DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-9 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Takatsuna (Patent No. US 11,755,308), in view of Lin (Pub. No. US 2021/0319127 A1)and further in view of Patil et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0006462 A1).
As to claims 1 and 8 Takatsuna discloses a method for displaying warnings when potentially problematic software applications are launched on computing devices, the method comprising, by a computing device: receiving a first request to install a software application that is comprised of at least one SAA (Takatsuna Col. 4 lines 25-50, Col. 5 lines 13-20 and Col. 6 lines 1-3; which shows a plurality of phases associated with running and install software, include program/code/asset and update associated with it include received a request to install software);
installing the software application (Takatsuna Col. 5 lines 13-20; which shows the installation of the software updateable application);
receiving, from the management entity, an informational package that pertains to the at least one SAA (Takatsuna Col. 7 lines 2-7 and Col. 8 lines 16-28; which shows being able to receive/download from a controller/management entity and distribution package/information package related to software and viewed as associated asset/code/program that is to be updated, viewed as pertaining to at least one SAA);
assigning the informational package to the software application (Takatsuna Col. 7 lines 2-7 and Col. 8 lines 16-56; which shows that the distributed package is an update for a software application that is downloaded/installed and activated viewed as being assigned/attached/associated with the software application that is to be updated);
receiving a second request to launch the software application (Takatsuna Col. 5 lines 13-20 and Col. 6 lines 8-10; which shows specific phases associated with software application that can include a phase/request with the activation/launch of the updated software, viewed as software with assigned informational package); and
displaying, in association with launching the software application, a user interface that is derived, at least in part, from the informational package (Takatsuna Col. 5 lines 13-20 and Col. 8 lines 29-39; which shows as part of activation/launch process of the software application associated with the update include output/display of notification that user can interact with/user interface where the information presented is associated/derived/determined based on the software update received and attached/connected/associated with the software).
Takatsuna does not specifically disclose maintaining a probabilistic data structure that is based on a plurality of software application assets (SAAs) that have been flagged as problematic; and identifying, using the probabilistic data structure, that the at least one SAA has potentially been flagged as problematic.
However, Lin discloses maintaining a probabilistic data structure that is based on a plurality of software application assets (SAAs) that have been flagged as problematic (Lin [0002] lines3-5, [0014] lines 11-24 and [0044] lines 10-23; which shows deploying and updating/maintain bloom filter black list, viewed as a type of probabilistic data structure of asset that have be flagged as bad/problematic, of assets involved in the computer operations, thus viewed as including software application assets with the computer operation);
identifying, using the probabilistic data structure, that the at least one SAA has potentially been flagged as problematic (Lin [0002] lines3-5, [0014] lines 11-24 and [0044] lines 10-23; which shows being able to use the bloom filter blacklist/probabilistic data structure to determine with an asset associated with the program/software is flagged as bad/potentially problematic).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lin showing the use of probabilistic data structure for tracking potential software asset risk into the download and installation of new software assets of Takatsuna to increase software security by being able to quickly identify information if an asset is potentially bad, as taught by Lin [0014] lines 11-32.
Takatsuna as modified by Lin does not specifically disclose identifying, by interfacing with a management entity, that the at least one SAA has in fact been flagged as problematic.
However, Patil discloses identifying, by interfacing with a management entity, that the at least one SAA has in fact been flagged as problematic (Patil [0041] lines 1-8, [0043] lines 1-10, [0044] lines 1-5 and [0051] lines 1-5; which shows being able to interface with a management entity to use probability data structure to determine/identify a potential issue after determining that option was flagged/filtered as a potential issue, that in light of the teachings of Lin for the specifics of bloom filter to identify potential issues with assets associated with software can be viewed together as showing identifying, by interfacing with a management entity, that the at least one SAA has in fact been flagged as problematic).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Patil showing the specifics of having a manager check after a potential issues has been flagged with probabilistic data structure to verify if it has been actually flagged into the use of probabilistic data structure to track good and bad software assets of Takatsuna as modified by Lin for the purpose of increasing accuracy of asset risk determination by providing an additional check after filtered through probabilistic data structure to confirm asset indicated risk, as taught by Patil [0051] lines 1-5.
