DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application is examined currently with priority to 17/330971 dated 26 May, 2021 but does not have priority to 63/029983 filed 26 May, 2020. The ADS likely should have read: Prior Application Status Pending Application number blank, Continuity type: Continuation of Prior Application Number 17/330971 Application number 17/330971, Continuity Type: Claims benefit of provisional, Prior Application Number 63/029983. The office mailed a Misc. Communication 15 August, 2024 partially stating: “Timeliness: The required reference for each benefit claim must be filed during the pendency of the instant application and within the later of: (1) four months from the actual filing date of the instant application, or the national stage commencement date if the instant application is a national stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371; or (2) sixteen months from the filing date of the prior-filed application. Failure to timely file the required reference is considered a waiver of any benefit claim, unless a grantable petition to accept an unintentionally delayed claim under 37 CFR 1.78, the petition fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(m), and the required reference are filed.” No qualifying response was received within the stated window. Until rectified the current application is only given the 26 May, 2021 date for examination purposes.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-3 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 28 August, 2026. The traversal is on the ground(s) that no overarching genus is provided. This is not found persuasive because a restriction requirement may be proper for species–species claims without a genus claim when the species are independent or distinct, and there is a serious search/examination burden (MPEP § 806.04). The scope of a claim may be limited to a single disclosed embodiment (i.e., a single species, and thus be designated a specific species claim). Species may be either independent or related as disclosed (see MPEP § 806.04 and § 806.04(b)). Applicant lists ways claims 1 and 4 correspond, however on some limitations claim 1 is more specific and in other limitations claim 4 is more specific. For instance “data aggregation” is more specific than “pre-processing” but “detecting garbage in the foreground image using a CNN detector algorithm” is more specific than “computer vision processing”. The “provide an alert” and “generates actionable information” differ in scope. If claim 1 was more broad in every way it could be considered a genus claim but the data aggregation for instance makes claim 1 more specific. Examiner reminds applicant if allowable subject matter is found in the elected claims, later in the prosecution depending on how closely the non-elected independent claim is amended to overlap in scope with the allowed claim the claims may be rejoined at that time.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
EXAMINER NOTE: Claims 1-3 are not marked as withdrawn. For the purposes of examination, examiner is considering claims filed 22 August, 2024, and non-elected claims are considered withdrawn as directed to a non-elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 5-7 refer to “the system of claim 4” however while claim 4 uses a system, it is constructed as a “computer implemented method” claim. Examiner recommends either amending claims 5-7 to refer to the “computer implemented method” of claim 4 or amending claim 4 to read as a system rather than a method claim.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 cites “A computer implemented method, using a control system, to detect garbage and soiled areas in need of cleaning, the method comprising: receiving video and sensor data; pre-processing the received video and sensor data; detecting garbage… and if garbage is detected…” and it should likely read “A computer implemented method, using a control system, to detect garbage and soiled areas in need of cleaning, the method comprising: receiving video and sensor data; pre-processing the received video and sensor data; detecting the garbage… and if the garbage is detected…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. 101 requires that a claimed invention must fall within one of the four eligible categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) and must not be directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception as interpreted by the courts. MPEP 2106. Three categories of subject matter are found to be judicially recognized exceptions to 35 U.S.C. § 101 (i.e. patent ineligible) (1) laws of nature, (2) physical phenomena, and (3) abstract ideas. MPEP 2106(II). To be patent-eligible, a claim directed to a judicial exception must as whole be directed to significantly more than the exception itself. See 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, 79 Fed. Reg. 74618, 74624 (Dec. 16, 2014). Hence, the claim must describe a process or product that applies the exception in a meaningful way, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Id.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites a computer implemented method, using a control system, to detect garbage and soiled areas in need of cleaning, the method comprising: receiving video and sensor data; pre-processing the received video and sensor data; detecting garbage in the foreground using a convolutional neural network (CNN) detector algorithm; detecting whether the background has changed using an anomaly detection algorithm; and if garbage is detected or the background has changed, identify the area and provide an alert notification to user.
The limitation of receiving video and sensor data and pre-processing are insignificant pre-solution activity. The limitation detecting garbage in the foreground using a convolutional neural network (CNN) detector algorithm, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “computer implemented… using a control system,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. The convolutional neural network (CNN) detector algorithm is recited at a high level and also considered generic computer components as no details on what the CNN is doing are provided. Similarly, the limitation of detecting whether the background has changed using an anomaly detection algorithm, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the “computer implemented… using a control system,” language, “detecting” in the context of this claim encompasses the user determining if the color of a background has changed.
