanced processing and interacts with external end-systems.
[0061] The distributed system comprises one data concentration unit (EDCU) 250 that is a replaceable unit (an LRU) located in a suitable position of the engine, for example the fan, and is designed and configured to withstand the environmental conditions that can be expected in this location.
Upon reviewing of the specification, the following appears to be the
corresponding structure for the Engine control unit:
[0020] In the network, sensor data are preferably organized in segregated domains and may comprise data belonging to an engine control as well as data belonging to an engine monitoring.
[0056] Following the left branch of the control domain 210, the measurands may be passed to an additional function of processing and transforming 324, if necessary, where they may be combined according to the respective measure times, and packages in data structures that represent, for example, the instantaneous status of a subsystem or of a group of sensors of special interests. After this last processing we have FADEC input data 308 that are dispatched to the engine controller 400.
Upon reviewing of the specification, the following appears to be the
corresponding structure for the 1st data acquisition unit and 2nd data acquisition unit:
[0024] The method the invention may also foresee optional features like the transmission of digital sensor data by more than one data acquisition unit to a data concentration module., wherein the data concentration module might be part of a data acquisition unit or a separate node in the digital network, transmitting the digital sensor data to the data concentration unit on a serial point-to-point link, synchronizing a clock of a first data acquisition unit with a clock of a second data acquisition units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3,6-9,14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US20180319508A1 to Chodavarapu et al. (herein after “Chodavarapu”).
Regarding claim 1, Chodavarapu discloses A distributed system for monitoring an aircraft or a gas turbine engine for an aircraft (See Chodavarapu para [0004] A FADEC is an essential part of an aircraft's gas turbine engine control that consists of a computer, interface sensors and actuators), comprising:
a plurality of sense devices (See An engine 102 has a plurality of sensors 104 ) positioned at different locations on the aircraft or on the gas turbine engine, each sense device being configured to react to a value of a physical parameter of the aircraft or of the gas turbine engine and deliver an analog signal representing said physical parameter (See Chodavarapu para[0022] An engine 102 has a plurality of sensors 104, actuators 106, and sensor-actuator combinations 108, which are electronically operatively coupled individually and/or in combination to smart nodes 110, which are electronically operatively coupled individually and/or in combination to one or more data concentrators 112 that are electronically operatively coupled individually and/or in combination to a FADEC or simplified FADEC 114, here in an aircraft 116);
data acquisition units configured to receive analog signals from at least one of the plurality of sense devices and convert it to digital sensor data (See Chodavarapu para[0025] Referring to FIG. 2, the system architecture for a smart node 110 and a data concentrator 112 is shown. The smart node 110 is electrically operatively coupled to the sensors 104 and actuators 106, which are analog devices. The smart node 110 includes an analog to digital converter 120 for converting the analog signals from the sensor 104 and actuators 106 to digital signals. The smart node 110 also includes a digital to analog converter 122 for sending analog signals back to the sensors 104 and actuators 106. The smart node 110 includes a microcontroller 124, memory/registers 126, and a port 128, such as an Ethernet port, for connection to the data concentrator 112 via a bus 130 for transmission of digital signals) and
a digital network to which the data acquisition units have access (See Chodavarapu para[0023] Still referring to FIG. 1, the electrical connection between the smart node(s) 110 and the data concentrator(s) 112 is a digital network,) , wherein at least one data concentration unit is configured to receive digital sensor data from more than one of the data acquisition units, and wherein the at least one data concentration unit is either part of the data acquisition units or a separate unit with a network interface connected to the digital network (see the data concentrator(s) 112 is a digital network; para [0022] An engine 102 has a plurality of sensors 104, actuators 106, and sensor-actuator combinations 108, which are electronically operatively coupled individually and/or in combination to smart nodes 110;para[0023] Having one data concentrator 112 receiving digital signals from multiple smart nodes 110 enables the processing and decision making of the data concentrator 112 to consider the multiplicity of information from the sensors and actuators to enhance the decision making.).
Regarding claim 2, Chodavarapu teaches wherein the data concentration unit is configured to dispatch digital sensor data to an engine control processing chain or to a health monitoring processing chain (See Chodavarapu para[0005] the FADEC systems are often bundled with other engine-related systems such as Prognostics Health Monitoring (PHM) and their associated sensors), the engine control processing chain and health monitoring processing chain being segregated from one another (See Chodavarapu para[0024] it is in a better situation to make intelligent decisions based on information from different regions of the jet engine and including appropriate engine prognostic health information, if needed).
