DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues allowability based on the amendment to claim 1. Specifically, applicant argues none of the references disclose wherein the bumps do not overlap the exposed portion of the principal surface. While the examiner agrees that bumps disclosed by Yokomizo ‘048 & Fujita ‘719 do overlap the exposed portion of the principal surface, the claim as written requires “in a sectional view in the first direction and the third direction, the first and second bumps do not overlap in the first direction an entirety of a portion of the first principal surface that is exposed from each of the first and second outer electrodes and is provided between the first and second outer electrodes” and thus as the bumps of Yokomizo ‘048 & Fujita ‘719 do not overlap with entire exposed portion of the principal surface, said bumps read on the claim as presented. The examiner has further provided new grounds of rejection based on the amendment wherein in a sectional view in the first direction and the third direction, the first and second bumps do not overlap in the first direction with the first principal surface that is exposed and between the first and second outer electrodes. All claims stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-10, 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. (US 2014/0153155) in view of Yokomizo (US 2020/0343048).
In regards to claim 1,
Fujii ‘155 discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a capacitor body (10 – fig. 1; [0026]) including:
a plurality of dielectric layers (fig. 2; [0028]);
a plurality of first inner electrodes (11 – fig. 2; [0028]);
a plurality of second inner electrodes (12 – fig. 2; [0028]);
a first principal surface (1 – fig. 1; [0026]) and a second principal surface (2 – fig. 1; [0026]) opposed to each other in a first direction;
a first side surface (3 – fig. 1; [0026]) and a second side surface (4 – fig. 1; [0026]) opposed to each other in a second direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the first direction; and
a first end surface (5 – fig. 1; [0026]) and a second end surface (6 – fig. 1; [0026]) opposed to each other in a third direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction;
a first outer electrode (15 – fig. 2; [0028]) on at least the first principal surface, and electrically coupled to the first inner electrodes;
a second outer electrode (16 – fig. 2; [0028]) on at least the first principal surface, and electrically coupled to the second inner electrodes;
wherein the first outer electrode and the second outer electrode are not provided on the second principal surface of the capacitor body (fig. 2). Fujii ‘155 fails to disclose a first bump on a surface on a first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including one of Au, Cu, or Al; and a second bump on a surface on the first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including a same material as the first bump; the first outer electrode includes a first metal layer on at least a position that comes into contact with the first bump, and includes the same material as the first bump; the second outer electrode includes a second metal layer on at least a position that comes into contact with the second bump, and includes the same material to the second bump; and a thickness of the first bump and a thickness of the second bump in the first direction are equal to or greater than about 4.5 μm, and in a sectional view in the first direction and the third direction, the first and second bumps do not overlap in the first direction an entirety of a portion of the first principal surface that is exposed from each of the first and second outer electrodes and is provided between the first and second outer electrodes.
Yokomizo ‘048 discloses a first bump (20a – fig. 1; [0041]) on a surface on a first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including one of Au, Cu, or Al ([0042]); and a second bump (20b – fig. 1; [0041]) on a surface on the first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including a same material as the first bump ([0042]); the first outer electrode includes a first metal layer ([0037] – Sn plating layer) on at least a position that comes into contact with the first bump, and includes the same material as the first bump; the second outer electrode includes a second metal layer ([0037] – Sn plating layer) on at least a position that comes into contact with the second bump, and includes the same material to the second bump; and a thickness of the first bump and a thickness of the second bump in the first direction are equal to or greater than about 4.5 μm ([0044]), and in a sectional view in the first direction and the third direction, the first and second bumps do not overlap in the first direction an entirety of a portion of the first principal surface that is exposed from each of the first and second outer electrodes and is provided between the first and second outer electrodes (fig. 1-2; it is noted that a portion of 12a is not covered by 20a & 20b (i.e. 20a & 20b do not cover an entire portion of the first principal surface that is exposed from each of the first and second outer electrodes (i.e. the first and second bumps do not overlap in the first direction an entirety of a portion of the first principal surface that is exposed from each of the first and second outer electrodes and is provided between the first and second outer electrodes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate bumps as taught by Yokomizo ‘048 with the capacitor of Fujii ‘155 to obtain a capacitor with improved protection from noise.
