DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220252964 A1 to Kim et al.
Regarding Claim 1. Kim discloses a lens assembly comprising: a first lens barrel (Fig. 3 first lens barrel 100); a second lens barrel (Fig. 3 second lens barrel 200) disposed in front of the first lens barrel while surrounding at least a portion of the first lens barrel (as shown in Fig. 3); and a first lens (Fig. 3 front lens L1) disposed in front of the second lens barrel in contact with a portion of the second lens barrel (para 65), wherein a thermal conductance of the second lens barrel is higher than a thermal conductance of the first lens barrel (para 66).
Regarding Claim 2. Kim further discloses the first lens assembly is made of a synthetic resin, and the second lens barrel is made of metal (para 53).
Regarding Claim 3. Kim further discloses the second lens barrel comprises a gap maintaining portion (Fig. 3 gap maintaining member 660) and a body portion (See Fig. 3 barrel 200) , the first lens is disposed in front of the gap maintaining portion (See Fig. 3), and a portion of the first lens barrel is disposed inside the body portion (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 10. Kim further discloses a seating groove is formed in a circumferential direction of the second lens barrel in a front surface of the second lens barrel, the seating groove overlaps the first lens in an optical axis direction (See Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 internal space 202), and the lens assembly further comprises a sealing member disposed in the seating groove (Fig. 3 member 610).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 1 in view of US 5894369 A to Akiba et al.
Regarding Claim 8. As stated above, Kim discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Kim does not specifically disclose that a thermal conductance of the second lens barrel is higher than a thermal conductance of the first lens.
However, Akiba discloses a thermal conductance of the second lens barrel is higher than a thermal conductance of the first lens (Col 6 lines 6-13 “the lens barrel 11 and spacer ring 17 are cooled down more quickly than center portions of the first lens element L1”) so moister condense on the lens barrel as opposed to the center of the lens.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that a thermal conductance of the second lens barrel is higher than a thermal conductance of the first lens.
Regarding Claim 9. Kim further discloses the lens assembly further comprises a cap supporting the first lens (Fig. 3 cover member 500).
Kim does not specifically disclose that the cap is made of a same material as the second lens barrel.
However, Akiba discloses should moisture exist in the air gap between the first and second lens elements, it tends to condense firstly on those surfaces which are at lower temperatures (Col 6 lines 6-13) so moister condense on the cap and lens barrel as opposed to the center of the lens.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that the cap is made of a same material as the second lens barrel.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220252964 A1 to Kim et al. in view of US 5894369 A to Akiba et al.
Regarding Claim 11. Kim discloses a lens assembly comprising: a first lens barrel (Fig. 3 first lens barrel 100); a second lens barrel disposed in front of the first lens barrel while surrounding at least a portion of the first lens barrel (Fig. 3 second lens barrel 200); and a first lens (Fig. 3 front lens L1) disposed in front of the second lens barrel (See Fig. 3), wherein the second lens barrel comprises a gap maintaining portion contacting the first lens and separating the first lens from the first lens barrel (Fig. 3 gap maintaining member 660).
Kim does not specifically disclose that a thermal conductance of the gap maintaining portion is higher than a thermal conductance of the first lens.
However, Akiba discloses a thermal conductance of the gap maintaining portion is higher than a thermal conductance of the first lens (Col 6 lines 6-13 “the lens barrel 11 and spacer ring 17 are cooled down more quickly than center portions of the first lens element L1”) so moister condense on the lens barrel as opposed to the center of the lens.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that a thermal conductance of the gap maintaining portion is higher than a thermal conductance of the first lens.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871