DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this Office Action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Publication CN214846677U to Zeng (hereinafter "Zeng", included in IDS provided by Applicant) in view of Non-Patent Publication "CMUT on Glass Substrate for Next-Generation Medical Imaging and Beyond" to Zhang (hereinafter "Zhang", included in IDS provided by Applicant), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0373913 A1 to Panchawagh et al. (hereinafter "Panchawagh").
Regarding Claim 1, Zeng teaches an apparatus, comprising: a display stack (Para. 43-63 of Zeng; display unit 200); and a transparent fingerprint sensor stack, comprising: transparent fingerprint sensor circuitry; transparent fingerprint sensor electrodes; a transparent piezoelectric layer; and a transparent adhesive layer proximate the display stack (Para. 43-63 of Zeng; transparent substrate 310 can be fixed on the touch unit 400 through the OCA optical adhesive layer 600, and the touch unit 400 can be attached to on the display unit 200… ultrasonic fingerprint recognition unit 300 is configured as a transparent substrate 310, a TFT electrode 320, a piezoelectric layer 330, and a transparent electrode layer 340 in a transparent structure, and it is fixed on the cover through a transparent adhesive layer 500 100 or touch unit 400, the ultrasonic fingerprint identification unit 300 will not affect the propagation of light, so that the light can pass through the ultrasonic fingerprint identification unit 300 between the cover 100, the touch unit 400, and the display unit 200 to make the ultrasonic fingerprint).
Zeng does not explicitly disclose a transparent display stack; wherein two or more layers of the transparent fingerprint sensor stack comprise an acoustic resonator configured to produce a local maximum of ultrasonic wave transmission at a frequency in a range from 1 MHz to 20 MHz.
However, Zhang teaches two or more layers of a transparent fingerprint sensor stack (Pg. 10, 104, 109-112, 121-131; Section 6.4 of Zhang; CMUT with improved transparency… fully transparent air-coupled CMUT that could be integrated with a flat-panel display. Such applications include a parametric array for generating uni-directional sound, fingerprint sensors, and ultrasound gesture sensors… integrating finger printer sensors under a smartphone display panel… … Transparent piezoelectric transducers have been reported using transparent piezoelectric materials, such as PVDF) comprise an acoustic resonator configured to produce ultrasonic wave transmission (Pg. 10, 104, 109-112, 121-131; Section 6.4 of Zhang; open circuit resonance frequency of the CMUT element was measured as 3.62 MHz).
Therefore, at the time of invention filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include two or more layers of the transparent fingerprint sensor stack comprise an acoustic resonator configured to produce ultrasonic wave transmission using the teachings of Zhang in order to modify the device taught by Zeng. The motivation to combine these analogous arts would have been to develop transparent CMUTs on glass substrates and demonstrate its potential for applications where acoustics and optics are combined (Pg. 6-8 of Zhang).
The combination of Zeng and Zhang does not explicitly disclose a transparent display stack; producing a local maximum of ultrasonic wave transmission at a frequency in a range from 1 MHz to 20 MHz.
However, Panchawagh teaches a transparent display stack (Fig. 8A; Para. 93 of Panchawagh; one or more layers 810, 815 formed upon an organic light-emitting material in the OLED display 865 (e.g., OLED stack) may be substantially transparent to visible light); producing a local maximum of ultrasonic wave transmission at a frequency in a range from 1 MHz to 20 MHz (Para. 72 of Panchawagh; piezoelectric transmitter layer 422 and the piezoelectric receiver layer 436 is selected so as to be suitable for generating and receiving ultrasonic waves… Example frequencies of the ultrasonic waves may be in the range of about 1 megahertz (MHz) to about 100 MHz).
