DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 5-6, 8-11, 15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Auwera U.S. Patent Application 20210407143 in view of Lasserre U.S. Patent Application 20200413080.
Regarding claim 20, Van der Auwera discloses a decoder, comprising:
a processor and a memory storing a computer program which, when executed by the processor (paragraph [0037]: memory 106 and memory 120 may store software instructions executable by, e.g., G-PCC encoder 200 and G-PCC decoder 300), causes the decoder to:
determine a planar mode enable flag of a point cloud and geometry encoding information of the point cloud (paragraph [0214]: G-PCC encoder 200 may determine, from a plurality of contexts consisting of 8 contexts, a context for the horizontal plane position of the node (904); paragraph [0080]: G-PCC encoder 200 may encode syntax elements related to the planar mode. These syntax elements may include a planar mode flag (e.g., an is_planar flag syntax element) that indicates whether a node is planar in a direction perpendicular to a particular axis; paragraph [0107]: G-PCC encoder 200 and G-PCC decoder 300 may perform arithmetic encoding (e.g., CABAC encoding) and arithmetic decoding (e.g., CABAC decoding) on certain syntax elements, such as a planar mode flag (e.g., is_planar_flag) and a plane position syntax element (e.g., plane_position), relative to the planar coding mode; paragraph [0024]: Geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) is an approach for reducing the amount of data needed to encode or store point clouds;); and
during decoding of geometry encoding information of a node in a current node-layer, decode the node in the current node-layer using a planar decoding mode when a planar mode enable flag corresponding to a level of the current node-layer indicates the mode (paragraph [0107]: G-PCC encoder 200 and G-PCC decoder 300 may perform arithmetic encoding (e.g., CABAC encoding) and arithmetic decoding (e.g., CABAC decoding) on certain syntax elements, such as a planar mode flag (e.g., is_planar_flag) and a plane position syntax element (e.g., plane_position), relative to the planar coding mode; paragraph [0219]: G-PCC decoder 300 (e.g., geometry arithmetic decoding unit 302 of G-PCC decoder 300) may perform arithmetic decoding on a syntax element indicating the horizontal plane position using the determined context (1004); paragraph [0109]: the variable childIdx identifying the child of the current node… and [0111] the position (sN, tN, vN) of the current node within a geometry tree level).
Van der Auwera discloses all the features with respect to claim 20 as outlined above. However, Van der Auwera fails to disclose determining that the planar decoding mode being enabled for the node in the current node-layer, and decode the node in the current node-layer using a planar decoding mode when a planar mode enable flag corresponding to a level of the current node-layer indicates that the node in the current node-layer is allowed to be decoded using the planar decoding mode.
Lasserre discloses determining that the planar decoding mode being enabled for the node in the current node-layer, and decode the node in the current node-layer using a planar decoding mode when a planar mode enable flag corresponding to a level of the current node-layer indicates that the node in the current node-layer is allowed to be decoded using the planar decoding mode (paragraph [0082]: the decoder determines whether the volume is eligible for planar mode in operation 602. The eligibility assessment is the same assessment as was carried out at the encoder; paragraph [0083]: If planar mode is enabled, then in operation 606 the decoder decodes the planar mode flag. The decoded planar mode flag indicates whether the volume is planar or not, as indicated by operation 608; paragraph [0084]: If the decoded planar mode flag indicates that the volume is planar, then in operation 612 the decoder decodes a plane position flag; paragraph [0063]: as few as one occupied sub-volume may be considered “planar”. Volumes 302, 304, 306, 308, 402, 404, 406, and 408 (parent nodes for current child node-layer) each illustrate examples of horizontally planar occupancy. Note with respect to volumes 308 and 408 that they meet the requirements for being horizontally planar since in each case the upper or lower half of the volume 308 and 408 is empty; paragraph [0038]: the terms “node”, “volume” and “sub-volume” may be used interchangeably; see fig. 3, 3 nodes in Volumes 302 are in same node level/layer and share same planar mode flag; Lasserre’s teaching of decoding node based on flag can be combined with Van der Auwera’s device, such that to decode the node in the current node-layer based on planar decoding mode flag).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van der Auwera’s to determine decoding mode as taught by Lasserre, to improve compression of occupancy data in octree-based coding of point clouds.
