DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024, 05/07/2025, 10/24/2025 and 12/12/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miklós et al. (2025/0330232), Miklós hereinafter, in view of Li et al. (2023/0156517), Li hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 15, Miklós teaches a communications method (Fig. 3 & ¶0007/¶0010/¶0018/¶0020-¶0021/¶0063-¶0065), and a communications apparatus (Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.4, RAN 102/Fig. 6), comprising at least one processor (Fig. 6, 606) coupled to at least one memory (Fig. 6, 608) storing instructions and configured to execute the instructions (Fig. 6 & ¶0026/¶0097) to cause the apparatus to: receive information about a plurality of first arrival time points of a first data packet in a quality of service (QoS) flow from a session management network element (Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3/ & ¶0007 - FIG. 1A illustrates in more detail how information about a specific TSN stream is provided to a radio access network, RAN, node. Apart from traditional 3GPP quality of service, QoS, information, additional information about the TSN stream is provided in time sensitive communication assistance information, TSCAI. Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3 & ¶0010 - The SMF 80 derives the TSCAI from the TSC Assistance Container. In the derivation, the timing information is converted from the TSN external clock to the 5G clock. If the information is aggregated for multiple QoS flows, then the SMF 80 maps it to the individual flows. The SMF 80 also updates the BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> by adding a packet delay budget in the downlink, and the UE-DS-TT residence time in the uplink, to obtain a time interval on when the traffic arrives to RAN 102 or UE 40. Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3 & ¶0018 - The method is performed by a network node of an access network in a wireless communication system. The method comprises receiving time-sensitive communication assistance information, TSCAI, including TSC configuration parameters from a session management function, SMF. Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3 & ¶0020 - TSC configuration parameters comprises one or more of: a direction of a TSC flow, a periodicity, a burst arrival time, BAT, a survival time, a rank indicating a priority for each of the TSC flow and a delay interval for each TSC flow. Also, see step 302 in Fig. 3), wherein in a downlink direction, the plurality of first arrival time points are a plurality of time points at which the first data packet arrives at an ingress of the access network device (Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3 & ¶0007 - FIG. 1A illustrates in more detail how information about a specific TSN stream is provided to a radio access network, RAN, node. Apart from traditional 3GPP quality of service, QoS, information, additional information about the TSN stream is provided in time sensitive communication assistance information, TSCAI. Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3 & ¶0010 - The SMF 80 derives the TSCAI from the TSC Assistance Container. In the derivation, the timing information is converted from the TSN external clock to the 5G clock. If the information is aggregated for multiple QoS flows, then the SMF 80 maps it to the individual flows. The SMF 80 also updates the BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> by adding a packet delay budget in the downlink, and the UE-DS-TT residence time in the uplink, to obtain a time interval on when the traffic arrives to RAN 102 or UE 40.); determine a target arrival time point based on the information about the plurality of first arrival time points (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0021 - the response message comprises one or more of: an indication whether at least one of the TSC flows is allowed to be established through the network node, a new BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> for a TSC flow, a delay interval for each BAT corresponding to each TSC flow, the rank associated with the respective TSC flow, a quality of service, QoS, flow identifier, QFI, associated with the TSCAI, a periodicity, a delay interval, and a survival time. … the step of transmitting the response message intended for one or more of: the at least one network function associated with a core network, CN (104) and the AF comprises transmitting the response message in response to the reception of the TSCAI. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0063 - When the network node 50 receives the TSCAI, the network node 50 transmits the response message intended for at least one network function associated with the CN 104, and the AF. The response message indicates whether or not the network node 50 satisfies the TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI. Thus, the network node 50 transmits the response message to one or more network functions of the CN 104 and the AF, indicating whether the network node satisfies the TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI. Fig. 4 & ¶0064 - The response message comprises one or more of: an indication whether at least one of the TSC flows is allowed to be established through the network node, a new BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> for a TSC flow, a delay interval for each BAT corresponding to each TSC flow, rank associated with respective TSC flow, quality of service, QoS, flow identifier, QFI, associated with the TSCAI, a periodicity, a delay interval, a survival time or the like. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0065 - If the network node 50 determines that one or more TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI cannot be satisfied, then the network node 50 transmits an indication to the one or more network functions associated with the CN 104 and the AF for adjusting configuration of one or more TSC configuration parameters. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0076 - At step 306, the method 300 comprises transmitting an indication to one or more of: the at least one network function associated with the CN, and the AF for adjusting configuration of one or more TSC configuration parameters. For example, the network node transmits an indication to the NEF or the AF through the one or more network functions for adjusting any of the TSC configuration parameters including a direction of a TSC flow, a periodicity, a burst arrival time, BAT, a survival time, a rank indicating a priority for each of the TSC flow and a delay interval for each TSC flow or the like); and send the target arrival time point (Fig. 3-5 & ¶0018 - The method comprises transmitting a response message intended for one or more of: at least one network function associated with a core network, CN, and an application function, AF, said response message indicating whether or not the network node satisfies the TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI. Fig. 4 & ¶0019 - the method further comprising transmitting an indication to one or more of: the at least one network function associated with the CN and the AF for adjusting configuration of one or more TSC configuration parameters. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0021 - the response message comprises one or more of: an indication whether at least one of the TSC flows is allowed to be established through the network node, a new BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> for a TSC flow, a delay interval for each BAT corresponding to each TSC flow, the rank associated with the respective TSC flow, a quality of service, QoS, flow identifier, QFI, associated with the TSCAI, a periodicity, a delay interval, and a survival time. … the step of transmitting the response message intended for one or more of: the at least one network function associated with a core network, CN (104) and the AF comprises transmitting the response message in response to the reception of the TSCAI. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0076 - At step 306, the method 300 comprises transmitting an indication to one or more of: the at least one network function associated with the CN, and the AF for adjusting configuration of one or more TSC configuration parameters. For example, the network node transmits an indication to the NEF or the AF through the one or more network functions for adjusting any of the TSC configuration parameters including a direction of a TSC flow, a periodicity, a burst arrival time, BAT, a survival time, a rank indicating a priority for each of the TSC flow and a delay interval for each TSC flow or the like).
