DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 is inconsistent with claim 1 because claim 1 recites “one or more optional second circumferential grooves” whereas claim 15 recites “one or more second circumferential grooves”. It is unclear what is minimally required in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8, 11-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumann et al. (US 2023/0158838) in view of Kuroda (US 2003/0116246) and JP’357 (JP 2018-111357).
Regarding claim 1, Baumann et al. teaches a tire comprising a tread including a tread portion (4 or 4’) and two axially outer edge portions (3 or 3’). FIG. 2 illustrates the axially outer edge portions covering at least one of the belts. [0010] teaches the axially outer belt edge has a rubber compound different than the rubber compound in an adjacent portion of the tread to render a more robust tire. As to the last three lines of claim 1, see [0027], [0028], [0035], and [0037].
Baumann et al. is silent to the claimed asymmetric tread pattern. However, providing the claimed asymmetric tread pattern in the tire of Baumann et al. would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 of Kuroda teaches a pneumatic tire comprising an asymmetric tread pattern which satisfies the claimed asymmetric tread pattern for the benefits of steering stability and riding comfort during cornering/turning movements (abstract, [0001]).
Baumann et al. is silent to the claimed concavity having a depth of at most 1.2 mm. However, providing the claimed concavity in the tire of Baumann et al. would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because FIG. 1 of JP’357 teaches a tire comprising a tread having a concave shape when the tire filled with an air pressure of 30 kPa for the benefits of rolling resistance and suppressing uneven wear of the shoulder and center region (abstract) and TABLE 1 of JP’357 teaches Dy-Dc (mm) having values of 1 mm.
Regarding claim 5, see FIG.1 of JP’357.
Regarding claim 8, FIG. 2 of Baumann et al. show two overlay layers in the central portion of the tread (11, 12).
Regarding claim 11, [0024] of Baumann et al. teaches the neighboring portion (tread cap, [0022]) is made of a rubber composition comprising at least 90 phr of at least one diene base elastomer and at least 100 phr of filler. Preferably the filler is within the range of 100 phr to 250 phr wherein at least 40 phr is silica. [0025] further discloses at with at least 150 phr of a filler, at least 90 phr is carbon black, preferably more than 100 phr of carbon black.
Regarding claims 12-13, [0097] of Baumann et al. teaches the overlay may be fiber either of metallic or textile reinforcement and official notice is taken a reinforcement including nylon fiber and aramid fiber in an overlay layer of a tire is conventional.
Regarding claim 14, FIG. 2 of Baumann et al. teaches two belts 9 and 10 and each belt has a metallic reinforcement [0090].
Baumann et al. is silent to the two belts having opposite signs with each other and each belt angle having an absolute values of 10 to 50 degrees with respect to the equatorial plane. However, providing these claimed features in the tire of Baumann et al. would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because providing two belts having opposite signs and angles within the claimed range is conventional as shown by Kuroda ([0026], FIG. 1: reference characters 7, 7A and 7B).
Regarding claim 16, see [0007] of Baumann et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection applied in this office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENDRA LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749