DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig 2 is blurry and unreadable.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because the claim is missing the term “a” or “an” when introducing components such as the leak detector controller and leak detector identifier. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7-10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the claims recite “the first pattern (ER) for a particular leak detector identifier (R) is given as ER = R * 3600/(N – 1) in revolutions per minute for R = 1 to N, where N is a total number of the leak detection ropes.”, however it appears the first pattern and leak detector identifier are given reference equation identifiers that corresponds to a recited equation recited in the claim but have not been properly introduced or recited the corresponding connection of the respective reference identifiers to the respective first pattern and leak detector identifier. Therefore, the claim has been rendered indefinite.
Examiner suggest amending the claim to properly recite and connect the first pattern and leak detector identifiers to their respective reference equation identifier (i.e. in the equation the first pattern is represented by
E
R
).
Regarding claims 8-10 and 18, the limitation "revolutions per minute pattern" There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as revolutions per minute are not introduced until claims 7 and 17 from which they respectively depend.. Examiner suggest amending the claims to depend from claims 7 and 17 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holden et al US11725890 (hereinafter “Holden”) in view of Jreij et al US20060152891 (hereinafter “Jreij”) in further view of Hu et al US20230297099 (hereinafter “Hu”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Holden discloses a leak detector (leak detections sensor-400) for detecting liquid coolant leaks in an information handling system (computing environment-90), and a leak detector controller (Motor control circuit-450) coupled to the leak detection rope, and to encode a rope status as a pattern of square wave pulses on a output of the leak detector controller (Col 15 line 52-Col 16 line 13 discloses encoding a rope status as an output tachometer signal-460; See Fig 10-11, Col 15 line 9-Col 18 line 19).
However, Holden fails to disclose the leak detector controller is configured to associate a leak detector identifier with each of the leak detection ropes, to encode each leak detector identifier as a first pattern of square wave pulses on a first output of the leak detector controller. Jreij discloses the leak detector controller (system controller-22 connected to modules-36) is configured to associate a leak detector identifier (identification information) with the leak detection rope, to encode each leak detector identifier as a first pattern of square wave pulses on a first output of the leak detector controller. (Paragraphs 0017 discloses encoding identifier information in tachometer readings)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Jreij into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for identifying a specific rope with a particular identifying leak status.
However, the combination fails to disclose the leak detector comprising a plurality of leak detection ropes. Hu discloses the leak detector (LAAC module-104) comprising: a plurality of leak detection ropes (subsystem-122 includes components-106; Paragraphs 0013-0015, 0019-0020, 0039-0045, Fig 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Hu into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for simultaneously identifying specific ropes with a particular identifying leak status for each.
Regarding claim 2, Holden discloses the leak detector controller (Motor control circuit-450) is further configured to determine the rope status of the leak detection rope. (Col 15 line 52-Col 16 line 13 discloses encoding a rope status as an output tachometer signal-460; See Fig 10-11, Col 15 line 9-Col 18 line 19)
However, the combination of Holden and Jreji fails to disclose a plurality of leak detection ropes. Hu discloses the leak detector (LAAC module-104) comprising: a plurality of leak detection ropes (subsystem-122 includes components-106; Paragraphs 0013-0015, 0019-0020, 0039-0045, Fig 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Hu into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for simultaneously identifying specific ropes with a particular identifying leak status for each.
Regarding claim 3, Holden discloses to output the rope status associated with the first leak detection rope on the output. (Col 15 line 52-Col 16 line 13 discloses encoding a rope status as an output tachometer signal-460; See Fig 10-11, Col 15 line 9-Col 18 line 19)
However, Holden fails to disclose the leak detector controller is further configured, at a first time, to output a first leak detector identifier associated with a first one of the leak detection rope on the first output. Jreji discloses the leak detector controller is further configured, at a first time, to output a first leak detector identifier associated with a first one of the leak detection ropes on the first output. (Paragraphs 0015-0017 and 0019 discloses outputting serially clocked tachometer information)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Jreij into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for identifying a specific rope with a particular identifying leak status.