Yet, Miklós does not expressly teach in an uplink direction, the plurality of first arrival time points are a plurality of time points at which the first data packet arrives at an egress of a terminal device;
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly discloses in an uplink direction, the plurality of first arrival time points are a plurality of time points at which the first data packet arrives at an egress of a terminal device (Fig. 1-11 & ¶0029 - FIG. 3 is an example block diagram 300 of an example fully centralized mode TSN network model. According to stream configuration information from CUC, the CNC can decide whether a TSN stream is to be established. The CNC can calculate an End to End path for the stream according to the stream Sender (or Talker in TSN), stream Receiver (or listener in TSN), TSN entity capability, link capability, and TSN network topology. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0033 - the Admin BaseTime is T, and Admin CycleTime is P. From the perspective of 5G system, the packet arrival time sequence to 5GS ingress (i.e. UPF for DL traffic, and UE/DS-TT for the UL traffic) is shown in FIG. 3. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0036 - There may be three Information Elements (IEs) in the TSCAI. An example is shown in Table 1. TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 TSC Assistance Information Assistance Information Description Flow Direction The direction of the TSC flow (uplink or downlink). Periodicity It refers to the time period between start of two bursts. Burst Arrival time The arrival time of the data burst at either the ingress of the RAN (downlink flow direction) or egress interface of the UE (uplink flow direction). See snapshots next);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Miklós’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of a response message for time sensitive communication in a 5G / New Radio (NR) wireless communication system to include Li’s invention of a system and a method for traffic pattern handling in a 5G / New Radio (NR) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for calculating a traffic pattern based on information relating to stream of data as exchanged among a plurality of network nodes, in turns, provides support for a plurality of service requirements for various application as offered in the 5G / New Radio (NR) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0024, Li)
Re. Claims 2 and 16, Miklós and Li teach claims 1 and 15.
Miklós further teaches wherein the plurality of first arrival time points correspond to a plurality of second arrival time points of a first data packet of a service, the QoS flow corresponds to the service, the plurality of second arrival time points meet a preset requirement of the service, and the preset requirement comprises one or more of the following: a requirement on an arrival time interval of a data packet of the service, a requirement on a sending sequence of the service, or a requirement on an adjustment granularity of an arrival time point of the data packet of the service (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0021 - the response message comprises one or more of: an indication whether at least one of the TSC flows is allowed to be established through the network node, a new BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> for a TSC flow, a delay interval for each BAT corresponding to each TSC flow, the rank associated with the respective TSC flow, a quality of service, QoS, flow identifier, QFI, associated with the TSCAI, a periodicity, a delay interval, and a survival time. … the step of transmitting the response message intended for one or more of: the at least one network function associated with a core network, CN (104) and the AF comprises transmitting the response message in response to the reception of the TSCAI. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0063 - When the network node 50 receives the TSCAI, the network node 50 transmits the response message intended for at least one network function associated with the CN 104, and the AF. The response message indicates whether or not the network node 50 satisfies the TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI. Thus, the network node 50 transmits the response message to one or more network functions of the CN 104 and the AF, indicating whether the network node satisfies the TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI. Fig. 4 & ¶0064 - The response message comprises one or more of: an indication whether at least one of the TSC flows is allowed to be established through the network node, a new BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> for a TSC flow, a delay interval for each BAT corresponding to each TSC flow, rank associated with respective TSC flow, quality of service, QoS, flow identifier, QFI, associated with the TSCAI, a periodicity, a delay interval, a survival time or the like. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0065 - If the network node 50 determines that one or more TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI cannot be satisfied, then the network node 50 transmits an indication to the one or more network functions associated with the CN 104 and the AF for adjusting configuration of one or more TSC configuration parameters. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0076 - At step 306, the method 300 comprises transmitting an indication to one or more of: the at least one network function associated with the CN, and the AF for adjusting configuration of one or more TSC configuration parameters. For example, the network node transmits an indication to the NEF or the AF through the one or more network functions for adjusting any of the TSC configuration parameters including a direction of a TSC flow, a periodicity, a burst arrival time, BAT, a survival time, a rank indicating a priority for each of the TSC flow and a delay interval for each TSC flow or the like. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of the following” and “or”).