Regarding claim 3, Chodavarapu teaches wherein the engine control processing chain produces engine control data that are made available to an electronic engine control unit (See Chodavarapu para 0019]The goal of the distributed engine control is to enable a highly integrated system that is agile and that can make real-time intelligent decisions related to jet engine performance and health).
Regarding claim 6, Chodavarapu teaches further comprising: an electronic engine controller with a network interface connected to the digital network. (See Chodavarapu para[0025] The smart node 110 includes a microcontroller 124, memory/registers 126, and a port 128, such as an Ethernet port, for connection to the data concentrator 112 via a bus 130 for transmission of digital signals.)
Regarding claim 7, Chodavarapu teaches wherein the sense devices comprise one or more sense devices selected from the group consisting of temperature sensors, pressure sensors, tachometers, vibration sensors, linear or angular displacement sensor, accelerometers, fluid level sensors and airspeed sensors. (see Chodavarapu para[0022] the sensors 104 may include, but are not limited to strain gauges, thermocouples, solenoids, and resistance temperature detectors (RTD).)
Regarding claim 8, Chodavarapu teaches wherein at least one of the data acquisition units includes a multichannel ADC receiving analog signals from a plurality of the sense devices and converts it to digital sensor data. (See Chodavarapu para[0025] The smart node 110 includes an analog to digital converter 120 for converting the analog signals from the sensor 104 and actuators 106 to digital signals. )
Regarding claim 9, Chodavarapu teaches wherein the data acquisition units receive a power supply from a DC bus. (See Chodavarapu para[0025] , such as an Ethernet port, for connection to the data concentrator 112 via a bus 130 for transmission of digital signals)
Regarding claim 14, Chodavarapu teaches A method of monitoring an aircraft or a gas turbine engine comprising(See Chodavarapu para [0004] A FADEC is an essential part of an aircraft's gas turbine engine control that consists of a computer, interface sensors and actuators): positioning a plurality of sense devices (See An engine 102 has a plurality of sensors 104 ) at different locations on the aircraft or on the gas turbine engine, positioning on the aircraft or gas turbine engine data acquisition units; transmitting an analog signal representing a physical parameter of the aircraft or of the gas turbine engine from a selected sense device of the plurality of sense devices(See Chodavarapu para[0022] An engine 102 has a plurality of sensors 104, actuators 106, and sensor-actuator combinations 108, which are electronically operatively coupled individually and/or in combination to smart nodes 110, which are electronically operatively coupled individually and/or in combination to one or more data concentrators 112 that are electronically operatively coupled individually and/or in combination to a FADEC or simplified FADEC 114, here in an aircraft 116);
; receiving the analog signal from the selected sense device at a data acquisition unit of the data acquisition units(See Chodavarapu para[0025] Referring to FIG. 2, the system architecture for a smart node 110 and a data concentrator 112 is shown. The smart node 110 is electrically operatively coupled to the sensors 104 and actuators 106, which are analog devices. The smart node 110 includes an analog to digital converter 120 for converting the analog signals from the sensor 104 and actuators 106 to digital signals. The smart node 110 also includes a digital to analog converter 122 for sending analog signals back to the sensors 104 and actuators 106. The smart node 110 includes a microcontroller 124, memory/registers 126, and a port 128, such as an Ethernet port, for connection to the data concentrator 112 via a bus 130 for transmission of digital signals);
converting the analog signal to digital sensor data in the data acquisition unit that receives the analog signal, and transmitting the digital sensor data from the data acquisition unit on a digital network(see the data concentrator(s) 112 is a digital network; para [0022] An engine 102 has a plurality of sensors 104, actuators 106, and sensor-actuator combinations 108, which are electronically operatively coupled individually and/or in combination to smart nodes 110;para[0023] Having one data concentrator 112 receiving digital signals from multiple smart nodes 110 enables the processing and decision making of the data concentrator 112 to consider the multiplicity of information from the sensors and actuators to enhance the decision making.).
transmitting the digital sensor data by more than one data acquisition unit to a data concentration unit, wherein the data concentration unit is either part of a data acquisition unit or a separate node in the digital network(see the data concentrator(s) 112 is a digital network; para [0022] An engine 102 has a plurality of sensors 104, actuators 106, and sensor-actuator combinations 108, which are electronically operatively coupled individually and/or in combination to smart nodes 110;para[0023] Having one data concentrator 112 receiving digital signals from multiple smart nodes 110 enables the processing and decision making of the data concentrator 112 to consider the multiplicity of information from the sensors and actuators to enhance the decision making.).