As to claims 2 and 9 Takatsuna does not specifically disclose, however, Lin discloses wherein the probabilistic data structure is generated by: for each SAA of the plurality of SAAs: generating, using a plurality of hash functions, respective hash values for the SAA; and configuring the probabilistic data structure in accordance with the respective hash values (Lin [0014] lines 14-32; which shows in the generation of the bloom filter/probabilistic data structure for each of the plurality of assets includes using a hashing operation/function for each asset and configuring/setting the bloom filter/data structure in accordance with respective hash values for the assets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lin showing the use of probabilistic data structure for tracking potential software asset risk into the download and installation of new software assets of Takatsuna to increase software security by being able to quickly identify information if an asset is potentially bad, as taught by Lin [0014] lines 11-32.
As to claims 7 and 14, Takatsuna does not specifically disclose, however, Lin discloses wherein the probabilistic data structure comprises a Bloom Filter, a Count-Min Sketch, a HyperLogLog, a Skip Bloom Filter, a Quotient Filter, a Cuckoo Filter, a Randomized Binary Search Tree, a MinHash, a Random Hyperplane Tree, or some combination thereof (Lin [0002] lines3-5, [0014] lines 11-24 and [0044] lines 10-23; which shows being able to use the bloom filter blacklist/probabilistic data structure to determine with an asset associated with the program/software is flagged as bad/potentially problematic thus showing that the probabilistic data structure comprises a Bloom Filter from the list of possible options and combinations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lin showing the use of probabilistic data structure for tracking potential software asset risk into the download and installation of new software assets of Takatsuna to increase software security by being able to quickly identify information if an asset is potentially bad, as taught by Lin [0014] lines 11-32.
As to claim 15, Takatsuna discloses a computing device configured to display warnings when potentially problematic software applications are launched, the computing device comprising: at least one processor (Takatsuna Col. 15 lines 58-64); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to carry out steps that include (Takatsuna Takatsuna Col. 15 lines 58-64):
The remaining limitation of the claim are comparable to claim 1 above and rejected under the same reasoning.
As to claim 16 it is comparable to claim 2 above and rejected under the same reasoning.
Claims 3, 5, 10, 12, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Takatsuna, Lin and Patil as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Manuel-Devadoss (Pub. No. US 2024/0193277 A1).
As to claims 3, 10 and 17 Takatsuna does not specifically disclose, however, Lin discloses wherein the management entity is communicatively coupled to a data structure that includes, for the at least one SAA, a respective entry that includes: (1) a respective hash value for the at least one SAA (Lin [0014] lines 14-32; which shows the ability to determine a respective hash value for asset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lin showing the use of probabilistic data structure for tracking potential software asset risk into the download and installation of new software assets of Takatsuna to increase software security by being able to quickly identify information if an asset is potentially bad, as taught by Lin [0014] lines 11-32.
Takatsuna as modified by Lin and Patil do not specifically disclose the specifics of a data structure that includes (2) a respective informational package that includes: first information about why the at least one SAA is problematic, and second information about remedial options, if any, available for mitigating the problematic nature of the at least one SAA.
