DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 4 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2 “diameter of the first opening” should read ---a diameter of the first opening---
In claim 4 “a fist hole” should read ---a first hole---
In claim 20 “one or more stimulation element,” should read ---one or more stimulation elements,---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shen (CN 113244097 A).
Regarding claim 1, Shen discloses a multi-functional bottle head (pg 3 ln 15-16 discloses #11 fig 2 as a solution chamber thus the components of fig 3 act as a bottle head), comprising: a housing (#13, 14, 15 fig 1-4) having a first end (see annotated Shen fig 3 below) for connecting to a bottle main body (see fig 2 showing bottle component 11 aligned with first end) and a second end (see annotated Shen fig 3 below); a mounting hole (see annotated Shen fig 3 below) on the second end; one or more massage piece (#2 fig 1-4) installed on the second end of the housing; one or more stimulation element (#5/51 fig 4, pg 3 ln 53-55 disclosing micro-current generation) installed in the mounting hole.
Shen annotated fig 3
Regarding claim 6, Shen discloses the bottle head of claim 1. Shen further discloses the one or more massage piece is a ball (see fig 2-3).
Regarding claim 7, Shen discloses the bottle head of claim 1. Shen further discloses the at least one stimulation element is selected from a group consisting of Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs), lasers, heating elements, cooling elements, vibration elements, electrodes, micro-current element (pg 3 ln 53-55 disclosing micro-current generation) and combinations thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Lin (US 2015/0045702 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Shen discloses the bottlehead of claim 1. Shen further discloses the second end of the housing is provided with a limiting plate (#14 fig 2-4), said limiting plate has a first opening for the one or more massage piece (#141 fig 2-3) a diameter of the first opening is less than the diameter of the massage piece (see fig 4 showing end 21 jutting inward for securing the massage piece.).
Shen is silent to a second opening for a light transmission plate.
Lin teaches a similar multi-functional head with a first opening for a massage piece (opening in #23 fig 4 cooresponding to openings 251) and a second opening (internal rim of #21 fig 4) for a light transmission plate (#25 fig 4, par 0027 disclosing translucent, par 0028 disclosing S2 as red light diodes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a light diodes, a light transmission plate and second opening as taught by Lin for above the stimulation element/portion of Shin in order to provide a user with the various benefits of red light therapy (Shen par 0028).
Regarding claim 3, modified Shen discloses the bottle head of claim 2. Shen further discloses the limiting plate comprises a positioning frame having an inner cavity for positioning the at least one stimulation element (see Shen annotated fig 4 below).
Shen annotated fig 4
Regarding claim 4, modified Shen discloses the bottle head of claim 2. Shen further discloses a first hole section (see Shen annotated fig 1 below) having a first opening (see Shen annotated fig 1 below) and a second opening (see Shen annotated fig 1 below) corresponding to the first opening and the second opening of the limiting plate, the first opening comprises one or more grooves (see Shen annotated fig 4 above) for placing the one or more massage piece.
Shen annotated fig 1
Regarding claim 5, modified Shen discloses the bottle head of claim 2. Shen further discloses a second hole section (see Shen annotated fig 1 below) in the second end of the housing, the second hole section having a first opening (see Shen annotated fig 1 below) and second opening (see Shen annotated fig 1 below) corresponding to the first opening and the second opening of the limiting plate.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Shen as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Hong (KR 20180083565 A).
Regarding claim 8, modified Shen discloses the bottle head of claim 2. Modified Shen is silent to the light transmission plate has a butting block to separate two adjacent stimulation elements.
Hong teaches a similar bottle head with a massage element (#141 fig 2) and LED stimulation elements (#160 fig 2, pg 5 par starting with “referring to FIG. 4” disclosing “illumination unit 160 specifically includes an LED 161”) and component to separate two adjacent stimulation elements (#150 fig 2, 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a butting block on the light plate of modified Shen in order to separate the stimulation elements as taught by Hong as doing so helps secure the light elements in place and ensures proper spacing between elements is maintained.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Harooni (US 9,456,678 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Shen discloses the bottle head of claim 1. Shen further discloses a switch device for regulating activation and control of the one or more stimulation elements (pg 2 ln 3-6 disclosing the micro-current stimulation elements being connected to the control part).
Shen is silent to the switch being inductive.
Harooni teaches a simillar bottle head device utilizing an inductive power switch for regulating activation and control of one or more stimulation elements (col 6 ln 38-45, col 2 ln 47-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an inductive switch for control of the stimulation elements as an inductive switch as doing so allows for electrical connection to be maintained without a physical contact allowing for the electrical circuit to stay separate from the liquid in Shen.
Claims 10-11 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (US 2008/0107474 A1) in view of Saito (US 2005/0131427 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Hsieh discloses a multi-functional bottle head (abstract) comprising: a shell (#20/40 fig 1) comprising: an assembly segment (#20 fig 1) for connecting with a bottle body (#10 fig 1), the assembly segment has a first runner hole (#27/25 fig 1, par 0026 disclosing a through hole); a derivation segment (#40 fig 1) having a first end (#43 fig 1, 5A) and a second end (#41 fig 1, 5A), the second end is connected with the assembly segment (see fig 1, 5A), the derivation segment has a second runner hole (#48 fig 5A), wherein an outlet end of the first runner hole is connected with an inlet end of each of the second runner hole (see fig 5A); wherein cross-sectional area of the derivation segment is less than cross-sectional area of the assembly segment (see fig 5A showing center neck of 40 having a smaller cross-section); and one or more coating parts (#30 fig 1-2, 4-7) installed at an outlet end of the second runner hole, the coating part applies a liquid medicine to a user’s skin (par 0032).
