DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 9 are pending in this application and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application is a divisional application of 18/188,348, filed March 22, 2023, which claims benefit of provisional application 63/322,404, filed March 22, 2022.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/322,348, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The domestic application 63/322,404 discloses a method of treating or reducing growth of a tumor or cancer cell by administering a composition comprising an inhibitor of alanine aminotransferase. The provisional application identifies the inhibitor as “β-chloroalanine or a derivative thereof”. However, the provisional application does not disclose “β-chloro-L-alanine” specifically, does not identify any stereochemical form or L-isomer of β-chloroalanine, and does not disclose a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or functional analog of β-chloro-L-alanine. Thus, while the provisional application provides support for β-chloroalanine or a derivative thereof, it does not provide support for the limitation “β-chloro-L-alanine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt” or “functional analog” of claim 2. The provisional application discloses administration of alanine aminotransferase inhibitor by intraperitoneal. However, the provisional application does not disclose the full scope of the administration route alternatives presently recited in claim 5, including “parenteral, …, intrapericardial” and “intrapleural, ..., and transdermal”. Thus, the priority date of claims 2 and 5 is March 22, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/10/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, line 7, “parenteral” should be removed because it is repeated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 – 6 recite the limitation "β-chloro-L-alanine " in line 1. Claim 5 depends from claim 1. Claim 6 depends from claim 3, which ultimately depends from claim 1. However, claim 1 never recites “β-chloro-L-alanine”. Therefore, claims 5 – 6 lack sufficient antecedent basis to an earlier claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US10221459B2).
Wang et al. teach compositions and methods for treating cancer by inhibiting enzymes involved in glutamine metabolism. Wang et al. explain that cancer cell utilize glutamine to replenish the TCA cycle, and that glutamate is then converted to α-ketoglutarate (α-KG) to replenish the TCA cycle, with three enzyme groups converting glutamate to α-KG, including (1) glutamate pyruvate transaminases (GPTs) (Col. 1, lines 30 – 39). Wang et al. further teach a method for treating a subject having cancer, precancerous cells, or a benign tumor that has or harbors a mutated PIK3CA gene or mutant PIK3CA protein, by administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of one or more inhibitor of enzymes of glutamine metabolism pathway, such as inhibitors of glutaminase and/or inhibitors of aminotransferase (Col. 2, lines 56 – 63). Wang et al. teach that, in some embodiments, the inhibitor may be an aminotransferase inhibitor, such as aminooxyacetate (AOA) (Col. 2, lines 63 – 64). Wang et al. specifically identify the relevant alanine aminotransferase target, stating that the aminotransferase inhibitor can be a selective or partially GPT or an alanine aminotransferase inhibitor, and that an example of an alanine aminotransferase inhibitor is AOA. Wang et al. further teach that AOA inhibits enzymatic activity of aminotransaminases including GPT2 (Col. 20, lines 1 – 8). In some examples, AOA is used in cancer treatment models. Wang et al. disclose that AOA inhibits xenograft tumor growth of PIK3CA-mutant colorectal cancers. (Col. 34, lines 25 – 52). Wang et al. also teach administration of these inhibitors for cancer treatment, stating that the glutaminase inhibitor and/or aminotransferase inhibitor can be administered to subject at therapeutically effective amounts, wherein the amount is effective to substantially inhibit glutamine metabolism in the cancer cells and/or suppress cancer cell growth and/or proliferation (Col. 20, lines 9 – 16). The inhibitors may be formulated into a pharmaceutical compositions that include physiologically acceptable surface active agents and excipients (Col. 23, lines 16 – 18). Thus, Wang et al. teach a method of treating melanoma and/or glioblastomas in a subject by administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising aminotransferase inhibitor, such as AOA, and excipients, thereby addressing the limitations of claims 1. Wang et al. further teach that the pharmaceutical composition can be administer to a human patient (Col. 23, lines 48 – 49), which corresponds to the limitations “vertebrate” of claim 8 and “human” of claim 9.