Similarly, the limitation of “if garbage is detected or the background has changed, identify the area and provide an alert notification to user”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the “computer implemented… using a control system,” language, “identify” in the context of this claim encompasses the user seeing if they see trash in video or not and saying if there is trash. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – a computer using a control system. The computer is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible..
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. A human can look at images to see if the background changed color.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. A human can look at images and tell if objects are moving or not.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. A human can look at images to see if something seems damaged in photo or video and needs to be serviced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasli et al. (US 20190354772 A1) in view of Rose-Pehrsson et al. (US 20080036593 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Tasli et al. disclose a computer implemented method, using a control system (system and method for detection of foreign object debris, abstract, a database and a main processing unit/designated circuit blocks undertaking (a series of) computer-implemented steps and modules, [0031]), to detect garbage and soiled areas in need of cleaning (detection of the foreign debris in various threat levels, abstract, The foreign object debris could often be small and even harmless. However, due to the importance of the operation it must be detected and removed from the surface, [0004], Upon successful removal of the detected FOD, the issue is resolved and updated accordingly in the database, [0045]), the method comprising: receiving video and sensor data (single or multiple passive optical sensors monitoring the areas for signal acquisition, abstract, optical equipment is attached to the sensors for focusing the scene on the image sensor, color video signal, [0032]); pre-processing the received video and sensor data (background is removed from the current image to obtain a clean foreground image, obtained foreground image is further processed using Morphological Operations (702) i.e. first erosion and then dilation with a filter size of 5×5 to remove the potential noise and small registration inconsistencies in the current image, [0044]); detecting garbage in the foreground using a convolutional neural network (CNN) detector algorithm (convolutional deep neural networks to solve the foreign object debris problem, [0014], obtain a clean foreground image, candidate regions are processed by the convolutional deep neural network that is trained offline using the ground truth FOD images in the FOD Detection module, convolutional deep neural network processes the candidate regions and outputs a probability value between 0 and 1, where the higher value indicates higher likelihood that the candidate region defines an FOD, decision is sent through the client interface with the predefined risk levels (defined by the network output value) to be further analyzed by the operator, [0044]); detecting whether the background has changed using an anomaly detection algorithm (Scene Change Detection module (303) makes the concrete decision if there has been a significant change between the current image and the aggregate background image, [0037], In a further aspect of the present invention, said method regarding monitoring a selected surface area for foreign object debris (FOD) detection further comprises the global image analysis module (202) through which the incidence of a scene change is detected using the transmitted captured image and a previously stored/accumulated background image, [0054]); and if garbage is detected or the background has changed, identify the area and provide an alert notification to user (detection of the foreign debris in various threat levels, creating an alert for the removal thereof, abstract, creating an alarm with different emergency levels depending on the type size and structure of the detected foreign object, [0013], Since the changes in the successive local frame regions indicate potential FODs, a proper mapping is required to provide accurate analysis of the region, [0039], decision is sent through the client interface with the predefined risk levels to be further analyzed by the operator, [0044]).
The claim does not specify the video and sensor data are different, the sensor data could be video data, however for purposes of compact prosecution, another reference is provided to teach this limitation.
