DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy of Japanese patent application number 2023-147319, filed on September 12, 2023, has been received and made of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant argues, that “[i]ndependent claims 1 and 11-13 have been amended to incorporate the features of allowable claim 7 and thus, the rejection as to independent claims 1, 12 and 13 should be withdrawn.”
However, the Examiner notes that the limitations of claim 7 were not incorporated into independent claims 1, 12, and 13, as argued. Consequently, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-10, and 12-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikedo (US Pub. 2020/0351464).
In regard to claim 1, note Ikedo discloses a photoelectric conversion device (figure 1) comprising a photoelectric conversion unit emitting pulses corresponding to photons (paragraph 0050, and figures 2-3: 201, 303), a counter counting the number of the pulses (paragraph 0054, and figures 2-3: 201, 306), a plurality of pixels each including a memory storing a count value of the counter (paragraph 0054, and figures 2-3: 201, 307), one or more memories storing instructions (paragraphs 0041, 0147), and one or more processors executing the instructions (paragraphs 0041, 0147, and figure 1: 104) to generate an image signal on the basis of a difference between count values of the counter at the start and end of an accumulation period (paragraphs 0131-0144, figure 23: 2311, 2312, 2302, and figure 24: T1-T4; the images accumulated during each of the accumulation periods T1-T4 are used to obtain a difference by subtracting), output first to (N−1)th (N≥2) image signals generated during first to (N−1)th accumulation periods during a period from the end of the first accumulation period to the end of the Nth accumulation period, wherein the first to Nth accumulation periods are within one full frame period and each of the first to (N−1)th accumulation periods is shorter than the Nth accumulation period (paragraphs 0131-0144, figure 24: T1-T3; the image signals are generated for each of the accumulation periods T1-T3, wherein each of the accumulation periods T1-T3 are shorter than the Nth accumulation period T4, which corresponds to one frame period), generate a synthetic image signal by synthesizing two or more image signals having different accumulation periods among the first to Nth image signals (paragraphs 0131-0144, figure 23: 2311, 2312, 2002, 2313, and figure 24: T1-T4; the images accumulated during each of the accumulation periods T1-T4 are used to generate a synthesized image), and divide the accumulation period of one full frame into N accumulation periods and output N image signals (paragraph 0136, and figure 24: T1-T4, T; the accumulation period T is divided in to period T1-T4).
And although, Ikedo does not explicitly disclose that the accumulation period is equally divided, Ikedo does state that number of divisions, and the length of each are merely examples, and therefore, use of equally divided accumulation periods is considered to be implicitly disclosed (paragraphs 0136, 0145, and figure 24: T1-T4; as seen in figure 24, the accumulation period is considered to be equally divided into four accumulation periods).
In regard to claim 2, note Ikedo discloses that the first to (N−1)th accumulation periods and the Nth accumulation period overlap each other (figure 24: T1-T4; each of the accumulation periods T1-T4 overlap during the accumulation period T).
In regard to claim 3, note Ikedo discloses that the first to (N−1)th accumulation periods and the Nth accumulation period start simultaneously (figure 24: T1-T4, t702; each of the accumulation periods start at t702).
In regard to claim 4, note Ikedo discloses that the end of the Nth accumulation period coincides with the end of a full frame (figure 24: T4, t703; the accumulation period ends at t703).
In regard to claim 5, note Ikedo discloses wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to generate an image signal having a shorter accumulation period than the Nth image signal using the first to Nth image signals, and generate a synthetic image signal using the image signal having a short accumulation period and the Nth image signal (paragraphs 0131-0134, figure 23: 2311, 2312, 2002, and figure 24: T1-T4; the image signal generated from the shorter accumulation periods for each of T1-T4 is used along with the accumulation of T in order to generate a synthetic image signal).
In regard to claim 9, note Ikedo discloses that the one or more processors further execute the instructions to generate a synthetic image signal using an image signal having an accumulation period shorter than the Nth accumulation period and closest to a center of the Nth accumulation period when an image signal having a shorter accumulation period than the Nth image signal is generated (paragraph 0141, and figure 24: T2, t2404; when the second accumulation T2, which is closest to the center of the Nth accumulation T4 is performed, a synthesized image is generated, which is shorter than the Nth accumulation T4, and is stored in memory 2313).
In regard to claim 10, note Ikedo discloses that the photoelectric conversion unit includes an avalanche photodiode (paragraph 0050, and figures 2-3: 201, 303).
In regard to claim 12, this is a method claim, corresponding to the apparatus in claim 1. Therefore, claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect claim 1.
In regard to claim 13, this is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program including instructions for executing the corresponding operation of claim 1. Therefore, claim 13 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect claim 1. Additionally, the Examiner notes that Ikedo discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program including instructions for executing the processes (paragraph 0147).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikedo (US Pub. 2020/0351464), in view of Maekawa (US Pub. 2022/0201182).
In regard to claim 11, this is substantially identical to the apparatus of claim 1, with the exception that the device comprises a movable apparatus, and performing movement control for controlling movement of the movable apparatus. However, the primary reference of Ikedo is silent regarding the use of a movable apparatus, and performing movement control for controlling movement of the movable apparatus.
In analogous art, Maekawa discloses an imaging device used in a movable apparatus, and performing movement control for controlling movement of the movable apparatus (paragraphs 0145-0147, and figure 14). Maekawa teaches that the use of an imaging device in a movable apparatus, and performing movement control for controlling movement of the movable apparatus is preferred in order to perform collision determination, and avoid collision and reduce damage (paragraph 0147). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the primary reference such that the device is a movable apparatus, and performing movement control for controlling movement of the movable apparatus, in order to perform collision determination, and avoid collision and reduce damage, as suggested by Maekawa.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 2638
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638