DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the receiver of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The receiver of claim 1 is not found in the specification except for the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 1:
The claimed “receiver” cannot be found in the specification except for claim 1. Therefore, this claim is rejected as failing to comply with the enablement requirement.
Claims 2-9:
These claims are also rejected because they depend on a base rejected claim and have the same problems of failing to comply with the enablement requirement.
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2:
This claim recites the limitation "the first storage" in lines 4-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The limitation “the request includes an identifier of the first data entry” is incorrect according to the specification and claims 17 and 20. Therefore, this renders this claim indefinite because it is not the request that includes the identifier, but the configuration.
Claims 3-9:
These claims are also rejected because they depend on a base rejected claim and have the same problems of indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Roberts (US-20200042208), hereinafter Roberts.
Claim 1:
Roberts teaches a storage device (Fig. 1, tiered data storage system 100), comprising:
a storage (Fig. 1, data storage devices 120) for a data; and
a receiver (Fig. 1, interface 112) to receive a request from an application (At block 410, tiering criteria may be received by a storage device, Fig. 4, ¶ [0097]), the request specifying a configuration of the storage device (At block 420, a tier configuration is initiated to organize a new tier configuration for use in routing data commands among the storage tiers, Fig. 4, ¶ [0098]),
wherein the storage device is configured based at least in part on the request from the application (only a single storage device may receive a command or request to initiate a tier configuration and that storage device will be the tier configuration lead device for organizing the requested tier configuration, Fig. 4, ¶ [0098]).
Claims 10 and 18:
These claims recite similar limitations as claim 1 and are rejected as such.
Claim 2:
Roberts teaches the storage device further comprises a second storage, the second storage including at least a first data entry and a second data entry, the first data entry identifying a first configuration of the first storage and a first performance parameter for the first configuration of the first storage, and the second data entry identifying a second configuration of the first storage and a second performance parameter for the second configuration of the first storage; and the request includes an identifier of the first data entry. (Peer discovery module 322.3 may be configured to receive updated or current performance parameter values for each storage device 120. For example, peer discovery module 322.3 may send a query to each other storage device 120 using peer communication module 326 and receive a response message including a storage device identifier and one or more performance parameter values. In some embodiments, peer discovery module 322.3 may receive one or more messages with performance parameter values without sending a query to initiate the message. For example, a data management command sent to each of storage devices 120 may trigger each storage device to send its performance parameter values to each other peer storage device or a lead storage device identified in the data management command, ¶ [0077]).
Claim 3:
Roberts teaches the first performance parameter includes a first reliability; and the second performance parameter includes a second reliability. (The data stored in the array may be stored according to a defined RAID level, a combination of RAID schemes, ¶ [0002]. Other triggering events may include other changes in configuration, including new device tiering criteria, RAID configuration changes, application-level changes to uses of storage system 100, etc. ¶ [0081], Fig. 3]. Here, the different RAID configurations correspond to the first and second reliability).
Claim 4:
Roberts teaches the storage device is configured to receive a message from the application, the message including a reliability for the application. (Peer discovery module 322.3 may be configured to receive updated or current performance parameter values for each storage device 120. For example, peer discovery module 322.3 may send a query to each other storage device 120 using peer communication module 326 and receive a response message including a storage device identifier and one or more performance parameter values. In some embodiments, peer discovery module 322.3 may receive one or more messages with performance parameter values without sending a query to initiate the message. For example, a data management command sent to each of storage devices 120 may trigger each storage device to send its performance parameter values to each other peer storage device or a lead storage device identified in the data management command, ¶ [0077]).
Claim 5:
Roberts teaches the storage device is configured according to one of the first data entry and the second data entry based on at least the third reliability. (Peer discovery module 322.3 may be configured to receive updated or current performance parameter values for each storage device 120. For example, peer discovery module 322.3 may send a query to each other storage device 120 using peer communication module 326 and receive a response message including a storage device identifier and one or more performance parameter values. In some embodiments, peer discovery module 322.3 may receive one or more messages with performance parameter values without sending a query to initiate the message. For example, a data management command sent to each of storage devices 120 may trigger each storage device to send its performance parameter values to each other peer storage device or a lead storage device identified in the data management command, ¶ [0077]).
Claim 6:
Roberts teaches a first storage scheme for the first storage includes the first reliability; and a second storage scheme for the first storage includes the second reliability. (Peer discovery module 322.3 may be configured to receive updated or current performance parameter values for each storage device 120. For example, peer discovery module 322.3 may send a query to each other storage device 120 using peer communication module 326 and receive a response message including a storage device identifier and one or more performance parameter values. In some embodiments, peer discovery module 322.3 may receive one or more messages with performance parameter values without sending a query to initiate the message. For example, a data management command sent to each of storage devices 120 may trigger each storage device to send its performance parameter values to each other peer storage device or a lead storage device identified in the data management command, ¶ [0077]).
