DETAILED ACTION
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner believes that the title of the invention is imprecise. A descriptive title indicative of the invention will help in proper indexing, classifying, searching, etc. See MPEP 606.01. However, the title of the invention should be limited to 500 characters. Examiner suggests including the aspect(s) of the claims which Applicant believes to be novel or nonobvious over the prior art. For example, the current claims do not switch machine learning functionality but rather switch machine learning models.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 21 recites at least one timer or threshold. Claim 29 recites wherein the at least one threshold before reciting the rest of the limitation. Since claim 21 recites these elements in the alternative, if a timer is used, then claim 29 is directed to an alternative not used. The same applies to similar claims 31 and 39.
Likewise, claim 27 recites with a specific configuration or condition. Claim 28 recites wherein the specification condition before reciting the rest of the limitation. Since claim 27 recites these elements in the alternative, if a configuration is used, then claim 28 is directed to an alternative not used. The same applies to similar claims 37 and 38.
Under broadest reasonable interpretation, unused alternatives, while considered, are not given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 21 recites transmit, to an AI/ML performance monitoring entity, an indication of AI/ML-related resource availability at the UE, the indication comprising CPU availability and a duration of a degraded performance status indicating how long the UE cannot perform the AI/ML model as desired. The phrase as desired is indefinite. It is unclear by what standard to determine with reasonable certainty what is precisely desired. Claim 31 has the same issue.
For this reason, the above listed claims are rejected for containing this language or being dependent on a claim that contains this language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0036764 in view of Buda et al. (hereinafter Buda), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0019921.
Regarding Claim 21, Sharifi discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one processor [“Processor(s)” Fig. 1A]; and
at least one memory including computer program code [“Memory” Fig. 1A],
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the UE at least to:
execute an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) model at the UE [“executing, by a user computing device of a computing system, the teacher machine-learned model 202 stored by the user computing device to produce output data (e.g., the teacher output data 208) from the input data ( e.g., the training input data 206)” ¶70; Fig. 3] to perform position estimation;
monitor availability of processing power of a central processing unit (CPU) at the UE that impacts inference performance of the AI/ML model [“when the teacher machine-learned model is running too slow and/or taking up too much space on the edge device (e.g., user computing device)” ¶20];
transmit, to an AI/ML performance monitoring entity, an indication of AI/ML -related resource availability at the UE, the indication comprising CPU availability and a duration of a degraded performance status indicating how long the UE cannot perform the AI/ML model as desired [“when the teacher machine-learned model is running too slow and/or taking up too much space on the edge device (e.g., user computing device)” ¶20; “the model performance metric can include an inference time of the teacher machine-learned model, such as an average inference time for the teacher machine learned model. When the average inference time for the teacher- machine learned model is above a threshold inference time, the computing system can determine to generate and/or train the student machine-learned model.” ¶23; Fig. 1A];
receive, from an AI/ML functionality managing entity, a configuration to switch from the AI/ML model to a second AI/ML model having less computational complexity than the AI/ML model and complying with the AI/ML -related resource availability at the UE, the configuration comprising at least one timer or threshold on an AI/ML -related resource associated with the switch [“replace the teacher machine-learned model when the user computing device is not performing satisfactorily (e.g., poor battery life, limited on-device storage available, etc.).” ¶24; “the evaluated characteristic can be or include a processor capability and/or capacity of the user computing device. The student machine-learned model can be trained in response to determining that a processor of the user computing device has insufficient processor capability to execute the teacher machine-learned model within a desired time interval (e.g., total flops per second achievable by the processor, number of cores of the processor, etc.). ¶25; Fig. 1A];
receive the second AI/ML model from the AI/ML functionality managing entity [“replacing, at the user computing device, the current variant of the machine-learned model with the additional variant” ¶9; “the student machine learned model can be transmitted to the user computing device, for example, in response to the determination based on the evaluation of the characteristic of the user computing device and/or teacher machine-learned model” ¶28; Fig. 1A]; and
execute, based on the at least one timer or threshold, the switch from the AI/ML model to the second AI/ML model [“The student machine-learned model can perform the same or similar operations as the teacher machine-learned model yet can require less inference time, computing resources, and/or storage space.” ¶33].
