Response to Amendment
The amendment filed July 7th, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. The applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome all objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed May 21st, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Alberti US 3741508 A teaches the amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alberti US 3741508 A.
Regarding claim 1, Alberti discloses a cargo restraint assembly (48/180; col. 3, lines 19-22 and col. 10, lines 6-10) for a cargo handling system (col. 2, lines 58-59), comprising:
a base assembly (144/192; Figs. 17 and 23) comprising:
a plunger (122/188), wherein, responsive to being activated, the plunger is configured to extend in a first direction into an opening (62) within a modular container (36) (col. 10, lines 34-42) thereby restraining the modular container in a second direction, the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction (col. 9, lines 40-42);
a compression spring (130/186; Figs. 19-20 and 23), wherein the compression spring is configured to provide a restraint to keep the plunger locked in an outwardly extended state in an activated state or locked in an inwardly retracted state in a deactivated state (col. 9, lines 22-26); and
an attenuation lock (120/194; Figs. 21-23) rotatably coupled to the base assembly via a pin (162) and biased via at least one spring (150) such that a distal end (156) of the attenuation lock is normally translated in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 22; col. 9, lines 58-68 and col. 10, lines 1-2), wherein the attenuation lock is configured to block the plunger from attenuating from the activated state unless acted upon by an actuation/de-actuation lever (Fig. 23; col. 10, lines 11-27), wherein the actuation/de-actuation lever comprises a protrusion configured to engage with an extension on the attenuation lock to translate the distal end of the attenuation lock out of a translation path of the plunger (see annotated Fig. 23; col. 10, lines 6-41).
Regarding claim 2, Alberti discloses the cargo restraint assembly of claim 1, wherein the base assembly further comprises:
the actuation/de-actuation lever (124/182), wherein the actuation/de-actuation lever is mechanically and rotatably coupled to the base assembly via a rotation pin (126) and wherein the actuation/de-actuation lever is configured to rotate about an axis through a longitudinal center of the rotation pin (col. 9, line 20).
Regarding claim 3, Alberti discloses the cargo restraint assembly of claim 2 (col. 10, lines 11-15), wherein the base assembly further comprises:
a first linkage (125);
a second linkage (128); and
a plunger interconnect plate (see annotated Fig. 19), wherein the actuation/de-actuation lever is coupled to the plunger via the first linkage, the second linkage, and the plunger interconnect plate (col. 9, lines 20-26).
Regarding claim 4, Alberti discloses the cargo restraint assembly of claim 3, wherein the actuation/de-actuation lever is coupled to a first end of the first linkage (see annotated Fig. 19 above) via the rotation pin such that the first linkage rotates simultaneously with the actuation/de-actuation lever (col. 9, lines 20-24).
Regarding claim 5, Alberti discloses the cargo restraint assembly of claim 4, wherein a second end of the first linkage (see annotated Fig. 19 above) is mechanically and rotatably coupled to a first end of the second linkage (see annotated Fig. 19 above) via a first pin (127), wherein a second end of the second linkage (see annotated Fig. 19 above) is mechanically and rotatably coupled to the plunger interconnect plate via a second pin (see annotated Fig. 19 above), and wherein the plunger interconnect plate is coupled to the plunger (col. 9, lines 20-24).
Regarding claim 6, Alberti discloses the cargo restraint assembly of claim 5, wherein the mechanical and rotatable coupling between the second end of the first linkage and the first end of the second linkage is configured to move over a center line thereby providing an over-center locking mechanism that locks the plunger at an outermost extension in the first direction from the base assembly into the opening within the modular container (Fig. 19; col. 9, lines 18-26).
Regarding claim 7, Alberti discloses the cargo restraint assembly of claim 3, wherein the compression spring provides the restraint to keep a second end of the first linkage (see annotated Fig. 19) that is mechanically and rotatably coupled to a first end of the second linkage (see annotated Fig. 19) moved over a center line in the activated state and to keep the second end of the first linkage that is mechanically and rotatably coupled to the first end of the second linkage retracted in the deactivated state (Fig. 19; col. 9, lines 18-26).
