CTNF 18/788,510 CTNF 88695 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 21- 23, 25, 31-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vermani et al (US 20180234135) in view of Gosh (US 20190373599) . As to claim 21 and 37 Vermani discloses a wireless communication control device and a method ( AP 110B of Fig.5 and 6) , comprising: a control circuitry configured ( processor 304 of Fig.3; ¶0055 )to: control transmission of a first frame by a first wireless base station, wherein the first frame includes information for transmission of a second frame, the second frame is a channel measurement frame used in channel measurement by a first wireless terminal device( Vermani, Fig.5, ¶0073 - any one of the APs (here shown as the AP 110a) transmits a NDP announcement (NDPA) frame. The NDPA may be a control frame that indicates an NDP is going to be transmitted ….. so the one or more user terminals receiving the NDPA know to listen for the NDP to perform channel measurements )., the first wireless base station is configured to cooperate with a second wireless base station in the transmission of the second frame, (Vermani ¶0077- 1 st sentence - After the AP 110a transmits the NDPA, each of the APs 110a through 110c transmits an NDP at the same time ); Vermani however is silent wherein the first frame includes a first identifier of the second wireless base station and a second identifier of the first wireless terminal device. However, in an analogous art Ghosh remedies this deficiency: ( Ghosh ¶0052 - FIG. 3 illustrates an example 300 where, in the user information fields 302 and 304 , an AID is used to identify the associated STAs. In some embodiments, in the new defined trigger frames described below, the user information fields 302 and 304 support both AID and pre-AID to identify the associated and unassociated STAs. The example 300 may be used for distance estimations (e.g., ranging) from the STAs to an AP ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Vermani with that of Ghosh for the purpose of coordinating channel measurements among multiple base stations. As to claim 22 the combined teachings Vermani and Gosh disclose the wireless communication control device according to the claim 21, wherein the first frame further includes information for a spatial information for the transmission of the second frame by the second wireless base station to the first wireless terminal device ( Vermani ¶0074- 1 st sentence - the NDPA may include allocation information of spatial streams to the APs 110. For example, the allocation information may include a mapping or correlation of spatial stream indices to the APs 110 ) for transmitting, by the another wireless base station, a channel measurement frame that is a frame for a channel measurement (Lee ¶0047- 1 st sentence). As to claim 23 the combined teachings Vermani and Gosh disclose the wireless communication control device according to the claim 22, wherein the spatial information includes a third information of a transmission stream for the transmission of the second frame- in other words information pertain to LTF mapping ( Vermani ¶0078 - the LTF s of the NDPs from multiple APs may be multiplexed. In some implementations, the LTF s are multiplexed across APs using FDM. Further, in some implementations, every spatial stream belonging to the APs is multiplexed using FDM. For example, if there are N+M+X spatial streams, N belonging to the AP 110 a, and M belonging to the AP 110 b, and X belonging to the AP 110 c, each N+M+X stream is transmitted on a different tone of each symbol where LTF is transmitted. Further, LTF is transmitted on N+M+X symbols). As to claim 25 the combined teachings Vermani and Gosh disclose the wireless communication control device according to the claim 22, wherein the first frame further includes information to specify a resource circuitry (RU) used when the first wireless terminal device transmits a first feedback frame based on reception of the second frame ( Gosh ¶0054 - last sentence-this feedback could be a short null data packet (NDP) feedback. In accordance with this example embodiment, each STA is allocated a resource unit during the short NDP feedback packet and the STA may use this resource unit to report its status to the AP) . As to claim 31 the combined teachings Vermani and Gosh disclose the wireless communication control device according to the claim 22, wherein the first frame further includes information to specify a third identifier of a second wireless terminal device, and information to specify a resource circuitry (RU) used when the second wireless terminal device transmits a second feedback frame based on reception of the second frame ( Gosh ¶0066 - As shown in FIG. 5, transmission 512 may be sent at time 504 , and in the transmission 512 , the STAs answer with a “Yes” or “No” on the allocated resource unit (RU). As shown in FIG. 5, the transmission 512 may indicate “Yes” or “No” responses for allocated resource unit s (e.g., RU1, RU2, RU3). If the STAs are ready for channel measurement with the AP, the STAs will respond “Yes” (e.g., by sending energy on the allocated resource unit ). Otherwise, the STAs will not transmit a signal on the allocated resource unit . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Vermani and Ghosh with that of Josiam for the purpose of feedback reporting among multiple STAs. As to claim 32 the combined teachings Vermani and Gosh disclose the wireless communication control device according to the claim 21, wherein the first frame includes information to specify a first timing for transmission of the second frame by the second wireless base station to the first wireless terminal device( Vermani ¶0070- 3 rd sentence ;¶0074- 1 st sentence - the NDPA may include allocation information of spatial streams to the APs 110. For example, the allocation information may include a mapping or correlation of spatial stream indices to the APs 110) .. As to claim 33 the combined teachings Vermani and Gosh disclose The wireless communication control device according to the claim 21, wherein the first frame includes information to specify the second frame (Vermani ¶0074- 1 st sentence - the NDPA may include allocation information of spatial streams to the APs 110. For example, the allocation information may include a mapping or correlation of spatial stream indices to the APs 110 ) . As to claim 34 and 38 Vermani discloses a wireless communication control device and method, comprising: a control circuitry configured to: control reception of a first frame from a first wireless base station, wherein the first frame includes information for transmission of a second frame ( Vermani ¶0073- 3 rd sentence - the NDPA includes information identifying one or more user terminals 120 that the upcoming NDP is directed to, so the one or more user terminals receiving the NDPA know to listen for the NDP to perform channel measurements) , the second frame is a channel measurement frame used in channel measurement by a first wireless terminal device ( Vermani ¶0073- 3 rd sentence - … the upcoming NDP is directed to, so the one or more user terminals receiving the NDPA know to listen for the NDP to perform channel measurements) ,the first wireless base station is configured to cooperate with a second wireless base station in the transmission of the second frame( Vermani ¶0077- 1 st sentence - After the AP 110a transmits the NDPA, each of the APs 110a through 110c transmits an NDP at the same time ); Vermani however is silent wherein the first frame includes a first identifier of the second wireless base station and a second identifier of the first wireless terminal device. However, in an analogous art Ghosh remedies this deficiency: ( Ghosh ¶0052 - FIG. 3 illustrates an example 300 where, in the user information fields 302 and 304 , an AID is used to identify the associated STAs. In some embodiments, in the new defined trigger frames described below, the user information fields 302 and 304 support both AID and pre-AID to identify the associated and unassociated STAs. The example 300 may be used for distance estimations (e.g., ranging) from the STAs to an AP ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Vermani with that of Ghosh for the purpose of coordinating channel measurements among multiple base stations. As to claim 35 the combined teachings Vermani and Gosh disclose the wireless communication control device, according to the claim 34, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to control transmission of the second frame by the second wireless base station ( Vermani ¶0070- 3 rd sentence ;¶0074- 1 st sentence - the NDPA may include allocation information of spatial streams to the APs 110. For example, the allocation information may include a mapping or correlation of spatial stream indices to the APs 110) . As to claim 36 the combined teachings Vermani and Gosh disclose wireless communication control device, according to the claim 34, wherein control reception of the second frame from the second wireless base station, and transmission of a first feedback frame by the first wireless terminal device based on the second frame ( Gosh ¶0115 - the case 1 trigger frame may be received by the STAs 103 , and the STAs 103 may transmit an uplink (UL) short feedback packet (e.g., a short feedback response as shown in FIG. 12). At operation 1204 , the AP 102 may receive the short feedback packets from STAs 103 , and the AP will know which STA is ready for negotiation (e.g., ready for channel measurement). For example, at operation 1204 , the AP 102 may receive, from at least some of the STAs 103 , an answer with a “Yes” or “No” on the allocated resource unit. If the STAs 103 are ready for negotiation with the AP 102 , those STAs 103 may respond “Yes” (e.g., by sending energy on the allocated resource unit). Otherwise, the STAs 103 may not transmit a signal on the allocated resource unit. ¶0122) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Vermani and Ghosh with that of Josiam for the purpose of feedback reporting among multiple STAs . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vermani in view of Gosh and further in view of Vermani et al (US 20190081664) hereinafter “Tian” As to claim 24 the combined teachings Vermani and Gosh disclose the wireless communication control device according to the claim 23, however silent wherein the control circuitry is configured to: determine transmission of a third frame by the first wireless base station at a same timing of the transmission of the second frame and the third frame is a channel measurement frame used in channel measurement by the first wireless terminal device. However, in an analogous art Tian remedies this deficiency: ( Vermani’664 ¶0111, ¶0135 - When multiple APs 104 or STAs 106 are transmitting NDPs at the same time, the streams in LTF s can be multiplexed in a number of ways. In a first way, the LTF s are multiplexed using frequency division multiplexing (FDM), where every stream steps on different tones in each LTF symbol )Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined teachings of Vermani and Ghosh with that of Tian for the purpose of coordinating channel measurements among multiple base stations . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vermani in view of Gosh and further in view of Josiam et al (US 20170111924) . As to claim 26 the combined teachings Vermani and Gosh disclose the wireless communication control device according to the claim 25, however silent wherein the first frame further includes information to specify a feedback method of a channel quality indicator (CQI) in the first feedback frame, and the feedback method includes information to specify a single user (SU) or a multi- user (MU). However, in an analogous art Josiam remedies this deficiency: Josiam ¶0053 - 3 rd sentence- The NDPA 302 also indicates a type of feedback report to compute and send (e.g., single user (SU) MIMO, MU-MIMO, channel quality indicator (CQI)), indicates a sub-carrier granularity Ng at which feedback is to be computed (e.g., 4 or 16) in the case of SU-MIMO or MU-MIMO, and indicates a feedback bandwidth (e.g., a number of resource units (RUs) to compute feedback over). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Vermani and Ghosh with that of Josiam for the purpose of feedback reporting among multiple STAs . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 27-30 are to objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DERRICK V ROSE whose telephone number is (571)270-7460. The examiner can normally be reached 9am- 6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, YEMANE MESFIN can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DERRICK V ROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/788,510 Page 2 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/788,510 Page 3 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/788,510 Page 4 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/788,510 Page 5 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/788,510 Page 6 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/788,510 Page 7 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/788,510 Page 8 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/788,510 Page 9 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/788,510 Page 10 Art Unit: 2462