, 8DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to application 18/787,896 filed on August 14 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and herein considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (Chang) U.S. Pub. Number 2009/0023475 in view of Myer et al (Myer) U.S. Pub. Number 2009/0169005.
Regarding claim 1, 8 and 15; Chang discloses a method comprising: at an apparatus including one or more communication devices, a controller, and a housing that at least partially supports the one or more communication devices and the controller, wherein when the apparatus is coupled with a personal communication device, the apparatus provides a first platform in parallel to a second platform provided by the personal communication device: para: [0032] FIG. 1 illustrates a diagram of an exemplary smart interface environment 100. The environment 100 includes a smart interface system 102 for interfacing a mobile communications device 104 to external systems 106. The external systems 106 can include peripheral devices 108, networks 110, and other systems 112. The peripheral devices 108 can include televisions (TVs), monitors, displays (e.g., LCD, LED, etc.), projectors, mice, keyboards, gesture input systems, touchpads, touch screen displays, and other human interface devices (HIDs). The peripheral devices 108 can also include printers, cameras, audio and audio processing systems (e.g., speakers, electronic music systems, etc.), image/video and image/video processing systems (e.g., video cameras, digital cameras, scanners, etc.), and storage systems (e.g., USB (universal serial bus) drives, IEEE 1394 drives, external drives, flash drives, etc.),
establishing a secure communication pathway between the first platform and the second platform para: [0018] the security component for providing secure communications between the smart system and the mobile communications device.
Chang does not disclose which Myer discloses obtaining and encrypting a policy enforcement command on the first platform associated with executing one or more applications in high level layers on the second platform; par. [0073] In general, the routines executed to implement the embodiments of the present invention, whether implemented as part of an operating system or a specific application, component, program, module, object or sequence of instructions may be referred to herein as a "program." The computer program typically is comprised of a multitude of instructions that will be translated by the native computer into a machine-readable format and hence executable instructions. Also, programs are comprised of variables and data structures that either reside locally to the program or are found in memory or on storage devices.
sending the encrypted policy enforcement command via the secure communication pathway to at least one layer on the second platform between the high level layers and a hardware layer; and causing the policy enforcement command to be executed in the hardware layer on the second platform to enable or disable execution of the one or more applications in the high level layers(abstract) method, network element, and computer storage program product, are provided for selectively loading a communication network security enforcement point ("SEP") with security association ("SA") information for inspection of encrypted data in a secure, end-to-end communications path. At least one encrypted data packet is received. It is determined that SA information for decrypting the at least one encrypted data packet fails to exist locally at the SEP. A request is sent to a communication network key server for SA information associated with the at least one encrypted data packet. The SA information associated with the at least one encrypted data packet is received from the communication network key server. [0011] security enforcement points are able to inspect traversing encrypted data in a secure, end-to-end communications path. Stated differently, SEPs are able to decrypt and inspect traffic that is passing through the enforcement point so that security services such as (but not limited to) IP packet filtering, intrusion detection, load balancing and quality of service ("QoS") settings can be applied to the clear-text (decrypted) packet payloads. For example, a security enforcement point ("SEP") disposed within a secure communications path such as that defined between IPsec endpoints, can establish a secure encrypted session with a key server [0028] The following is an overview of how the security enforcement points 116, 118 are able to inspect traversing encrypted data in a secure, end-to-end communications path. In one embodiment, an end-to-end secure communications path can be established between one of the client computing devices 102, 104, 106 and the server 108.
Related art
U.S pub 2009/0023475 to Chang-Chang teaches smart interface and peripheral management system for portable devices such as mobile phones. The smart system includes a connector interface that connects peripherals to a phone and/or personal digital assistant (PDA), through the smart system. The smart system includes a cradle for receiving a cell phone and interfacing the phone to external systems such as peripherals, networks and other systems through a USB hub and other suitable connector interfaces.
U.S Pat. 96,608810 to Ghetti-Ghetti teaches methods for securing or encrypting data or other information arising from a user's interaction with software and/or hardware, resulting in transformation of original data into ciphertext. Generally, the ciphertext is generated using context-based keys that depend on the environment in which the original data originated and/or was accessed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VU V TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2491