Rose-Pehrsson et al. teach receiving video and sensor data (The system employs smart data fusion to integrate a diverse group of sensing modalities and network components for autonomic damage control monitoring and real-time situational awareness, particularly on U.S. Navy ships. This Volume Sensor system comprises spectral and acoustic sensors, new video imaging techniques, and image recognition methods. A multi-sensory data fusion approach is used to combine these sensor and algorithm outputs to improve event detection rates while reducing false positives, providing a system with detection capabilities for standoff identification of events within a space, such as fire, explosions, pipe ruptures, and flooding level, [0023], The selected sensing platforms were integrated into "sensor suites" that incorporated video cameras, long wavelength (near infrared) filtered cameras, single element spectral sensors, and human-audible microphones. A multisensory data fusion approach was used to provide overall detection capabilities for standoff identification of damage control events within shipboard spaces, [0025]); pre-processing the received video and sensor data (Image ana0lysis in conjunction with narrow band filtered (1140 nm) NIR images has been patented as a method for enhancing fire and hot object detection, [0029], evaluate camera/filter combinations for fire, smoke and nuisance event detection, [0058]); detecting garbage in the foreground using a convolutional neural network (CNN) detector algorithm (Significant improvements in the accuracy, sensitivity and response times in fire and smoke detection using multicriteria approaches that utilize probabilistic neural network algorithms to combine data from various fire sensors has been demonstrated, [0012]); and if garbage is detected or the background has changed, identify the area and provide an alert notification to user (The threat level information is distributed to a supervisory control system where an alarm level can be generated when predetermined criteria are met to indicate the occurrence of an event in the monitored space, abstract, output of the fusion machine is real-time damage control information for each monitored space in the form of "all clear," "warning," or "alarm" signals for several event categories, [0038], trash bag, Flaming trash can, [0082])
Tasli et al. and Rose-Pehrsson et al. are in the same art of neural networks (Tasli et al., [0014]; Rose-Pehrsson et al., [0012]) and event detection (Tasli et al., abstract; Rose-Pehrsson et al., abstract, [0038]). The combination of Rose-Pehrsson et al. with Tasli et al. will enable fusing sensor data. It would have been obvious at the time of filing to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the fusing of Rose-Pehrsson et al. with the invention of Tasli et al. as this was known at the time of the invention, the combination would have predictable results, and as Rose-Pehrsson et al. indicate “Data fusion decision algorithms were used to improve event detection rates while reducing false positives and, most importantly, intelligently combine all available sensor data and information to provide the best possible situational awareness,” ([0025]) demonstrating an improvement to safety when the inventions are combined.
Regarding claim 5, Tasli et al. and Rose-Pehrsson et al. disclose the system of claim 4. Tasli et al. further indicate the anomaly detection algorithm monitors the imagery of the space for any differences in the background (It is the purpose of this invention to provide a system and a method for monitoring the surface areas including but not limited to airport runways, taxiways, aprons and adjacent areas in an attempt to detect static (non-moving objects) or moving (for instance animals) foreign object debris that can endanger the safe operation of the ground vehicles and aircrafts, [0010], The location of the detected foreign object could be reported using the viewing direction of the optical equipment and the lasers pointing to the detected FOD, [0018], Time domain analysis (302) involves computing a cosine similarity where it measures the cosine of the angle between two vectors using the probability distribution of the pixel values reconfigured in the previous step, between the current and the background image. Scene Change Detection module (303) makes the concrete decision if there has been a significant change between the current image and the aggregate background image, [0037], FIG. 7 shows the details of the Background Analysis module (205) where a Background Stability Check (601) is initially performed, [0042], pixel-wise similarity metric using sum of squared differences between the background and an aligned current image wherein results of the similarity metric is compared with a learned threshold, [0068]).
Regarding claim 7, Tasli et al. and Rose-Pehrsson et al. disclose the system of claim 4. Tasli et al. further indicate the step of detecting whether the background has changed uses an anomaly detection algorithm further comprising detecting damage or anomalous behavior indicative of an event requiring maintenance (in case of the detection of the foreign debris in various threat levels, creating an alert for the removal thereof, abstract, The foreign object debris could often be small and even harmless. However, due to the importance of the operation it must be detected and removed from the surface, [0004], FIG. 9 illustrates how the operator can further decide to remove the FOD or snooze until a given time, or ignore altogether if the risk is not critical (801), [0045]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasli et al. (US 20190354772 A1) and Rose-Pehrsson et al. (US 20080036593 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, further in view of Eaton et al. (US 20080193010 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Tasli et al. and Rose-Pehrsson et al. disclose the system of claim 4. Tasli et al. imply the differences in the background include objects not moving to differentiate from transient people or objects moving through the scene (It is the purpose of this invention to provide a system and a method for monitoring the surface areas including but not limited to airport runways, taxiways, aprons and adjacent areas in an attempt to detect static (non-moving objects) or moving (for instance animals) foreign object debris that can endanger the safe operation of the ground vehicles and aircrafts, [0010], In a further aspect of the present invention, said method regarding monitoring a selected surface area for foreign object debris (FOD) detection further comprises the global image analysis module (202) through which the incidence of a scene change is detected using the transmitted captured image and a previously stored/accumulated background image, [0054]) however another reference is added to further teach this limitation.