Therefore, at the time of invention filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a transparent display stack; producing a local maximum of ultrasonic wave transmission at a frequency in a range from 1 MHz to 20 MHz using the teachings of Panchawagh in order to modify the device taught by the combination of combination of Zeng and Zhang. The motivation to combine these analogous arts would have been to provide an under-glass and under-display fingerprint sensor system that provides additional functionality and space to the display device and may open up additional authentication software applications for improved user interfaces (Para. 5, 49 of Panchawagh).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Zeng, Zhang, and Panchawagh teaches that the apparatus is a transparent apparatus configured to allow visible light to pass from outside of a first side of the apparatus proximate the transparent display stack, through the transparent display stack and the transparent fingerprint sensor stack, to outside of a second side of the apparatus proximate the transparent fingerprint sensor stack (Para. 63 of Zeng; ultrasonic fingerprint recognition unit 300 is configured as a transparent substrate 310, a TFT electrode 320, a piezoelectric layer 330, and a transparent electrode layer 340 in a transparent structure, and it is fixed on the cover through a transparent adhesive layer 500 100 or touch unit 400, the ultrasonic fingerprint identification unit 300 will not affect the propagation of light, so that the light can pass through the ultrasonic fingerprint identification unit 300 between the cover 100, the touch unit 400, and the display unit 200 to make the ultrasonic fingerprint… Fig. 8A; Para. 93 of Panchawagh; one or more layers 810, 815 formed upon an organic light-emitting material in the OLED display 865 (e.g., OLED stack) may be substantially transparent to visible light).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Zeng, Zhang, and Panchawagh teaches an ultraviolet light blocking layer configured to block most or all ultraviolet light from reaching at least a portion of the transparent fingerprint sensor circuitry (Fig. 9A; Para. 100 of Panchawagh; non-porous light-blocking layer 955 may include a colored plastic material such as black polyethylene terephthalate (PET) or colored polyethylene naphthalate, polyimide, polycarbonate or PMMA, etc., one or more paint layers, one or more colored ink layers, or a coated plastic layer).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Zeng, Zhang, and Panchawagh teaches that the transparent adhesive layer comprises one boundary of the acoustic resonator (Figs. 9A-9B; Para. 99-103 of Panchawagh; ultrasonic fingerprint sensor system 995… adhesive layer 992).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Zeng, Zhang , and Panchawagh teaches that the transparent display stack comprises a transparent light-emitting diode (LED) stack and wherein the transparent LED stack comprises a transparent microLED stack or a transparent organic LED (OLED) stack (Para. 93 of Panchawagh; OLED display 865 may be a glass OLED display with a glass cover layer).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Zeng, Zhang, and Panchawagh teaches that the transparent fingerprint sensor circuitry comprises a glass-based or polyimide-based thin-film transistor (TFT) layer (Para. 43-63 of Zeng; ultrasonic fingerprint recognition unit 300 includes a transparent substrate 310 with a TFT (Thin Film Transistor) electrode layer 320 on the transparent substrate 310… the transparent substrate 310 may be a high light transmittance flexible PET (polyethylene glycol terephthalate, polyethylene terephthalate) substrate to obtain a better light transmission effect… the material of the transparent substrate 310 is not limited to this, and may also be other materials that can meet the requirements of transparency and flexibility).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Zeng, Zhang, and Panchawagh teaches that the transparent fingerprint sensor electrodes comprise indium tin oxide (ITO), graphene-based electrodes, silver nanowires, carbon nanotubes, one or more conductive polymers, aluminum-doped zinc oxide (AZO), fluorine-doped tin oxide (FTO), or combinations thereof (Para. 43-63 of Zeng; transparent electrode layer 340 may be a mixture of PEDOT:PSS (aqueous solution of poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) and polystyrene sulfonate) and silver nanowires).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Zeng, Zhang, and Panchawagh teaches that the transparent piezoelectric layer comprises one or more piezoelectric copolymers, PVDF, lead magnesium niobate/lead titanate (PMN-PT), lithium niobate (LiNbO3), or combinations thereof (Para. 43-63 of Zeng; material of the piezoelectric layer 330 may include polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) with a light transmittance of more than 98%).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Zeng, Zhang, and Panchawagh teaches that the transparent adhesive layer comprises ultraviolet (UV) adhesive, a clear epoxy resin, clear double-side tape, silicone adhesive, cyanoacrylate, or combinations thereof (Para. 43-63 of Zeng; material of the transparent glue layer 500 may be one or more of transparent hot pressing glue, transparent DAF (Die Attach Film) glue, and transparent jelly glue).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Zeng, Zhang, and Panchawagh teaches that the apparatus comprises augmented reality (AR) glasses, an AR or a virtual reality (VR) headset, a motorcycle visor, a television or other display device, a laptop computer, or a windscreen or other vehicle component (Para. 43-63 of Zeng; display device in the present invention can be used in various smart terminals, which can be smart phones, smart bracelets, notebook computers, tablet computers, car monitors, etc.).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Zeng, Zhang, and Panchawagh teaches a control system including one or more processors, wherein the control system is configured to: control the transparent fingerprint sensor stack to transmit ultrasonic waves to a target object on an outer surface of the apparatus; receive, from the transparent fingerprint sensor stack, fingerprint sensor signals corresponding to reflected ultrasonic waves from the target object; and perform an authentication process based, at least in part, on the fingerprint sensor signals (Figs. 2A-2B, 5-10B; Para. 54-61, 79-107 of Panchawagh; ultrasonic sensing system 200 may include a sensor system 202 and a control system 204 electrically coupled to the sensor system 202. The sensor system 202 may be capable of scanning an object and providing raw measured image data usable to obtain an object signature such as, for example, a fingerprint of a human finger. The control system 204 may be capable of controlling the sensor system 202 and processing the raw measured image data received from the sensor system… An ultrasonic fingerprint sensor may authenticate a user's fingerprint, where ultrasonic waves generated by a piezoelectric material may travel through a platen on which a person's finger is placed… controller circuit may “wake up” an applications processor and cause the display 510 to be turned on if a fingerprint of the finger 515 is authenticated… an applications processor may obtain the fingerprint image data (e.g., by receiving the corresponding data stored in memory by the controller circuit) and then determine whether the fingerprint image data represents a fingerprint of an authorized user of the electronic device 505).