Claim 7:
Roberts teaches the first configuration of the storage device identifies the first storage scheme and the second configuration of the storage device identifies the second storage scheme. (Peer discovery module 322.3 may be configured to receive updated or current performance parameter values for each storage device 120. For example, peer discovery module 322.3 may send a query to each other storage device 120 using peer communication module 326 and receive a response message including a storage device identifier and one or more performance parameter values. In some embodiments, peer discovery module 322.3 may receive one or more messages with performance parameter values without sending a query to initiate the message. For example, a data management command sent to each of storage devices 120 may trigger each storage device to send its performance parameter values to each other peer storage device or a lead storage device identified in the data management command, ¶ [0077]).
Claim 8:
Roberts teaches an Error Correcting Code (ECC) module, the ECC module offering at least a first ECC scheme with the first reliability and a second ECC scheme with the second reliability. (Media manager 324 may be responsible for bad block management, bad block spare overprovisioning, and allocation of gap free logical space throughout the life of the media devices 140. In some embodiments, media manager 324 may also include error correction (e.g., low-density parity-check (LDPC) or Bose-Chaudhuri-Hocquenghem (BCH) codes) supported by an error correction engine and tuning of NVM access parameter (e.g., read levels, programming thresholds, etc.), ¶ [0083]).
Claim 9:
Roberts teaches the first configuration of the storage device identifies the first ECC scheme and the second configuration of the storage device identifies the second ECC scheme. (Media manager 324 may be responsible for bad block management, bad block spare overprovisioning, and allocation of gap free logical space throughout the life of the media devices 140. In some embodiments, media manager 324 may also include error correction (e.g., low-density parity-check (LDPC) or Bose-Chaudhuri-Hocquenghem (BCH) codes) supported by an error correction engine and tuning of NVM access parameter (e.g., read levels, programming thresholds, etc.), ¶ [0083]).
Claim 11:
Roberts teaches configuring the storage device based at least in part on the request from the application includes accessing a first data entry from the storage device, the storage device including the first data entry and a second data entry, the first data entry identifying a first configuration of the storage device and a first performance parameter for the first configuration of the storage device, and the second data entry identifying a second configuration of the storage device and a second performance parameter for the second configuration of the storage device. (Peer discovery module 322.3 may be configured to receive updated or current performance parameter values for each storage device 120. For example, peer discovery module 322.3 may send a query to each other storage device 120 using peer communication module 326 and receive a response message including a storage device identifier and one or more performance parameter values. In some embodiments, peer discovery module 322.3 may receive one or more messages with performance parameter values without sending a query to initiate the message. For example, a data management command sent to each of storage devices 120 may trigger each storage device to send its performance parameter values to each other peer storage device or a lead storage device identified in the data management command, ¶ [0077]).
Claim 12:
Roberts teaches the configuration of the storage device includes a third performance parameter; and configuring the storage device based at least in part on the request from the application includes determining that the first performance parameter satisfies the third performance parameter. (The data stored in the array may be stored according to a defined RAID level, a combination of RAID schemes, ¶ [0002]. Other triggering events may include other changes in configuration, including new device tiering criteria, RAID configuration changes, application-level changes to uses of storage system 100, etc. ¶ [0081], Fig. 3]).
Claim 13:
Roberts teaches the first performance parameter includes a first reliability; the second performance parameter includes a second reliability; and the third performance parameter includes a third reliability. (The data stored in the array may be stored according to a defined RAID level, a combination of RAID schemes, ¶ [0002]. Other triggering events may include other changes in configuration, including new device tiering criteria, RAID configuration changes, application-level changes to uses of storage system 100, etc. ¶ [0081], Fig. 3]. Here, the different RAID configurations correspond to the first, second and third reliability).
Claim 14:
Roberts teaches the first data entry includes a first storage scheme for the storage; the second data entry includes a second storage scheme for the storage; and configuring the storage device according to the first data entry includes configuring the storage according to the first storage scheme. (The data stored in the array may be stored according to a defined RAID level, a combination of RAID schemes, ¶ [0002]. Other triggering events may include other changes in configuration, including new device tiering criteria, RAID configuration changes, application-level changes to uses of storage system 100, etc. ¶ [0081], Fig. 3]).
