DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is in response to applicant’s remarks dated 18 August 2026. Claims 1-4 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 August 2026 with respect to claims 1-4 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the Rao reference is disqualified as prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 102(b)(2)(c). However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner makes of record that the Rao reference qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1). The publication date of Rao is 25 February 2021, which is more than one year before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention. Applicant’s arguments regarding the examiner’s stated motivation rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in claim 1. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “to prime and clear inkjet nozzles on an inkjet printing device” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02. Also, applicant’s specification provides no additional support to define “prime”, “clear”, and/or “cleaning” beyond the “print pattern 902”. Thus, Rao in view of Kyoso, as applied in the office action below, disclose the claimed method steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao (US 2021/0055709) in view of Kyoso et al. (US 20170066268).
With respect to claim 1, Rao discloses a method to prime and clear inkjet nozzles on an inkjet printing device for cylindrical surfaces, comprising:
a. loading (paragraph 0072) a plurality of cylindrical objects (Fig. 8B, array of element 620) to a printing rack (Fig. 8B, element 600),
b. mounting (paragraph 0072) the printing rack (Fig. 3, element 600) onto a printing platform (Fig. 3, element 530),
c. instructing (paragraph 0024) the inkjet printing device (Fig. 3, element 400) to print actual text or an image (paragraph 0024),
d. repeating (paragraph 0024) the printing process described in (c) on each successive row until the print is complete (paragraph 0024),
e. retrieving (paragraph 0024) the printing rack from the printing platform to allow a person to retrieve the printed cylindrical objects (paragraph 0024).
However, Rao fails to disclose instructing the inkjet printing device to print a predetermined pattern at the beginning of every row before printing the actual text or image.
Kyoso discloses instructing an inkjet printing device (Fig. 1, element 10) to print a predetermined pattern (Fig. 7, element 220) at the beginning of every row (paragraph 0091, i.e. width) before printing (paragraph 0091, i.e. upstream side) the actual text or image (Fig. 7, element 222; paragraph 0091).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the predetermined pattern step disclosed by Kyoso in the printing device of Rao. The motivation for doing so would have been “to provide an image recording apparatus that efficiently detects a defective recording element causing image defects in a plurality of recording heads and a method of detecting the defective recording element” (paragraph 0009).
With respect to claim 2, Rao in view of Kyoso as applied to claim 1 above, disclose where after mounting (Rao at paragraph 0072) the printing rack (Rao at Fig. 3, element 600) onto a printing platform (Rao at Fig. 3, element 530) described in step (b) and prior to engaging in a first printing process (Rao at paragraph 0024) as described in step (c), the cylindrical objects (Rao at Fig. 8B, array of element 620) are first moved underneath a UV-light source unit (Rao at Fig. 4B, element 412) to preheat the surfaces of the cylindrical objects prior to the first printing process (Rao at paragraphs 0024, 0072).
With respect to claim 3, Rao in view of Kyoso as applied to claim 1 above, disclose the predetermined pattern is a solid bar (Kyoso at Fig. 7, i.e. shape of element 220; paragraph 0091) that is perpendicular to the printing direction (Kyoso at Fig. 7, i.e. Transport Direction) of the inkjet nozzles (Rao at Fig. 4B, element 431).
With respect to claim 4, Rao in view of Kyoso as applied to claim 3 above, disclose the width of the solid bar (Kyoso at Fig. 7, element 220) is determined (Kyoso at Fig. 6, element 200) through analyzing the print image results over time (Kyoso at paragraphs 0094-0098).
Conclusion
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
The remaining references listed on forms 892 and 1449 have been reviewed by the examiner and are considered to be cumulative to or less material than the prior art references relied upon in the rejection above.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEOFFREY S MRUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 10/06/2026