Claim 1 recites the functions of the apparatus recited in claim 20 as method steps. Accordingly, the mapping of the prior art to the corresponding functions of the apparatus in claim 20 applies to the method steps of claim 1 (the amendment is repeating claim 1 limitation).
Regarding claim 5, Van der Auwera as modified by Lasserre discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
during decoding of the node in the current node-layer, determining that the planar mode enable flag of the point cloud indicates that the point cloud is disallowed to be decoded using the planar decoding mode when the level of the current node-layer is less than the planar mode enable level (Lasserre’s paragraph [0082]: the decoder determines whether the volume is eligible for planar mode in operation 602. The eligibility assessment is the same assessment as was carried out at the encoder. If not eligible, then the decoder entropy decoder the occupancy pattern as per usual without using planar mode signaling; paragraph [0083]: If planar mode is enabled, then in operation 606 the decoder decodes the planar mode flag. The decoded planar mode flag indicates whether the volume is planar or not, as indicated by operation 608. If not planar, then the decoder decodes occupancy bits knowing at least one sub-volume in each plane is occupied. This may allow the decoder to infer one or two of the occupancy bits depending on the value of the other bits decoded; paragraph [0084]: If the decoded planar mode flag indicates that the volume is planar, then in operation 612 the decoder decodes a plane position flag; Van der Auwera’s paragraph [0217]: if the planar mode flag is equal to 0, G-PCC decoder 300 may determine that the occupied child nodes of the node do not form a plane perpendicular to the first axis of the coordinate system... G-PCC decoder 300 may omit decoding of child nodes of the node that are not in the plane perpendicular to the first axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van der Auwera’s to determine decoding mode as taught by Lasserre, to improve compression of occupancy data in octree-based coding of point clouds.
Regarding claim 6, Van der Auwera as modified by Lasserre discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
decoding the node in the current node-layer using either a point location direct-decoding- mode or an occupancy bit decoding mode (Lasserre’s paragraph [0020]: reconstructing the points of the point cloud by reconstructing the occupancy bits by decoding from the bitstream a planar mode flag that indicates whether the volume is planar; Van der Auwera’s paragraph [0028]: The positions of individual points of a point cloud can be encoded relative to nodes containing the points. In some examples, the positions of points in a node may be encoded using an inferred direct coding mode (IDCM)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van der Auwera’s to determine decoding mode as taught by Lasserre, to improve compression of occupancy data in octree-based coding of point clouds.
Regarding claim 8, Van der Auwera as modified by Lasserre discloses the method of claim 1, wherein decoding the node in the current node-layer using the planar decoding mode when the planar mode enable flag corresponding to the level of the current node-layer indicates that the node in the current node-layer is allowed to be decoded using the planar decoding mode comprises:
when the planar mode enable flag corresponding to the level of the current node-layer indicates that the node in the current node-layer is allowed to be decoded using the planar decoding mode, allowing the node to be decoded using the planar decoding mode in a direction of a k-th axis, wherein & represents a coordinate component (Lasserre’s paragraph [0082]: the decoder determines whether the volume is eligible for planar mode in operation 602. The eligibility assessment is the same assessment as was carried out at the encoder. If not eligible, then the decoder entropy decoder the occupancy pattern as per usual without using planar mode signaling; paragraph [0083]: If planar mode is enabled, then in operation 606 the decoder decodes the planar mode flag. The decoded planar mode flag indicates whether the volume is planar or not, as indicated by operation 608. If not planar, then the decoder decodes occupancy bits knowing at least one sub-volume in each plane is occupied. This may allow the decoder to infer one or two of the occupancy bits depending on the value of the other bits decoded; paragraph [0084]: If the decoded planar mode flag indicates that the volume is planar, then in operation 612 the decoder decodes a plane position flag; Van der Auwera’s paragraph [0217]: G-PCC decoder 300 may determine, based on the planar mode flag being equal to 1 that the occupied child nodes of the node form a plane perpendicular to the first axis of the coordinate system; paragraph [0219]: G-PCC decoder 300 (e.g., geometry arithmetic decoding unit 302 of G-PCC decoder 300) may perform arithmetic decoding on a syntax element indicating the horizontal plane position using the determined context (1004); paragraph [0109]: the variable childIdx identifying the child of the current node… and [0111] the position (sN, tN, vN) of the current node within a geometry tree level).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van der Auwera’s to determine decoding mode as taught by Lasserre, to improve compression of occupancy data in octree-based coding of point clouds.