In regards to claim 3,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Yokomizo ‘048 further discloses wherein a proportion of an area of a flat region of the second principal surface of the capacitor body relative to an area of the second principal surface is equal to or greater than about 0.8 (fig. 1-2 & 6-7 of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 5,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Yokomizo ‘048 further discloses wherein the first outer electrode and the second outer electrode are provided only on the first principal surface of the capacitor body (fig. 6-7 of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 6,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Yokomizo ‘048 further discloses wherein the first outer electrode is provided on the first principal surface and the first end surface; and the second outer electrode is provided on the first principal surface and the second end surface of the capacitor body (fig. 2 of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 7,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Yokomizo ‘048 further discloses wherein the first outer electrode is provided on the first principal surface, the first end surface, the first side surface, and the second side surface of the capacitor body; and
the second outer electrode is provided on the first principal surface, the second end surface, the first side surface, and the second side surface of the capacitor body (fig. 6-7 of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 8,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Yokomizo ‘048 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of dielectric layers includes BaTiO3, CaTiO3, SrTiO3, SrZrO3, or CaZrO3 as a major component ([0032] of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 9,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Yokomizo ‘048 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of dielectric layers includes a Mn compound, a Fe compound, a Cr compound, a Co compound, or a Ni compound in a smaller amount than the major component ([0032] of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 10,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Yokomizo ‘048 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of first inner electrodes and the plurality of second inner electrodes includes Ni, Ag, Pd, Au, Cu, Ti, or Cr, or an alloy including any of Ni, Ag, Pd, Au, Cu, Ti, or Cr as a major component ([0033] of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 13,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Yokomizo ‘048 further discloses wherein the first outer electrode includes a first foundation electrode layer and the first metal layer on the first foundation electrode layer; and the second outer electrode includes a second foundation electrode layer and the second metal layer on the second foundation electrode layer ([0034] of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 14,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Yokomizo ‘048 further discloses wherein each of the first and second foundation electrode layers is a baked electrode layer including glass and a metal ([0033] & [0081] of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 15,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Yokomizo ‘048 further discloses wherein the metal includes Cu, Ni, Ag, Pd, Ti, Cr, or Au, or an alloy including any of Cu, Ni, Ag, Pd, Ti, Cr, or Au ([0033] of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 16,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Yokomizo ‘048 further discloses wherein each of the first and second foundation electrode layers is a resin electrode layer ([0033] of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 17,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Yokomizo ‘048 further discloses wherein each of the first and second foundation electrode layers is a thin film electrode layer ([0033] of Fujii ‘155).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-10, 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii ‘155 in view of Nishimura et al. (US 2017/0042029).
In regards to claim 1,
Fujii ‘155 discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a capacitor body (10 – fig. 1; [0026]) including:
a plurality of dielectric layers (fig. 2; [0028]);
a plurality of first inner electrodes (11 – fig. 2; [0028]);
a plurality of second inner electrodes (12 – fig. 2; [0028]);
a first principal surface (1 – fig. 1; [0026]) and a second principal surface (2 – fig. 1; [0026]) opposed to each other in a first direction;
a first side surface (3 – fig. 1; [0026]) and a second side surface (4 – fig. 1; [0026]) opposed to each other in a second direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the first direction; and
a first end surface (5 – fig. 1; [0026]) and a second end surface (6 – fig. 1; [0026]) opposed to each other in a third direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction;
a first outer electrode (15 – fig. 2; [0028]) on at least the first principal surface, and electrically coupled to the first inner electrodes;
a second outer electrode (16 – fig. 2; [0028]) on at least the first principal surface, and electrically coupled to the second inner electrodes;
wherein the first outer electrode and the second outer electrode are not provided on the second principal surface of the capacitor body (fig. 2). Fujii ‘155 fails to disclose a first bump on a surface on a first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including one of Au, Cu, or Al; and a second bump on a surface on the first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including a same material as the first bump; the first outer electrode includes a first metal layer on at least a position that comes into contact with the first bump, and includes the same material as the first bump; the second outer electrode includes a second metal layer on at least a position that comes into contact with the second bump, and includes the same material to the second bump; and a thickness of the first bump and a thickness of the second bump in the first direction are equal to or greater than about 4.5 μm, and in a sectional view in the first direction and the third direction, the first and second bumps do not overlap in the first direction an entirety of a portion of the first principal surface that is exposed from each of the first and second outer electrodes and is provided between the first and second outer electrodes.