Re. Claims 8 and 17, Miklós and Li teach claims 1 and 15.
Miklós further teaches wherein the information about the plurality of first arrival time points is information about an arrival time interval (Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3/ & ¶0007 - FIG. 1A illustrates in more detail how information about a specific TSN stream is provided to a radio access network, RAN, node. Apart from traditional 3GPP quality of service, QoS, information, additional information about the TSN stream is provided in time sensitive communication assistance information, TSCAI. Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3 & ¶0010 - The SMF 80 derives the TSCAI from the TSC Assistance Container. In the derivation, the timing information is converted from the TSN external clock to the 5G clock. If the information is aggregated for multiple QoS flows, then the SMF 80 maps it to the individual flows. The SMF 80 also updates the BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> by adding a packet delay budget in the downlink, and the UE-DS-TT residence time in the uplink, to obtain a time interval on when the traffic arrives to RAN 102 or UE 40. Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3 & ¶0018 - The method is performed by a network node of an access network in a wireless communication system. The method comprises receiving time-sensitive communication assistance information, TSCAI, including TSC configuration parameters from a session management function, SMF. Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3 & ¶0020 - TSC configuration parameters comprises one or more of: a direction of a TSC flow, a periodicity, a burst arrival time, BAT, a survival time, a rank indicating a priority for each of the TSC flow and a delay interval for each TSC flow. Also, see step 302 in Fig. 3); and the determining, by the access network device, a target arrival time point comprises: determining, by the access network device, the target arrival time point based on the arrival time interval (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0021 - the response message comprises one or more of: an indication whether at least one of the TSC flows is allowed to be established through the network node, a new BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> for a TSC flow, a delay interval for each BAT corresponding to each TSC flow, the rank associated with the respective TSC flow, a quality of service, QoS, flow identifier, QFI, associated with the TSCAI, a periodicity, a delay interval, and a survival time. … the step of transmitting the response message intended for one or more of: the at least one network function associated with a core network, CN (104) and the AF comprises transmitting the response message in response to the reception of the TSCAI. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0063 - When the network node 50 receives the TSCAI, the network node 50 transmits the response message intended for at least one network function associated with the CN 104, and the AF. The response message indicates whether or not the network node 50 satisfies the TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI. Thus, the network node 50 transmits the response message to one or more network functions of the CN 104 and the AF, indicating whether the network node satisfies the TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI. Fig. 4 & ¶0064 - The response message comprises one or more of: an indication whether at least one of the TSC flows is allowed to be established through the network node, a new BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> for a TSC flow, a delay interval for each BAT corresponding to each TSC flow, rank associated with respective TSC flow, quality of service, QoS, flow identifier, QFI, associated with the TSCAI, a periodicity, a delay interval, a survival time or the like. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0065 - If the network node 50 determines that one or more TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI cannot be satisfied, then the network node 50 transmits an indication to the one or more network functions associated with the CN 104 and the AF for adjusting configuration of one or more TSC configuration parameters. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0076 - At step 306, the method 300 comprises transmitting an indication to one or more of: the at least one network function associated with the CN, and the AF for adjusting configuration of one or more TSC configuration parameters. For example, the network node transmits an indication to the NEF or the AF through the one or more network functions for adjusting any of the TSC configuration parameters including a direction of a TSC flow, a periodicity, a burst arrival time, BAT, a survival time, a rank indicating a priority for each of the TSC flow and a delay interval for each TSC flow or the like).
Re. Claims 9 and 18, Miklós and Li teach claim 1 and 15.