However, Manuel-Devadoss discloses the specifics of a data structure that includes (2) a respective informational package that includes: first information about why the at least one SAA is problematic, and second information about remedial options, if any, available for mitigating the problematic nature of the at least one SAA (Manuel-Devadoss [0033] lines 1-8, [0035] lines 1-7, [0036] lines 1-4; which shows the determination/management unit connected with a vulnerability database that identifies and catalogs all known hardware, software and firmware vulnerable, viewed as including SAA that are vulnerable/problematic, and also maintains a severity score for each vulnerability, viewed as type of first information of why problematic as it indicates/describes the degree in which the asset in vulnerable/problematic, as well as for each vulnerability there is maintained in the database remediation actions available to address the issue of the vulnerable asset, viewed the second information in the information package for remediation options if available where there is also a unique ID assigned to each vulnerability, where in light of the teachings of Lin above showing the specifics of assigning/associated with specific bad assets an hash value/unique id would together be viewed as showing the management entity is communicatively coupled to a data structure that includes, for the at least one SAA, a respective entry that includes: (1) a respective hash value for the at least one SAA; and (2) a respective informational package that includes: first information about why the at least one SAA is problematic, and second information about remedial options, if any, available for mitigating the problematic nature of the at least one SAA ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Manuel-Devadoss of maintain dataset of software vulnerability data and associated remediation actions that can be taken to address the issues into the determining potentially risky software assets of Takatsuna as modified by Lin and Patil improve software security by determining, tracking and provided possible remediation actions to determined vulnerabilities, as taught by Manuel-Devadoss [0035] lines 1-7.
As to claims 5, 12 and 19 Takatsuna as modified by Lin and Patil do not specifically disclose, however, Manuel-Devadoss discloses wherein the plurality of SAAs comprises: code directories, source code files, executable files, configuration files, library files, database files, resource files, markup and stylesheet files, script files, configuration files, documentation files, log files, temporary files, binary data files, license files, version control files, or some combination thereof (Manuel-Devadoss [0013] lines 1-7 and [0032] lines 1-8; which shows that the assets being analyzed to determine vulnerability/problems includes but not limited to any component connected to or installed in the computing environment or framework that can include software assets and specific executable code in the asset, viewed as type of executable file and thus show that the SAAs comprise at least an executable files and thus teach wherein the plurality of SAAs comprises: code directories, source code files, executable files, configuration files, library files, database files, resource files, markup and stylesheet files, script files, configuration files, documentation files, log files, temporary files, binary data files, license files, version control files, or some combination thereof ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Manuel-Devadoss of maintain dataset of software vulnerability data and associated remediation actions that can be taken to address the issues into the determining potentially risky software assets of Takatsuna as modified by Lin and Patil improve software security by determining, tracking and provided possible remediation actions to determined vulnerabilities, as taught by Manuel-Devadoss [0035] lines 1-7.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Takatsuna, Lin, Patil and Manuel-Devadoss as applied to claims 3, 10 and 17 above, and further in view of Vora et al. (Patent No. US 10,649,630 B1)
As to claims 4, 11 and 18 Takatsuna as modified by Lin and Patil do not specifically disclose, however, Manuel-Devadoss discloses wherein the user interface includes: the first information; a first affordance, based on the second information, that, when selected, causes the computing device to update the software application to mitigate the problematic nature of the at least one SAA (Manuel-Devadoss [0033] lines 1-8, [0035] lines 1-5, [0036] lines 1-4, [0050] lines 4-9, [0056] lines 1-7 and [0058] lines 1-4; which show the display/presenting information obtained from the CVE database of vulnerabilities for display including descriptions of vulnerabilities, viewed as first information and remedial actions to address the problem/issue/risk that can include a first affordance option to update the software application with other remedial options available that can be used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Manuel-Devadoss of maintain dataset of software vulnerability data and associated remediation actions that can be taken to address the issues into the determining potentially risky software assets of Takatsuna as modified by Lin and Patil improve software security by determining, tracking and provided possible remediation actions to determined vulnerabilities, as taught by Manuel-Devadoss [0035] lines 1-7.
Takatsuna as modified by Lin, Patil and Manuel-Devadoss do not specifically disclose a second affordance, based on the second information, that, when selected, causes the computing device to delete the software application to mitigate the problematic nature of the at least one SAA.