Nishimura ‘029 discloses a first bump (4 – fig. 4; [0040]) on a surface on a first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including one of Au, Cu, or Al ([0048]); and a second bump (5 – fig. 4; [0040]) on a surface on the first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including a same material as the first bump ([0048]); the first outer electrode includes a first metal layer ([0058] – Sn plating layer) on at least a position that comes into contact with the first bump, and includes the same material as the first bump; the second outer electrode includes a second metal layer ([0058] – Sn plating layer) on at least a position that comes into contact with the second bump, and includes the same material to the second bump; and a thickness of the first bump and a thickness of the second bump in the first direction is a result effective variable, particularly for reducing equivalent series resistance and equivalent series inductance, particularly for reducing vibrations ([0095]), and in a sectional view in the first direction and the third direction, the first and second bumps do not overlap in the first direction an entirety of a portion of the first principal surface that is exposed from each of the first and second outer electrodes and is provided between the first and second outer electrodes (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate bumps as taught by Nishimura ‘029 with the capacitor of Fujii ‘155 and to form said bumps to have a thickness of about 4.5 μm or more to obtain a capacitor with improved protection from vibration. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 3,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein a proportion of an area of a flat region of the second principal surface of the capacitor body relative to an area of the second principal surface is equal to or greater than about 0.8 (fig. 1-2 & 6-7 of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 5,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein the first outer electrode and the second outer electrode are provided only on the first principal surface of the capacitor body (fig. 6-7 of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 6,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein the first outer electrode is provided on the first principal surface and the first end surface; and the second outer electrode is provided on the first principal surface and the second end surface of the capacitor body (fig. 2 of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 7,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein the first outer electrode is provided on the first principal surface, the first end surface, the first side surface, and the second side surface of the capacitor body; and
the second outer electrode is provided on the first principal surface, the second end surface, the first side surface, and the second side surface of the capacitor body (fig. 6-7 of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 8,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of dielectric layers includes BaTiO3, CaTiO3, SrTiO3, SrZrO3, or CaZrO3 as a major component ([0032] of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 9,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of dielectric layers includes a Mn compound, a Fe compound, a Cr compound, a Co compound, or a Ni compound in a smaller amount than the major component ([0032] of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 10,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of first inner electrodes and the plurality of second inner electrodes includes Ni, Ag, Pd, Au, Cu, Ti, or Cr, or an alloy including any of Ni, Ag, Pd, Au, Cu, Ti, or Cr as a major component ([0033] of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 13,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein the first outer electrode includes a first foundation electrode layer and the first metal layer on the first foundation electrode layer; and the second outer electrode includes a second foundation electrode layer and the second metal layer on the second foundation electrode layer ([0034] of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 14,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein each of the first and second foundation electrode layers is a baked electrode layer including glass and a metal ([0033] & [0081] of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 15,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein the metal includes Cu, Ni, Ag, Pd, Ti, Cr, or Au, or an alloy including any of Cu, Ni, Ag, Pd, Ti, Cr, or Au ([0033] of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 16,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein each of the first and second foundation electrode layers is a resin electrode layer ([0033] of Fujii ‘155).
In regards to claim 17,
Fujii ‘155 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein each of the first and second foundation electrode layers is a thin film electrode layer ([0033] of Fujii ‘155).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togawa (US 2020/0388439) in view of Fujita et al. (US 2019/0287719).
In regards to claim 1,
Togawa ‘439 discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a capacitor body (12 – fig. 1; [0031]) including:
a plurality of dielectric layers (14 – fig. 3; [0032]);
a plurality of first inner electrodes (16 – fig. 1; [0031]);
a plurality of second inner electrodes (16 – fig. 1; [0031]);
a first principal surface (12b – fig. 1; [0031]) and a second principal surface (12a – fig. 1; [0031]) opposed to each other in a first direction;
a first side surface (12c – fig. 1; [0031]) and a second side surface (12d – fig. 1; [0031]) opposed to each other in a second direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the first direction; and
a first end surface (12e – fig. 1; [0031]) and a second end surface (12f – fig. 1; [0031]) opposed to each other in a third direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction;
a first outer electrode (24 – fig. 1-3; [0049-0051]) on at least the first principal surface, and electrically coupled to the first inner electrodes;
a second outer electrode (24 – fig. 1-3; [0049-0051]) on at least the first principal surface, and electrically coupled to the second inner electrodes;
wherein the first outer electrode and the second outer electrode are not provided on the second principal surface of the capacitor body (fig. 1). Togawa ‘439 fails to disclose a first bump on a surface on a first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including one of Au, Cu, or Al; and a second bump on a surface on the first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including a same material as the first bump; the first outer electrode includes a first metal layer on at least a position that comes into contact with the first bump, and includes the same material as the first bump; the second outer electrode includes a second metal layer on at least a position that comes into contact with the second bump, and includes the same material to the second bump; and a thickness of the first bump and a thickness of the second bump in the first direction are equal to or greater than about 4.5 μm, and in a sectional view in the first direction and the third direction, the first and second bumps do not overlap in the first direction an entirety of a portion of the first principal surface that is exposed from each of the first and second outer electrodes and is provided between the first and second outer electrodes.