Regarding Claim 15, Zeng teaches an apparatus, comprising: display means (Para. 43-63 of Zeng; display unit 200); and a transparent fingerprint sensor stack, comprising: transparent fingerprint sensor circuitry; transparent fingerprint sensor electrodes; a transparent piezoelectric layer; and a transparent adhesive layer proximate the display means (Para. 43-63 of Zeng; transparent substrate 310 can be fixed on the touch unit 400 through the OCA optical adhesive layer 600, and the touch unit 400 can be attached to on the display unit 200.... ultrasonic fingerprint recognition unit 300 is configured as a transparent substrate 310, a TFT electrode 320, a piezoelectric layer 330, and a transparent electrode layer 340 in a transparent structure, and it is fixed on the cover through a transparent adhesive layer 500 100 or touch unit 400, the ultrasonic fingerprint identification unit 300 will not affect the propagation of light, so that the light can pass through the ultrasonic fingerprint identification unit 300 between the cover 100, the touch unit 400, and the display unit 200 to make the ultrasonic fingerprint).
Zeng does not explicitly disclose transparent display means; wherein two or more layers of the transparent fingerprint sensor stack comprise an acoustic resonator configured to produce a local maximum of ultrasonic wave transmission at a frequency in a range from 1 MHz to 20 MHz.
However, Zhang teaches two or more layers of a transparent fingerprint sensor stack (Pg. 10, 104, 109-112, 121-131; Section 6.4 of Zhang; CMUT with improved transparency… fully transparent air-coupled CMUT that could be integrated with a flat-panel display. Such applications include a parametric array for generating uni-directional sound, fingerprint sensors, and ultrasound gesture sensors… integrating finger printer sensors under a smartphone display panel… … Transparent piezoelectric transducers have been reported using transparent piezoelectric materials, such as PVDF) comprise an acoustic resonator configured to produce ultrasonic wave transmission (Pg. 10, 104, 109-112, 121-131; Section 6.4 of Zhang; open circuit resonance frequency of the CMUT element was measured as 3.62 MHz).
Therefore, at the time of invention filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include two or more layers of the transparent fingerprint sensor stack comprise an acoustic resonator configured to produce ultrasonic wave transmission using the teachings of Zhang in order to modify the device taught by Zeng. The motivation to combine these analogous arts would have been to develop transparent CMUTs on glass substrates and demonstrate its potential for applications where acoustics and optics are combined (Pg. 6-8 of Zhang).
The combination of Zeng and Zhang does not explicitly disclose transparent display means; producing a local maximum of ultrasonic wave transmission at a frequency in a range from 1 MHz to 20 MHz.
However, Panchawagh teaches transparent display means (Fig. 8A; Para. 93 of Panchawagh; one or more layers 810, 815 formed upon an organic light-emitting material in the OLED display 865 (e.g., OLED stack) may be substantially transparent to visible light); producing a local maximum of ultrasonic wave transmission at a frequency in a range from 1 MHz to 20 MHz (Para. 72 of Panchawagh; piezoelectric transmitter layer 422 and the piezoelectric receiver layer 436 is selected so as to be suitable for generating and receiving ultrasonic waves… Example frequencies of the ultrasonic waves may be in the range of about 1 megahertz (MHz) to about 100 MHz).
