DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to remarks filed on 07/22/2026. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 2-6 are newly added. Claims 1-6 are now pending in the instant application. A complete response to applicants remarks follows here below.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner withdraws the Claim Interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112 (f) as the claims have been amended to recite sufficient structure to avoid such interpretation.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to prior art claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner’s Suggestion
The Examiner suggests adding the article --“a”-- after “measure” and before “time” at line 3 of claim 2 so as to resemble the claim language reflected at each of dependent claims 3 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delahaye (US 20220076040 A1) in combination with Hashimoto (US 20210300401 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 (currently amended): Delahaye discloses an inattentiveness determination device (Refer to para [039]; “FIG. 1 shows the front of a motor vehicle 1 (also called “vehicle 1” below) with an on-board device 10 for detecting the distraction of a driver 4 of the vehicle 1.”) comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions (Refer to para [010]; “a processing module”) and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (Refer to para [010]; “a processing module for processing the acquired image”): acquire a photographed image of a driver driving a moving object (Refer to para [008]; “an image acquisition assembly designed to acquire at least one image of a detection area located in said vehicle, said detection area comprising at least part of the driver of the vehicle,”); and output an alert (“an emission module 30 for emitting an alarm signal.”) detect a gaze direction of the driver based on the photographed image (Refer to para [050]; “The processing module 24 is also designed to determine a gaze direction of the driver 4 when images are acquired by the two-dimensional sensor 23.”) detect a face direction of the driver based on the photographed image (Refer to para [045]; “The two-dimensional sensor 23 is designed for example to capture an image of the face of the driver 4, and in particular of his eyes.”) and determine whether a face of the driver can be detected based on the photographed image (Refer to para [048]; “The processing module 24 is designed to receive the acquired images and determine a posture of the driver 4 in the vehicle 1.”) in a case where both of the gaze direction and the face direction cannot be detected (Refer to para [075, 076 and 080]; “In this step E44, the other image is also processed in order to determine a position of the head and a gaze direction of the driver 4 (this gaze direction, as already indicated, being one example of a direction associated with the head of the driver). At the end of step E44, the processing module 24 has therefore determined the representation of the posture of the driver 4 and his gaze direction. If the gaze of the driver 4 is not oriented toward the hand located outside the permitted area, the method returns to step E42.” ) and output an alert in a case where the face of the driver cannot be detected (Refer to para [081-085]; “As in step E12, the time measurement module 28 measures the detection time for which the head of the driver remains directed toward his hand, that is to say the time for which the hand is located in the determined gaze direction. This detection time is then compared with a predetermined threshold (step E54). If the detection time is less than this predetermined threshold, the driver is not considered to be distracted and the method returns to step E42. By contrast, if the detection time is greater than or equal to the predetermined threshold, the method continues with steps E56 and E58 (similar to steps E16 and E18). In these steps, the analysis module 26 determines whether the driver is in a driving condition. In particular, the driver is in a driving condition if an autonomous driving unit 50 is not being used or if the speed of the vehicle 1 is greater than a predetermined speed value. In step E56, the analysis module checks for example whether the autonomous driving unit 50 is being used. If so, the driver 4 is not considered to be distracted from his driving, since the autonomous driving unit is assisting him. The method then returns to step E42.”).
Delahaye discloses a “an image acquisition assembly”, which the Examiner asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the “processing module for processing” would include a memory based medium attached to the processing module to include stored instructions.
Although Delahaye discloses “an emission module 30 for emitting an alarm signal.”, Delahaye does not expressly disclose outputting an alert that is audible.
Hashimoto teaches “… an information processing device, a moving body, an information processing method, and a program capable of changing a notification content to a driver depending on the degree to which the driver is aware of an object around a vehicle.”
Hashimoto expressly teaches “FIG. 13 is a hardware configuration diagram illustrating an example of a computer that implements the function of an information processing device according to the embodiment…” capable to output an alert in a case where the face of the driver cannot be detected (Refer to para [042]; “For example, the output control unit 105 also generates voice data including a warning sound or a warning message that is an alert for a collision based on the degree to which the driver is aware of an object, and supplies an output signal including the generated voice data to the output unit 106. At this time, the output control unit 105 may generate image data in which an external image captured by the image capturing device of the data acquisition unit 102 is superposed with a warning display or the like that is an alert for a collision based on the degree of awareness of the driver, and supply an output signal including the generated image data to the output unit 106. The object includes an object that is moving (moving object) and a stationary object.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Delahaye by adding a processor capable to provide “… image data in which an external image captured by the image capturing device of the data acquisition unit 102 is superposed with a warning display…” as taught by Hashimoto.
