DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-11, 13-14, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mottram et al (US 20230150128, hereinafter Mottram).
Regarding Claim 1, Mottram teaches:
1. A robot system comprising: (see at least "a surgical robotic system 200 " in par. 0037)
a first link that is a part of a robotic arm (see at least "The robot arm has a series of rigid arm members." in par. 0043) ;
a first motor that moves according to a rotation of the first link (see at least " Each arm member in the series is joined to the preceding arm member by a respective joint 304a-g. Joints 304a-e and 304g are revolute joints. Joint 304f is composed of two revolute joints whose axes are orthogonal to each other, as in a Hooke's or universal joint. The point at which the axes of joints 304e-g intersect may be termed the “wrist”. " in par. 0043) ;
a first sensor having a fixed location with respect to the first motor (see at least "The control system receives sensory data from the position sensors 307a-h and force or torque sensors 308a-h. From the position sensors the control system can determine the current configuration of the robot arm." in par. 0050) ; and
a memory configured to store first position information indicating a relative position of the first sensor with respect to a first reference position of the first motor. (see at least "The control system receives sensory data from the position sensors 307a-h and force or torque sensors 308a-h. From the position sensors the control system can determine the current configuration of the robot arm. For example, the control system may store for each element of the robot arm (e.g. the joints and the arm members), and the surgical instrument, its mass, the distance of its centre of mass from the preceding joint of the robot arm and the relationship between the centre of mass and the positional output of the position sensor for the preceding joint." in par. 0050)
Regarding Claim 2, Mottram teaches:
The robot system according to claim 1, further comprising circuitry configured to correct first sensor information acquired from the first sensor based on the first position information and status information of the first link. (see at least " the control system may be able to distinguish between gravitational forces, external forces and vibrations, inertia and/or accelerations at the part of the robot arm by filtering the sensory data… As described herein, the control system can model the effect of gravity on the components of the robot arm for the current configuration of the robot arm and thereby estimate a force or torque due to gravity on a part of the of the robot arm. Thus, the sensory data may first be adjusted so as to discount the force or torque caused by the effect of gravity on the part of the robot arm, and/or any vibrations, inertia and/or accelerations at that part of the robot arm. For example, the force or torque caused the effect of gravity on the part of the robot arm and/or vibrations, inertia and/or accelerations at the part of the robot arm may be subtracted from the sensory data. " in par. 0057)
Regarding Claim 3, Mottram teaches:
3. The robot system according to claim 2, further comprising a second link that is a part of the robotic arm, wherein the first link is connected to the second link and rotatable with the second link (see at least "The robot arm has a series of rigid arm members. Each arm member in the series is joined to the preceding arm member by a respective joint 304a-g. Joints 304a-e and 304g are revolute joints. Joint 304f is composed of two revolute joints whose axes are orthogonal to each other, as in a Hooke's or universal joint. " in par. 0043 and Fig. 3),
wherein the circuitry is configured to correct the first sensor information acquired from the first sensor based on the first position information, the status information of the first link, and status information of the second link. (see at least " the control system may be able to distinguish between gravitational forces, external forces and vibrations, inertia and/or accelerations at the part of the robot arm by filtering the sensory data… As described herein, the control system can model the effect of gravity on the components of the robot arm for the current configuration of the robot arm and thereby estimate a force or torque due to gravity on a part of the of the robot arm. Thus, the sensory data may first be adjusted so as to discount the force or torque caused by the effect of gravity on the part of the robot arm, and/or any vibrations, inertia and/or accelerations at that part of the robot arm. For example, the force or torque caused the effect of gravity on the part of the robot arm and/or vibrations, inertia and/or accelerations at the part of the robot arm may be subtracted from the sensory data. " in par. 0057)
Regarding Claim 4, Mottram teaches:
the robot system according to claim 2, further comprising:
a second motor configured to rotate a part of the robotic arm including the first link (see at least "The robot arm has a series of rigid arm members. Each arm member in the series is joined to the preceding arm member by a respective joint 304a-g. Joints 304a-e and 304g are revolute joints. Joint 304f is composed of two revolute joints whose axes are orthogonal to each other, as in a Hooke's or universal joint. " in par. 0043 and Fig. 3),; and
a second sensor having a fixed location with respect to the second motor,
wherein the memory further stores second position information indicating a relative position of the second sensor with respect to a second reference position of the second motor (see at least "The control system receives sensory data from the position sensors 307a-h and force or torque sensors 308a-h. From the position sensors the control system can determine the current configuration of the robot arm." in par. 0050), and
wherein the circuitry is configured to correct second sensor information acquired from the second sensor based on the second position information. (see at least "The control system receives sensory data from the position sensors 307a-h and force or torque sensors 308a-h. From the position sensors the control system can determine the current configuration of the robot arm. For example, the control system may store for each element of the robot arm (e.g. the joints and the arm members), and the surgical instrument, its mass, the distance of its centre of mass from the preceding joint of the robot arm and the relationship between the centre of mass and the positional output of the position sensor for the preceding joint." in par. 0050 and “Thus, the sensory data may first be adjusted for the torque caused the effect of gravity on the part of the robot arm, and/or any vibrations, inertia and/or accelerations at that part of the robot arm.” In par. 0075)
Regarding Claim 5, Mottram teaches:
the robot system according to claim 4, wherein the circuitry is configured to correct both the first sensor information and the second sensor information into a common coordinate system. (see at least " The sensed torque state may be represented by a column vector comprising torque data received from each of the one or more torque sensors. The torque state may be represented in any other appropriate manner. Each torque state in the set of candidate torque states may correspond with a respective one or more forces. Each torque state may be a product of its respective one or more forces and a Jacobian matrix. Torque states may be expressed in joint space. Forces may be expressed in cartesian coordinates. The Jacobian matrix may transform the changes in joint space to the changes in cartesian coordinates." in par. 0078).