; and
wherein the data concentration unit is configured to dispatch digital sensor data to an engine control processing chain or to a health monitoring processing chain(See Chodavarapu para[0005] the FADEC systems are often bundled with other engine-related systems such as Prognostics Health Monitoring (PHM) and their associated sensors),, the engine control processing chain and health monitoring processing chain being segregated from one another(See Chodavarapu para[0024] it is in a better situation to make intelligent decisions based on information from different regions of the jet engine and including appropriate engine prognostic health information, if needed).
Regarding claim 15, Chodavarapu teaches wherein the data acquisition units constitute a distributed monitoring system on the digital network. (See Chodavarapu para[0023] Still referring to FIG. 1, the electrical connection between the smart node(s) 110 and the data concentrator(s) 112 is a digital network; (see the data concentrator(s) 112 is a digital network; para [0022] An engine 102 has a plurality of sensors 104, actuators 106, and sensor-actuator combinations 108, which are electronically operatively coupled individually and/or in combination to smart nodes 110;para[0023] Having one data concentrator 112 receiving digital signals from multiple smart nodes 110 enables the processing and decision making of the data concentrator 112 to consider the multiplicity of information from the sensors and actuators to enhance the decision making.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 19, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatented over US20180319508A1 to Chodavarapu et al. (herein after “Chodavarapu”) in view of EP3672196A1 to Skertic et al. (herein after “Skertic”).
Regarding claim 4, Chodavarapu remains applied as claim 1. However,
Chodavarapu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the health monitoring processing chain is configured to encrypt monitoring data and transmit them through a communication interface of the data concentration unit to a ground-based MRO. Nevertheless, Skertic same field of endeavor teaches wherein the health monitoring processing chain is configured to encrypt monitoring data and transmit them through a communication interface of the data concentration unit to a ground-based MRO (See Skertic para[0017] FIG 1B illustrates a Distributed Control System (DCS). Although the DCS shown in Fig. 1B offers some control advantages over the CCS noted in Fig. 1A , both control architectures have vulnerabilities during operation in cyber hostile environments. The DCS shown in Figure 1B has additional access points over the communications link between the FADEC and the Control / Actuation nodes where a cyber-attack may gain entrance to the control system. Obvious areas of susceptibility are the maintenance ports, connector interfaces for traditional connectors, Ethernet and serial communications ports ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Chodavarapu’s system provided for interfacing a Full Authority Digital Engine Control (FADEC) system with Skertic’s health monitoring processing chain to encrypt monitoring data in order to allow to communicate with other aircraft engine components, such as aircraft engine sensors and actuators (See Skertic para[0001]).
Regarding claim 19, Chodavarapu remains applied as claim 1. However,
Chodavarapu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the health monitoring processing chain is configured to encrypt monitoring data and transmit them through a communication interface of the data concentration unit to a ground-based MRO. Nevertheless, Skertic same field of endeavor teaches wherein the health monitoring processing chain is configured to encrypt monitoring data and transmit them through a communication interface of the data concentration unit to a ground-based MRO. (See Skertic para[0017] [0017] FIG 1B illustrates a Distributed Control System (DCS). Although the DCS shown in Fig. 1B offers some control advantages over the CCS noted in Fig. 1A , both control architectures have vulnerabilities during operation in cyber hostile environments. The DCS shown in Figure 1B has additional access points over the communications link between the FADEC and the Control / Actuation nodes where a cyber-attack may gain entrance to the control system. Obvious areas of susceptibility are the maintenance ports, connector interfaces for traditional connectors, Ethernet and serial communications ports ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Chodavarapu’s system provided for interfacing a Full Authority Digital Engine Control (FADEC) system with Skertic’s health monitoring processing chain to encrypt monitoring data in order to allow to communicate with other aircraft engine components, such as aircraft engine sensors and actuators (See Skertic para[0001]).
Regarding claim 10, Chodavarapu remains applied as claim 1. However,
Chodavarapu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein one or more of the data acquisition units has an optical data interface configured to receive an optical signal from an optical sensor and generate digital sensor data based on the optical signal. Nevertheless, Skertic same field of endeavor teaches wherein one or more of the data acquisition units has an optical data interface configured to receive an optical signal from an optical sensor and generate digital sensor data based on the optical signal (See Skertic para [0023] Sensor 306 may be, for example, an optical sensor, a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, or any other suitable sensor.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Chodavarapu’s system provided for interfacing a Full Authority Digital Engine Control (FADEC) system with Skertic’s health monitoring processing chain to encrypt monitoring data in order to allow to communicate with other aircraft engine components, such as aircraft engine sensors and actuators (See Skertic para[0001]).
