DETAILED ACTION
This is in reference to communication received 24 June 2026. Claims 1 – 20 are pending for examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Eligibility of Patent under 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s invention is directed to dynamically updating an implementation schedule by reallocating time slots for the sales promotion measures according to the re-calculated optimal implementation frequency that improves effectiveness of the sales promotion measures iterative data-driven adjustments. A video of a person near a product shelf where a product is arranged is acquired, analyzed, and time-series skeleton data of a person from the acquired video is generated which specifies a sequence of behavior types of the person of purchasing the product based on a transition of the time-series skeleton data based upon which degree of interest as purchase psychology is calculated which are referenced to generate a conditional probability table. It is examiner opinion that the claimed invention is eligible for patent under 35 USC 101 because generating of a time-series skeleton data of a person from the acquired video obtained by imaging an area that includes a product shelf where a product is arranged is more than an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 11, 13 – 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scudillo et al. Patent Application 2016/0253735 in view of Hualin He et al. US Publication 2020/0193148 hereinafter referred to as Hualin-He, Schoen et al. US Publication 2007/0260515 and Kristin Kuter published article “Conditional Probability Distribution” hereinafter referred to as Kuter.
Regarding claim 8 and represented claims 1 and 15, Scudillo teaches an information processing apparatus performing and evaluation method wherein, a person located in the area is detected and the state of the person is determined. An action the person is performing is also determined. A context of the person is determined based on the state of the person and the action the person is performing [Scudillo, 0003]. Scudillo teaches information processing apparatus and method comprising:
a memory [Scudillo, 0155]; and
a processor coupled to the memory [Scudillo, 0155] and configured to:
acquiring a video obtained by imaging an area that includes a product shelf where a product is arranged (Scudillo, Infrared (IR) camera 306, in one embodiment, is a camera for capturing images of people near shelf screen 202A and is in communication with controller 302. Infrared camera 306, in one embodiment, is capable of capturing images of a person near shelf screen 202A with sufficient resolution to determine facial expressions, body movement, limb movement, etc. Images from infrared camera 306 can be used to determine what a person located near shelf screen 202A is doing) [Scudillo, 0030];
Scudillo does not teach generating skeleton data. However, Hualin-He teaches system and method for recognizing user actions with respect to objects. Hualin-He teaches a human posture detection algorithm, may be used to determine coordinates of wrist joints of t user in all image frames in the video of hands, and an enclosing rectangle of the user may be determined, as shown in blocks 602, 603, 605. A target tracking algorithm (such as a KCF tracking algorithm) may be used to ensure that the wrists in a plurality of image frames are associated with the same user [Hualin-He, 0075, Fig. 6, 3A, 3B and associated disclosure].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Scudillo by adopting teachings of Hualin-He and identify skeleton points in human body for recognizing a human posture, determine coordinates of their hand movements.
Scudillo in view of Hualin-He teaches system and method further comprising:
generating time-series skeleton data of a person from the acquired video (Hualin-He, when analyzing a user's action in a series of images, it is beneficial to ensure that the determined coordinates of the wrists in the images are associated with the same user. …. Tracking algorithm may be used to ensure that the wrists in a plurality of images correspond to the same user. …. After the target tracking algorithm is applied, the coordinates of left and right wrists of the user in all frames of image in a video of the user's actions may be determined) [Hualin-He, 0052, 0053, Fig. 6, 3A, 3B and associated disclosure];
specifying a sequence of behavior types of the person of purchasing the product based on a transition of the time-series skeleton data (Scudillo, For example, images captured via infrared camera 206 can be used to determine if the person is picking up and examining an item, a change in the person's facial expression while they are examining the item, etc.) [Scudillo, 0030; also see He, 0073, 0074];
calculating a degree of interest as purchase psychology information based on a duration or a specific pattern of the sequence of the behavior types (Hualin-He, After the target item in a non-stationary state is recognized, a second time when the target item is in the non-stationary state and a second location where the target item is in the non-stationary state may be determined …. Subsequently, in step S230, when the first time matches the second time and the first location matches the second location, it is determined that the user performs the action with respect to the target item) [Hualin-He, 0073, 0074];
Scudillo in view of Hualin-He does not teach evaluation of sales promotion. However, Schoen teaches system and method for pacing the delivery of online advertisements. In Adjusting the pace advertisements are served includes decreasing the pace the advertisements are served, or alternatively, adjusting the rate the advertisement is served includes increasing the rate at which the advertisement is served [Schoen, 0006, 0007]. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Scudillo in view of Hualin-He by adopting teachings of Schoen to increase ROI on advertising budget by controlling when advertising should be target to potential customers.