Regarding claim 9, Van der Auwera as modified by Lasserre discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
when the planar mode enable flag corresponding to the level of the current node-layer indicates that the node in the current node-layer is disallowed to be decoded using the planar decoding mode, disallowing the node to be decoded using the planar decoding mode in a direction of a k-th axis (Lasserre’s paragraph [0082]: the decoder determines whether the volume is eligible for planar mode in operation 602. The eligibility assessment is the same assessment as was carried out at the encoder. If not eligible, then the decoder entropy decoder the occupancy pattern as per usual without using planar mode signaling; paragraph [0083]: If planar mode is enabled, then in operation 606 the decoder decodes the planar mode flag. The decoded planar mode flag indicates whether the volume is planar or not, as indicated by operation 608. If not planar, then the decoder decodes occupancy bits knowing at least one sub-volume in each plane is occupied. This may allow the decoder to infer one or two of the occupancy bits depending on the value of the other bits decoded; paragraph [0084]: If the decoded planar mode flag indicates that the volume is planar, then in operation 612 the decoder decodes a plane position flag; Van der Auwera’s paragraph [0217]: if the planar mode flag is equal to 0, G-PCC decoder 300 may determine that the occupied child nodes of the node do not form a plane perpendicular to the first axis of the coordinate system... G-PCC decoder 300 may omit decoding of child nodes of the node that are not in the plane perpendicular to the first axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van der Auwera’s to determine decoding mode as taught by Lasserre, to improve compression of occupancy data in octree-based coding of point clouds.
Regarding claim 10, Van der Auwera as modified by Lasserre discloses the method of claim 8, wherein whether the node is decoded using the planar decoding mode in the direction of the k-th axis is indicated by planar-decoding-mode eligibility of the k-th axis of the node (Lasserre’s paragraph [0082]: the decoder determines whether the volume is eligible for planar mode in operation 602. The eligibility assessment is the same assessment as was carried out at the encoder. If not eligible, then the decoder entropy decoder the occupancy pattern as per usual without using planar mode signaling; paragraph [0083]: If planar mode is enabled, then in operation 606 the decoder decodes the planar mode flag. The decoded planar mode flag indicates whether the volume is planar or not, as indicated by operation 608. If not planar, then the decoder decodes occupancy bits knowing at least one sub-volume in each plane is occupied. This may allow the decoder to infer one or two of the occupancy bits depending on the value of the other bits decoded; paragraph [0084]: If the decoded planar mode flag indicates that the volume is planar, then in operation 612 the decoder decodes a plane position flag; Van der Auwera’s paragraph [0217]: G-PCC decoder 300 may determine, based on the planar mode flag being equal to 1 that the occupied child nodes of the node form a plane perpendicular to the first axis of the coordinate system. Otherwise, if the planar mode flag is equal to 0, G-PCC decoder 300 may determine that the occupied child nodes of the node do not form a plane perpendicular to the first axis of the coordinate system. In some examples, based on determining that the occupied child nodes of the node form the plane perpendicular to the first axis, G-PCC decoder 300 may omit decoding of child nodes of the node that are not in the plane perpendicular to the first axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van der Auwera’s to determine decoding mode as taught by Lasserre, to improve compression of occupancy data in octree-based coding of point clouds.
