DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 14, 22-29, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2022/204156.
14. A method of forming a three-dimensional object, comprising:
irradiating the resin composition with actinic radiation or light, said resin composition comprising at least one reactive compound having a filler moiety covalently attached thereto, wherein the reactive compound is selected from the group consisting of a monomer, prepolymer, a chain extender, and a reactive diluent (WO2022/204156: paras. 0020,0022,0041,0052,0056,0061, and 0105 the piezoelectric composite, which comprises a piezoelectric particle covalently bonded to a polymer material that remains with the 3D printed article, constitutes the claimed resin composition),
thereby forming the three-dimensional object (WO2022/204156: paras. 0020,0022,0041,0052,0056,0061, and 0105; the polymer material can be a UV curable polymer material that is 3D printed).
22. The method of claim 14, wherein the filler moiety scatters light in a range of about 100 nm to about 700 nm (WO2022/204156: para. 0076; particles can be quartz which are known to scatter light at about 200-700nm).
23. The method of claim 14, wherein the filler moiety has an average diameter in a range of about 0.02 pm to about 200 pm (WO2022/204156: para. 0076; particles have a diameter of about 2 to 25 microns).
24. The method of claim 14, wherein the filler moiety is an organic filler moiety (WO2022/204156: para. 0075; particles can be cane sugar which is organic).
25. The method of claim 14, wherein the filler moiety is an inorganic filler moiety (WO2022/204156: para. 0075; particles can be quartz, which is inorganic).
26. The method of claim 14, wherein the resin composition comprises precursors to a polyurethane, polyurea, polyisocyanurate, a silicone, an epoxy, a cyanate ester, or a combination of any of the foregoing (WO2022/204156: para. 0043; the polymeric/curable material can be a (meth)acrylate epoxy monomer).
27. The method of claim 14, wherein the reactive compound comprises a light polymerizable monomer (WO2022/204156: para. 0041-0043; the polymer/curable material can be cured by UV electromagnetic light).
28. The method of claim 14, wherein the reactive compound comprises a prepolymer and/or chain extender and at least a portion of the resin composition reacts to form a polyurethane, polyurea, a polyisocyanurate, or any combination thereof (WO2022/204156: para. 0043; the polymer/curable material can be (meth)acrylate urethane monomer).
29. The method of claim 28, wherein the prepolymer is a blocked or reactive blocked prepolymer and/or the chain extender is a blocked or reactive blocked chain extender (WO2022/204156: para. 0043; the polymer/curable material can be a (meth)acrylate urethane, which is a reactive block monomer).
32. The method of claim 14, wherein the resin composition is devoid or substantially devoid of one or more of: (b) a pigment that is not bound to a reactive compound, and (c) a dye that is not bound to a reactive compound (WO2022/204156: para. 0087; since a colorant may be added to the composition implies the colorant does not have to be added).
Claim(s) 15-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeSimone et al (USP2015/0097315) in view of WO2022/204156.
Regarding claim 15, DeSimone et al teach:
15. A method of forming a three-dimensional object, comprising:
(a) providing a carrier and an optically transparent member having a build surface, the carrier and the build surface defining a build region therebetween (DeSimone et al: figs 1-2);
(b) filling the build region with the resin composition (DeSimone et al: para. 0148; claims 1-13);
(c) irradiating the build region with light through the optically transparent member to solidify at least a portion of the resin composition (DeSimone et al: para. 0148; claims 1-13);
(d) advancing said carrier away from the build surface (DeSimone et al: para. 0148; claims 1-13); and
(e) repeating steps (b) through (d) to form a solid polymer scaffold (DeSimone et al: para. 0148; claims 1-13).
However, DeSimone et al do not teach the resin composition comprising at least one reactive compound having a filler moiety covalently attached thereto, wherein the reactive compound is selected from the group consisting of a monomer, prepolymer, a chain extender, and a reactive diluent. It should be noted that DeSimone et al using any polymerizable liquid including a polymer liquid containing any type of particle (DeSimone et al: paras. 0105 and 0121). WO2022/204156 teaches a piezoelectric composite, which comprises piezoelectric particles covalently bonded to a polymer material that remains with the 3D printed article (WO2022/204156: paras. 0020,0022,0041,0052,0056,0061, and 0105). Since DeSimone et al and WO2022/204156 are analogous with respect to 3D printing polymerizable liquids containing particles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the piezoelectric particles of WO2022/204156 into the polymerizable liquid of DeSimone et al in order to efficiently form a piezoelectric composite having an enhances piezoelectric response when mechanically strained.