Fujita ‘719 discloses a first bump (16 – fig. 1; [0043]) on a surface on a first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including one of Au, Cu, or Al ([0043]); and a second bump (17 – fig. 1; [0043]) on a surface on the first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including a same material as the first bump ([0043]); the first outer electrode includes a first metal layer ([0039] – Sn plating layer) on at least a position that comes into contact with the first bump, and includes the same material as the first bump; the second outer electrode includes a second metal layer ([0039] – Sn plating layer) on at least a position that comes into contact with the second bump, and includes the same material to the second bump; and a thickness of the first bump and a thickness of the second bump in the first direction are equal to or greater than about 4.5 μm ([0044]), and in a sectional view in the first direction and the third direction, the first and second bumps do not overlap in the first direction an entirety of a portion of the first principal surface that is exposed from each of the first and second outer electrodes and is provided between the first and second outer electrodes (fig. 1-2; it is noted that a portion of 6 is not covered by 16 (i.e. 16 do not cover an entire portion of the first principal surface that is exposed from each of the first and second outer electrodes (i.e. the first and second bumps do not overlap in the first direction an entirety of a portion of the first principal surface that is exposed from each of the first and second outer electrodes and is provided between the first and second outer electrodes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate bumps as taught by Fujita ‘719 with the capacitor of Togawa ‘439 to obtain a capacitor with improved protection from noise.
In regards to claim 2,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719 further discloses wherein thicknesses of the first metal layer and the second metal layer are equal to or greater than about 0.3 μm ([0079] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 3,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719 further discloses wherein a proportion of an area of a flat region of the second principal surface of the capacitor body relative to an area of the second principal surface is equal to or greater than about 0.8 (fig. 1 of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 6,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719 further discloses wherein the first outer electrode is provided on the first principal surface and the first end surface; and the second outer electrode is provided on the first principal surface and the second end surface of the capacitor body (fig. 1-3 of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 8,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of dielectric layers includes BaTiO3, CaTiO3, SrTiO3, SrZrO3, or CaZrO3 as a major component ([0035] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 9,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of dielectric layers includes a Mn compound, a Fe compound, a Cr compound, a Co compound, or a Ni compound in a smaller amount than the major component ([0035] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 10,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of first inner electrodes and the plurality of second inner electrodes includes Ni, Ag, Pd, Au, Cu, Ti, or Cr, or an alloy including any of Ni, Ag, Pd, Au, Cu, Ti, or Cr as a major component ([0047] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 13,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719 further discloses wherein the first outer electrode includes a first foundation electrode layer (26a– fig. 3; [0057] of Togawa ‘439) and the first metal layer (32a – fig. 3; [0078]) on the first foundation electrode layer; and the second outer electrode includes a second foundation electrode layer (26b – fig. 3; [0057] of Togawa ‘439) and the second metal layer (32b – fig. 3; [0078]) on the second foundation electrode layer.
In regards to claim 14,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719 further discloses wherein each of the first and second foundation electrode layers is a baked electrode layer including glass and a metal ([0058-0059] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 15,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719 further discloses wherein the metal includes Cu, Ni, Ag, Pd, Ti, Cr, or Au, or an alloy including any of Cu, Ni, Ag, Pd, Ti, Cr, or Au ([0058-0059] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 16,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719 further discloses wherein each of the first and second foundation electrode layers is a resin electrode layer ([0061] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 17,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719 further discloses wherein each of the first and second foundation electrode layers is a thin film electrode layer ([0074] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 18,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719 further discloses wherein the thin film electrode layer has a thickness of equal to or less than about 1 μm ([0074] of Togawa ‘439).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togawa ‘439 in view of Nishimura ‘029.