Accordingly, Wang et al. anticipate the claimed subject matter because Wang et al. disclose the claimed method within a single reference. Wang et al. identify AOA as an example of an alanine aminotransferase inhibitor and provide working examples in which AOA is administered for cancer treatment and inhibits xenograft tumor growth. Wang et al. further teach that the disclosed inhibitors may be formulated into pharmaceutical compositions comprising physiologically acceptable excipients. Thus, Wang et al. disclose administering, for cancer treatment, a pharmaceutical composition comprising an alanine aminotransferase inhibitor and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, as required by claim 1.
For these reasons, Wang et al. anticipate the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US10221459B2).
Wang et al. teach compositions and methods for treating cancer by inhibiting enzymes involved in glutamine metabolism. Wang et al. explain that cancer cell utilize glutamine to replenish the TCA cycle, and that glutamate is then converted to α-ketoglutarate (α-KG) to replenish the TCA cycle, with three enzyme groups converting glutamate to α-KG, including (1) glutamate pyruvate transaminases (GPTs) (Col. 1, lines 30 – 39). Wang et al. further teach a method for treating a subject having cancer, precancerous cells, or a benign tumor that has or harbors a mutated PIK3CA gene or mutant PIK3CA protein, by administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of one or more inhibitor of enzymes of glutamine metabolism pathway, such as inhibitors of glutaminase and/or inhibitors of aminotransferase (Col. 2, lines 56 – 63). Wang et al. teach that, in some embodiments, the inhibitor may be an aminotransferase inhibitor, such as aminooxyacetate (AOA) (Col. 2, lines 63 – 64). Wang et al. specifically identify the relevant alanine aminotransferase target, stating that the aminotransferase inhibitor can be a selective or partially GPT or an alanine aminotransferase inhibitor, and that an example of an alanine aminotransferase inhibitor is AOA. Wang et al. further teach that AOA inhibits enzymatic activity of aminotransaminases including GPT2 (Col. 20, lines 1 – 8). In some examples, AOA is used in cancer treatment models. Wang et al. disclose that AOA inhibits xenograft tumor growth of PIK3CA-mutant colorectal cancers. (Col. 34, lines 25 – 52). Wang et al. also provide other examples of aminotransferase inhibitors, such as GPT2 inhibitors, include L-cycloserine and β-chloro-L-alanine (Col. 20, lines 1 – 8). Moreover, the cancer can include any tumor or cancerous cell that has a PIK3CA, including melanoma and glioblastomas (Col. 11, lines 1 – 5 and 16 – 17). Wang et al. also teach administration of these inhibitors for cancer treatment, stating that the glutaminase inhibitor and/or aminotransferase inhibitor can be administered to subject at therapeutically effective amounts, wherein the amount is effective to substantially inhibit glutamine metabolism in the cancer cells and/or suppress cancer cell growth and/or proliferation (Col. 20, lines 9 – 16). The inhibitors may be formulated into a pharmaceutical compositions that include physiologically acceptable surface active agents and excipients (Col. 23, lines 16 – 18). Thus, Wang et al. teach a method of treating melanoma and/or glioblastomas in a subject by administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising aminotransferase inhibitor, such as AOA, L-cycloserine, and β-chloro-L-alanine, and excipients, thereby addressing the limitations of claims 1 – 2 and 7. Wang et al. further teach that the pharmaceutical composition can be administer to a human patient (Col. 23, lines 48 – 49), which corresponds to the limitations “vertebrate” of claim 8 and “human” of claim 9. Furthermore, Wang et al. teach that the pharmaceutical composition may be administered orally (Col. 23, line 1), thereby addressing the limitation “oral” administration of claim 5.