Regarding claim 8, Alberti discloses the cargo restraint assembly of claim 1, wherein the cargo restraint assembly is a first cargo restraint assembly (48) and wherein the base assembly further comprises:
an interface (136), wherein the interface is configured to receive an actuation shaft/tube (140) that couples the first cargo restraint assembly to a second cargo restraint assembly (120) in order that the first cargo restraint assembly and the second cargo restraint assembly are activated or deactivated simultaneously (Figs. 16-18; abstract and col. 9, lines 32-44).
Regarding claim 9, Alberti discloses the cargo restraint assembly of claim 1, wherein the base assembly further comprises:
a set of anchors (142) integrated into the cargo restraint assembly, wherein the set of anchors couple the cargo restraint assembly to a cargo deck (32) of a cargo compartment (30) (Fig. 16; col. 4, lines 46-48 and col. 9, lines 36-38).
Regarding claim 10, Alberti discloses a cargo handling system (col. 2, lines 58-59), comprising:
a plurality of cargo restraint assemblies (48/180; Figs. 16 and 23; col. 5, lines 48-54 and col. 10, lines 6-10), each cargo restraint assembly of the plurality of cargo restraint assemblies comprising:
a base assembly (144/192; Figs. 17 and 23) comprising:
a plunger (122/188), wherein, responsive to being activated, the plunger is configured to extend in a first direction into an opening (62) within a modular container (36) (col. 10, lines 34-42) thereby restraining the modular container in a second direction, the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction (col. 9, lines 40-42);
a compression spring (130/186; Figs. 19-20 and 23), wherein the compression spring is configured to provide a restraint to keep the plunger locked in an outwardly extended state in an activated state or locked in an inwardly retracted state in a deactivated state (col. 9, lines 22-26); and
an attenuation lock (120/194; Figs. 21-23) rotatably coupled to the base assembly via a pin (162) and biased via at least one spring (150) such that a distal end (156) of the attenuation lock is normally translated in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 22; col. 9, lines 58-68 and col. 10, lines 1-2), wherein the attenuation lock is configured to block the plunger from attenuating from the activated state unless acted upon by an actuation/de-actuation lever (Fig. 23; col. 10, lines 11-27), wherein the actuation/de-actuation lever comprises a protrusion configured to engage with an extension on the attenuation lock to translate the distal end of the attenuation lock out of a translation path of the plunger (see annotated Fig. 23; col. 10, lines 6-41).
Regarding claim 11, Alberti discloses the cargo handling system of claim 10, wherein the base assembly further comprises:
the actuation/de-actuation lever (124/182), wherein the actuation/de-actuation lever is mechanically and rotatably coupled to the base assembly via a rotation pin (126) and wherein the actuation/de-actuation lever is configured to rotate about an axis through a longitudinal center of the rotation pin (col. 9, line 20).
Regarding claim 12, Alberti discloses the cargo handling system of claim 11 (col. 10, lines 11-15), wherein the base assembly further comprises:
a first linkage (125);
a second linkage (128); and
a plunger interconnect plate (see annotated Fig. 19), wherein the actuation/de-actuation lever is coupled to the plunger via the first linkage, the second linkage, and the plunger interconnect plate (col. 9, lines 20-26).
Regarding claim 13, Alberti discloses the cargo handling system of claim 12, wherein the actuation/de-actuation lever is coupled to a first end of the first linkage (see annotated Fig. 19 above) via the rotation pin such that the first linkage rotates simultaneously with the actuation/de-actuation lever (col. 9, lines 20-24).
Regarding claim 14, Alberti discloses the cargo handling system of claim 13, wherein a second end of the first linkage (see annotated Fig. 19 above) is mechanically and rotatably coupled to a first end of the second linkage (see annotated Fig. 19 above) via a first pin (127), wherein a second end of the second linkage (see annotated Fig. 19 above) is mechanically and rotatably coupled to the plunger interconnect plate via a second pin (see annotated Fig. 19 above), and wherein the plunger interconnect plate is coupled to the plunger (col. 9, lines 20-24).