Regarding claim 16, DeSimone et al teach the claimed three-dimensional intermediate (DeSimone et al: para. 0148; claims 1-13) but do not explicitly teach the claimed further reacted to form the three-dimensional object. Since dual curing stereolithography is well-known in the additive manufacturing art, as supported by the instant specification at para 0005, for its efficiency, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a further reacting step into the process of DeSimone et al in order to improve efficiency without compromising product quality.
Regarding claim 17, DeSimone et al do not explicitly teach the claimed further reacted comprising heating, microwave irradiation, irradiation at a same or different wavelength, and/or exposure to moisture. Since dual curing stereolithography including a further heating and/or exposure to moisture are well-known in the additive manufacturing art, as supported by the instant specification at para 0005, for its efficiency, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a further reacting step of heating and/or moisture into the process of DeSimone et al in order to improve efficiency without compromising product quality.
Regarding claim 18, DeSimone et al do not teach a dual cure resin. Since dual curing stereolithography including the use of dual cure resins is well-known in the additive manufacturing art, as supported by the instant specification at para 0005, for its efficiency, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a dual cure resin in the process of DeSimone et al in order to improve product quality and cycle time without compromising product quality.
Regarding claim 19, such is taught by (DeSimone et al: para. 0010-0011 and 0148; claims 1-13).
Regarding claim 21, DeSimone et al do not teach degrading the scaffold and using it as a constituent necessary for the solidification or curing of the unsolidified and/or uncured resin. Since dual curing stereolithography including the use of a degraded first component to aid in the solidification or curing of the second component is well-known in the additive manufacturing art for its efficiency, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use dual cure resins as set forth in claim 21 in the process of DeSimone et al in order to improve cycle time without compromising product quality.
Claim(s) 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022/204156 as applied to claims 28 above.
Regarding claim 30, WO2022/204156 does not teach a chain extender comprising a polyamine and/or polyol. Since chain extenders are well-known in the polymer art for increasing viscosity and enhancing melt strength for extrusion molding processes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a chain extender, polyamine and/or polyol, into the composition of WO2022/204156 in order to enhance the 3D printing of WO2022/204156.
Regarding claim 31, WO2022/204156 teaches the reactive compound (WO2022/204156: para. 0043: (meth)acrylate urethane); and a photoinitiator (WO2022/204156: paras 0041-0043). However, WO2022/204156 does not teach a chain extender. Since chain extenders are well-known in the polymer art for increasing viscosity and enhancing melt strength for extrusion molding processes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a chain extender into the composition of WO2022/204156 in order to enhance the 3D printing of WO2022/204156.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022/204156 as applied to claims 14 above.
Regarding claim 33, WO2022/204156 teaches a reactive blocked (meth)acrylate urethane (WO2022/204156: para. 0043) crosslinked/covalently bonded to piezoelectric particles (WO2022/204156: para. 0042); and a photoinitiator (WO2022/204156: paras 0041-0043). However, WO2022/204156 does not teach a chain extender, polyamine or polyol; and an organic filler moiety comprising a copolymer comprising styrene and acrylonitrile units. Since chain extenders like polyamine or polyol, and organic fillers like copolymers of styrene and acrylonitrile units are well-known in the polymer art for improving process and product quality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include polyamine or polyol, and organic fillers like copolymers of styrene and acrylonitrile units into the composition of WO2022/204156 in order to enhance the 3D printing of WO2022/204156 and improve the strength of the 3D product.
Applicants’ arguments filed 6/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue the piezoelectric particles of WO2022/204156 is covalently bonded to a thermoplastic polymer, which is not the same as being covalently bonded to a reactive compound of a curable resin. This argument is misplaced since the piezoelectric particles of WO2022/204156 can also be crosslinked/covalent bonded to the UV EM light curable resin (WO2022/204156: para. 0042).
Applicants should note the well-known statements made by the examiner in the prior art rejections of the non-final Office action mailed 3/31/26 are now considered as admitted prior art since applicants did not traverse the statements in the most recent remarks filed 8/14/20. See MPEP 2144.03(C).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach 3D printing composites comprising a filler covalently bonded to a resin: US 2022/0259387; WO2022/204197; USPN 6322728; and USP 20160322560.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744