Therefore, at the time of invention filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include transparent display means; producing a local maximum of ultrasonic wave transmission at a frequency in a range from 1 MHz to 20 MHz using the teachings of Panchawagh in order to modify the device taught by the combination of combination of Zeng and Zhang. The motivation to combine these analogous arts would have been to provide an under-glass and under-display fingerprint sensor system that provides additional functionality and space to the display device and may open up additional authentication software applications for improved user interfaces (Para. 5, 49 of Panchawagh).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Zeng, Zhang, and Panchawagh teaches that the apparatus is a transparent apparatus configured to allow visible light to pass from outside of a first side of the apparatus proximate the transparent display means, through the transparent display means and the transparent fingerprint sensor stack, to outside of a second side of the apparatus proximate the transparent fingerprint sensor stack (Para. 63 of Zeng; ultrasonic fingerprint recognition unit 300 is configured as a transparent substrate 310, a TFT electrode 320, a piezoelectric layer 330, and a transparent electrode layer 340 in a transparent structure, and it is fixed on the cover through a transparent adhesive layer 500 100 or touch unit 400, the ultrasonic fingerprint identification unit 300 will not affect the propagation of light, so that the light can pass through the ultrasonic fingerprint identification unit 300 between the cover 100, the touch unit 400, and the display unit 200 to make the ultrasonic fingerprint… Fig. 8A; Para. 93 of Panchawagh; one or more layers 810, 815 formed upon an organic light-emitting material in the OLED display 865 (e.g., OLED stack) may be substantially transparent to visible light).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Zeng, Zhang, and Panchawagh teaches an ultraviolet light blocking layer configured to block most or all ultraviolet light from reaching at least a portion of the transparent fingerprint sensor circuitry (Fig. 9A; Para. 100 of Panchawagh; non-porous light-blocking layer 955 may include a colored plastic material such as black polyethylene terephthalate (PET) or colored polyethylene naphthalate, polyimide, polycarbonate or PMMA, etc., one or more paint layers, one or more colored ink layers, or a coated plastic layer).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Zeng, Zhang, and Panchawagh teaches control means for: controlling the transparent fingerprint sensor stack to transmit ultrasonic waves to a target object on an outer surface of the apparatus; receiving, from the transparent fingerprint sensor stack, fingerprint sensor signals corresponding to reflected ultrasonic waves from the target object; and performing an authentication process based, at least in part, on the fingerprint sensor signals minutiae (Figs. 2A-2B, 5-10B; Para. 54-61, 79-107 of Panchawagh; ultrasonic sensing system 200 may include a sensor system 202 and a control system 204 electrically coupled to the sensor system 202. The sensor system 202 may be capable of scanning an object and providing raw measured image data usable to obtain an object signature such as, for example, a fingerprint of a human finger. The control system 204 may be capable of controlling the sensor system 202 and processing the raw measured image data received from the sensor system… An ultrasonic fingerprint sensor may authenticate a user's fingerprint, where ultrasonic waves generated by a piezoelectric material may travel through a platen on which a person's finger is placed… controller circuit may “wake up” an applications processor and cause the display 510 to be turned on if a fingerprint of the finger 515 is authenticated… an applications processor may obtain the fingerprint image data (e.g., by receiving the corresponding data stored in memory by the controller circuit) and then determine whether the fingerprint image data represents a fingerprint of an authorized user of the electronic device 505).
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panchawagh, in view of Zeng, and further in view of Zhang.
Regarding Claim 19, Panchawagh teaches a method, comprising; controlling a fingerprint sensor stack to transmit ultrasonic waves through a transparent display (Fig. 8A; Para. 93 of Panchawagh; one or more layers 810, 815 formed upon an organic light-emitting material in the OLED display 865 (e.g., OLED stack) may be substantially transparent to visible light) to a target object on an outer surface of an apparatus proximate the display; receiving, from the fingerprint sensor stack, fingerprint sensor signals corresponding to reflected ultrasonic waves from the target object; and performing an authentication process based, at least in part, on the fingerprint sensor signals (Figs. 5-10B; Para. 79-107 of Panchawagh; An ultrasonic fingerprint sensor may authenticate a user's fingerprint, where ultrasonic waves generated by a piezoelectric material may travel through a platen on which a person's finger is placed… controller circuit may “wake up” an applications processor and cause the display 510 to be turned on if a fingerprint of the finger 515 is authenticated… an applications processor may obtain the fingerprint image data (e.g., by receiving the corresponding data stored in memory by the controller circuit) and then determine whether the fingerprint image data represents a fingerprint of an authorized user of the electronic device 505); producing a local maximum of ultrasonic wave transmission at a frequency in a range from 1 MHz to 20 MHz (Para. 72 of Panchawagh; piezoelectric transmitter layer 422 and the piezoelectric receiver layer 436 is selected so as to be suitable for generating and receiving ultrasonic waves… Example frequencies of the ultrasonic waves may be in the range of about 1 megahertz (MHz) to about 100 MHz).
