DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action on the merits based on the 18/788,035 application filed on 07/29/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20, as originally filed, are currently pending and considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/20/2024 and 08/06/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The claim limitation “first folding mechanism” present in claim 9 will be treated as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The claim limitation passes the three-prong test for determining invocation, defined in 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
a) Uses the generic placeholder “mechanism” for performing the claimed function;
b) The term “mechanism” is modified by the functional language “folding”;
c) No other language in the claim adds sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed functions.
With the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to the claim limitation “first folding mechanism” present in claim 9, this limitation is taken to describe “a first mounting member and a second mounting member” (Para. [0014]-[0015], [0018], [0020], and [0021]).
The claim limitation “first guide component” present in claims 1-4 and 9-20 will be treated as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The claim limitation passes the three-prong test for determining invocation, defined in 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
a) Uses the generic placeholder “component” for performing the claimed function;
b) The term “component” is modified by the functional language “for guidance”;
c) No other language in the claim adds sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed functions.
With the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to the claim limitation “first guide component” present in claim 9, this limitation is taken to describe “gear structures or bevel internal gears” (Para. [0108] and [0111]).
The claim limitation “second guide component” present in claims 1-4 and 9-20 will be treated as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The claim limitation passes the three-prong test for determining invocation, defined in 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
a) Uses the generic placeholder “component” for performing the claimed function;
b) The term “component” is modified by the functional language “for guidance”;
c) No other language in the claim adds sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed functions.
With the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to the claim limitation “second guide component” present in claim 9, this limitation is taken to describe “gear structures or bevel internal gears” (Para. [0108] and [0111]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hansen (US Patent Pub. No. 2023/0338771; FD: 06/27/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Hansen discloses a fitness device (See Figures 1 and 2), comprising: fitness equipment (First module 1 and flywheel 4; Figure 2); and a resistance module (Torque resistance mechanism of Figure 15), wherein the fitness equipment and the resistance module are detachably connected through a connecting assembly (Splined part 45 and hub 53; Figures 13 and 15); the connecting assembly includes a first connecting gear (Splined part 45; Figure 13; i.e., the splined part is a gear with male connecting pieces that connects to the first connecting gear) and a second connecting gear (Hub 53; Figure 15; i.e., the hub 53 is a rotating gear with central female connecting pieces/circumferential teeth 58), the fitness device further includes a first guide component (i.e., the male connecting pieces of the splined part 45) disposed at an end of the first connecting gear, and a second guide component (i.e., the female connecting pieces of the hub 53) disposed at an end of the second connecting gear, the first guide component and the second guide component for guidance, and the first connecting gear and the second connecting gear are connected (i.e., the splined part 45 and hub 53 have male and female connecting pieces such as the guide components of the instant specification; Para. [0028], [0031], [0078]).
Regarding claim 2, Hansen discloses the fitness equipment includes at least one of a spinning bike (i.e., the flywheel 4 allows for spinning bike exercises), an elliptical machine, or a treadmill.
Regarding claim 4, Hansen discloses first connecting gear includes a spur external gear (i.e., the splined part 45 forms an external spur gear as depicted in the instant specification), the second connecting gear includes a spur internal gear (i.e., the hub 53 forms an internal gear as depicted in the instant specification), and the spur external gear is meshed with the spur internal gear (i.e., the splined part 45 and hub 53 mesh into each other as described in Para. [0028]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record Hansen (US Patent Pub. No. 2023/0338771; FD: 06/27/2023), Wilson (US Patent Pub. No. 2022/0161088; PD: 05/26/2022), Mayer (US Patent Pub. No. 2022/0111241; PD: 04/14/2022), and Kao (US Patent Pub. No. 2022/0062691; PD: 03/03/2022) fail to teach or render obvious claims 3 and 5-20.
Hansen discloses a fitness device (See Figure 13 above), comprising: fitness equipment (See Figure 13 above); and a resistance module (One-way input bearing 21; Figure 13), wherein the fitness equipment and the resistance module are detachably connected through a connecting assembly (First switching unit 331; Figure 13); the connecting assembly includes a first connecting gear (First planet carriers 323; Figure 13) and a second connecting gear (Second planet carriers 323; Figure 8), the fitness device further includes a first guide component (Body segment 3241; Figure 8) disposed at an end of the first connecting gear, and a second guide component (Fixing ring segment 3333; Figure 8) disposed at an end of the second connecting gear but does not teach the first guide component and the second guide component for guidance, and the first connecting gear and the second connecting gear are connected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited for additional pertinent prior art.
/ANDREW M KOBYLARZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3784