DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to the communication filed on 7/30/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Examiner Note
The examiner is here to serve, to assist, and to help applicant to the very best of his ability. The Primary Patent Examiner position is a position of serving and it is an honor to externally serve the applicant and attorney and to internally serve junior examiners and supervisors. The goal of the examiner is to work with and assist applicant to move cases along as efficiently as possible.
Applicant is encouraged to call examiner to schedule an interview if applicant has any questions about this action, wants to discuss any possible paths forward, has proposed amendments to the claims to run by the examiner, or for any other issues that applicant would like to discuss.
Examiner can normally be reached at (571) 270-3863 or michael.keller@uspto.gov, Monday-Friday, from about 6 AM - 10 PM EST and if your call is missed examiner will try to return call quickly, thank you.
Priority
This application claims priority of 63/304,779, filed 1/31/2022. The assignee of record is Ofinno, LLC. The listed inventor(s) is/are: Talebi Fard, Peyman; Park, Kyungmin; Dinan, Esmael Hejazi; Chun, SungDuck; Qiao, Weihua.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 9/11/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by 3GPP (3GPP TS 24.193 V17.3.0, 2021-12, copy included in applicant 9/11/2024 submission, thank you; hereinafter 3GPP193)
For Claim 1, 3GPP193 teaches 1 method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device from a network element, a measurement assistance information for a performance measurement function of a multi-access packet data unit (MA-PDU) session, wherein the measurement assistance information comprises:
a first field indicating that a first address, associated with a first access of the MA-PDU session, is for a first radio access technology (3GPP193 5.4.1); and
a second field indicating that a second address, associated with a second access of the MA-PDU session, is for a second radio access technology (3GPP193 5.4.1, Figs 6.1.5.2-1, 6.1.5.2-4);
sending, to a user plane function, at least one echo request to measure performance of at least one of the first access and the second access of the MA-PDU session (3GPP193 5.4.2.1.1, Figs 6.1.5.2-1, 6.1.5.2-4); and
receiving, from the user plane function, at least one echo response ((3GPP193 5.4.1, Figs 6.1.5.2-1, 6.1.5.2-4).
For Claim 2, 3GPP193 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one echo request comprises: at least one first packet comprising the first address and a first echo request to measure performance of the first access; and/or at least one second packet comprising the second address and a second echo request to measure performance of the second access (3GPP193 5.4.1, Figs 6.1.5.2-1, 6.1.5.2-4).
For Claim 3, 3GPP193 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second access has a same access type as the first access and a different radio access technology type from the first access (3GPP193 5.4.1, Figs 6.1.5.2-1, 6.1.5.2-4).
For Claim 4, 3GPP193 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein an access type of the first access and/or the second access comprises at least one of a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) access type, a non-3GPP access type, and/or an underlay network access type (3GPP193 5.4.1, Figs 6.1.5.2-1, 6.1.5.2-4).
For Claim 5, 3GPP193 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first radio access technology is a new radio (NR) radio access technology type and/or the second radio access technology is a long term evolution (LTE) radio access technology type (3GPP193 5.4.1, Figs 6.1.5.2-1, 6.1.5.2-4).
For Claim 6, 3GPP193 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the network element is a session management function (SMF) (3GPP193 5.4.1, Figs 6.1.5.2-1, 6.1.5.2-4).
For Claim 7, 3GPP193 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the receiving the measurement assistance information comprises receiving a packet data unit session establishment accept message, a non-access stratum message, a protocol configuration option, and/or an extended protocol configuration options comprising the measurement assistance information (3GPP193 5.4.1, Figs 6.1.5.2-1, 6.1.5.2-4).
For Claim 8, 3GPP193 teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising sending, to the network element, a non-access stratum message comprising a request to establish the MA-PDU session (3GPP193 5.4.1, Figs 6.1.5.2-1, 6.1.5.2-4).
For Claim(s) 9 & 16, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 1 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim(s) 10 & 17, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 2 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim(s) 11, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 3 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim(s) 12 & 19, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 4 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim(s) 13, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 5 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim 14, 3GPP193 teaches the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to: send, to the network element, a non-access stratum message comprising a request to establish the MA-PDU session, wherein the network element is a session management function (SMF) (3GPP193 5.4.1, Figs 6.1.5.2-1, 6.1.5.2-4).
For Claim(s) 15, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 7 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim 18, 3GPP193 teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the second access has a same access type as the first access and a different radio access technology type from the first access, wherein the access type of the first access and/or the second access comprises at least one of a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) access type, a non-3GPP access type, and/or an underlay network access type (3GPP193 5.4.1, Figs 6.1.5.2-1, 6.1.5.2-4).
For Claim(s) 20, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 14 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed below, thank you:
i. US 20230247482 A1
Please see PTO-892 for additional listing of relevant prior art made of record but not relied upon, thank you.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning communications from the examiner should be directed to Michael Keller at (571)270-3863 or michael.keller@uspto.gov. If attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brian Gillis can be reached on 571-272-7952.
/MICHAEL A KELLER/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446