However, the combination fails to disclose the leak detector comprising: a plurality of leak detection ropes. Hu discloses the leak detector (LAAC module-104) comprising: a plurality of leak detection ropes (subsystem-122 includes components-106; Paragraphs 0013-0015, 0019-0020, and 0039-0045, Fig 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Hu into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for simultaneously identifying specific ropes with a particular identifying leak status for each.
Regarding claim 4, Holden discloses to output the rope status associated with the leak detection rope on the output. (Col 15 line 52-Col 16 line 13 discloses encoding a rope status as an output tachometer signal-460; See Fig 10-11, Col 15 line 9-Col 18 line 19)
However, Holden fails to disclose to output a second leak detector identifier associated with a second one of the leak detection ropes on the first output. Jreji discloses to output a leak detector identifier associated with the leak detection rope on the first output. (Paragraphs 0015-0017, and 0019 discloses outputting serially clocked tachometer information )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Jreij into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for identifying a specific rope with a particular identifying leak status.
However, the combination fails to disclose the leak detector comprising: a plurality of leak detection ropes. Hu discloses the leak detector (LAAC module-104) comprising: a plurality of leak detection ropes (subsystem-122 includes components-106; Paragraphs 0013-0015, 0019-0020, and 0039-0045, Fig 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Hu into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for simultaneously identifying specific ropes with a particular identifying leak status for each.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Holden and Jreij disclose the detector according to claim 2.
However, the combination fails to disclose the rope status includes a first indication that a particular one of the leak detection ropes exhibits an error condition, a second indication that the particular leak detection rope is in a good condition and is detecting no liquid coolant leak, and a third indication that the particular leak detection rope is in the good condition and is detecting the liquid coolant leak. Hu discloses the rope status includes a first indication that a particular one of the leak detection ropes exhibits an error condition, a second indication that the particular leak detection rope is in a good condition and is detecting no liquid coolant leak, and a third indication that the particular leak detection rope is in the good condition and is detecting the liquid coolant leak (Paragraphs 0017-0018 and 0029-0033 discloses detecting the various states of module 104 providing waveforms 302, 304 and 306)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Hu into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for simultaneously identifying specific ropes with a particular identifying leak status for each to decrease repair or replacement time.
Regarding claim 6, Holden discloses the detector according to claim 5.
However, Holden fails to disclose the first and second patterns emulate a fan tachometer output. Jreij discloses the first and second patterns emulate a fan tachometer output (Paragraphs 0015-0017 and 0019). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Jreij into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for identifying if the fans are cooling the components properly or need to be adjusted and/or replaced.
Regarding independent claim 11, Holden discloses a method for detecting liquid coolant leaks in an information handling system (leak detection sensor-400 implements the method for computing environment-90), the method comprising:
providing, in the information handling system, providing, in the information handling system, leak detector controller (circuit-450) coupled to the leak detection rope;
associating, by the leak detector controller, and encoding, by the leak detector controller, a rope status as a second pattern of square wave pulses on a second output of the leak detector controller. (Col 15 line 52-Col 16 line 13 discloses encoding a rope status as an output tachometer signal-460; see Fig 10-11, Col 15 line 9-Col 18 line 19)
However, Holden fails to disclose a leak detector identifier with the leak detection rope; encoding, by the leak detector controller, each leak detector identifier as a first pattern of square wave pulses on a first output of the leak detector controller. Jreij discloses a leak detector identifier with the leak detection rope; encoding, by the leak detector controller (controller-22 connected to modules-36), each leak detector identifier (identification information) as a first pattern of square wave pulses on a first output of the leak detector controller. (Paragraphs 0017 discloses encoding identifier information in tachometer readings)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Jreij into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for identifying a specific rope with a particular identifying leak status.
However, the combination fails to disclose the leak detector comprising: a plurality of leak detection ropes. Hu discloses the leak detector (LAAC module-104) comprising: a plurality of leak detection ropes (subsystem-122 includes components-106; Paragraphs 0013-0015, 0019-0020, and 0039-0045, Fig 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Hu into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for simultaneously identifying specific ropes with a particular identifying leak status for each.