In regards to claim 1,
Togawa ‘439 discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a capacitor body (12 – fig. 1; [0031]) including:
a plurality of dielectric layers (14 – fig. 3; [0032]);
a plurality of first inner electrodes (16 – fig. 1; [0031]);
a plurality of second inner electrodes (16 – fig. 1; [0031]);
a first principal surface (12b – fig. 1; [0031]) and a second principal surface (12a – fig. 1; [0031]) opposed to each other in a first direction;
a first side surface (12c – fig. 1; [0031]) and a second side surface (12d – fig. 1; [0031]) opposed to each other in a second direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the first direction; and
a first end surface (12e – fig. 1; [0031]) and a second end surface (12f – fig. 1; [0031]) opposed to each other in a third direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction;
a first outer electrode (24 – fig. 1-3; [0049-0051]) on at least the first principal surface, and electrically coupled to the first inner electrodes;
a second outer electrode (24 – fig. 1-3; [0049-0051]) on at least the first principal surface, and electrically coupled to the second inner electrodes;
wherein the first outer electrode and the second outer electrode are not provided on the second principal surface of the capacitor body (fig. 1). Togawa ‘439 fails to disclose a first bump on a surface on a first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including one of Au, Cu, or Al; and a second bump on a surface on the first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including a same material as the first bump; the first outer electrode includes a first metal layer on at least a position that comes into contact with the first bump, and includes the same material as the first bump; the second outer electrode includes a second metal layer on at least a position that comes into contact with the second bump, and includes the same material to the second bump; and a thickness of the first bump and a thickness of the second bump in the first direction are equal to or greater than about 4.5 μm, and in a sectional view in the first direction and the third direction, the first and second bumps do not overlap in the first direction an entirety of a portion of the first principal surface that is exposed from each of the first and second outer electrodes and is provided between the first and second outer electrodes.
Nishimura ‘029 discloses a first bump (4 – fig. 4; [0040]) on a surface on a first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including one of Au, Cu, or Al ([0048]); and a second bump (5 – fig. 4; [0040]) on a surface on the first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including a same material as the first bump ([0048]); the first outer electrode includes a first metal layer ([0058] – Sn plating layer) on at least a position that comes into contact with the first bump, and includes the same material as the first bump; the second outer electrode includes a second metal layer ([0058] – Sn plating layer) on at least a position that comes into contact with the second bump, and includes the same material to the second bump; and a thickness of the first bump and a thickness of the second bump in the first direction is a result effective variable, particularly for reducing equivalent series resistance and equivalent series inductance, particularly for reducing vibrations ([0095]), and in a sectional view in the first direction and the third direction, the first and second bumps do not overlap in the first direction an entirety of a portion of the first principal surface that is exposed from each of the first and second outer electrodes and is provided between the first and second outer electrodes (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate bumps as taught by Nishimura ‘029 with the capacitor of Togawa ‘439 and to form said bumps to have a thickness of about 4.5 μm or more to obtain a capacitor with improved protection from vibration. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 2,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein thicknesses of the first metal layer and the second metal layer are equal to or greater than about 0.3 μm ([0079] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 3,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein a proportion of an area of a flat region of the second principal surface of the capacitor body relative to an area of the second principal surface is equal to or greater than about 0.8 (fig. 1 of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 6,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein the first outer electrode is provided on the first principal surface and the first end surface; and the second outer electrode is provided on the first principal surface and the second end surface of the capacitor body (fig. 1-3 of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 8,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of dielectric layers includes BaTiO3, CaTiO3, SrTiO3, SrZrO3, or CaZrO3 as a major component ([0035] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 9,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of dielectric layers includes a Mn compound, a Fe compound, a Cr compound, a Co compound, or a Ni compound in a smaller amount than the major component ([0035] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 10,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of first inner electrodes and the plurality of second inner electrodes includes Ni, Ag, Pd, Au, Cu, Ti, or Cr, or an alloy including any of Ni, Ag, Pd, Au, Cu, Ti, or Cr as a major component ([0047] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 13,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein the first outer electrode includes a first foundation electrode layer (26a– fig. 3; [0057] of Togawa ‘439) and the first metal layer (32a – fig. 3; [0078]) on the first foundation electrode layer; and the second outer electrode includes a second foundation electrode layer (26b – fig. 3; [0057] of Togawa ‘439) and the second metal layer (32b – fig. 3; [0078]) on the second foundation electrode layer.
In regards to claim 14,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein each of the first and second foundation electrode layers is a baked electrode layer including glass and a metal ([0058-0059] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 15,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein the metal includes Cu, Ni, Ag, Pd, Ti, Cr, or Au, or an alloy including any of Cu, Ni, Ag, Pd, Ti, Cr, or Au ([0058-0059] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 16,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein each of the first and second foundation electrode layers is a resin electrode layer ([0061] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 17,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein each of the first and second foundation electrode layers is a thin film electrode layer ([0074] of Togawa ‘439).
