DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed May 11, 2026. As directed by the amendment: Claims 1, 8, 10, 12, and 18 have been amended. Claims 6, 7, 16, 17, 19, and 20 were withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application.
Examiner’s Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allard et al. (US 7,766,918), herein referred to as Allard.
Regarding claim 1, Allard discloses a cervical disc instrument (10) (figure 1), comprising a handle (100, 200, 300) that defines a cavity therein (figure 1), a trial head (110, 210) removably coupled to the handle (100, 200, 300) and configured for (i.e. capable of) insertion into a disc space (col. 4, ll. 20-21), a depth stop (400) including a depth stop drive shaft (420) and a depth stop post (410) driven by the depth stop drive shaft (420) (col. 5, ll. 12-39), the depth stop post (410) coupled to the depth stop drive shaft (420) by a pair of opposing depth stop pins (elements 412) (figure 5), and a blade (500) disposed in the cavity of the handle (100, 200, 300) (figure 1) and configured to (i.e. capable of) cut a surface that at least partially defines the disc space when the trial head is located in the disc space (col. 6, ll. 52-67).
Regarding claim 8, Allard discloses wherein the depth stop (410) is configured to (i.e. capable of) define a cutting depth of the blade (500) with respect to the surface.
Regarding claim 9, Allard discloses wherein the blade (500) extends along a longitudinal axis (figure 5) of the cervical disc instrument (10) and the depth stop (400) is offset from the longitudinal axis (figures 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 10, Allard discloses wherein the depth stop post (410) is configured to (i.e. capable of) contact the surface, and the drive shaft (420) coupled to the depth stop post (410) is engaged with a track (figures 1, 4, 5) disposed in the handle (100, 200, 300), wherein rotation of the drive shaft (420) about an axis of rotation of the drive shaft moves the depth stop post (410) axially along the axis of rotation (col. 5, ll. 40-57).
Regarding claim 11, Allard discloses wherein the blade (500) is configured to (i.e. capable of) extend through a groove (122) of the trial head (110, 210) to cut the surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 12-14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allard (US 7,766,918) in view of Fischer et al. (US 7,749,271), herein referred to as Fischer.
Regarding claim 2, Allard’s cervical disc instrument discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks wherein the trial head is removably coupled to the handle by a trial head shaft extending therebetween.
However, Fischer teaches a trial head (24) is removably coupled (col. 8, ll. 18-43) to a handle (14+16) by a trial head shaft (34) extending therebetween (figures 1 and 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Allard’s cervical disc instrument with wherein the trial head is removably coupled to the handle by a trial head shaft extending therebetween as taught by Fischer, since such a modification would result in a removable trial head.
Regarding claim 12, Allard discloses a cervical disc instrument (10) (figure 1), comprising a handle (100, 200, 300), a trial head (110, 210) that is configured for (i.e. capable of) insertion into a disc space (col. 4, ll. 20-21), a depth stop (400) including a depth stop drive shaft (420) and a depth stop post (410) driven by the depth stop drive shaft (420) (col. 5, ll. 12-39), the depth stop post (410) coupled to the depth stop drive shaft (420) by a pair of opposing depth stop pins (elements 412) (figure 5), and a blade (500) configured to (i.e. capable of) cut a surface that at least partially defines the disc space when the trial head is located in the disc space (col. 6, ll. 52-67).
Yet, Allard lacks the trial head that includes a trial head shaft and that is configured for insertion into a disc space, wherein the trial head is removably coupled to the handle by the trial head shaft, a blade disposed in a groove of the trial head shaft and configured to cut a surface that at least partially defines the disc space when the trial head is located in the disc space.
However, Fischer teaches a trial head (24) that includes a trial head shaft (34) and that is configured for (i.e. capable of) insertion into a disc space, wherein the trial head (24) is removably coupled (col. 8, ll. 18-43) to the handle (14+16) by the trial head shaft (34), a blade (112) disposed in a groove (110) of the trial head shaft (34) (figure 1) and configured to (i.e. capable of) cut a surface that at least partially defines the disc space when the trial head (24) is located in the disc space (figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Allard’s cervical disc instrument with the trial head that includes a trial head shaft and that is configured for insertion into a disc space, wherein the trial head is removably coupled to the handle by the trial head shaft, a blade disposed in a groove of the trial head shaft and configured to cut a surface that at least partially defines the disc space when the trial head is located in the disc space as taught by Fischer, since such a modification would result in a removable trial head and further guide the blade along the handle.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Allard’s cervical disc instrument has wherein the groove (110 of Fischer) extends along a longitudinal axis of the cervical disc instrument (the modified Allard’s cervical disc instrument) and the blade (figure 1 of Fischer) is configured to (i.e. capable of) move along the groove.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Allard’s cervical disc instrument has wherein the handle (100, 200, 300 of Allard) defines a cavity therein (figures 6 and 7 of Allard) and the cervical disc instrument (the modified Allard’s cervical disc instrument) further includes a rod (figures 6 and 7 of Allard) that extends through the cavity to contact (has been interpreted as indirect contact) the blade (500 of Allard).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Allard’s cervical disc instrument has wherein the depth stop (400 of Allard) is configured to (i.e. capable of) define a cutting depth of the blade with respect to the surface, wherein the depth stop (400 of Allard), the handle (100, 200, 300 of Allard), the trial head (110, 210 of Allard), and the blade (500 of Allard) are coaxial along a longitudinal axis of the cervical disc instrument (figure 5 of Allard).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allard and Fischer as applied to claims above, and further in view of Grinberg et al. (US 2006/0084986), herein referred to as Grinberg.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Allard’s cervical disc instrument discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks wherein the trial head shaft engages a latch mechanism disposed in the handle to removably couple the trial head to the handle.
However, Grinberg teaches a trial head shaft (114) engages a latch mechanism (figure 3) disposed in a handle (318) to removably couple a trial head (112) to the handle (figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the modified Allard’s cervical disc instrument with wherein the trial head shaft engages a latch mechanism disposed in the handle to removably couple the trial head to the handle as taught by Grinberg, since such a modification is a mere substitution of one known coupling mechanism for another to yield predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8-15, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/788,478 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For example, claim 1 of the co-pending application ‘478 states the features of “a blade component movably coupled to the handle, wherein a groove of the handle is configured to guide the blade along the groove of the handle” wherein it appears the terms “groove” and “cavity” are used interchangeably. Claim 9 of the co-pending application ‘478 discloses all the features/elements as claims 1 and 12 of the instant application except for a depth stop. However, claims 8-10 and 18 of the instant application clearly contemplates a depth stop. Claim 14 of the co-pending application ‘478 discloses all the features/elements as claim 1 of the instant application such as a handle, a trial head, a blade except for a latch mechanism. However, claims 3 and 4 of the instant application clearly contemplates a latch mechanism.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 11, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the references Arramon and Glerum have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SI MING KU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775