Regarding claim 12, Holden disclose determining, by the leak detector controller (circuit-450), the rope status for the leak detection rope. (Col 15 line 52-Col 16 line 13 discloses encoding a rope status as an output tachometer signal-460; see Fig 10-11, Col 15 line 9-Col 18 line 19)
However, the combination of Holden and Jreji fails to disclose a plurality of leak detection ropes. Hu discloses the leak detector (LAAC module-104) comprising: a plurality of leak detection ropes (subsystem-122 includes components-106 and paragraphs 0013-0015, 0019-0020, and 0039-0045, Fig 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Hu into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for simultaneously identifying specific ropes with a particular identifying leak status for each.
Regarding claim 13, Holden discloses outputting the rope status associated with the leak detection rope on the output at the first time. (Col 15 line 52-Col 16 line 13 discloses encoding a rope status as an output tachometer signal-460; see Fig 10-11, Col 15 line 9-Col 18 line 19)
However, Holden fails to disclose outputting a first leak detector identifier associated with a first one of the leak detection ropes on the first output at a first time. Jreji discloses outputting a first leak detector identifier associated with a first one of the leak detection ropes on the first output at a first time. (subsystem-122 includes components-106; Paragraphs 0015-0017 and 0019 discloses outputting serially clocked tachometer information)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Jreij into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for identifying a specific rope with a particular identifying leak status.
However, the combination fails to disclose the leak detector comprising: a plurality of leak detection ropes. Hu discloses the leak detector (LAAC module-104) comprising: a plurality of leak detection ropes (subsystem-122 includes components-106; paragraphs 0013-0015, 0019-0020, and 0039-0045, Fig 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Hu into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for simultaneously identifying specific ropes with a particular identifying leak status for each.
Regarding claim 14, Holden discloses outputting a leak detector identifier associated with the leak detection rope on the first output at a time. (Col 15 line 52-Col 16 line 13 discloses encoding a rope status as an output tachometer signal-460; see Fig 10-11, Col 15 line 9-Col 18 line 19)
However, Holden fails to disclose outputting the rope status associated with the second leak detection rope on the second output at the second time. Jreji discloses outputting the rope status associated with the second leak detection rope on the second output at the second time. (Paragraphs 0015-0017, 0019 discloses outputting serially clocked tachometer information )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Jreij into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for identifying a specific rope with a particular identifying leak status.
However, the combination fails to disclose the leak detector comprising: a plurality of leak detection ropes. Hu discloses the leak detector (LAAC module-104) comprising: a plurality of leak detection ropes (subsystem-122 includes components-106; Paragraphs 0013-0015, 0019-0020, 0039-0045, Fig 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Hu into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for simultaneously identifying specific ropes with a particular identifying leak status for each.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Holden and Jreij disclose the method according to claim 12.
However, the combination fails to disclose the rope status includes a first indication that a particular one of the leak detection ropes exhibits an error condition, a second indication that the particular leak detection rope is in a good condition and is detecting no liquid coolant leak, and a third indication that the particular leak detection rope is in the good condition and is detecting the liquid coolant leak.
Hu discloses the rope status includes a first indication that a particular one of the leak detection ropes exhibits an error condition, a second indication that the particular leak detection rope is in a good condition and is detecting no liquid coolant leak, and a third indication that the particular leak detection rope is in the good condition and is detecting the liquid coolant leak. (Paragraphs 0017-0018 and 0029-0033 discloses detecting the various states of module-104 providing waveforms -302, 304 and 306)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Hu into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for simultaneously identifying specific ropes with a particular identifying leak status for each to decrease repair or replacement time.
Regarding claim 16, Holden discloses the method according to claim 15.
However, Holden fails to disclose the first and second patterns emulate a fan tachometer output. Jreij discloses the first and second patterns emulate a fan tachometer output. (Paragraphs 0015-0017, 0019)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Jreij into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for identifying if the fans are cooling the components properly or need to be adjusted and/or replaced.