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatented over US20180319508A1 to Chodavarapu et al. (herein after “Chodavarapu”) in view of US20110054721 A1 to Goodrich et al. (herein after “Goodrich”) and JP 2018146436 A to Shiraishi et al. (herein after “Shiraishi”).
Regarding claim 11, Chodavarapu remains applied as claim 1. However,
Chodavarapu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein a first data acquisition unit of the data acquisition units is connected to a tachometer sensor configured to generate a speed value representing a rotation speed of a shaft and the first data acquisition unit being configured to make the speed value available on the network. Nevertheless, Goodrich same field of endeavor teaches wherein a first data acquisition unit of the data acquisition units is connected to a tachometer sensor configured to generate a speed value representing a rotation speed of a shaft and the first data acquisition unit being configured to make the speed value available on the network (See Goodrich para [0070]The IAC-1239 system 10 provides ten high speed tachometer inputs. Each input has a 1 M ohm or greater input impedance. Each input support tachometer speed measurements from signal inputs between 100 mV and 100V. The IAC-1239 system 10 automatically adjusts input threshold to achieve the tachometer input dynamic range. Each of the tachometer inputs supports single and dual tachometer triggers).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Chodavarapu’s system provided for interfacing a Full Authority Digital Engine Control (FADEC) system with Goodrich’s data acquisition unit connected tachometer sensor to generate speed value of a shaft in order to allow to achieve improved safety and reduced operating costs through various initiatives. Health and Usage Monitoring Systems (HUMS) monitor the drive train and other vehicle and aircraft component's health using specialized measurements and diagnostics (See Goodrich para[0003]).
However, Chodavarapu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein a second data acquisition unit of the data acquisition units is connected to a vibration sensor generating a vibration signal representing a dynamic vibration generated by the shaft, and wherein the second data acquisition unit is configured to compute an auxiliary speed value based on the vibration signal and to make the auxiliary speed value available on the network. Nevertheless, Shiraishi same field of endeavor teaches wherein a second data acquisition unit of the data acquisition units is connected to a vibration sensor generating a vibration signal representing a dynamic vibration generated by the shaft, and wherein the second data acquisition unit is configured to compute an auxiliary speed value based on the vibration signal and to make the auxiliary speed value available on the network (See Shiraishi para[0022]The data acquisition unit 11 acquires measurement data measured by the vibration sensors 4 </ b> A and 4 </ b> B, the temperature sensor 5, and the pressure sensor 6 during the operation of the turbine 1.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Chodavarapu’s system provided for interfacing a Full Authority Digital Engine Control (FADEC) system with Shiraishi’s second data acquisition unit of the data acquisition units is connected to a vibration sensor generating a vibration signal in order to allow to directly measure information for grasping the state of vibration occurring in an operating turbine by providing a sensor (See Shiraishi para[0005]).
Regarding claim 13, Chodavarapu remains applied as claim 1. However,
Chodavarapu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein a first data acquisition unit of the data acquisition units is connected to a tachometer sensor, configured to generate a rotation signal comprising a series of time values representing an instant in time at which a rotating shaft completes a revolution. Nevertheless, Goodrich same field of endeavor teaches wherein a first data acquisition unit of the data acquisition units is connected to a tachometer sensor, configured to generate a rotation signal comprising a series of time values representing an instant in time at which a rotating shaft completes a revolution (See Goodrich para [0070]The IAC-1239 system 10 provides ten high speed tachometer inputs. Each input has a 1 M ohm or greater input impedance. Each input support tachometer speed measurements from signal inputs between 100 mV and 100V. The IAC-1239 system 10 automatically adjusts input threshold to achieve the tachometer input dynamic range. Each of the tachometer inputs supports single and dual tachometer triggers),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Chodavarapu’s system provided for interfacing a Full Authority Digital Engine Control (FADEC) system with Goodrich’s data acquisition unit connected tachometer sensor to generate speed value of a shaft in order to allow to achieve improved safety and reduced operating costs through various initiatives. Health and Usage Monitoring Systems (HUMS) monitor the drive train and other vehicle and aircraft component's health using specialized measurements and diagnostics (See Goodrich para[0003]).