Regarding Claim 6, Mottram teaches:
6. The robot system according to claim 4,
the circuitry is further configured to calculate relative sensor information by excluding a component related to the corrected second sensor information from the corrected first sensor information. (see at least " For example, the force or torque caused the effect of gravity on the part of the robot arm and/or vibrations, inertia and/or accelerations at the part of the robot arm may be subtracted from the sensory data. Alternatively, the sensory data may be digitally analysed (e.g. by filtering the sensory data as described in this paragraph), with the control system only taking account of only the force or torque resulting from the externally applied force or torque." in par. 0057)
Regarding Claim 10, Mottram teaches:
10. The robot system according to claim 4,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to detect torsion of the first link based on the corrected first sensor information and the corrected second sensor information. (see at least " The operator can then apply an external force (e.g. a push or pull) or torque (e.g. a twist) to the robot arm and/or the instrument which the control system responds to by moving the instrument roughly parallel to its elongate axis and into the passageway in the port 317." in par. 0055 and “For example, the damping constant, D, may be set such that the control system does not readily cause the robot arm to move in response to high frequency forces or torques, such as vibrations—in contrast to lower frequency forces or torques, such as pushes or twists applied by a member of the bedside team.” In par. 0068)
Regarding Claim 11, Mottram teaches:
11. The robot system according to claim 2,
wherein the circuitry is configured to correct the first sensor information into a coordinate system that is independent of a posture of the first sensor based on the first position information and a rotational angle of the first link. (see at least " The sensed torque state may be represented by a column vector comprising torque data received from each of the one or more torque sensors. The torque state may be represented in any other appropriate manner. Each torque state in the set of candidate torque states may correspond with a respective one or more forces. Each torque state may be a product of its respective one or more forces and a Jacobian matrix. Torque states may be expressed in joint space. Forces may be expressed in cartesian coordinates. The Jacobian matrix may transform the changes in joint space to the changes in cartesian coordinates." in par. 0078).
Regarding Claim 13, Mottram teaches:
13. The robot system according to claim 2,
wherein the circuitry is configured to correct the first sensor information to be independent of a rotational acceleration of the first link based on the first position information and a rotational acceleration of the first link. (see at least " Thus, the sensory data may first be adjusted so as to discount the force or torque caused by the effect of gravity on the part of the robot arm, and/or any vibrations, inertia and/or accelerations at that part of the robot arm. For example, the force or torque caused the effect of gravity on the part of the robot arm and/or vibrations, inertia and/or accelerations at the part of the robot arm may be subtracted from the sensory data." in par. 0057 and acceleration term in calculations in par. 0064-0065)
Regarding Claim 14, Mottram teaches:
14. The robot system according to claim 2,
wherein the circuitry is configured to correct the first sensor information to be independent of a rotational speed of the first link based on the first position information and a rotational speed of the first link. (see at least " Thus, the sensory data may first be adjusted so as to discount the force or torque caused by the effect of gravity on the part of the robot arm, and/or any vibrations, inertia and/or accelerations at that part of the robot arm. For example, the force or torque caused the effect of gravity on the part of the robot arm and/or vibrations, inertia and/or accelerations at the part of the robot arm may be subtracted from the sensory data." in par. 0057 and velocity term in calculations in par. 0064-0065)
Regarding Claim 17, Mottram teaches:
17. The robot system according to claim 1, further comprising a first encoder fixed to the first motor and configured to detect rotation of the first motor,
wherein the first sensor is built into the first encoder. (see at least " The robot arm 301 may comprise a series of sensors 307a-h and 308a-h. These sensors may comprise, for each joint, one or more position sensors 307a-h for sensing the rotational position of the joint and a force or torque sensor 308a-h for sensing a force or torque applied about the joint's rotation axis. Compound joint 304f may have two sets of sensors. The position and/or force or torque sensors for a joint may be integrated with the motor for that joint." in par. 0049)
Regarding Claim 18, Mottram teaches:
18. The robot system according to claim 17, wherein the first encoder comprises an integrated circuit configured to calculate a rotational angle of the first motor, and
wherein the first sensor is included in the integrated circuit. (see at least " The robot arm 301 may comprise a series of sensors 307a-h and 308a-h. These sensors may comprise, for each joint, one or more position sensors 307a-h for sensing the rotational position of the joint and a force or torque sensor 308a-h for sensing a force or torque applied about the joint's rotation axis. Compound joint 304f may have two sets of sensors. The position and/or force or torque sensors for a joint may be integrated with the motor for that joint." in par. 0049)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mottram et al (US 20230150128, hereinafter Mottram) in view of Hayashi et al (US 20240123623, hereinafter Hayashi).