Claim 15:
Roberts teaches the storage device includes at least one of an Erasure Coding module or a RAID module; the first data entry includes at least one of a first Erasure Coding scheme for the Erasure Coding module or a first RAID scheme for the RAID module; the second data entry includes at least one of a second Erasure Coding scheme for the Erasure Coding module or a second RAID scheme for the RAID module; and configuring the storage device according to the first data entry includes configuring the at least one of the Erasure Coding module according to the first Erasure Coding scheme or configuring the RAID module according to the first RAID scheme. (The data stored in the array may be stored according to a defined RAID level, a combination of RAID schemes, ¶ [0002]. Other triggering events may include other changes in configuration, including new device tiering criteria, RAID configuration changes, application-level changes to uses of storage system 100, etc. ¶ [0081], Fig. 3]. Media manager 324 may be responsible for bad block management, bad block spare overprovisioning, and allocation of gap free logical space throughout the life of the media devices 140. In some embodiments, media manager 324 may also include error correction (e.g., low-density parity-check (LDPC) or Bose-Chaudhuri-Hocquenghem (BCH) codes) supported by an error correction engine and tuning of NVM access parameter (e.g., read levels, programming thresholds, etc.), ¶ [0083]).
Claim 16:
Roberts teaches accessing the first data entry in the data structure from the storage device includes determining that the first reliability is at least as high as the third reliability. (Endurance 330.3 may include one or more metrics for measuring read/write failures based on NVM wear. Endurance may be based on predicted reliability for a particular storage device (in terms of write capacity) and the number of lifetime writes that have been made to the storage device, ¶ [0090]).
Claim 17:
Roberts teaches the configuration of the storage device includes an identifier of the first data entry. (Peer discovery module 322.3 may be configured to receive updated or current performance parameter values for each storage device 120. For example, peer discovery module 322.3 may send a query to each other storage device 120 using peer communication module 326 and receive a response message including a storage device identifier and one or more performance parameter values. In some embodiments, peer discovery module 322.3 may receive one or more messages with performance parameter values without sending a query to initiate the message. For example, a data management command sent to each of storage devices 120 may trigger each storage device to send its performance parameter values to each other peer storage device or a lead storage device identified in the data management command, ¶ [0077]. In some embodiments, peer device registry 328 may be a data structure for maintaining information regarding each other peer storage device in a peer group, such as storage devices 120 in tiered storage array 106. For example, peer device registry 328 may be a table, list, array, database, or similar data structure for storing storage device identifiers, other addressing information, and/or additional information on peer storage devices, such as specifications and/or parameters of the storage devices. In some embodiments, peer device registry 328 may include storage tier identifiers for each storage devices corresponding to tier configuration 322.1. For example, each storage device may have an entry (e.g. a row in a table) with a key (e.g. storage device identifier) and a field (e.g. column in a table) for a storage tier identifier (e.g. numeric value 1-n corresponding to storage tier assignment). In some embodiments, peer device registry 328 may be stored in storage array metadata repeated in each storage device in tiered storage array 106, ¶ [0086]).
Claim 19:
Roberts teaches the configuration of the storage device includes a reliability. (Endurance 330.3 may include one or more metrics for measuring read/write failures based on NVM wear. Endurance may be based on predicted reliability for a particular storage device (in terms of write capacity) and the number of lifetime writes that have been made to the storage device, ¶ [0090]).
Claim 20:
Roberts teaches the configuration of the storage device includes selecting an identifier of a first data entry in the storage device for which a second reliability is at least as high as the reliability, and the storage device includes the first data entry and a second data entry including a third reliability. (Peer discovery module 322.3 may be configured to receive updated or current performance parameter values for each storage device 120. For example, peer discovery module 322.3 may send a query to each other storage device 120 using peer communication module 326 and receive a response message including a storage device identifier and one or more performance parameter values. In some embodiments, peer discovery module 322.3 may receive one or more messages with performance parameter values without sending a query to initiate the message. For example, a data management command sent to each of storage devices 120 may trigger each storage device to send its performance parameter values to each other peer storage device or a lead storage device identified in the data management command, ¶ [0077]. In some embodiments, peer device registry 328 may be a data structure for maintaining information regarding each other peer storage device in a peer group, such as storage devices 120 in tiered storage array 106. For example, peer device registry 328 may be a table, list, array, database, or similar data structure for storing storage device identifiers, other addressing information, and/or additional information on peer storage devices, such as specifications and/or parameters of the storage devices. In some embodiments, peer device registry 328 may include storage tier identifiers for each storage devices corresponding to tier configuration 322.1. For example, each storage device may have an entry (e.g. a row in a table) with a key (e.g. storage device identifier) and a field (e.g. column in a table) for a storage tier identifier (e.g. numeric value 1-n corresponding to storage tier assignment). In some embodiments, peer device registry 328 may be stored in storage array metadata repeated in each storage device in tiered storage array 106, ¶ [0086]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fillingim (US-20110307758) teaches an apparatus, system, and method are disclosed for providing error correction for a data storage device. A determination module determines a set of error-correcting code ("ECC") characteristics for a data storage device. The set of ECC characteristics includes at least one attribute selected from a plurality of supported attributes. A decoder configuration module configures an ECC decoder to operate in compliance with the set of ECC characteristics. An ECC module validates requested data read from the data storage device using the ECC decoder. (Abstract).
/JOHN J TABONE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111 02/24/2026