However, Chodavarapu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a second data acquisition unit of the data acquisition units is connected to a vibration sensor, generating a vibration signal representing a dynamic vibration generated by the rotating shaft, the distributed system comprising a computing resource having access to the rotation signal and to the vibration signal and configured to correlate the vibration signal with the rotation signal. Nevertheless, Shiraishi same field of endeavor teaches a second data acquisition unit of the data acquisition units is connected to a vibration sensor, generating a vibration signal representing a dynamic vibration generated by the rotating shaft, the distributed system comprising a computing resource having access to therotation signal and to the vibration signal and configured to correlate the vibration signal with the rotation signal. (See Shiraishi para[0022]The data acquisition unit 11 acquires measurement data measured by the vibration sensors 4 </ b> A and 4 </ b> B, the temperature sensor 5, and the pressure sensor 6 during the operation of the turbine 1.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Chodavarapu’s system provided for interfacing a Full Authority Digital Engine Control (FADEC) system with Shiraishi’s second data acquisition unit of the data acquisition units is connected to a vibration sensor generating a vibration signal in order to allow to directly measure information for grasping the state of vibration occurring in an operating turbine by providing a sensor (See Shiraishi para[0005]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20180319508A1 to Chodavarapu et al. (herein after “Chodavarapu”) in view of US20020012401 A1 to Karolys et al. (herein after “Karolys”).
Regarding claim 5, Chodavarapu remains applied as claim 1. However, Chodavarapu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the digital network comprises a plurality of serial point-to-point links, each linking at least one of the data acquisition units to the data concentration unit, the data concentration unit having a role of master. Nevertheless, Karolys same field of endeavor teaches wherein the digital network comprises a plurality of serial point-to-point links (See Karolys para[0002] The use of analog sensors requires dedicated point-to-point wire harnesses for each sensor,), each linking at least one of the data acquisition units to the data concentration unit, the data concentration unit having a role of master.(See Karolys para [0006] 1) The bus is part of a multidrop digital communication network that allows digital smart sensors to simultaneously (synchronously) sample the analog output of a sensor and sequentially (time division multiplexing) transmit the digital data back to a master bus controller. A master module distributes a synchronization clock signal to all the slave sensor modules.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Chodavarapu’s system provided for interfacing a Full Authority Digital Engine Control (FADEC) system with Karolys’s digital network comprises serial point to point links where each linking to data acquisition unit in order to allow to transmit the sampled data from one slave sensor module can be sent at the same time while the master module is receiving the data from another slave sensor module (see Karolys para[0007]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20180319508A1 to Chodavarapu et al. (herein after “Chodavarapu”) in view of US 20210041327 A1 to Boston (herein after “Boston”).
Regarding claim 12, Chodavarapu remains applied as claim 1. However, Chodavarapu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein a first data acquisition unit and a second data acquisition unit of the data acquisition units maintain a first clock and a second clock respectively, the first data acquisition unit being configured to synchronize the first clock to the second clock of the second data acquisition unit. Nevertheless, Boston same field of endeavor teaches wherein a first data acquisition unit and a second data acquisition unit of the data acquisition units maintain a first clock and a second clock respectively, the first data acquisition unit being configured to synchronize the first clock to the second clock of the second data acquisition unit (see Boston para[0027] In some such examples, the one or more real-time clocks may be included in case 104 and, in some examples, each of the one or more real-time clocks may be electrically coupled to a power source, for example, a battery (e.g., a button battery) for each of the one or more real-time clocks. In some examples, the one or more real-time clocks may be electrically coupled to the one or more power sources, either directly or via, for example, respective data acquisition modules, such as, for example, the data acquisition modules described herein. ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Chodavarapu’s system provided for interfacing a Full Authority Digital Engine Control (FADEC) system with Boston’s synchronise first and second clock of first and second data acquisition unit in order to allow to maintain an accurate time stamp for the respective supervisor module and to evaluate operation of a machine to identify potential problems with the machine prior to failure of major components of the machine (see Boston para[00002]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20180319508A1 to Chodavarapu et al. (herein after “Chodavarapu”) in view of JP 2018146436 A to Shiraishi et al. (herein after “Shiraishi”).