In regards to claim 18,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein the thin film electrode layer has a thickness of equal to or less than about 1 μm ([0074] of Togawa ‘439).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719 or Nishimura ‘029 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ritter et al. (US 2004/0257748).
In regards to claim 11,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719 or Nishimura ‘029 fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of first inner electrodes and the plurality of second inner electrodes includes a same material as the plurality of dielectric layers.
Ritter '748 discloses wherein each of the first inner electrodes and the second inner electrodes includes a same dielectric ceramic material as that included in the plurality of dielectric layers ([0163]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the inner electrodes of Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719 or Nishimura ‘029 using a material as taught by Ritter '748 to control shrinkage of the internal electrodes during firing.
In regards to claim 12,
Togawa ‘439 as modified by Fujita ‘719/Nishimura ‘029 and Ritter '748 further discloses wherein a content percentage of the same material is each of the plurality of first inner electrode layers and the plurality of second inner electrode layers is about 20% by volume or less ([0163]).
Claim(s) 1 & 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al. (US 2014/0268488) in view of Nishimura ‘029.
In regards to claim 1,
Hattori ‘488 discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a capacitor body (10 – fig. 1; [0025]) including:
a plurality of dielectric layers (fig. 3-4; [0027]);
a plurality of first inner electrodes (11 – fig. 3-4; [0027]);
a plurality of second inner electrodes (12 – fig. 3-4; [0027]);
a first principal surface (1 – fig. 1; [0026]) and a second principal surface (2 – fig. 1; [0026]) opposed to each other in a first direction;
a first side surface (3 – fig. 1; [0026]) and a second side surface (4 – fig. 1; [0026]) opposed to each other in a second direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the first direction; and
a first end surface (5 – fig. 1; [0026]) and a second end surface (6 – fig. 1; [0026]) opposed to each other in a third direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction;
a first outer electrode (15 – fig. 2-4; [0027]) on at least the first principal surface, and electrically coupled to the first inner electrodes;
a second outer electrode (16 – fig. 2-4; [0027]) on at least the first principal surface, and electrically coupled to the second inner electrodes;
wherein the first outer electrode and the second outer electrode are not provided on the second principal surface of the capacitor body (fig. 2-4). Hattori ‘488 fails to disclose a first bump on a surface on a first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including one of Au, Cu, or Al; and a second bump on a surface on the first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including a same material as the first bump; the first outer electrode includes a first metal layer on at least a position that comes into contact with the first bump, and includes the same material as the first bump; the second outer electrode includes a second metal layer on at least a position that comes into contact with the second bump, and includes the same material to the second bump; and a thickness of the first bump and a thickness of the second bump in the first direction are equal to or greater than about 4.5 μm, and in a sectional view in the first direction and the third direction, the first and second bumps do not overlap in the first direction an entirety of a portion of the first principal surface that is exposed from each of the first and second outer electrodes and is provided between the first and second outer electrodes.
Nishimura ‘029 discloses a first bump (4 – fig. 4; [0040]) on a surface on a first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including one of Au, Cu, or Al ([0048]); and a second bump (5 – fig. 4; [0040]) on a surface on the first principal surface side of the capacitor body, and including a same material as the first bump ([0048]); the first outer electrode includes a first metal layer ([0058] – Sn plating layer) on at least a position that comes into contact with the first bump, and includes the same material as the first bump; the second outer electrode includes a second metal layer ([0058] – Sn plating layer) on at least a position that comes into contact with the second bump, and includes the same material to the second bump; and a thickness of the first bump and a thickness of the second bump in the first direction is a result effective variable, particularly for reducing equivalent series resistance and equivalent series inductance, particularly for reducing vibrations ([0095]), and in a sectional view in the first direction and the third direction, the first and second bumps do not overlap in the first direction an entirety of a portion of the first principal surface that is exposed from each of the first and second outer electrodes and is provided between the first and second outer electrodes (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate bumps as taught by Nishimura ‘029 with the capacitor of Hattori ‘488 and to form said bumps to have a thickness of about 4.5 μm or more to obtain a capacitor with improved protection from vibration. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 4,
Hattori ‘488 as modified by Nishimura ‘029 further discloses wherein a Young's modulus of the capacitor body is equal to or greater than about 67 GPa ([0040] of Hattori ‘488).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
JP2018190952A – fig. 1 & 14 JP2022019625A – fig. 1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847