Miklós further teaches wherein the determining, by the access network device, a target arrival time point comprises determining, by the access network device, the target arrival time point based on an air interface scheduling status. (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0018 - The method comprises transmitting a response message intended for one or more of: at least one network function associated with a core network, CN, and an application function, AF, said response message indicating whether or not the network node satisfies the TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0019 - the method further comprising transmitting an indication to one or more of: the at least one network function associated with the CN and the AF for adjusting configuration of one or more TSC configuration parameters. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0020 - the TSC configuration parameters comprises one or more of: a direction of a TSC flow < i.e., uplink or downlink direction; see ¶0056>, a periodicity, a burst arrival time, BAT, a survival time, a rank indicating a priority for each of the TSC flow and a delay interval for each TSC flow. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0021 - the response message comprises one or more of: an indication whether at least one of the TSC flows is allowed to be established through the network node, a new BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> for a TSC flow, a delay interval for each BAT corresponding to each TSC flow, the rank associated with the respective TSC flow, a quality of service, QoS, flow identifier, QFI, associated with the TSCAI, a periodicity, a delay interval, and a survival time. … the step of transmitting the response message intended for one or more of: the at least one network function associated with a core network, CN (104) and the AF comprises transmitting the response message in response to the reception of the TSCAI. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0063 - When the network node 50 receives the TSCAI, the network node 50 transmits the response message intended for at least one network function associated with the CN 104, and the AF. The response message indicates whether or not the network node 50 satisfies the TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI. Thus, the network node 50 transmits the response message to one or more network functions of the CN 104 and the AF, indicating whether the network node satisfies the TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI. Fig. 4 & ¶0064 - The response message comprises one or more of: an indication whether at least one of the TSC flows is allowed to be established through the network node, a new BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> for a TSC flow, a delay interval for each BAT corresponding to each TSC flow, rank associated with respective TSC flow, quality of service, QoS, flow identifier, QFI, associated with the TSCAI, a periodicity, a delay interval, a survival time or the like. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0065 - If the network node 50 determines that one or more TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI cannot be satisfied, then the network node 50 transmits an indication to the one or more network functions associated with the CN 104 and the AF for adjusting configuration of one or more TSC configuration parameters < one of them is, direction of a TSC flow i.e., uplink or downlink direction; see ¶0020/¶0056>. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0076 - At step 306, the method 300 comprises transmitting an indication to one or more of: the at least one network function associated with the CN, and the AF for adjusting configuration of one or more TSC configuration parameters < one of them is, direction of a TSC flow i.e., uplink or downlink direction; see ¶0020/¶0056>. For example, the network node transmits an indication to the NEF or the AF through the one or more network functions for adjusting any of the TSC configuration parameters < one of them is, direction of a TSC flow i.e., uplink or downlink direction; see ¶0020/¶0056> including a direction of a TSC flow, a periodicity, a burst arrival time, BAT, a survival time, a rank indicating a priority for each of the TSC flow and a delay interval for each TSC flow or the like).
Re. Claim 10, Miklós and Li teach claim 1.
Miklós further teaches wherein the information about the plurality of first arrival time points is information about an arrival time interval. (Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3/ & ¶0007 - FIG. 1A illustrates in more detail how information about a specific TSN stream is provided to a radio access network, RAN, node. Apart from traditional 3GPP quality of service, QoS, information, additional information about the TSN stream is provided in time sensitive communication assistance information, TSCAI. Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3 & ¶0010 - The SMF 80 derives the TSCAI from the TSC Assistance Container. In the derivation, the timing information is converted from the TSN external clock to the 5G clock. If the information is aggregated for multiple QoS flows, then the SMF 80 maps it to the individual flows. The SMF 80 also updates the BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> by adding a packet delay budget in the downlink, and the UE-DS-TT residence time in the uplink, to obtain a time interval on when the traffic arrives to RAN 102 or UE 40. Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3 & ¶0018 - The method is performed by a network node of an access network in a wireless communication system. The method comprises receiving time-sensitive communication assistance information, TSCAI, including TSC configuration parameters from a session management function, SMF. Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3 & ¶0020 - TSC configuration parameters comprises one or more of: a direction of a TSC flow, a periodicity, a burst arrival time, BAT, a survival time, a rank indicating a priority for each of the TSC flow and a delay interval for each TSC flow. Also, see step 302 in Fig. 3).
Re. Claim 11, Miklós and Li teach claim 1.
Miklós further teaches wherein the sending, by the access network device, the target arrival time point comprises: sending, by the access network device, the target arrival time point to an application function network element (Fig. 3-5 & ¶0018 - The method comprises transmitting a response message intended for one or more of: at least one network function associated with a core network, CN, and an application function, AF, said response message indicating whether or not the network node satisfies the TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI. Fig. 4 & ¶0019 - the method further comprising transmitting an indication to one or more of: the at least one network function associated with the CN and the AF for adjusting configuration of one or more TSC configuration parameters. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0021 - the response message comprises one or more of: an indication whether at least one of the TSC flows is allowed to be established through the network node, a new BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> for a TSC flow, a delay interval for each BAT corresponding to each TSC flow, the rank associated with the respective TSC flow, a quality of service, QoS, flow identifier, QFI, associated with the TSCAI, a periodicity, a delay interval, and a survival time. … the step of transmitting the response message intended for one or more of: the at least one network function associated with a core network, CN (104) and the AF comprises transmitting the response message in response to the reception of the TSCAI. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0076 - At step 306, the method 300 comprises transmitting an indication to one or more of: the at least one network function associated with the CN, and the AF for adjusting configuration of one or more TSC configuration parameters. For example, the network node transmits an indication to the NEF or the AF through the one or more network functions for adjusting any of the TSC configuration parameters including a direction of a TSC flow, a periodicity, a burst arrival time, BAT, a survival time, a rank indicating a priority for each of the TSC flow and a delay interval for each TSC flow or the like); wherein the method further comprises: adjusting, by the application function network element, a sending time point of the first data packet based on the target arrival time point (ig. 3-5 & ¶0018 - The method comprises transmitting a response message intended for one or more of: at least one network function associated with a core network, CN, and an application function, AF, said response message indicating whether or not the network node satisfies the TSC configuration parameters in the TSCAI. Fig. 4 & ¶0019 - the method further comprising transmitting an indication to one or more of: the at least one network function associated with the CN and the AF for adjusting configuration of one or more TSC configuration parameters. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0021 - the response message comprises one or more of: an indication whether at least one of the TSC flows is allowed to be established through the network node, a new BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> for a TSC flow, a delay interval for each BAT corresponding to each TSC flow, the rank associated with the respective TSC flow, a quality of service, QoS, flow identifier, QFI, associated with the TSCAI, a periodicity, a delay interval, and a survival time. … the step of transmitting the response message intended for one or more of: the at least one network function associated with a core network, CN (104) and the AF comprises transmitting the response message in response to the reception of the TSCAI. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0076 - At step 306, the method 300 comprises transmitting an indication to one or more of: the at least one network function associated with the CN, and the AF for adjusting configuration of one or more TSC configuration parameters. For example, the network node transmits an indication to the NEF or the AF through the one or more network functions for adjusting any of the TSC configuration parameters including a direction of a TSC flow, a periodicity, a burst arrival time, BAT, a survival time, a rank indicating a priority for each of the TSC flow and a delay interval for each TSC flow or the like).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miklós, in view of Li, further in view of Fu et al. (2024/0406784), Fu hereinafter.
Re. Claim 3, Miklós and Li teach claim 1.
Miklós further teaches in the downlink direction, the waiting delay corresponding to the target arrival time point is a waiting delay at the access network device. (Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3-4 & ¶0010 - The SMF 80 derives the TSCAI from the TSC Assistance Container. In the derivation, the timing information is converted from the TSN external clock to the 5G clock. If the information is aggregated for multiple QoS flows, then the SMF 80 maps it to the individual flows. The SMF 80 also updates the BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> by adding a packet delay budget in the downlink, and the UE-DS-TT residence time in the uplink, to obtain a time interval on when the traffic arrives to RAN 102 or UE 40. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0064 - The response message comprises one or more of: an indication whether at least one of the TSC flows is allowed to be established through the network node, a new BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> for a TSC flow, a delay interval for each BAT corresponding to each TSC flow, rank associated with respective TSC flow, quality of service, QoS, flow identifier, QFI, associated with the TSCAI, a periodicity, a delay interval, a survival time or the like. Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3-4 & ¶0068 - the TSC configuration parameters comprises one or more of: a direction of a TSC flow, a periodicity, a burst arrival time, BAT, a survival time, a rank indicating a priority for each of the TSC flow and a delay interval for each TSC flow. )
Yet, Miklós and Li do not expressly teach wherein a waiting delay corresponding to the target arrival time point is less than or equal to a preset threshold; in the uplink direction, the waiting delay corresponding to the target arrival time point is a waiting delay at the terminal device;
However, in the analogous art, Fu explicitly discloses wherein a waiting delay corresponding to the target arrival time point is less than or equal to a preset threshold; in the uplink direction, the waiting delay corresponding to the target arrival time point is a waiting delay at the terminal device (Fig. 1-11 & ¶0071 - URLLC requirement or the XR requirement supports a service with requirements of at least 0.5 ms and the 99.999% reliability. The service is pseudo-periodic (that is, an arrival time of the service is jitter, that is, the service arrives not at a fixed time but at any time in a range). Meanwhile, the service period may be a non-integer period, for example, 16.67 ms. In addition, arrival times of different service streams of the same service may differ from each other greatly (for example, for the AR service, an UL pose period is 4 ms, but an UL video period is 16.67 ms). Fig. 1-11 & ¶0223 - the modified second MAC packetization mode or the first MAC packetization mode includes that the data with the specific transmission requirement is multiplexed with priority in the uplink grant resource. That is, the data with the specific transmission requirement is packeted with priority. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0235 - the transmission delay of the data with the specific transmission requirement is less than or equal to the first delay threshold);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Miklós’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of a response message for time sensitive communication in a 5G / New Radio (NR) wireless communication system and Li’s invention of a system and a method for traffic pattern handling in a 5G / New Radio (NR) wireless communication system to include Fu’s invention of a system and a method for allocating uplink transmission resources on a per-terminal-device basis by a network device operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for allocating a priority to each LCH <logical channel> to multiplex the LCH in a fronthaul medium access control protocol data unit (MAC PDU) based on the uplink resource configured by the network device, in turns, enables in meeting data transmission requirements for various application as offered in the wireless communication system . (¶0041-¶0042, Fu)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miklós, in view of Li, further in view of Wang et al. (2023/0019215), Wang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 4, Miklós and Li teach claim 1.
