DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted by applicant dated 07/29/2024 and 08/11/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 10/27/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202211324998.1 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1, 4, 6-7, 17 and 20 in the reply filed on 04/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-3, 5, 8-16, and 18-19 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 1, 17 and 20, the claims recite “decrypting the encrypted data by using the received object password to obtain the private client key; signing the encrypted data based on the private client key to obtain a signature of the encrypted data”. It is unclear on how the signing limitation is signing the encrypted data, when the encrypted data has already been decrypted.
Dependent claims 4 and 6-7, depend on claim 1 and they do not further clarity the issues, therefore they are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. US 2019/0215157 (hereinafter Guo), in view of Wei et al. US 2021/0328786 (hereinafter Wei), and Landman US 2022/0164452.
As per claim 1, Guo teaches a data processing method, applied to a terminal device comprising a first client, the first client having a key pair, the key pair comprising a public client key and a private client key, and the method comprising: receiving object password and receiving a cloud hosting request for encrypted data (Guo paragraph [0049], [0059], receive password and receive request to store encrypted data) (Although Guo does not explicitly disclose receiving the password after receiving the request. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try to receive the password after receiving the request. There are only two options of when to receive the password, before the request or after the request and the result will be the same, the password is received and the request is received.);
transmitting, the encrypted data, and signature of the encrypted data to a cloud device of the first client, the cloud device storing the encrypted data (Guo paragraph [0058]-[0059], [0083], transmit encrypted data and signature to a server. The server stores the encrypted data).
Guo does not explicitly disclose first client storing encrypted data of private client key, the encrypted data being obtained by encrypting the private client key according to an object password;
decrypting the encrypted data by using the received object password to obtain the private client key;
signing data based on the private client key to obtain a signature of the data.
Wei teaches first client storing encrypted data of private client key, the encrypted data being obtained by encrypting the private client key according to an object password (Wei paragraph [0048], [0050], [0061], encrypt private key and store encrypted private key);
decrypting the encrypted data by using the received object password to obtain the private client key (Wei paragraph [0048], [0050], [0062]-[0063], decrypt encrypted private key);
signing data based on the private client key to obtain a signature of the data (Wei paragraph [0062]-[0064], signing data using the decrypted private key).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Guo of encrypting a private key with a password with the teachings of Wei to include locally storing an encrypted private key and decrypting the encrypted private key in order to securely store the private key locally for further use. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Guo of transmitting the encrypted data with a signature with the teachings of Wei to include signing based on the private key because the results would have been predictable and resulted in using the private key to generate the signature.
Guo in view of Wei does not explicitly disclose transmitting public client key to a device, the device performing an operation after verifying data based on the public client key and signature of the data.
Landman teaches transmitting public client key to a device, the device performing an operation after verifying data based on the public client key and signature of the data (Landman paragraph [0161]-[0163], [0172]-[0174], transmit data, public key and signature of the data. Successfully validating the signature based on the public key and performing an operation).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Guo in view of Wei of transmitting encrypted data with a signature to a server wherein the server stores the encrypted data with the teachings of Landman to include transmitting a public key and verifying a signature based on the public key to perform further operation in order to verify the integrity of the encrypted data before storing the encrypted data.
As per claims 17 and 20, the claims claim a device and a non-transitory computer readable medium essentially corresponding to the method claim 1 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HENRY TSANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495