Regarding claim 16, Chodavarapu remains applied as claim 14. However, Chodavarapu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach receiving in one of the data acquisition units of the data acquisition units an analog vibration signal representing a vibration of a shaft; computing an auxiliary speed value based on the vibration signal; and making the auxiliary speed value available on the digital network. Nevertheless, Shiraishi same field of endeavor teaches receiving in one of the data acquisition units of the data acquisition units an analog vibration signal representing a vibration of a shaft; computing an auxiliary speed value based on the vibration signal; and making the auxiliary speed value available on the digital network (See Shiraishi para[0022]The data acquisition unit 11 acquires measurement data measured by the vibration sensors 4 </ b> A and 4 </ b> B, the temperature sensor 5, and the pressure sensor 6 during the operation of the turbine 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Chodavarapu’s system provided for interfacing a Full Authority Digital Engine Control (FADEC) system with Shiraishi’s data acquisition unit representing a vibration, speed value that available on the digital network in order to allow to directly measure information for grasping the state of vibration occurring in an operating turbine by providing a sensor (See Shiraishi para[0005]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20180319508A1 to Chodavarapu et al. (herein after “Chodavarapu”) in view of EP 0078601 A2 to Lucas et al. (herein after “Lucas”).
Regarding claim 17, Chodavarapu remains applied as claim 14. However, Chodavarapu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach synchronising a first clock of a first data acquisition unit in the data acquisition units with a second clock of a second data acquisition unit in the data acquisition units. Nevertheless, Lucas same field of endeavor teaches synchronising a first clock of a first data acquisition unit in the data acquisition units with a second clock of a second data acquisition unit in the data acquisition units. (see Lucas Claim 8 further comprising means for operating said first and second switches in synchronism with a clock signal + of frequency f.sub.C.; para[0018] The switch 54 in FIG. 4 may be omitted, and the switches 50, 52 may be operated as described previously, but in synchronism with a clock signal Φ of frequency Fc derived from a clock signal generator 80.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Chodavarapu’s system provided for interfacing a Full Authority Digital Engine Control (FADEC) system with Lucas’s synchronizing with first and second clock in order to allow to minimize gain inaccuracies in the first technique or minimize offset output voltages in the second technique, a significant disadvantage (see Lucas para[0005]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20180319508A1 to Chodavarapu et al. (herein after “Chodavarapu”) in view of EP 0078601 A2 to Lucas et al. (herein after “Lucas”), US20110054721 A1 to Goodrich et al. (herein after “Goodrich”) and JP 2018146436 A to Shiraishi et al. (herein after “Shiraishi”).
Regarding claim 18, Chodavarapu and Lucas remain applied as claim 17. However, Chodavarapu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach receiving in the first data acquisition unit an analog rotation signal from a tachometer sensor comprising a series of time values representing instants in time at which a rotating shaft completes a revolution. Nevertheless, Goodrich same field of endeavor teaches receiving in the first data acquisition unit an analog rotation signal from a tachometer sensor comprising a series of time values representing instants in time at which a rotating shaft completes a revolution (See Goodrich para [0070]The IAC-1239 system 10 provides ten high speed tachometer inputs. Each input has a 1 M ohm or greater input impedance. Each input support tachometer speed measurements from signal inputs between 100 mV and 100V. The IAC-1239 system 10 automatically adjusts input threshold to achieve the tachometer input dynamic range. Each of the tachometer inputs supports single and dual tachometer triggers).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Chodavarapu’s system provided for interfacing a Full Authority Digital Engine Control (FADEC) system with Goodrich’s data acquisition unit connected tachometer sensor to generate speed value of a shaft in order to allow to achieve improved safety and reduced operating costs through various initiatives. Health and Usage Monitoring Systems (HUMS) monitor the drive train and other vehicle and aircraft component's health using specialized measurements and diagnostics (See Goodrich para[0003]).
However, Chodavarapu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach receiving in the second data acquisition unit an analog vibration signal; generating a set of digital rotation data in the first data acquisition unit and a set of digital vibration data in the second acquisition unit; and correlating the digital vibration data with the digital rotation data in a digital processing resource on the digital network. Nevertheless, Shiraishi dame field of endeavor teaches receiving in the second data acquisition unit an analog vibration signal; generating a set of digital rotation data in the first data acquisition unit and a set of digital vibration data in the second acquisition unit; and correlating the digital vibration data with the digital rotation data in a digital processing resource on the digital network (See Shiraishi para[0022]The data acquisition unit 11 acquires measurement data measured by the vibration sensors 4 </ b> A and 4 </ b> B, the temperature sensor 5, and the pressure sensor 6 during the operation of the turbine 1.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Chodavarapu’s system provided for interfacing a Full Authority Digital Engine Control (FADEC) system with Shiraishi’s second data acquisition unit of the data acquisition units is connected to a vibration sensor generating a vibration signal in order to allow to directly measure information for grasping the state of vibration occurring in an operating turbine by providing a sensor (See Shiraishi para[0005]).
Conclusion
/NAZIA AFRIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666