Regarding claim 15, Alberti discloses the cargo handling system of claim 14, wherein the mechanical and rotatable coupling between the second end of the first linkage and the first end of the second linkage is configured to move over a center line thereby providing an over-center locking mechanism that locks the plunger at an outermost extension in the first direction from the base assembly into the opening within the modular container (Fig. 19; col. 9, lines 18-26).
Regarding claim 16, Alberti discloses the cargo handling system of claim 12, wherein the compression spring provides the restraint to keep a second end of the first linkage (see annotated Fig. 19) that is mechanically and rotatably coupled to a first end of the second linkage (see annotated Fig. 19) moved over a center line in the activated state and to keep the second end of the first linkage that is mechanically and rotatably coupled to the first end of the second linkage retracted in the deactivated state (Fig. 19; col. 9, lines 18-26).
Regarding claim 17, Alberti discloses the cargo handling system of claim 10, wherein each cargo restraint assembly of the plurality of cargo restraint assemblies is a first cargo restraint assembly (48) and wherein the base assembly further comprises:
an interface (136), wherein the interface is configured to receive an actuation shaft/tube (140) that couples the first cargo restraint assembly to a second cargo restraint assembly (120) in order that the first cargo restraint assembly and the second cargo restraint assembly are activated or deactivated simultaneously (Figs. 16-18; abstract and col. 9, lines 32-44).
Regarding claim 18, Alberti discloses the cargo handling system of claim 10, wherein the base assembly further comprises:
a set of anchors (142) integrated into each cargo restraint assembly of the plurality of cargo restraint assemblies, wherein the set of anchors couple each cargo restraint assembly to a cargo deck (32) of a cargo compartment (30) (Fig. 16; col. 4, lines 46-48 and col. 9, lines 36-38).
Regarding claim 19, Alberti discloses an aircraft (30; Fig. 1), comprising:
a cargo deck (32); and
a cargo handling system disposed on the cargo deck (col. 4, lines 37-48), the cargo handling system comprising:
a plurality of cargo restraint assemblies (48/180; Figs. 16 and 23; col. 5, lines 48-54 and col. 10, lines 6-10), each cargo restraint assembly of the plurality of cargo restraint assemblies comprising:
a base assembly (144/192; Figs. 17 and 23) comprising:
a plunger (122/188), wherein, responsive to being activated, the plunger is configured to extend in a first direction into an opening (62) within a modular container (36) (col. 10, lines 34-42) thereby restraining the modular container in a second direction, the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction (col. 9, lines 40-42);
a compression spring (130/186; Figs. 19-20 and 23), wherein the compression spring is configured to provide a restraint to keep the plunger locked in an outwardly extended state in an activated state or locked in an inwardly retracted state in a deactivated state (col. 9, lines 22-26); and
an attenuation lock (120/194; Figs. 21-23) rotatably coupled to the base assembly via a pin (162) and biased via at least one spring (150) such that a distal end (156) of the attenuation lock is normally translated in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 22; col. 9, lines 58-68 and col. 10, lines 1-2), wherein the attenuation lock is configured to block the plunger from attenuating from the activated state unless acted upon by an actuation/de-actuation lever (Fig. 23; col. 10, lines 11-27), wherein the actuation/de-actuation lever comprises a protrusion configured to engage with an extension on the attenuation lock to translate the distal end of the attenuation lock out of a translation path of the plunger (see annotated Fig. 23; col. 10, lines 6-41).
Regarding claim 20, Alberti discloses the aircraft of claim 19, wherein each cargo restraint assembly of the plurality of cargo restraint assemblies further comprises:
an interface (136), wherein the interface is configured to receive an actuation shaft/tube (140) that couples a first cargo restraint assembly (48) of the plurality of cargo restraint assemblies to a second cargo restraint assembly (120) of the plurality of cargo restraint assemblies in order that the first cargo restraint assembly and the second cargo restraint assembly are activated or deactivated simultaneously (Figs. 16-18; abstract and col. 9, lines 32-44).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Blas US 3933101 A discloses an anchoring mechanism for anchoring to an exterior pocket of freight containers, activated by a lever.
Schulze et al. US 20090324356 A1 disclose an airline restraint system with a locking mechanism.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Anayansi Santiago/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612