Panchawagh does not explicitly disclose a transparent fingerprint sensor stack; wherein two or more layers of the transparent fingerprint sensor stack comprise an acoustic resonator configured to produce ultrasonic wave transmission.
However, Zeng teaches a transparent fingerprint sensor stack (Para. 63 of Zeng; ultrasonic fingerprint recognition unit 300 is configured as a transparent substrate 310, a TFT electrode 320, a piezoelectric layer 330, and a transparent electrode layer 340 in a transparent structure, and it is fixed on the cover through a transparent adhesive layer 500).
Therefore, at the time of invention filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a transparent fingerprint sensor stack using the teachings of Zeng in order to modify the device taught by Panchawagh. The motivation to combine these analogous arts would have been to provide a touch module and an intelligent terminal to provide a smart terminal with a touch module that can realize full-screen unlocking, and has a higher screen occupancy, better display performance, and can be applied to OLED screens and TFT-LCD screens (Para. 23 of Zeng).
The combination of Panchawagh and Zeng does not explicitly disclose that two or more layers of the transparent fingerprint sensor stack comprise an acoustic resonator configured to produce ultrasonic wave transmission.
However, Zhang teaches that two or more layers of a transparent fingerprint sensor stack comprise an acoustic resonator configured to produce ultrasonic wave transmission (Pg. 10, 104, 109-112, 121-131; Section 6.4 of Zhang; CMUT with improved transparency… fully transparent air-coupled CMUT that could be integrated with a flat-panel display. Such applications include a parametric array for generating uni-directional sound, fingerprint sensors, and ultrasound gesture sensors… integrating finger printer sensors under a smartphone display panel… … Transparent piezoelectric transducers have been reported using transparent piezoelectric materials, such as PVDF… open circuit resonance frequency of the CMUT element was measured as 3.62 MHz).
Therefore, at the time of invention filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include that two or more layers of the transparent fingerprint sensor stack comprise an acoustic resonator configured to produce ultrasonic wave transmission using the teachings of Zhang in order to modify the device taught by the combination of Panchawagh and Zeng. The motivation to combine these analogous arts would have been to develop transparent CMUTs on glass substrates and demonstrate its potential for applications where acoustics and optics are combined (Pg. 6-8 of Zhang).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Panchawagh, Zeng, and Zhang teaches that the two or more layers of the transparent fingerprint sensor stack comprise two or more of a transparent fingerprint sensor circuitry layer, a transparent fingerprint sensor electrode layer or a transparent piezoelectric layer (Para. 43-63 of Zeng; transparent substrate 310 can be fixed on the touch unit 400 through the OCA optical adhesive layer 600, and the touch unit 400 can be attached to on the display unit 200… ultrasonic fingerprint recognition unit 300 is configured as a transparent substrate 310, a TFT electrode 320, a piezoelectric layer 330, and a transparent electrode layer 340 in a transparent structure… Pg. 10, 104, 109-112, 121-131; Section 6.4 of Zhang; CMUT with improved transparency… fully transparent air-coupled CMUT that could be integrated with a flat-panel display… Transparent piezoelectric transducers have been reported using transparent piezoelectric materials, such as PVDF).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Panchawagh, Zeng, and Zhang teaches that the authentication process involves extracting fingerprint minutiae from the fingerprint sensor signals and comparing the fingerprint minutiae to previously-obtained fingerprint minutiae (Figs. 5-10B; Para. 79-107 of Panchawagh; applications processor may obtain the fingerprint image data (e.g., by receiving the corresponding data stored in memory by the controller circuit) and then determine whether the fingerprint image data represents a fingerprint of an authorized user of the electronic device 505).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are believed to be answered by and therefore moot in view of new grounds of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABHISHEK SARMA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621