Scudillo in view of Hualin-He and Schoen teaches system and method further comprising:
acquiring period information regarding a period when a plurality of distinct sales promotion measures for the product are implemented;
acquire period information regarding a period when sales promotion measures for the product are implemented (Schoen, the advertisement pacing module 31 may receive click rate or other billable event information from the click tracking module 36. Accordingly, the advertisement pacing module periodically or continuously analyzes the rate at advertisement(s)are selected, or clicked, by end-users or other billable events. Also, Schoen teaches it will be evident that various modifications and changes may be made to these embodiments (e.g., using the Schoen teachings for plurality of distinct sales promotions) without departing from the broader spirit and scope of the invention.) [Schoen, 0056, 0062];
Scudillo in view of Hualin-He and Schoen does not teach generating of a conditional probability distribution table. However, Kuter teaches We can think of a conditional probability distribution as a probability distribution for a sub-population. In other words, a conditional probability distribution describes the probability that a randomly selected person from a sub-population has a given characteristic of interest. In this context, the joint probability distribution is the probability that a randomly selected person from the entire population has both characteristics of interest [Bobbitt, page 3], and a table can be drawn to document the relationship between plurality of variables [Kuter, page 3].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Scudillo in view of Hualin-He and Schoen by adopting teachings of Kuter to identify of a pair of activity occurring with higher confidence.
Scudillo in view of Hualin-He, Schoen and Kuter teaches system and method further comprising:
generating, by the computer, a conditional probability distribution table modeling a probabilistic causal relationship between an implementation state of each of the plurality sales promotion measures and the calculated degree of interest of the person (Kuter, Suppose we are interested in the relationship between an individual's hair (e.g., sales promotion) and eye color (e.g., eye color). Based on a random sample of Saint Mary's students, we have the following joint pmf, with marginal pmf's given in the margins) [Kuter, page 3]; and
autonomously re-calculating, by the computer, an optimal implementation frequency for each of the plurality of sales promotion measures analyzing the modeled probabilistic causal relationship in said conditional probability distribution table to identify a combination of measures that maximizes a probability of achieving a high degree of interest (Schoen, Priority levels can be adjusted by imputing a higher click through rate to the ad than it has actually accumulated. Use this higher click-through rate in the yield ranking calculation where the rank of the result is determined in part by the maximum bid and the click-through rate associated with the ad.) [Schoen, 0042]; and
dynamically updating an implementation schedule stored in a memory of the computer by reallocating time slots for the sales promotion measures according to the re-calculated optimal implementation frequency, thereby forming a closed-loop optimization cycle that improves effectiveness of the sales promotion measures iterative data-driven adjustments (Schoen, Priority levels can be adjusted by imputing a higher click through rate to the ad than it has actually accumulated. Use this higher click-through rate in the yield ranking calculation where the rank of the result is determined in part by the maximum bid and the click-through rate associated with the ad.) [Schoen, 0042].
Regarding claim 9 and represented claims 2 and 16, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Scudillo in view of Hualin-He, Schoen and Kuter teaches information processing apparatus and method further configured to generate the purchase psychology information, based on the specified behavior (Schoen, The customer impact is measured by correlating a display of a given image with the sales volume of products among customers who can be assumed to have viewed the image, in comparison with sales volume at other times. Analysis at the point of sale in this manner permits precise, immediate measurement of the impact of the promotional display) [Schoen, 0020].
Regarding claim 10 and represented claims 3 and 17, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Scudillo in view of Hualin-He, Schoen and Kuter teaches information processing apparatus and method, wherein the purchase psychology information is information that indicates whether or not the person is interested in the product, and the generating processing specifies a behavior of the person of staying in front of the product shelf, based on the specified behavior and generates the purchase psychology information, based on a time when the person stays in front of the product shelf (Scudillo, if a shopper is detected moving through an aisle, advertisements can be displayed to draw the shopper's gaze to a specific item or product. After the shopper's gaze has been drawn to the specific item or product, additional information about the product can be displayed to the shopper to entice the shopper to purchase the item. If a shopper picks up and examines the specific item or product, additional information about the item or product can be displayed to the shopper) [Scudillo, 0071].
Regarding claim 11 and represented claims 4 and 18, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Scudillo in view of Hualin-He, Schoen and Kuter teaches information processing apparatus and method, wherein the purchase psychology information is information that indicates whether or not there is a reliability of the person with respect to the product, and the generating processing specifies a behavior of the person of stretching a hand to the product on the product shelf, based on the specified behavior and generates the purchase psychology information, based on a cumulative number of times when the person stretches the hand (Scudillo, In some embodiments, bar code information obtained via barcode scanner 314 can be used in conjunction with other components of shelf screen ( e.g., shelf screen202A) in order to determine an item a person is interested in (e.g., an item the person is looking at or handling)) [Scudillo, 0042].