Yet, Miklós and Li do not expressly teach wherein the target arrival time point is a time point with a smallest waiting delay in the plurality of first arrival time points.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses wherein the target arrival time point is a time point with a smallest waiting delay in the plurality of first arrival time points. (Fig. 1-32 & ¶0331 - The Reporting threshold(s) indicates the measurement threshold for each of the included QoS parameter(s) to be measured, i.e. the UL packet delay, DL packet delay or round trip packet delay. When Reporting threshold(s) is exceeded, the UPF shall report to the SMF and the SMF shall report to the PCF or to the AF. If more than one value is received at one given point of time for UL packet delay, DL packet delay or round trip packet delay respectively, the SMF reports the minimum …..packet delays to the PCF or the AF. The SMF sends the first report when the Reporting threshold is exceeded and the minimum waiting time is applied for the subsequent report (if the threshold is exceeded after the waiting time). … QoS Parameter Set(s) define alternative set(s) of QoS parameters for the service data flow. Every set consists of a 5QI, an UL and a DL maximum-bitrate as well as an UL and a DL guaranteed-bitrate QoS parameter. The TSN AF container contains the following parameters: The Burst Arrival Time is sent to the SMF to indicate burst arrival time at the ingress port of 5GS for a given flow direction (DS-TT for UL, NW-TT for DL). It is used by the SMF to determine TSCAI burst arrival time as defined in TS 23.501 [2],)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to to combine Miklós’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of a response message for time sensitive communication in a 5G / New Radio (NR) wireless communication system and Li’s invention of a system and a method for traffic pattern handling in a 5G / New Radio (NR) wireless communication system to include Wang’s invention of a system and a method for Time Sensitive Communication (TSC) to Fifth Generation (5G) Quality of Service (QoS) mapping and associated QoS binding a 5G / New Radio (NR) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient binding mechanism that associates a Service Data Flow (SDF), which is defined in a Policy and Charging Control (PCC) rule by means of an SDF template, to a Quality of Service (QoS) flow deemed to transport the SDF when modeling the 5GS <Fifth Generation System> as a virtual TSN bridge(s), for Time Sensitive Networking (TSN)—Fifth Generation (5G) integration in the 5G / New Radio (NR) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0003, Wang)
Claims 12-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miklós, in view of Wang.
Re. claims 12 and 19, Miklós teaches a communications method (Fig. 3 & ¶0007/¶0010/¶0018/¶0020-¶0021/¶0063-¶0065), and a communications apparatus (Fig. 1A-1B, SMF 80/Fig. 7), comprising at least one processor (Fig. 7, 706) coupled to at least one memory (Fig. 7, 708) storing (Fig. 7, 710) instructions and configured to execute the instructions (Fig. 7 & ¶0097) to cause the apparatus to: receive a preset requirement of a service from an application function network element, wherein the preset requirement of the service (Fig. 1A & ¶0008 - Application function, AF 60 derives information about the TSN stream from the information provided by a central network controller, CNC 70, in the form of bridge management information, and possibly using other configuration data. The AF 60 determines the QoS parameters including: priority, the Maximum Burst Size, the delay and the Maximum Bitrate, and provides these parameters to a policy control function, PCF 85. Additionally, the AF 60 constructs a TSC Assistance Container, which includes a burst arrival time, BAT, a period and a flow direction i.e., uplink or downlink direction. Fig. 1A & ¶0009 - The PCF 85 derives 5QI and the associated QoS parameters, and transmits them to a session management function, SMF 80 accordingly. The TSC assistance container is transferred transparently by the PCF 85 to the SMF 80.) comprises one or more of the following: receive a plurality of arrival time points of a first data packet in a quality of service (QoS) flow from an access network device, wherein the service corresponds to the QoS flow (Fig. 1A & ¶0008 - Application function, AF 60 derives information about the TSN stream from the information provided by a central network controller, CNC 70, in the form of bridge management information, and possibly using other configuration data. The AF 60 determines the QoS parameters including: priority, the Maximum Burst Size, the delay and the Maximum Bitrate, and provides these parameters to a policy control function, PCF 85. Additionally, the AF 60 constructs a TSC Assistance Container, which includes a burst arrival time, BAT, a period and a flow direction i.e., uplink or downlink direction. Fig. 1A & ¶0009 - The PCF 85 derives 5QI and the associated QoS parameters, and transmits them to a session management function, SMF 80 accordingly. The TSC assistance container is transferred transparently by the PCF 85 to the SMF 80. Fig. 1A & ¶0010 - The SMF 80 derives the TSCAI from the TSC Assistance Container. In the derivation, the timing information is converted from the TSN external clock to the 5G clock. If the information is aggregated for multiple QoS flows, then the SMF 80 maps it to the individual flows. The SMF 80 also updates the BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> by adding a packet delay budget in the downlink, and the UE-DS-TT residence time in the uplink, to obtain a time interval on when the traffic arrives to RAN 102 or UE 40.); and determine a target arrival time point of the first data packet in the QoS flow based on the plurality of arrival time points and the preset requirement of the service (Fig. 1A & ¶0010 - The SMF 80 derives the TSCAI from the TSC Assistance Container. In the derivation, the timing information is converted from the TSN external clock to the 5G clock. If the information is aggregated for multiple QoS flows, then the SMF 80 maps it to the individual flows. The SMF 80 also updates the BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> by adding a packet delay budget in the downlink, and the UE-DS-TT residence time in the uplink, to obtain a time interval on when the traffic arrives to RAN 102 or UE 40. Fig. 1A & ¶0058 - The SMF 80 derives the TSCAI from the TSC Assistance Container. During the derivation of the TSCAI, the timing information is converted from a TSN external clock to a 5G clock. If the information is aggregated for multiple QoS flows, then the SMF 80 maps it to the individual flows. The SMF 80 also updates the BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> by adding the Packet Delay Budget, PDB, in the downlink, and the UE-DS-TT residence time in the uplink, to obtain a time interval on when the traffic arrives to RAN 102/UE 40. Fig. 1A/Fig. 3 & ¶0069 - The SMF determines the TSCAI from a TSC Assistance Container which includes a BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020>, a flow direction, a survival time or the like. During the determination of the TSCAI, reference timing information is converted from a TSN external clock to the 5G clock. Further, the SMF transmits the determined TSCAI to the network node.).