Regarding independent claim 19, Holden discloses an information handling system (computing environment-90), comprising:
a management controller (processing unit-91); and
a leak detector (sensor-400) for detecting liquid coolant leaks in an information handling system, the leak detector including: and a leak detector controller (circuit-450) coupled to the leak detection rope, and to encode a rope status as a second pattern of square wave pulses on a second output of the leak detector controller (Col 15 line 52-Col 16 line 13 discloses encoding a rope status as an output tachometer signal-460; See Fig 10-11, Col 15 line 9-Col 18 line 19).
However, Holden fails to disclose the leak detector controller is configured to associate a leak detector identifier with each of the leak detection ropes, to encode each leak detector identifier as a first pattern of square wave pulses on a first output of the leak detector controller. Jreij discloses the leak detector controller (system controller-22 connected to modules-36) is configured to associate a leak detector identifier (identification information) with the leak detection rope, to encode each leak detector identifier as a first pattern of square wave pulses on a first output of the leak detector controller. (Paragraph 0017 discloses encoding identifier information in tachometer readings)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Jreij into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for identifying a specific rope with a particular identifying leak status.
However, the combination fails to disclose a baseboard management controller; and a plurality of leak detection ropes. Hu discloses a baseboard management controller (EC-590); and a plurality of leak detection ropes (LAAC module-104; subsystem-122 includes components-106; paragraph 0013-0015, 0019-0020, 0039-0045, Fig 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Hu into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for simultaneously identifying specific ropes with a particular identifying leak status for each.
Regarding claim 20, , Holden discloses the leak detector controller (Motor control circuit-450) is further configured to determine the rope status of the leak detection rope. (Col 15 line 52-Col 16 line 13 discloses encoding a rope status as an output tachometer signal-460; See Fig 10-11, Col 15 line 9-Col 18 line 19)
However, the combination of Holden and Jreji fails to disclose a plurality of leak detection ropes. Hu discloses the leak detector (LAAC module-104) comprising: a plurality of leak detection ropes (subsystem-122 includes components-106; paragraphs 0013-0015, 0019-0020, 0039-0045, Fig 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Hu into Holden for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for simultaneously identifying specific ropes with a particular identifying leak status for each.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 17-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior arts made available do not teach or fairly suggest, the first pattern (ER) for a particular leak detector identifier (R) is given as ER = R * 3600/(N – 1) in revolutions per minute for R = 1 to N, where N is a total number of the leak detection ropes as recited in claims 7 and 17 respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu et al US12089367 discloses a liquid-cooling plate for a CPU, includes a circulating liquid-cooling main body, a peripheral frame, a base and a liquid accumulation reservoir. The base has a central portion and a peripheral portion surrounding the central portion. A step is formed between the central portion and the peripheral portion so that the central portion is raised over the peripheral portion. The central portion defines an interior space and has a cover and two faucets. The interior space is adapted to accommodate the circulating liquid-cooling main body, and the cover closes the interior space. The two faucets are located above the cover and communicate with the circulating liquid-cooling main body. The liquid accumulation reservoir is located external to the central portion and is adapted to contain a liquid leaked from the faucets. By integrating the liquid accumulation reservoir in the liquid-cooling plate, an effective saving in an interior space of a server is resulted. (Fig 1-3b, Col 4 line 29- Col 6 line 45)
Moen et al US10638645 discloses an assembly for containing and detecting leaks from a coolant line includes a basin with side and end walls, and at least one U-shaped cavity in an end wall for receiving a coolant line of a liquid cooling system. A bottom of the basin includes at least one sloped interior surface arranged to divert water in the basin to a local low point, where a sensor is positioned and operable to detect liquid in the collection basin. A leak detection system can employ a leak detection assembly to detect and/or locate a leak. (Fig 1-8, Col 2 line 61 – Col 12 line 25)
/NIGEL H PLUMB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/Eric S. McCall/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855