However, Vora discloses a second affordance, based on the second information, that, when selected, causes the computing device to delete the software application to mitigate the problematic nature of the at least one SAA (Vora Col. 1 lines 55-61 and Col. 17 lines 36-44; which shows the specific of remediation actions that can be taken to address software asset problems including removing/deleting the software associated with the problem, that in light of the plurality of remediation actions disclosed in Manuel-Devadoss above that are non-limited together are viewed as showing the specifics of a second affordance, based on the second information, that, when selected, causes the computing device to delete the software application to mitigate the problematic nature of the at least one SAA )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Vora showing the specifics of remediation actions include deletion of the software associated with the determined issue into the providing remediation actions to address determined software issues of Takatsuna as modified by Lin, Patil and Manuel-Devadoss to increase the adaptability by having additional types of remediation options available to address issues, as taught by Vora Col. 1 lines 55-61
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Takatsuna, Lin and Patil as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Joyti et al. (Patent No. US 8,306,988 B1)
As to claims 6, 13 and 20 Takatsuna as modified by Lin and Patil do not specifically disclose receiving an update package that, when processed by the computing device, establishes an updated probabilistic data structure that is based on an updated plurality of SAAs that have been flagged as problematic identifying, using the updated probabilistic data structure, that at least one installed SAA on the computing device has potentially been flagged as problematic; identifying, by interfacing with the management entity, that the at least one installed SAA has in fact been flagged as problematic; receiving, from the management entity, a second informational package that pertains to the at least one installed SAA; and assigning the informational package to a second software application associated with the at least one installed SAA.
However, Joyti discloses receiving an update package that, when processed by the computing device, establishes an updated probabilistic data structure that is based on an updated plurality of SAAs that have been flagged as problematic identifying, using the updated probabilistic data structure, that at least one installed SAA on the computing device has potentially been flagged as problematic; identifying, by interfacing with the management entity, that the at least one installed SAA has in fact been flagged as problematic; receiving, from the management entity, a second informational package that pertains to the at least one installed SAA; and assigning the informational package to a second software application associated with the at least one installed SAA (Joyti Col. 3 lines 7-11 and Col. 4 lines 14-19; which shows being able to send/push along with a software update hash values for updating bloom filter, viewed as establishing an updated probabilistic data structure that is based on software update, where the bloom filter is associated with/represent then blacklist that identifies unsafe/problematic object and thus viewed when that is updated that an associated software object has been identified/flagged as problematic, where identifying, using the updated probabilistic data structure, that at least one installed SAA on the computing device has potentially been flagged as problematic; identifying, by interfacing with the management entity, that the at least one installed SAA has in fact been flagged as problematic; receiving, from the management entity, a second informational package that pertains to the at least one installed SAA; and assigning the informational package to a second software application associated with the at least one installed SAA are viewed as repeating of the limitations of claim 1 above but for using the updated probabilistic data structure to determine that a SAA is problematic and providing/assigning/using the specific package/update associated with determined asset thus together in light of the cited prior art teachings of claim 1 above viewed as discloses receiving an update package that, when processed by the computing device, establishes an updated probabilistic data structure that is based on an updated plurality of SAAs that have been flagged as problematic identifying, using the updated probabilistic data structure, that at least one installed SAA on the computing device has potentially been flagged as problematic; identifying, by interfacing with the management entity, that the at least one installed SAA has in fact been flagged as problematic; receiving, from the management entity, a second informational package that pertains to the at least one installed SAA; and assigning the informational package to a second software application associated with the at least one installed SAA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Joyti showing the ability to receive and update probabilistic data structure based on updated software information for use, into the use of probabilistic data structure in risk analysis of software of Takatsuna as modified by Lin and Patil for the purpose of increasing confidence in security by keeping data update to detect problematic issues, as taught by Joyti Col. 4 lines 14-32.
Conclusion
/BRADFORD F WHEATON/Examiner, Art Unit 2193