Miklós does not expressly teach a requirement on an arrival time interval of a data packet of the service, a requirement on a sending sequence of the service, and a requirement on an adjustment granularity of an arrival time point of the data packet of the service;
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses a requirement on an arrival time interval of a data packet of the service, a requirement on a sending sequence of the service, and a requirement on an adjustment granularity of an arrival time point of the data packet of the service (Fig. 1-32 & ¶0130 - CNC distributes the TSN QoS requirements and TSN scheduling parameters to 5G virtual bridge via TSN AF. Fig. 13-14 & ¶0131 - The PCF mapping table provides a mapping from TSN QoS information to 5GS QoS profile. Based on trigger from TSN AF, the PCF may trigger PDU session modification procedure to establish a new 5G QoS flow for the requested traffic class according to the selected QoS policies from the TSN AF traffic requirements. Fig. 1-32 & ¶0331 - The Reporting threshold(s) indicates the measurement threshold for each of the included QoS parameter(s) to be measured, i.e. the UL packet delay, DL packet delay or round trip packet delay. When Reporting threshold(s) is exceeded, the UPF shall report to the SMF and the SMF shall report to the PCF or to the AF. If more than one value is received at one given point of time for UL packet delay, DL packet delay or round trip packet delay respectively, the SMF reports the minimum …..packet delays to the PCF or the AF. The SMF sends the first report when the Reporting threshold is exceeded and the minimum waiting time is applied for the subsequent report (if the threshold is exceeded after the waiting time). … QoS Parameter Set(s) define alternative set(s) of QoS parameters for the service data flow. Every set consists of a 5QI, an UL and a DL maximum-bitrate as well as an UL and a DL guaranteed-bitrate QoS parameter. The TSN AF container contains the following parameters: The Burst Arrival Time is sent to the SMF to indicate burst arrival time at the ingress port of 5GS for a given flow direction (DS-TT for UL, NW-TT for DL). It is used by the SMF to determine TSCAI burst arrival time as defined in TS 23.501 [2], See following snapshots,);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to to combine Miklós’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of a response message for time sensitive communication in a 5G / New Radio (NR) wireless communication system to include Wang’s invention of a system and a method for Time Sensitive Communication (TSC) to Fifth Generation (5G) Quality of Service (QoS) mapping and associated QoS binding a 5G / New Radio (NR) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient binding mechanism that associates a Service Data Flow (SDF), which is defined in a Policy and Charging Control (PCC) rule by means of an SDF template, to a Quality of Service (QoS) flow deemed to transport the SDF when modeling the 5GS <Fifth Generation System> as a virtual TSN bridge(s), for Time Sensitive Networking (TSN)—Fifth Generation (5G) integration in the 5G / New Radio (NR) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0003, Wang)
Re. Claims 13 and 20, Miklós and Wang teach claims 12 and 19.
Miklós further teaches wherein the target arrival time point of the first data packet in the QoS flow meets a preset requirement of the QoS flow, and the preset requirement of the QoS flow corresponds to the preset requirement of the service. (Fig. 1A & ¶0008 - Application function, AF 60 derives information about the TSN stream from the information provided by a central network controller, CNC 70, in the form of bridge management information, and possibly using other configuration data. The AF 60 determines the QoS parameters including: priority, the Maximum Burst Size, the delay and the Maximum Bitrate, and provides these parameters to a policy control function, PCF 85. Additionally, the AF 60 constructs a TSC Assistance Container, which includes a burst arrival time, BAT, a period and a flow direction i.e., uplink or downlink direction. Fig. 1A & ¶0009 - The PCF 85 derives 5QI and the associated QoS parameters, and transmits them to a session management function, SMF 80 accordingly. The TSC assistance container is transferred transparently by the PCF 85 to the SMF 80).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miklós, in view of Wang, further in view of Fu.