Regarding claim 11, Van der Auwera discloses an encoding method, applied to an encoder and comprising:
obtaining geometry information of a point cloud (paragraph [0055]: Once the geometry is coded, the attributes corresponding to the geometry points are coded; paragraph [0056]: the attribute coding method used to code the point cloud data is specified in the bitstream);
determining planar-encoding-mode eligibility corresponding to a current node-layer corresponding to the geometry information (paragraph [0214]: G-PCC encoder 200 may determine, from a plurality of contexts consisting of 8 contexts, a context for the horizontal plane position of the node (904); paragraph [0080]: G-PCC encoder 200 may encode syntax elements related to the planar mode. These syntax elements may include a planar mode flag (e.g., an is_planar flag syntax element) that indicates whether a node is planar in a direction perpendicular to a particular axis; paragraph [0024]: Geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) is an approach for reducing the amount of data needed to encode or store point clouds); and
when the planar-encoding-mode eligibility corresponding to the current node-layer is a third preset value, determining that a node in the current node-layer is to be encoded using a planar encoding mode, and generating a planar mode enable flag; determining that the node is to be encoded using the planar encoding mode in a direction of a k-th axis, wherein k represents a coordinate component (paragraph [0080]: G-PCC encoder 200 may encode syntax elements related to the planar mode. These syntax elements may include a planar mode flag (e.g., an is_planar flag syntax element) that indicates whether a node is planar in a direction perpendicular to a particular axis; paragraph [0109]: the variable childIdx identifying the child of the current node… and [0111] the position (sN, tN, vN) of the current node within a geometry tree level).
Van der Auwera discloses all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above. However, Van der Auwera fails to disclose flag corresponding to a level of the current node-layer indicating that the node in the current node-layer is allowed to be encoded using the encoding mode; determining that the node is to be encoded using the planar encoding mode when the node satisfies the planar encoding mode being enabled for the node.
Lasserre discloses flag corresponding to a level of the current node-layer indicating that the node in the current node-layer is allowed to be encoded using the encoding mode; determining that the node is to be encoded using the planar encoding mode when the node satisfies the planar encoding mode being enabled for the node (paragraph [0080]: If planar mode is enabled, then in operation 506, the encoder assesses whether the volume is planar. If not, then in operation 508 it encodes the planar mode flag, e.g. isPlanar=0; paragraph [0081]: If planar mode is enabled and the volume is planar, then in operation 512 the planar mode flag is encoded, e.g. isPlanar=1. Because the volume is planar, the encoder then also encodes the plane position flag, planePosition; paragraph [0063]: as few as one occupied sub-volume may be considered “planar”. Volumes 302, 304, 306, 308, 402, 404, 406, and 408 (parent nodes for current child node-layer) each illustrate examples of horizontally planar occupancy. Note with respect to volumes 308 and 408 that they meet the requirements for being horizontally planar since in each case the upper or lower half of the volume 308 and 408 is empty; paragraph [0038]: the terms “node”, “volume” and “sub-volume” may be used interchangeably; see fig. 3, 3 nodes in Volumes 302 are in same node level/layer and share same planar mode flag; Laser’s teaching of encoding node based on flag can be combined with Van der Auwers’s device, such that to encode the node in the current node-layer based on planar mode flag).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van der Auwers’s to determine encoding mode as taught by Lasered, to improve compression of occupancy data in octree-based coding of point clouds.
Regarding claim 15, Van der Auwers as modified by Lasered discloses the method of claim 11, wherein determining the planar-encoding-mode eligibility corresponding to the current node-layer corresponding to the geometry information comprises:
when planar-encoding-mode eligibility corresponding to a previous node-layer of the current node-layer is a fourth preset value, determining a point cloud density of the current node- layer; and determining the planar-encoding-mode eligibility corresponding to the current node-layer according to the point cloud density of the current node-layer (Van der Auwers’s paragraph [0085]: a node is eligible to be encoded using a planar coding mode if an estimated density of occupied child nodes of the node is below a specific threshold and a probability of using planar mode is above another threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van der Auwers’s to determine encoding mode as taught by Lasered, to improve compression of occupancy data in octree-based coding of point clouds.