Regarding claim 12 and represented claims 5 and 19, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Scudillo in view of Hualin-He, Schoen and Kuter teaches information processing apparatus and method, wherein the evaluating processing generates a conditional probability distribution table that indicates a probability of the presence or absence of the interest, by using whether or not the sales promotion measures are implemented as a condition, based on the purchase psychology information acquired in the period when the sales promotion measures are implemented and the purchase psychology information acquired in a period when the sales promotion measures are not implemented (Kuter, Suppose we are interested in the relationship between an individual's hair and eye color. Based on a random sample of Saint Mary's students, we have the following joint pmf, with marginal pmf's given in the margins:)
[Kuter, page 3].
Regarding claim 13 and represented claims 6 and 20, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Scudillo in view of Hualin-He, Schoen and Kuter teaches information processing apparatus and method for correcting the purchase psychology information, based on questionnaire information regarding the product input by the person (Scudillo, In one embodiment, a decision tree (also referred to as a binary tree) context-aware data algorithm allows for presenting a series of questions about specific shopper context data features that each gets an answer of yes or no. These questions are arranged in an order that allows for narrowing down on the attributes/characteristics of shopper context aware data to be classified. These questions will be asked until it is determined which of one of two categories ( classification groups) it will belong to. The questions will branch (binary split) to other questions based on yes or no answers, the other questions at the same depth in the decision tree are not test or traversed. When no further questions remaining in series of questions branch, it can be determined which of two groups the specific of shopper context-aware data feature belongs to. The decision tree context-aware data algorithm classify by using binary decisions by reducing the amount of uncertainty with each answered question relative to the total number of questions in the entire decision tree. This allows decision tree, especially when the decision tree balanced symmetrically around the root, to be very effective classifiers [Scudillo, 0145, 0146]
Regarding claim 14 and represented claim 7, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Scudillo in view of Hualin-He, Schoen and Kuter teaches information processing apparatus and method, wherein the sales promotion measures are sales promotion measures for a plurality of products, and the evaluating processing compares effectiveness of the sales promotion measures for each of the products (Schoen, The customer impact is measured by correlating a display of a given image with the sales volume of products among customers who can be assumed to have viewed the image, in comparison with sales volume at other times. Analysis at the point of sale in this manner permits precise, immediate measurement of the impact of the promotional display) [Schoen, 0020].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument that pending claimed amended invention is eligible for patent because cited prior art does not teach Schoen does not appear to disclose acquiring, re-calculating, and updating as claimed, is acknowledged and considered.
However, cited prior art teaches Priority levels can be adjusted (e.g., updated) by imputing a higher click through rate to the ad than it has actually accumulated. Use this higher click-through rate in the yield ranking calculation where the rank of the result is determined in part by the maximum bid and the click-through rate associated with the ad.) [Schoen, 0042]
Applicant's argument that pending claimed amended invention is eligible for patent because cited prior art Schoen is directed to online advertising, where optimization is based on clear, structured digital data (i.e., "click rates"). In stark contrast, the present invention operates on inherently noisy and ambiguous data: "a video obtained by imaging an area that includes a product shelf where a product is arranged ". A person of ordinary skill would have had no reasonable expectation of success in applying Schoen's method, which works on reliable data, to a completely different and unreliable data source. A "click" in Schoen has a clear causal link to interest; " time-series skeleton data of a person" from the acquired video does not, and modeling this relationship is itself a technical challenge, is acknowledged and considered.
However, applicant is separating the combination of cited prior art to make their arguments. How the combination of cited prior art teaches the amended invention as currently claimed is responded in Rejection under 35 USC 101 section.
Applicant's argument that pending claimed amended invention is eligible for patent because The claimed invention is not a simple aggregation of behavior recognition (Scudillo, Hualin-He) and pacing (Schoen). Its inventive contribution lies in the integration of these disparate technologies by "modeling a probabilistic causal relationship". The specific approach of modeling a probabilistic causal relationship between an implementation state of each of the plurality sales promotion measures and the calculated degree of interest of the person, and then re-calculating an optimal implementation frequency, is not suggested anywhere in the cited art, is acknowledged and considered.
However, applicant is separating the combination of cited prior art to make their arguments. How the combination of cited prior art teaches the amended invention as currently claimed is responded in Rejection under 35 USC 101 section.
Applicant's argument that pending claimed amended invention is eligible for patent because None of the references, alone or in combination, discloses the closed-loop optimization cycle claimed. The invention is not a collection of fragmented features but a cohesive, self-improving system where these elements work in concert. The construction of such a system would not have been obvious from the cited art. Thus, at least the noted features of claims 1, 8, and 15, and the rejection of claims 1-20 is improper. Accordingly, withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested, is acknowledged.
However, applicant is arguing amended invention, which have been responded to in response to pending amended claims in Rejection Under 35.USC.103 section.
Conclusion
Published article “How does Closed-Loop Marketing Work?”
Nam US Publication 2023/0133882 teaches system and method for determining, on the basis of a relationship between a product region and a first person detected in a plurality of video frames thereby estimating information on an interaction information between the first person and the product on the basis of a result of the determination and validating the estimated information on the interaction.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NARESH VIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622
March 26, 2026