However, Sharifi fails to explicitly disclose execute an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) model at the UE to perform position estimation.
Buda discloses execute an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) model at the UE to perform position estimation [“a model is generated that predicts the location of a device/user” ¶45];
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sharifi and Buda before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the equipment of Sharifi to incorporate positional modeling of Buda.
Given the advantage of using a machine-learning model to accuracy infer positional location, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this obvious modification.
Regarding Claim 22, Sharifi and Buda disclose the UE of claim 21. Sharifi further discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the UE at least to receive, from the AI/ML performance monitoring entity, a trigger to monitor the AI/ML -related resource availability at the UE [“the models can be included in or otherwise stored and implemented by a server computing device that communicates with the user computing device according to a client-server relationship. For example, the models can be implemented by the server computing device as a portion of a web service” ¶39; “The teacher machine-learned model 202 can be deployed to the user computing device_ 102 (e.g., from the server computing system 130 and/or training computing system 150).” ¶66; “when the teacher machine-learned model is running too slow and/or taking up too much space on the edge device (e.g., user computing device)” ¶20; Fig. 1A; Examiner Note: When user device receives a teacher model from the server, the user device is triggered to determine if the teacher model is running too slow in order to determine if a student model is needed.].
Regarding Claim 23, Sharifi and Buda disclose the UE of claim 22.
However, Sharifi fails to explicitly disclose wherein the AI/ML performance monitoring entity comprises a location management function (LMF), and wherein the position estimation comprises direct AI/ML positioning].
Buda discloses wherein the AI/ML performance monitoring entity comprises a location management function (LMF), and wherein the position estimation comprises direct AI/ML positioning [“a model is generated that predicts the location of a device/user based on data acquired by the GPS sensor” ¶45].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sharifi and Buda before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination to incorporate locational function and AI positioning of Buda.
Given the advantage of using a machine-learning model to accuracy infer positional location, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this obvious modification.
Regarding Claim 24, Sharifi and Buda disclose the UE of claim 23. Sharifi further discloses wherein the indication further comprises a binary indication that there are insufficient AI/ML -related resources at the UE to run the AI/ML model [When the average inference time for the teacher- machine learned model is above a threshold inference time, the computing system can determine to generate and/or train the student machine-learned model.” ¶23] and a detailed update comprising remaining battery power [the evaluated characteristic can include one or more metrics associated with a battery life of the user computing device. When the battery life ( e.g., average time that the user computing device can function normally without being charged) is detected to be below a threshold metric, a decision can be made to generate and train the student machine learned model to replace the teacher machine-learned model such that the student machine-learned model can reduce battery consumption to improve the battery life of the user device.” ¶24] and memory usage at the UE [“characteristics can include a target storage size of the student machine-learned model” ¶30; “these target characteristics can be selected to provide a student machine-learned model that is suitable for the particular user computing device (e.g., can be executed within a threshold time interval, stored with a threshold memory size) and/or suitable for the type of task and/or particular task that the teacher model was trained to perform.” ¶32].
Regarding Claim 25, Sharifi and Buda disclose the UE of claim 24. Sharifi further discloses wherein the degraded performance status comprises a current performance status [“when the teacher machine-learned model is running too slow and/or taking up too much space on the edge device (e.g., user computing device)” ¶20; “the model performance metric can include an inference time of the teacher machine-learned model, such as an average inference time for the teacher machine learned model. When the average inference time for the teacher- machine learned model is above a threshold inference time, the computing system can determine to generate and/or train the student machine-learned model.” ¶23]
However, Sharifi fails to explicitly disclose and is further related to space comprising a cell.