Regarding claim 18, Van der Auwers as modified by Lasered discloses method of claim 11, wherein when the planar-encoding-mode eligibility corresponding to the current node-layer is a fourth preset value, or after determining that the node in the current node-layer is to be encoded using the planar encoding mode when the planar- encoding-mode eligibility corresponding to the current node-layer is the third preset value, the method further comprises:
encoding the node in the current node-layer using either a point location direct-encoding- mode or an occupancy bit encoding mode (Laser’s paragraph [0022]: encoding occupancy bits based on at least one of the occupancy bits in the first set and at least one of the occupancy bits in the second set having a value indicating occupied; Van der Auwers’s paragraph [0028]: The positions of individual points of a point cloud can be encoded relative to nodes containing the points. In some examples, the positions of points in a node may be encoded using an inferred direct coding mode (IDCM)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van der Auwers’s to determine encoding mode as taught by Lasered, to improve compression of occupancy data in octree-based coding of point clouds.
Claim 2-4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Auwers U.S. Patent Application 20210407143 in view of Lasered U.S. Patent Application 20200413080, and further in view of Kato U.S. Patent Application 20200273211.
Regarding claim 2, Van der Auwers as modified by Lasered discloses obtaining a planar mode enable level of the point cloud by parsing a bitstream (Van der Auwers’s paragraph [0068]: determine a surface model based on syntax elements parsed from geometry bitstream 203; Laser’s paragraph [0082]: the decoder determines whether the volume is eligible for planar mode in operation 602. The eligibility assessment is the same assessment as was carried out at the encoder). However, Van der Auwers as modified by Lasered fails to disclose a minimum depth level in which a planar mode starts to be enabled.
Kato discloses a minimum depth level in which a planar mode starts to be enabled (paragraph [0346]: decode a bit stream, and construct an Octree pattern including a leaf node at a different level from the lowest level (minimum depth level), on the basis of the predetermined flag information (depth control information) inserted into the bit stream; paragraph [0231]: “depth control information” is any appropriate information, but may be “predetermined flag information indicating that, in a bit stream, a particular node corresponding to the depth control information at a higher level than the lowest level of the Octree pattern is a leaf node”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van der Auwers and Laser’s to obtain depth control information as taught by Kato, to apply encoding easily when the resolution of points in some regions is different.
Regarding claim 3, Van der Auwers as modified by Lasered and Kato discloses the method of claim 2, wherein determining the planar mode enable flag of the point cloud comprises:
when the level of the current node-layer is greater than or equal to the planar mode enable level, determining that the planar mode enable flag corresponding to the level of the current node-layer indicates that the node in the current node-layer is allowed to be decoded using the planar decoding mode (Kato’s paragraph [0346]: decode a bit stream, and construct an Octree pattern including a leaf node at a different level from the lowest level, on the basis of the predetermined flag information (depth control information) inserted into the bit stream; paragraph [0231]: “depth control information” is any appropriate information, but may be “predetermined flag information indicating that, in a bit stream, a particular node corresponding to the depth control information at a higher level than the lowest level of the Octree pattern is a leaf node”; Laser’s paragraph [0082]: the decoder determines whether the volume is eligible for planar mode in operation 602. The eligibility assessment is the same assessment as was carried out at the encoder. If not eligible, then the decoder entropy decoder the occupancy pattern as per usual without using planar mode signaling; paragraph [0083]: If planar mode is enabled, then in operation 606 the decoder decodes the planar mode flag. The decoded planar mode flag indicates whether the volume is planar or not, as indicated by operation 608. If not planar, then the decoder decodes occupancy bits knowing at least one sub-volume in each plane is occupied. This may allow the decoder to infer one or two of the occupancy bits depending on the value of the other bits decoded; paragraph [0084]: If the decoded planar mode flag indicates that the volume is planar, then in operation 612 the decoder decodes a plane position flag).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van der Auwers and Laser’s to obtain depth control information as taught by Kato, to apply encoding easily when the resolution of points in some regions is different.