Re. Claim 14, Miklós and Wang teach claims 12.
Miklós further teaches in a downlink direction, the waiting delay corresponding to the target arrival time point of the first data packet in the QoS flow is a waiting delay at the access network device. (Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3-4 & ¶0010 - The SMF 80 derives the TSCAI from the TSC Assistance Container. In the derivation, the timing information is converted from the TSN external clock to the 5G clock. If the information is aggregated for multiple QoS flows, then the SMF 80 maps it to the individual flows. The SMF 80 also updates the BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> by adding a packet delay budget in the downlink, and the UE-DS-TT residence time in the uplink, to obtain a time interval on when the traffic arrives to RAN 102 or UE 40. Fig. 3-4 & ¶0064 - The response message comprises one or more of: an indication whether at least one of the TSC flows is allowed to be established through the network node, a new BAT <burst arrival time, see ¶0020> for a TSC flow, a delay interval for each BAT corresponding to each TSC flow, rank associated with respective TSC flow, quality of service, QoS, flow identifier, QFI, associated with the TSCAI, a periodicity, a delay interval, a survival time or the like. Fig. 1A-1B/Fig.3-4 & ¶0068 - TSC configuration parameters comprises one or more of: a direction of a TSC flow, a periodicity, a burst arrival time, BAT, a survival time, a rank indicating a priority for each of the TSC flow and a delay interval for each TSC flow.)
Yet, Miklós does not expressly teach wherein a waiting delay corresponding to the target arrival time point of the first data packet in the QoS flow is less than or equal to a preset threshold; in an uplink direction, the waiting delay corresponding to the target arrival time point of the first data packet in the QoS flow is a waiting delay at a terminal device;
However, in the analogous art, Fu explicitly discloses wherein a waiting delay corresponding to the target arrival time point of the first data packet in the QoS flow is less than or equal to a preset threshold; in an uplink direction, the waiting delay corresponding to the target arrival time point of the first data packet in the QoS flow is a waiting delay at a terminal device; (Fig. 1-11 & ¶0071 - URLLC requirement or the XR requirement supports a service with requirements of at least 0.5 ms and the 99.999% reliability. The service is pseudo-periodic (that is, an arrival time of the service is jitter, that is, the service arrives not at a fixed time but at any time in a range). Meanwhile, the service period may be a non-integer period, for example, 16.67 ms. In addition, arrival times of different service streams of the same service may differ from each other greatly (for example, for the AR service, an UL pose period is 4 ms, but an UL video period is 16.67 ms). Fig. 1-11 & ¶0223 - the modified second MAC packetization mode or the first MAC packetization mode includes that the data with the specific transmission requirement is multiplexed with priority in the uplink grant resource. That is, the data with the specific transmission requirement is packeted with priority. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0235 - the transmission delay of the data with the specific transmission requirement is less than or equal to the first delay threshold);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Miklós’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of a response message for time sensitive communication in a 5G / New Radio (NR) wireless communication system Wang’s invention of a system and a method for Time Sensitive Communication (TSC) to Fifth Generation (5G) Quality of Service (QoS) mapping and associated QoS binding a 5G / New Radio (NR) wireless communication system to include Fu’s invention of a system and a method for allocating uplink transmission resources on a per-terminal-device basis by a network device operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for allocating a priority to each LCH <logical channel> to multiplex the LCH in a fronthaul medium access control protocol data unit (MAC PDU) based on the uplink resource configured by the network device, in turns, enables in meeting data transmission requirements for various application as offered in the wireless communication system . (¶0041-¶0042, Fu)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 - wherein the plurality of first arrival time points comprises a preferential arrival time point and at least one candidate arrival time point; a priority of the preferential arrival time point is higher than a priority of the at least one candidate arrival time point; and the determining, by the access network device, a target arrival time point comprises: based on a waiting delay corresponding to the preferential arrival time point being less than or equal to the preset threshold, determining, by the access network device, the preferential arrival time point as the target arrival time point; or when based on a waiting delay corresponding to the preferential arrival time point is-being greater than the preset threshold, determining, by the access network device, the target arrival time point based on the at least one candidate arrival time point..
Claim 6 – depends on claim 5.
Claim 7 – depends on claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SA WG2 Meeting #S2-138E; S2-2003031; Source to WG: ZTE Title: Alignment on Identifying PDU session in TSN AF; 20 - 24 April, 2020, Electronic, Elbonia. See §5.27.2 < TSC Assistance Information (TSCAI)> §5.28.
SA WG2 Meeting #S2-136AH;S2-2000555; Source to WG: Ericsson; Title: Additional traffic pattern calculations; 13 - 17 January, 2020, Incheon, South Korea. See § Reason for change; §5.27.2, §5.27.3; Annex I.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467