DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1-6 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Japanese Patent Publication No. 2004/144734 ("Isao").
Regarding claim 1, Isao discloses a sensing circuit comprising:
an integrator (24, Fig. 12) configured to generate an analog output signal (qΣ, Fig. 12) by integrating an analog input signal (q, Figs. 12-13, paragraph [0091]);
an analog/digital converter (25, Fig. 12) configured to convert the analog output signal into a digital output signal (qd, Figs. 12, 14, paragraphs [0096], [0098]); and
a controller (26, Fig. 12) configured to discharge the analog output signal (paragraph [0099]) when, during an integration period of the integrator (24, Fig. 12, paragraphs [0093], [0100] –[0101], steps S1-S4, Fig. 15 are repeated within a certain period until there is a sufficient amount to take the average value, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this period is the integration period), the digital output signal (qd, Figs. 12, 14) reaches a first threshold value (k, paragraphs [0096]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 10, Isao discloses an optical sensor comprising:
a light-sensing element (20 PMT, Fig. 12) configured to generate a light sense signal (output current q, Fig. 12, see paragraphs [0089]-[0090]); and the sensing circuit (Fig. 12) according to claim 1, configured to receive the light sense signal (q, Fig. 12) as the analog input signal (q is analog signal to be integrated by the analog integrator 24, Figs. 12-12, paragraph [0091]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isao in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0375484 ("Lin").
Regarding claim 3, Isao discloses the sensing circuit according to claim 1, but does not disclose the specific details of the integrator.
However, Lin discloses an integrator includes:
an operational amplifier (IA, Fig. 3A) configured to have an inverting input terminal connected to an application terminal for the analog input signal (see Fig. 3A, paragraph [0056]), a non-inverting input terminal connected to an application terminal for a bias voltage (VREF, Fig. 3A), and an output terminal connected to an application terminal for the analog output signal (INT_VOUT, Fig. 3A); an integral capacitance (Cint, Fig. 3A) configured to be connected between the inverting input terminal and the output terminal of the operational amplifier (see Fig. 3A); and a discharge switch (RESET, Fig. 3A) configured to be connected in parallel with the integral capacitance (Cint, Fig. 3A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the integrator as disclosed by Lin in the device of Isao in order to be able to reset the integrator and avoid long-term saturation.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isao in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0376850 ("Mudegowdar").
Regarding claim 9, Isao discloses the sensing circuit according to claim 1, but does not disclose that the analog/digital converter is of a successive-approximation-register type.
However, Mudegowdar discloses analog/digital converter is of a successive-approximation-register type (see Fig. 3, paragraph [0018]).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a SAR-type analog/digital converter as disclosed by Mudegowdar in the device of Isao in order to provide a fast, low-power digitization with simple logic.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, and 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 2, the invention as claimed, specifically in combination with: the controller generates integral value data by adding up a signal value of the digital output signal immediately before discharging of the analog output signal and a signal value of the digital output signal immediately before an end of the integration period, is not taught or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Regarding claims 4-8, the invention as claimed, specifically in combination with: the controller calculates a first average value of the digital output signal at a lapse of a predetermined time after turning off the discharge switch and calculates a second average value of the digital output signal immediately before discharging of the analog output signal or immediately before an end of the integration period, the controller taking a difference value obtained by subtracting the first average value from the second average value as a signal value of the digital output signal immediately before the discharging of the analog output signal or immediately before the end of the integration period, is not taught or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/MONICA T TABA/Examiner, Art Unit 2878