Regarding claim 4, Van der Auwers as modified by Lasered and Kato discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the planar mode enable flag of the point cloud comprises:
obtaining the planar mode enable flag corresponding to the level of the current node-layer by parsing a bitstream (Van der Auwers’s paragraph [0068]: determine a surface model based on syntax elements parsed from geometry bitstream 203; Kato’s paragraph [0346]: decode a bit stream, and construct an Octree pattern including a leaf node at a different level from the lowest level, on the basis of the predetermined flag information (depth control information) inserted into the bit stream; paragraph [0231]: “depth control information” is any appropriate information, but may be “predetermined flag information indicating that, in a bit stream, a particular node corresponding to the depth control information at a higher level than the lowest level of the Octree pattern is a leaf node”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van der Auwers and Laser’s to obtain depth control information as taught by Kato, to apply encoding easily when the resolution of points in some regions is different.
Regarding claim 12, Van der Auwers as modified by Lasered and Kato discloses the method of claim 11, wherein determining the planar-encoding-mode eligibility corresponding to the current node-layer corresponding to the geometry information comprises:
when planar-encoding-mode eligibility corresponding to a previous node-layer of the current node-layer is the third preset value, determining that the planar-encoding-mode eligibility corresponding to the current node-layer is the third preset value (Van der Auwers’s paragraph [0080]: G-PCC encoder 200 may encode syntax elements related to the planar mode. These syntax elements may include a planar mode flag (e.g., an is planar flag syntax element) that indicates whether a node is planar in a direction perpendicular to a particular axis; paragraph [0109]: the variable chided identifying the child of the current node… and [0111] the position (sN, tN, vN) of the current node within a geometry tree level; Kato’s paragraph [0074]: non-point-cloud data such as image information including depth information may be input to the encoding device 100; paragraph [0346]: decode a bit stream, and construct an Octree pattern including a leaf node at a different level from the lowest level, on the basis of the predetermined flag information (depth control information) inserted into the bit stream).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van der Auwera and Lasserre’s to obtain depth control information as taught by Kato, to apply encoding easily when the resolution of points in some regions is different.
Regarding claim 13, Van der Auwera as modified by Lasserre and Kato discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising:
signaling the planar mode enable flag corresponding to the level of the current node- layer into a bitstream (Kato’s paragraph [0074]: non-point-cloud data such as image information including depth information may be input to the encoding device 100; paragraph [0346]: decode a bit stream, and construct an Octree pattern including a leaf node at a different level from the lowest level, on the basis of the predetermined flag information (depth control information) inserted into the bit stream).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van der Auwera and Lasserre’s to obtain depth control information as taught by Kato, to apply encoding easily when the resolution of points in some regions is different.
Regarding claim 14, Van der Auwera as modified by Lasserre and Kato discloses the method of claim 11, wherein after determining the planar-encoding-mode eligibility corresponding to the current node-layer corresponding to the geometry information, the method further comprises:
when the planar-encoding-mode eligibility corresponding to the current node-layer is the third preset value and the planar-encoding-mode eligibility corresponding to a previous node- layer of the current node-layer is a fourth preset value, signaling the level of the current node- layer into a bitstream as a planar mode enable level; or when the planar-encoding-mode eligibility corresponding to the current node-layer is the third preset value, determining that the node in the current node-layer is encoded using the planar encoding mode, and signaling the level of the current node-layer into the bitstream as the planar mode enable level (Van der Auwera’s paragraph [0080]: G-PCC encoder 200 may encode syntax elements related to the planar mode. These syntax elements may include a planar mode flag (e.g., an is_planar flag syntax element) that indicates whether a node is planar in a direction perpendicular to a particular axis; paragraph [0109]: the variable childIdx identifying the child of the current node… and [0111] the position (sN, tN, vN) of the current node within a geometry tree level; Kato’s paragraph [0074]: non-point-cloud data such as image information including depth information may be input to the encoding device 100; paragraph [0346]: decode a bit stream, and construct an Octree pattern including a leaf node at a different level from the lowest level, on the basis of the predetermined flag information (depth control information) inserted into the bit stream).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Van der Auwera and Lasserre’s to obtain depth control information as taught by Kato, to apply encoding easily when the resolution of points in some regions is different.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 16 is about determining, in a node-layer prior to the current node-layer in the point cloud, a number of points for which a point location direct-encoding-mode is used;
determining a first number of occupied child nodes corresponding to a previous node- layer of the current node-layer, wherein the first number of occupied child nodes is a total number of occupied child nodes of a node that is encoded using an occupancy bit encoding mode in the previous node-layer; and
determining the point cloud density of the current node-layer according to a number of points in the point cloud, the number of points for which the point location direct-encoding-mode is used, and the first number of occupied child nodes.