Regarding Claim 12, Mottram teaches:
12. The robot system according to claim 11,
Mottram does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Hayashi does teach:
wherein the first sensor is an acceleration sensor, and wherein the circuitry is configured to correct the first sensor information to be independent of a gravitational acceleration. (see at least " Specifically, the sensor value estimation unit 204 calculates the position and the pose of the mechanical interface coordinate system Σm in the robot coordinate system Σr by performing a forward transformation using the angles of the respective joint axes 11(1) to 11(6) detected by the axis angle detection unit 203. The sensor value estimation unit 204 calculates the mounting position of the wireless acceleration sensor 101 in the robot coordinate system Σr using the coordinate system information indicating the vector (x, y, z) and the rotation angles (w, p, r) stored in the sensor coordinate storage unit 201. The sensor value estimation unit 204 calculates the acceleration in each axis of the robot coordinate system Σr by performing a second derivative of time-series data of the calculated position with respect to time, and converts the calculated acceleration into sensor values of the acceleration in each axis of the sensor coordinate system Σs via the mechanical interface coordinate system Σm. In this way, the sensor value estimation unit 204 estimates the sensor values. When the robot 10 is in motion, the sensor value estimation unit 204 subtracts a gravitational acceleration component from the estimated sensor values of the acceleration in the sensor coordinate system Σs, and outputs the thus calculated sensor values to the sensor value anomaly determination unit 206." in par. 0061)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Mottram to incorporate the teachings of Hayashi wherein robot has an acceleration sensor and the effects of gravity are subtracted from the sensor data. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Hayashi would be to detect anomalies in acceleration sensor data more accurately (see par. 0208)
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mottram et al (US 20230150128, hereinafter Mottram) in view of Recktenwald et al (US 20050103738, hereinafter Recktenwald).
Regarding Claim 19, Mottram teaches:
19. The robot system according to claim 18,
Mottram does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Recktenwald does teach:
wherein the first sensor comprises a MEMS device formed on the integrated circuit. (see at least " The IMU devices 202, 204 may be any type of inertial measuring devices that are or become known. IMU devices may include, for example, (i) one, two, or three accelerometers, (ii) one, two, or three gyroscopes, (iii) an analog-to-digital converter to digitize the signals of (i) and/or (ii), (iv) a processor to process the digital signals, (v) a communication method (which may or may not be wireless), and/or (vi) an optional source of power such as a battery. In some embodiments the IMU devices 202, 204 may be or include MEMS devices such as MEMS accelerometers." in par. 0026)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Mottram to incorporate the teachings of Recktenwald wherein multiple mems accelerometers are used to measure acceleration, in order to arrive at the first integrated sensor taught by Mottram being a MEMS accelerometer. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Recktenwald would be to detect acceleration with lower cost and higher reliability (see par. 0009)
Regarding Claim 20, Mottram teaches:
20. The robot system according to claim 18,
Mottram does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Recktenwald does teach:
wherein the first sensor comprises:
a sensor head configured to convert a sensing target into an analog signal; and
an AD conversion circuit configured to convert the analog signal into a digital signal. (see at least " The IMU devices 202, 204 may be any type of inertial measuring devices that are or become known. IMU devices may include, for example, (i) one, two, or three accelerometers, (ii) one, two, or three gyroscopes, (iii) an analog-to-digital converter to digitize the signals of (i) and/or (ii), (iv) a processor to process the digital signals, (v) a communication method (which may or may not be wireless), and/or (vi) an optional source of power such as a battery. In some embodiments the IMU devices 202, 204 may be or include MEMS devices such as MEMS accelerometers." in par. 0026)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Mottram to incorporate the teachings of Recktenwald wherein multiple MEMS accelerometers with integrated analog to digital converters are used to measure acceleration, in order to arrive at the first integrated sensor taught by Mottram being a MEMS accelerometer. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Recktenwald would be to detect acceleration with lower cost and higher reliability (see par. 0009)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9, 15-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art comes from Mottram for all claims.
For Claims 7-9, the prior art does not appear to teach “calculate, as the relative sensor information, relative vibration by excluding a vibration component related to the vibration indicated by the corrected second sensor information from the vibration indicated by the corrected first sensor information; and control the robotic arm to reduce the relative vibration” in combination with all of the other limitations in the independent claims.
For Claim 15, the prior art does not appear to teach “wherein the first sensor is an acceleration sensor, and wherein the circuitry is configured to interpolate a torque information acquired by the torque sensor based on the corrected first sensor information.” in combination with all of the other limitations in the claims.
For Claim 16, the prior art does not appear to teach “wherein the first sensor is an acceleration sensor, and wherein the circuitry is configured to add an acting direction of a reaction force from the peripheral object to contact information acquired by the contact sensor, based on the corrected first sensor information” in combination with all of the other limitations in the claims.
Conclusion
/DYLAN M KATZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3657