However, Wang et al. do not explicitly teach the administration of the inhibitor disrupts the tumor-liver alanine cycle and results in a reduction of the dimensions of the tumor by at least about 10% and about 50%.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute β-chloro-L-alanine for AOA in the cancer treatment method of Wang et al. because Wang et al. teach a working cancer treatment example using AOA, which Wang et al. identify as an alanine aminotransferase inhibitor and further teach AOA inhibits xenograft tumor growth in PIK3CA-mutant colorectal cancer models. Wang et al. then identify β-chloro-L-alanine as another example of an alanine aminotransferase inhibitor that may be used in the method. Thus, Wang et al. provide both the working therapeutic framework using an alanine aminotransferase inhibitor and the specific alternative alanine aminotransferase inhibitor β-chloro-L-alanine. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use β-chloro-L-alanine in place of AOA because both compounds are taught by Wang et al. in the same alanine aminotransferase inhibitor context, and the working examples of AOA demonstrate that inhibition of that aminotransferase pathway suppresses tumor growth. The substitution would have involved using one known alanine aminotransferase inhibitor identified by Wang et al. in place of another alanine aminotransferase inhibitor used by Wang et al. for the same purpose, which is inhibiting tumor-associated glutamine metabolism and suppressing cancer cell growth. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Wang et al. teach that aminotransferase inhibition is a therapeutic approach for suppressing cancer cell growth and/or proliferation.
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al. teach administering aminotransferase/GPT/alanine aminotransferase inhibitors for cancer treatment and identify β-chloro-L-alanine as an alternative alanine aminotransferase inhibitor. Wang et al. teach that GPT enzymes are involved in converting glutamate to α-ketoglutarate in glutamine metabolism and that targeting glutamine metabolism enzymes, including aminotransferase, suppresses cancer cell growth and/or proliferation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to administer β-chloro-L-alanine as the aminotransferase inhibitor in the cancer treatment method of Wang et al. To the extent claim 3 recites the functional result of disrupting a tumor-liver alanine cycle, that result would have been expected from administration of an alanine aminotransferase because the inhibitor blocks alanine aminotransferase mediated amino acid metabolism.
Regarding claim 4, Wang et al. teach administering aminotransferase inhibitors in therapeutically effective amounts to suppress cancer cell growth and demonstrate tumor growth inhibition using the aminotransferase inhibitor AOA. Wang et al. further identify β-chloro-L-alanine as an alanine aminotransferase inhibitor. Wang et al. do not explicitly teach that β-chloro-L-alanine produces a tumor dimensions reduction of at least about 10% and to about 50%. However, Wang et al. teach the therapeutic objective of administering aminotransferase inhibitors to suppress cancer cell growth and inhibit tumor growth. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer β-chloro-L-alanine in a therapeutically effective amount and regimen to reduce tumor dimensions, because Wang et al. identify β-chloro-L-alanine as an alanine aminotransferase inhibitor and demonstrate that aminotransferase inhibition produces anti-tumor activity. The claimed percentage of reduction represents the degree of therapeutic effect achieved by administering an effective amount and regimen of the inhibitor. Optimization of dose, route, formulation, and treatment duration to obtain tumor size reduction would have been within the ordinary skill in the art, particularly where Wang et al. teach administering aminotransferase inhibitors in therapeutically effective amounts and show tumor growth inhibitor in working examples.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US10221459B2) as applied to claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 9 above, and further in view of Nair (Journal of Basic and Clinical Pharmacy, 2016, Vol. 7, Issue 2, PTO-892).
Wang et al. teach the limitations discussed above. Wang et al. teach the typically dose range of the composition is about 0.5 to 1000 mg/kg of the patient’s body weight (Col. 25, lines 36 – 38).
However, Wang et al. also do not explicitly teach the unit dose of β-chloro-L-alanine is selected from a range of 10 mg – 2 grams.
Nair teaches that an average body weight of human is 60 kg (page 28, Right Col., para. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the pharmaceutical composition in a unit dose amount within the claimed range of 10 mg to 2 grams because Wang et al. teach that the dose range of the pharmaceutical composition administered to the patient may be from 0.5 to 1000 mg/kg of the patient’s body weight. Using the 60 kg average human body weight provided by Nair, the amount administered to the human patient with 0.5 mg/kg as the dose is 30 mg, which falls within the claimed unit dose amount of 10 mg to 2 grams. Accordingly, Wang et al. disclose a dose range that reads on the claimed unit dose limitation.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/H.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693