DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 37 recites “configured to generates”. This should read “configured to generate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 25-38 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,532,174 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the ‘174 patent are more narrow than the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamori et al. (US 5,957,127) in view of Myklebust et al. (GB 2,450,369 A).
Regarding claim 25, Yamamori discloses: An apparatus (figures 1-2) comprising:
an inlet (where 2 and 1a meet) configured to receive exhaled gases from a patient (see figure 4);
an outlet (where 2 and 1b meet) configured to connect with a resuscitation bag (23; connected via adaptor 22);
a housing (2; or alternatively 2+9) comprising a sensor (3, 7) configured to measure one or more respiratory parameters (col. 1, lines 56-65)
and one or more hardware processors (within monitor body 9 col. 2, lines 9-16).
Yamomori does not disclose:
the one or more hardware processors configured to determine manual respiratory intervention parameters based on the measured one or more respiratory parameters; and
a display configured to display instructions for providing respiratory assistance to the patient based on the determined manual respiratory intervention parameters.
Myklebust teaches one or more hardware processors (page 6, lines 37-38; as shown in figure 3 26 is in adapter col. 8, lines 29-30) configured to determine manual respiratory intervention parameters based on the measured one or more respiratory parameters (page 7, lines 29-32); and
a display configured to display instructions for providing respiratory assistance to the patient based on the determined manual respiratory intervention parameters (page 7, lines 29-32).
It would have been obvious to have modified Yamomori to include one or more hardware processors configured to determine manual respiratory intervention parameters based on the measured one or more respiratory parameters; and
a display configured to display instructions for providing respiratory assistance to the patient based on the determined manual respiratory intervention parameters for the benefit of reducing hyperventilation (page 2, lines 9-11).
Regarding claim 26, Yamomori further discloses wherein the one or more hardware processors are integrated with a housing (within housing of 9; see figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 27, Yamomori further discloses wherein the display (13) is integrated with the housing (see figure 1).
Claim(s) 30-33 and 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamori et al. (US 5,957,127) in view of Myklebust et al. (GB 2,450,369 A) in further view of Hickle et al. (EP 1,402,470 B1).
Regarding claim 30, Yamomori further discloses an airway adapter (1; col. 1, lines 21-30) configured to connect with the outlet (where 2 and 1b meet) on a first end and the resuscitation bag (see figure 4) on a second end (1a).
Yamomori does not explicitly disclose the airway adapter on the second end comprising a first information element configured to store adapter data representing information regarding at least one characteristic of the airway adapter.
Hickle teaches it is known to provide first information on a second end of a medical device (62) configured to store medical device data (see figures 5-7) [0043]-[0044].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified Yamomori to include the airway adapter on the second end comprising a first information element configured to store adapter data representing information regarding at least one characteristic of the airway adapter as taught by Hickle for the benefit of indicating use and storing information about items tubes are connected to [0043].
Regarding claim 31, Yamomori as modified by Hickle further discloses wherein the adapter data includes one or more of a size, type, manufacturer, or usage of the airway adapter (Hickle: use as per [0043]).
Regarding claim 32, Yamomori as modified by Hickle further discloses wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to communicate with the first information element to read the adapter data (Hickle: [0043]-[0044] indicate circuitry which corresponds to the circuitry within body 9 of Yamomori).
Regarding claim 33, Yamomori as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the resuscitation bag comprises a second information element.
Hickle teaches it is known to provide first information on a second end of a medical device (62) configured to store medical device data (see figures 5-7) [0043]-[0044].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified Yamomori to include the resuscitation bag comprises a second information element as taught by Hickle for the benefit of indicating use and storing information about items in the system [0043].
Regarding claim 35, Yamomori as modified discloses wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to communicate with the second information element to read bag data (Hickle: use as per [0043]).
Regarding claim 36, Yamomori as modified discloses wherein the bag data includes one or more of a size, volume, manufacturer, or usage of the resuscitation bag (Hickle: use as per [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25, 28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Myklebust et al. (GB 2,450,369 A).
Regarding claim 25, Myklebust discloses: An apparatus (figure 1) comprising:
an inlet (13) configured to receive exhaled gases from a patient (see figure 1);
an outlet (where 10 connects to 11) configured to connect with a resuscitation bag (11; page 4, lines 3-6);
a housing (housing shown below in annotated figure) comprising a sensor (page 4, lines 27-32) configured to measure one or more respiratory parameters (page 4, lines 27-29);
one or more hardware processors (page 6, lines 37-38; as shown in figure 3 26 is in adapter col. 8, lines 29-30) configured to determine manual respiratory intervention parameters based on the measured one or more respiratory parameters (page 7, lines 29-32); and
a display configured to display instructions for providing respiratory assistance to the patient based on the determined manual respiratory intervention parameters (page 7, lines 29-32).
Regarding claim 28, Myklebust further discloses a resuscitation bag (11) configured to provide positive pressure ventilation to the patient (page 4, lines 3-8).
Regarding claim 29, Myklebust further discloses wherein the instructions include one or both of a compression rate and a compression depth for compression of the resuscitation bag by a care provider (page 7, lines 28-32).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34 and 37-38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to: read the second information element, andwherein the instructions are based at least partly on information provided by the second information element as required by claim 34 nor wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to generates manual ventilation instructions based at least partly on the adapter data and the bag data as required by claim 37. The examiner notes that claim 38 depends from claim 37.
US 8,707,954 describe keying feature on mask to determine mask size and adjusting ventilation parameters automatically (col. 10, lines 18-24). It would be hindsight reasoning to rely on this teaching to modify Yamomori or Myklebust such that instructions are displayed based on information provided by the second element or on the adapter and bag data.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785