DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The Information Disclosure Statement filed 11 September 2026 has been fully considered by Examiner. An annotated copy is included herewith.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. The indicated allowability of claims 24-30 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference to Doo et al. (WO-2015/164402-A1). Rejections based on the newly cited reference follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 24, 26, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doo (WO-2015/164402-A1).
Regarding claim 24: Doo discloses a method for registering X-ray generated images in 3D coordinate space while viewing a patient using an augmented reality (AR) headset (fig 1(46), fig 4, [0035], [0037], and [0044]-[0045] of Doo), comprising: receiving a plurality of X-ray generated images of patient anatomy (fig 1(20,22,24), figs 2-3, [0003], and [0039]-[0040] of Doo – multiple x-rays of patient anatomy, like shown in prior art fig 1, are captured and displayed in the surgeons augmented reality device, as show in figs 2-3); aligning the plurality of X-ray generated images using an optically visible marker and associated image visible marker on a patient and the associated image visible marker is represented in the X-ray generated image (fig 2 (27), fig 5(27), fig 6(27), [0037], and [0065] of Doo – registration of multiple X-ray images based on markers or fiducials 27); receiving a first point mark-up for annotating an anatomic structure on a first X-ray generated image and a second point mark-up in a second X-ray generated image, wherein the first point mark-up and second point mark-up represent common anatomical structure in the patient or a medical procedure trajectory (fig 6(1232), fig 7(1232), fig 12(1232), and [0074]-[0075] of Doo – point markups on each image presented to provide the surgeon with the medical procedure trajectory (treatment guide)); aligning the first point mark-up and the second point mark-up to generate an intersection using the first X-ray generated image and second X-ray generated image viewable using the AR headset (fig 6 and [0074] of Doo); and identifying a 3D image data set obtained from a 3D medical imaging device that contains a virtual marker identifying the common anatomical structure in the 3D image data set (figs 8-11, fig 12(1232), and [0076]-[0079] of Doo – virtual markings and treatment guide used to identify the appropriate image data set to create 3D tomographic imaging); and aligning the 3D image data set to the common anatomical structure by aligning the virtual marker in the 3D image data set to the intersection for the plurality of X-ray generated images, using the AR headset (figs 6-7, figs 12-13, and [0079]-[0080] of Doo – common anatomical structures aligned using the virtual markers 27 and the virtual treatment guide 1232 to guide the surgeon in the surgical procedure).
Regarding claim 26: Doo discloses the method as in claim 24 (as rejected above), wherein the optically visible marker is an optical code, a visible marker (fig 2(27) and [0037] of Doo – strategically arranged visible markers/fiducials), a linear bar code, a 2D bar code, a QR code, or an April code (list is recited in the alternative, and at least one is taught by Doo).
Regarding claim 27: Doo discloses the method as in claim 24 (as rejected above), further comprising displaying the plurality of X-ray generated images overlaid on the patient anatomy as defined in part by alignment of the first point mark-up and the second point mark-up, using the AR headset ([0030] and [0035] of Doo).
Regarding claim 29: Doo discloses the method as in claim 25 (as rejected above), further comprising defining positions and orientations of the X-ray generated images with respect to the patient anatomy using geometric attributes of an X-ray projection field (figs 8-11 and [0076]-[0078] of Doo).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 25 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doo (WO-2015/164402-A1) in view of Steines (US-2022/0287676).
Regarding claim 25: Doo discloses the method as in claim 24 (as rejected above), further comprising aligning the 3D image data set with X-ray generated images as the X-ray generated images move within the 3D coordinate system due to movement of the surgeon over time ([0037] of Doo – maintains x-ray image alignment despite the occasional movements by the surgeon).
Doo does not disclose aligning the 3D image data set due to movement of the patient over time.
Steines discloses aligning the 3D image data set due to movement of the patient over time ([0121]-[0122] of Steines – maintains view (alignment) in HMD during patient movement).
Doo and Steines are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely 3D virtual imaging of patients for surgical operations. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to align the 3D image data set due to movement of the patient over time, as taught by Steines. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the surgeon to have a stable, reliable view of the patient for surgery in conditions in which the patient is not fully anesthetized. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Doo according to the relied-upon teachings of Steines to obtain the invention as specified in claim 25.
Regarding claim 30: Doo discloses the method as in claim 24 (as rejected above), further comprising moving the X-ray generated images to maintain alignment with respect to the optically visible marker and associated image visible marker on the patient anatomy when the surgeon moves ([0037] of Doo – maintains x-ray image alignment despite the occasional movements by the surgeon).
Doo does not disclose moving the X-ray generated images to maintain alignment when the patient anatomy moves with respect to an X-ray device or the X-ray device moves with respect to the patient.
Steines discloses moving the X-ray generated images to maintain alignment when the patient anatomy moves with respect to an X-ray device or the X-ray device moves with respect to the patient (figs 6A-7E, [0085]-[0090], and [0121]-[0122] of Steines – X-ray images moved to align based on patient movement).
Doo and Steines are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely 3D virtual imaging of patients for surgical operations. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to move the X-ray generated images to maintain alignment when the patient anatomy moves with respect to an X-ray device or the X-ray device moves with respect to the patient, as taught by Steines. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the surgeon to have a stable, reliable view of the patient for surgery in conditions in which the patient is not fully anesthetized. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Doo according to the relied-upon teachings of Steines to obtain the invention as specified in claim 30.
10. Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doo (WO-2015/164402-A1) in view of Johnson (US-2020/0275988).
Regarding claim 28: Doo discloses the method as in claim 24 (as rejected above), further comprising an additional point on the first X-ray generated image which forms a line with the first point mark-up and the additional point aligns with the line (figs 6-7(1232) and [0074]-[0075] and Doo – first point mark-up 1232 in fig 6 becomes a collection of aligned points 1232 in fig 7).
Doo does not disclose wherein the plurality of X-ray generated images are orthogonal to each other.
Johnson discloses wherein the plurality of X-ray generated images are orthogonal to each other (figs 1A-1B, figs 8A-8B, [0045]-[0046], and [0058]-[0059] of Johnson).
Doo and Johnson are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely 3D virtual imaging of patients for surgical operations. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the plurality of X-ray generated images be orthogonal to each other. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide full 3D imaging using each orthogonal plane, thus providing an improved 3D data set for viewing by the surgeon. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Doo according to the relied-upon teachings of Johnson to obtain the invention as specified in claim 28.
Contact Information
/JAMES A THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615