Eaton et al. teach differences in the background include objects not moving to differentiate from transient people or objects moving through the scene (“It should also be noted, that a pixel originally determined as a background pixel (in one frame) may become a foreground pixel (in another frame) and vice versa. For example, if the color value of a pixel in the background begins to change, it may be appropriate to re-classify it as a foreground pixel (e.g., a car parked in a parking lot for a long period of time starts moving). Similarly, a changing pixel might become static, thus it might be necessary to re-qualify such pixel as a background pixel (e.g., a trash can has been brought to a subway station for permanent use). However, to avoid unnecessary pixels re-classification and to improve interpretation of what is included in the background and foreground images, in one embodiment, the behavior recognition system may classify pixels as being part of a short term background (STBG), short term foreground (STFG), long term background (LTBG), and long term foreground (LTFG).”, [0042]).
Tasli et al. and Rose-Pehrsson et al. and Eaton et al. are in the same art of event detection and detecting debris/unwanted items (Tasli et al., abstract, [0054]; Rose-Pehrsson et al., abstract, [0038], [0082]; Eaton et al., abstract, [0073]). The combination of Eaton et al. with Tasli et al. will enable differentiating moving objects. It would have been obvious at the time of filing to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the distinction of Eaton et al. with the invention of Tasli et al. as this was known at the time of the invention, the combination would have predictable results, and as Eaton et al. indicate “In one embodiment, the workspace 815 uses the general patterns of behavior found in the long-term memory 825 to determine events taking place in the scene. Once an event has been recognized, the information indicating that the recognized event has been identified is generated. Such information is subsequently used to generate alerts. While in one embodiment, only alerts regarding identified abnormal behavior are issued (e.g., assault), in another embodiment, alerts describing identified normal are issued as well (e.g., car parked)” ([0072]), which will improve safety when inventions are combined.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: “Deep Convolutional Neural Networks Object Detector for Real-Time Waste Identification” (This paper presents an extensive research carried out for enhancing the performances of convolutional neural network (CNN) object detectors applied to municipal waste identification.In order to obtain an accurate and fast CNN architecture, several types of Single Shot Detectors (SSD) and Regional Proposal Networks (RPN) have been fine-tuned on the TrashNet database); US 11048973 B1 (The process 400 includes generating a training set that includes aggregated background subtraction images (450). For example, the training set generator 140 may generate a training set for a walking action that includes ABS images generated from Frames 1-5 and Frames 11-15, respectively); US 20240096135 A1 [Date contingent on ADS validity] (This disclosure generally relates to a locker with a motion sensor and, more particularly, to a locker that uses a motion sensor to perform the motion detection, the image time difference and the background comparison to identify a moving direction and existence of an object inside the locker, [0004], The processor 53 of the motion sensor 52 compares a current image frame (e.g., acquired at a predetermined frequency) with the background image frame to identify the occupancy of the inner space of the trash can 120. For example, when identifying that the occupancy of the inner space exceeds a predetermined percentage, e.g., 50% to 80%, the processor 53 outputs a trigger signal Strig to inform a user to clear the inner space. The trigger signal Strig is sent to a portable device of the user or directly used to control an indicator, e.g., lamp or speaker, of the trash can 12 to give an alarm, [0112], More specifically, the motion sensor 52 of the present disclosure is adaptable to the object recognition in any space without being limited to the locker, trash can, storage space and vehicle inner space mentioned herein. If it is required, a machine learning algorithm and model parameters are embedded in the processor 53 of the motion sensor 52 to perform the object recognition and send the recognized result to a post control system/platform, [0120]); US 20210089040 A1 (For example, a map may include dimensions that provide information indicating areas that were previously observed to have a high level of debris accumulation or areas that were previously difficult to traverse or areas that were previously identified by a user (e.g., using an application of a communication device), such as areas previously marked by a user as requiring a high frequency of cleaning. In some embodiments, the processor may identify a frontier (e.g., corner) and may include the frontier in the map, [0341] For example, a dog moving within a volume may result in a different pattern with respect to the background. [0593] Based on sensed data, some embodiments may classify or score different areas of a working environment according to various dimensions, e.g., classifying by driving surface type in a hierarchical driving surface type ontology or according to a dirt-accumulation score by debris density or rate of accumulation.[0626] In some embodiments, the processor may use a classifier such as a convolutional neural network to classify real-time sensor data of a location within the environment into different environmental characteristic classes such as driving surface types, room or area types, levels of debris accumulation, debris types, debris sizes, traffic level, obstacle density, human activity level, driving surface quality, and the like.[0638] detection mechanism for monitoring anomalies or signatures, [0864]).
/MICHELLE M ENTEZARI HAUSMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2671