Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication (2005/0120501) to Rivadeneira.
Regarding independent claim 1, Rivadeneira teaches a rigid frame (14); a first shaft member (11) rotatably supported on the rigid frame (14) and arranged to support the first roller sleeve (17) thereon for rotation with the first shaft member (11) relative to the rigid frame (14) about a first roller axis (at numeral 12 horizontal axis in FIG. 5) (See paragraphs [0041]-[0044] and FIGS. 4-6);
a second shaft member (111) rotatably supported on the rigid frame (14) and arranged to support the second roller sleeve (117) thereon for rotation with the second shaft member (111) relative to the rigid frame (14) about a second roller axis (at numeral 124 vertical axis in FIG. 6), in which the second roller axis (at numeral 124 vertical axis in FIG. 6) is parallel to the first roller axis (at numeral 12 horizontal axis in FIG. 5) and spaced from the first roller axis (at numeral 12 horizontal axis in FIG. 5) within a common plane (horizontal axis in FIG. 5) of the first and second roller axes (See paragraph [0045]);
and a handle body (115) arranged to be gripped in a hand of a user, the handle body (115) being elongated along a handle axis (vertical axis), in which the handle body (115) is mounted in fixed orientation relative to the rigid frame (14) such that the handle axis (vertical axis) extends transversely to the common plane of the first and second roller axes (horizontal axis);
with the handle axis (vertical axis) lies in a handle plane oriented perpendicularly to each of the first (at numeral 12 horizontal axis in FIG. 5) and second roller axes (at numeral 124 vertical axis in FIG. 6); and
Except, Rivadeneira is silent regarding that the handle axis lies at a fixed inclination of between 25 and 70 degrees from the common plane of the first and second roller axes. is silent regarding that the handle axis lies at a fixed inclination of between 25 and 70 degrees from the common plane of the first and second roller axes. Although FIG. 6appears to show the vertical axis at least at an inclination of at least 70 degrees; however, it is not clear but modifying the vertical axis to be at least 70 degrees between the common plane or intermediate common plane would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art absent criticality in the specification to modify Rivadeneira to include the handle axis at an intermediate point in order to adjust the roller positioning for different areas for painting (See paragraph [0048] of Rivadeneira).
Regarding claim 3, Rivadeneira is silent regarding that the handle axis lies at a fixed inclination of between 40 and 70 degrees from the common plane of the first and second roller axes. Although FIG. 4 appears to show the vertical axis at least at an inclination of at least 70 degrees; however, it is not clear but modifying the vertical axis to be at least 70 degrees between the common plane or intermediate common plane would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art absent criticality in the specification to modify Rivadeneira to include the handle axis at an intermediate point in order to adjust the roller positioning for different areas for painting.
Regarding claim 4, Rivadeneira is silent regarding that the handle axis lies at a fixed inclination within a range of 25 to 40 degrees from the common plane of the first and second roller axes. However, modifying the vertical axis to be at least 40 degrees between the common plane would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art absent criticality in the specification to modify Rivadeneira to include the handle axis at an between the vertical axis point in order to adjust the roller positioning for different areas for painting.
Regarding claim 5, Rivadeneira teaches that the handle body (115) includes a threaded socket (23) formed therein so as to be arranged for attachment to an extension pole (See paragraph [0045]), but is silent regarding that the handle axis lies at a fixed inclination of between 40 and 75 degrees from the common plane of the first and second roller axes. Although FIG. 5 appears to show the vertical axis at least at an inclination of at least 75 degrees; however, it is not clear but modifying the vertical axis to be at least 75 degrees between the common plane or intermediate common plane would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art absent criticality in the specification to modify Rivadeneira to include the handle axis at an intermediate point in order to adjust the roller positioning for different areas for painting.
Regarding claim 6, Rivadeneira is silent regarding that the first and second roller axes (horizontal axes) are spaced apart from one another by a distance within a range of 3 to 4 inches. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art absent criticality in the specification to modify Rivadeneira to include the first and second roller axes to be apart 3 to 4 inches in order to adjust the roller positioning for different areas for painting.
Regarding claim 7, Rivadeneira teaches that the handle axis (vertical axis) intersects the common plane of the first and second roller axes (horizontal axis in FIG. 4) adjacent to the second roller axis (at numeral 13 in FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Rivadeneira teaches that the handle axis (vertical axis) intersects the common plane (horizontal axis) of the first and second roller axes at a location spaced from the second roller axis (at numeral 13 in FIG. 5) in a direction opposite to the first roller axis (horizontal axis at numeral 24 in FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Rivadeneira teaches the rigid frame (14) includes a crossbar (13) spanning between the first and second roller axes (horizontal axis in FIG. 5 See paragraph [0042]-[0045]) within the common plane and supporting the first (11) and second shaft members (111) rotatably thereon;
and a transverse frame member (12) extending linearly between a first end connected to the crossbar (13) within the common plane and a second end supporting the handle body (115) thereon; wherein the second end of the transverse frame member (12) is (i) spaced from the common plane (horizontal plane) of the first and second roller axes and (ii) centrally located in an axial direction of the first and second shaft members (11, 111) (See FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Rivadeneira teaches with the first and second roller sleeves (17, 117) supported on the first and second shaft members (11, 111) respectively, the first and second roller sleeves (17, 117) but is silent regarding being spaced apart from one another by a distance equal to or less than one inch. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art absent criticality in the specification to modify Rivadeneira to include the first and second roller axes to be apart by one inch in order to adjust the roller positioning for different areas for painting.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723