Hsieh is silent to the second runner hole being a plurality of runner holes.
Saito discloses a similar roller ball head utilizing a plurality of coating parts (#124 fig 7) situated at the outlet of a plurality of second runner holes (#120 fig 7) connected to a first runner hole (#134 fig 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a plurality of runner holes and plurality of coating parts on Hsieh as taught by Saito as doing so allows for the use of multiple coating parts allowing the liquid medicine to be applied on a larger surface area at a time.
Regarding claim 11, modified Hsieh discloses the bottle head of claim 10. Hsieh further discloses the derivation segment comprises: a connecting segment (#41 fig 1) connected with the assembly segment; a supporting segment (#43 fig 1) connected with the one or more coating part; a gradient segment (#46 fig 1) connects the supporting segment with the connecting segment; wherein cross-sectional area of the gradient segment decreases moving from the connecting segment to the supporting segment (see fig 5 showing an inward curving from 41 to 46 thus providing a decrease in cross-sectional area as approaching the supporting segment).
Regarding claim 15, modified Hsieh discloses the bottle head of claim 11. Modified Hsieh further discloses the supporting segment is provided with a plurality of support areas (Hsieh: interior of #43, see fig 5, Saito: interior of #119 fig 7 disclosing plurality), each of the plurality of support areas corresponds to each of the plurality of second runner holes (see Saito fig 7).
Regarding claim 16, modified Hsieh discloses the bottle head of claim 15. Saito further discloses a manifold pipe (#120/126 fig 7), the manifold comprises a main pipe section (#126 fig 7) and a plurality of branch pipe sections (#120 fig 7) diverting from the main pipe section, said main pipe section is connected with the outlet end of the first runner hole ()#134 fig 7, and the outlet end of each of the plurality of branch pipe section is connected with the inlet end of the corresponding second runner hole (see fig 7 showing connection to roller balls/interior of 119 holes).
Regarding claim 17, modified Hsieh discloses the bottle head of claim 11. Hsieh further discloses the one or more coating parts are ball shaped (see fig 1-2, 4-7) accommodated in a groove located in the supporting segment (interior of #43 fig 5).
Regarding claim 18, modified Hsieh discloses the bottle head of claim 17. Hsieh further discloses a bottom of the groove is provided with a diversion groove (groove formed by #45 fig 5-6 keeping ball 30 separate from interior surface of 43 in order to form a groove) connected with the outlet end of each of the plurality of second runner holes.
Regarding claim 19, modified Hsieh discloses the bottle head of claim 11. Hsieh further discloses the assembly segment comprises a bracket (#25/29 fig 5-8) and a shell (#50 fig 4) sleeved outside a support (#24/21 fig 8), the support is connected with the derivation segment (see fig 4-6).
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hsieh as applied to claims 11 and 10 above and further in view of Gueret (US 2007/0186951 A1).
Regarding claim 12, modified Hsieh discloses the bottlehead of claim 11. Hsieh is silent to wherein the gradient segment is bending arc-shaped.
Gueret teaches a similar derivation segment for providing liquid utilizing a gradient segment that is bending arc-shaped (main body of fig 27 connecting to support segment 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a bending arc-shape for the gradient segment of modified Hsieh as taught by Gueret as doing so allows for the support segment to be provided at an angle relative to the bottle thus allowing for ease of application with the roller ball.
Regarding claim 13, modified Hsieh discloses the bottlehead of claim 12. Gueret does not expressly disclose the arc of the gradient segment bends at an angle of 20°-85°. However fig 27 appear to show an angle substantially similar to 20°, though prior art drawings are not interpreted as depicting scale, unless specified, the description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2125). Therefore it is seen that one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize an angle of 20° when applying the arc taught by Gueret in the bottle head of Hsieh in order to provide an optimal angle between the bottle axis and the support segment for application.
Regarding claim 14, modified Hsieh discloses the bottlehead of claim 10. Hsieh is silent to wherein the second runner hole is bending arc-shaped.
Gueret teaches a similar derivation segment for providing liquid utilizing a gradient segment and cooresponding runner hole that is bending arc-shaped (main body of fig 27 interior cavity #12 leading up to to support segment 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a bending arc-shape for the gradient segment and runner hole of modified Hsieh as taught by Gueret as doing so allows for the support segment to be provided at an angle relative to the bottle thus allowing for ease of application with the roller ball.
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hsieh as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Shen.
Regarding claim 20, modified Hsieh discloses the bottle head of claim 10. Hsieh is silent to a circuit assembly comprises one or more stimulation element, a circuit board connected to the one or more stimulation element, a switching device and a power supply.
Shen teaches a similar bottle head device utilizing a circuit assembly comprises one or more stimulation element (#5/51 fig 4, pg 3 ln 53-55 disclosing micro-current generation), a circuit board (pg 3 ln 58-59) connected to the one or more stimulation element, a switching device and a power supply (pg 2 ln 3-6 disclosing the micro-current stimulation elements being connected to the control part).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the circuit assembly and stimulation element of Shen onto the bottle head of Hsieh in order to provide the additional benefit of micro-current to the user.
Regarding claim 21, Modified Hsieh discloses the bottlehead of claim 20. Shen further discloses the one or more stimulation element is selected from a group consisting of Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs), lasers, heating elements, cooling elements, vibration elements, electrodes, micro-current element (pg 3 ln 53-55 disclosing micro-current generation) and combinations thereof.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huong US 11,947,324 B1 discloses a device with roller balls and a light ring
De La Forcade FR 2839424 A1 discloses a roller ball device with an angle of 45-80 degrees
/KIRA B DAHER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799