The suggestion/motivation for combining the teachings of Delahaye and Hashimoto would have been in order to enhance the situational awareness in order to “determines whether the position of the object and the direction of the driver's face are in the same direction by using the spatial information mapped.” (At para [148], Hashimoto).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Delahaye and Hashimoto in order to obtain the specified claimed elements of Claim 1. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the Examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding Claim 6 (new): Delahaye a vehicle (Refer to para [039]; “FIG. 1 shows the front of a motor vehicle 1 (also called “vehicle 1” below) with an on-board device 10 for detecting the distraction of a driver 4 of the vehicle 1.”) comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions (Refer to para [010]; “a processing module”) and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (Refer to para [010]; “a processing module for processing the acquired image”): acquire a photographed image of a driver driving a moving object (Refer to para [008]; “an image acquisition assembly designed to acquire at least one image of a detection area located in said vehicle, said detection area comprising at least part of the driver of the vehicle,”); detect a gaze direction of the driver based on the photographed image (Refer to para [050]; “The processing module 24 is also designed to determine a gaze direction of the driver 4 when images are acquired by the two-dimensional sensor 23.”) detect a face direction of the driver based on the photographed image (Refer to para [045]; “The two-dimensional sensor 23 is designed for example to capture an image of the face of the driver 4, and in particular of his eyes.”) and determine whether a face of the driver can be detected based on the photographed image (Refer to para [048]; “The processing module 24 is designed to receive the acquired images and determine a posture of the driver 4 in the vehicle 1.”) in a case where both of the gaze direction and the face direction cannot be detected (Refer to para [075, 076 and 080]; “In this step E44, the other image is also processed in order to determine a position of the head and a gaze direction of the driver 4 (this gaze direction, as already indicated, being one example of a direction associated with the head of the driver). At the end of step E44, the processing module 24 has therefore determined the representation of the posture of the driver 4 and his gaze direction. If the gaze of the driver 4 is not oriented toward the hand located outside the permitted area, the method returns to step E42.” ) and output an alert in a case where the face of the driver cannot be detected (Refer to para [081-085]; “As in step E12, the time measurement module 28 measures the detection time for which the head of the driver remains directed toward his hand, that is to say the time for which the hand is located in the determined gaze direction. This detection time is then compared with a predetermined threshold (step E54). If the detection time is less than this predetermined threshold, the driver is not considered to be distracted and the method returns to step E42. By contrast, if the detection time is greater than or equal to the predetermined threshold, the method continues with steps E56 and E58 (similar to steps E16 and E18). In these steps, the analysis module 26 determines whether the driver is in a driving condition. In particular, the driver is in a driving condition if an autonomous driving unit 50 is not being used or if the speed of the vehicle 1 is greater than a predetermined speed value. In step E56, the analysis module checks for example whether the autonomous driving unit 50 is being used. If so, the driver 4 is not considered to be distracted from his driving, since the autonomous driving unit is assisting him. The method then returns to step E42.”).
Delahaye discloses a “an image acquisition assembly”, which the Examiner asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the “processing module for processing” would include a memory based medium attached to the processing module to include stored instructions.
Although Delahaye discloses “an emission module 30 for emitting an alarm signal.”, Delahaye does not expressly disclose outputting an alert that is audible.
Hashimoto teaches “… an information processing device, a moving body, an information processing method, and a program capable of changing a notification content to a driver depending on the degree to which the driver is aware of an object around a vehicle.”
Hashimoto expressly teaches “FIG. 13 is a hardware configuration diagram illustrating an example of a computer that implements the function of an information processing device according to the embodiment…” capable to output an alert in a case where the face of the driver cannot be detected (Refer to para [042]; “For example, the output control unit 105 also generates voice data including a warning sound or a warning message that is an alert for a collision based on the degree to which the driver is aware of an object, and supplies an output signal including the generated voice data to the output unit 106. At this time, the output control unit 105 may generate image data in which an external image captured by the image capturing device of the data acquisition unit 102 is superposed with a warning display or the like that is an alert for a collision based on the degree of awareness of the driver, and supply an output signal including the generated image data to the output unit 106. The object includes an object that is moving (moving object) and a stationary object.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Delahaye by adding a processor capable to provide “… image data in which an external image captured by the image capturing device of the data acquisition unit 102 is superposed with a warning display…” as taught by Hashimoto.
The suggestion/motivation for combining the teachings of Delahaye and Hashimoto would have been in order to enhance the situational awareness in order to “determines whether the position of the object and the direction of the driver's face are in the same direction by using the spatial information mapped.” (At para [148], Hashimoto).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Delahaye and Hashimoto in order to obtain the specified claimed elements of Claim 6. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the Examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is allowed.
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mimar (US 20140139655 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MIA M. THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2665
/MIA M THOMAS/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2665