Van der Auwera 20210407143, Lasserre 20200413080 and Young 9754405 combined cannot teach these features perfectly. These limitations when read in light of the rest of the limitations in the claim and the claims to which it depends make the claim allowable subject matter.
Claim 17 depends on claim 16, is allowed base on same reason as claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/2026, page 9 - 12, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 11 and 20 under 103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. (FP 7.37)
Applicant argues on page 9 about Lasserre's: First, the three occupied sub-volumes within Volume 302 are child nodes at a sub-layer (Level N+1) relative to Volume 302 at a current layer (Level N). They are not nodes in the "current node-layer" as claimed. Second, Volume 302 has a single planar mode flag (isPlanar) because it is a single volume/node that is planar as a whole... it is not a shared flag among three internal sub-volumes at the sub-layer (Level N+1).
In reply, firstly, when processing sub-volumes within Volume 302 (child node level), Lasserre’s Volume 302 is the parent node and the three occupied sub-volumes within Volume 302 are the current processing nodes in current node-layer (see fig. 9 parent node 902 and current node 900).
Secondly, for the internal sub-volumes, they share planar mode flag but have different plane position flags (paragraph [0083]: The decoded planar mode flag indicates whether the volume is planar or not, as indicated by operation 608; paragraph [0084]: If the decoded planar mode flag indicates that the volume is planar, then in operation 612 the decoder decodes a plane position flag. The decoded plane position flag indicates whether the occupied sub-volumes are the upper half or lower half of the volume. Based on that knowledge, the decoder then infers the value of the four occupancy bits in the unoccupied half as zero and it decodes the up to four bits of the occupancy pattern for the occupied half, as shown by operation 614; paragraph [0063]: as few as one occupied sub-volume may be considered “planar”. Volumes 302, 304, 306, 308, 402, 404, 406, and 408 (parent nodes for current child node-layer) each illustrate examples of horizontally planar occupancy. Note with respect to volumes 308 and 408 that they meet the requirements for being horizontally planar since in each case the upper or lower half of the volume 308 and 408 is empty).
Applicant argues on page 10-12 about Lasserre's: First, Lasserre's "eligibility assessment" in paragraph [0082] is a per-volume geometric qualification, not the claimed determination that the planar decoding mode is "enabled." Second, Lasserre's "planar mode flag" is a per-volume geometric attribute, not a layer- corresponding enable flag. Third, Lasserre's planar mode flag is node-specific (per-volume), not layer-level as claimed. Fourth, the interchangeability of terms in paragraph [0038] does not transform a per-volume feature into a layer-corresponding feature.
In reply, Lasserre’s paragraph [0038]: the terms “node”, “volume” and “sub-volume” may be used interchangeably; paragraph [0083]: The decoded planar mode flag indicates whether the volume (nodes in sub-volume layer) is planar or not, as indicated by operation 608; paragraph [0084]: If the decoded planar mode flag indicates that the volume (nodes in sub-volume layer) is planar, then in operation 612 the decoder decodes a plane position flag. So Lasserre discloses planar decoding mode is "enabled" for nodes in sub-volume layer.
The examiner suggests applicant incorporate the allowable subject matter into independent claims to further advance the prosecution.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YI YANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616