DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: interface and power management unit in claims 1 – 3, 10 and 11.
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Proefke et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0061108 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Proefke discloses a system for power management of a vehicle (Passive power mode control for electric propulsion vehicles ¶ 34) comprising:
an interface to transmit one or more signals (Key fob, start pending, start, propulsion mode, FOB check and run power mode ¶¶ 34, 36);
a power management unit communicatively coupled to the interface (system 200 for passive power mode control, FIG. 2) to receive the one or more signals and process the one or more signals to control a run-lock mode (Off mode operations including security system, drive stat monitoring ¶ 35); wherein the run-lock mode includes selective power management of one or more components of the vehicle (During Off mode, the vehicle may be in a reduced function operation mode, operative to detect incoming control signals from a control device such as a key fob and to monitor door lock states, door opening states, and the like ¶ 51).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Proefke discloses the system and method, wherein the power management unit processes the one or more signals to control the run-lock mode which includes enabling, pausing or disabling the run-lock mode (start pending, start, propulsion mode, FOB check and run power mode ¶¶ 34, 36).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Proefke discloses the system and method, wherein the power management unit processes the one or more signals to decode one or more selected components and associated activation or deactivation status to control the run-lock mode (Depending on operating mode, certain components are activated and deactivated ¶¶ 36-41).
Regarding claim 4, Proefke discloses the system, wherein the interface is a human-machine interface to receive and convert one or more user inputs into the one or more signals (human machine interface between the vehicle control system and driver, e.g., touchscreen display ¶¶ 5, 48).
Regarding claim 5, Proefke discloses the system, wherein the human-machine interface enables selection of the one or more components of the vehicle from a predefined list (¶ 48).
Regarding claim 6, Proefke discloses the system, wherein the predefined list of one or more components of the vehicle includes auxiliary components, primary components or a combination thereof (door lock/opening ¶ 51).
Regarding claim 7, Proefke discloses the system, wherein the auxiliary components include lighting components, wiper and washer components, door lock components (¶ 51), infotainment components, heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) components, electric window components, parking assistance components, power take-off (PTO) components or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 8, Proefke the system, wherein the primary components include powertrain components, brake components, steering components, or a combination thereof (transmission position ¶ 41).
Regarding claim 9, Proefke discloses the system, wherein the interface is communicatively coupled to a sensor unit to determine one or more parameters associated with a vehicle state to generate the one or more signals (¶ 48).
Regarding claim 10, Proefke discloses the system, wherein the power management unit is communicatively coupled to the interface via at least one of a wired or wireless communication protocol (¶ 48).
Regarding claim 11, Proefke discloses the system, wherein the power management unit includes an authentication unit to validate the one or more signals (Authentication device detector ¶ 7).
Regarding claim 12, Proefke discloses a method for power management of a vehicle (300, FIG. 3), the method comprising:
receiving one or more signals (Key fob, start pending, start, propulsion mode, FOB check and run power mode ¶¶ 34, 36); and
processing one or more signals to control a run-lock mode (Off mode operations including security system, drive stat monitoring ¶ 35), wherein the run-lock mode includes selective power management of one or more components of the vehicle (During Off mode, the vehicle may be in a reduced function operation mode, operative to detect incoming control signals from a control device such as a key fob and to monitor door lock states, door opening states, and the like ¶ 51).
Regarding claim 15, Proefke discloses the method, wherein the processing further comprises validating the one or more signals (380, FIG. 3).
Conclusion
/TYLER J LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663