Buda discloses and is further related to space comprising a cell [“the user's location is determined based on data collected by the sensor, such as GPS data, cell ID data, cell triangulation data, or WiFi localization data” ¶17].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sharifi and Buda before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination to incorporate spatial information of Buda.
Given the advantage of using a machine-learning model to accuracy infer positional location, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this obvious modification.
Regarding Claim 26, Sharifi and Buda disclose the UE of claim 25. Sharifi further discloses wherein the AI/ML functionality managing entity comprises a network data analytics function (NWDAF) [“The inherent flexibility of computer-based systems allows for a great variety of possible configurations, combinations, and divisions of tasks and functionality between and among components.” ¶90; “the data streams these devices can produce are becoming increasingly high bandwidth” ¶6], and wherein the configuration is transmitted by the NWDAF to the LMF and then transmitted by the LMF to the UE [“processes discussed herein can be implemented using a single device or component or multiple devices or components working in combination. Databases and applications can be implemented on a single system or distributed across multiple systems. Distributed components can operate sequentially or in parallel.” ¶90].
Regarding Claim 27, Sharifi and Buda disclose the UE of claim 26. Sharifi further discloses wherein the second AI/ML model is identified by a model identifier (ID) associated with a specific configuration or condition associated with a capability of the UE [“The additional variant can generally correspond with the student machine-learned model, and the current variant can generally correspond with the teacher machine-learned model described above. Thus, additional variants of the machine-learned model can be iteratively generated and trained.” ¶35].
Regarding Claim 28, Sharifi and Buda disclose the UE of claim 27. Sharifi further discloses wherein the specific condition comprises at least one of a scenario, a site, or a dataset determined between a UE-side and a network-side [“The student machine-learned model can perform the same or similar operations as the teacher machine-learned model yet can require less inference time, computing resources, and/or storage space.” ¶33].
Regarding Claim 29, Sharifi and Buda disclose the UE of claim 28. Sharifi further discloses wherein the at least one threshold comprises a threshold on CPU availability [“the evaluated characteristic can be or include a processor capability and/or capacity of the user computing device. The student machine-learned model can be trained in response to determining that a processor of the user computing device has insufficient processor capability to execute the teacher machine-learned model within a desired time interval (e.g., total flops per second achievable by the processor, number of cores of the processor, etc.). ¶25], and wherein execution of the switch is delayed based on the threshold on CPU availability [“student machine-learned model can be trained in response to determining that a processor of the user computing device has insufficient processor capability to execute the teacher machine-learned model” ¶25; Examiner Note: Training would delay the switch].
Regarding Claim 30, Sharifi and Buda disclose the UE of claim 29. Sharifi further discloses wherein the second AI/ML model is transmitted by the NWDAF to the LMF and then transmitted by the LMF to the UE [“processes discussed herein can be implemented using a single device or component or multiple devices or components working in combination. Databases and applications can be implemented on a single system or distributed across multiple systems. Distributed components can operate sequentially or in parallel.” ¶90].
Claims 31-40 are rejected on the same grounds as claims 21-30 respectively.
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the entirety of the reference(s) as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123). The Examiner has cited particular locations in the reference(s) as applied to the claim(s) above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim(s), typically other passages and figures will apply as well.
Additionally, any claim amendments for any reason should include remarks indicating clear support in the originally filed specification.
Conclusion
Any prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Applicant is reminded that in amending in response to a rejection of claims, the patentable novelty must be clearly shown in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited and the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid such references and objections. See 37 CFR §1.111(c). Additionally when amending, in their remarks Applicant should particularly cite to the supporting paragraphs in the original disclosure for the amendments.
The following references were found during the examination of this patent application and were found to be relevant to patentability. Applicant is advised to review these references prior to responding to this Office action.
Elbert et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0239964) discloses when a user device has less resources (e.g., due to memory degradation or user installing more applications), the user device can switch to a device model that uses fewer features as inputs, and the user device selects the device model that fits its memory profile.
/R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2148
/MICHELLE T BECHTOLD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2148