DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to communication filed 07/30/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Examiner’s Note
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
4. Claim 1-3, 9, 12, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 12,13, 19 and 20 of application no. 18/788516, hereinafter referred to as “516” in view of Shreevastav (US 2023/0221401 A1), in view of Zhang_1 (US 2026/0189914 A1), in view of Balasubramanian (US 2024/0056245 A1), in view of Blankenship (US 2026/0113635 A1) and in view of Zhang_2(US 2025/0056571 A1).
Instant application
Co-pending Application 18/788516
1.
1.
3.
wherein the communication device includes at least one of a location server, a server UE, or an anchor UE.
2.
wherein the UE includes at least one of a target-UE, a server UE, or an anchor UE.
4.
wherein the sidelink positioning integrity information includes real-time integrity information.
5. Claim 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, 12-14, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 and of application no. 18/788516, hereinafter referred to as ”516 in view of Shreevastav (US 2023/0221401 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 12, 19 and 20, “18/788516” recites sidelink positioning integrity information.
Claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” does not recite sidelink positioning integrity key performance indicators (KPIs) and sidelink positioning integrity results, the request message including at least an indication of target integrity risk (TIR) and a protection level;
However, in an analogous art, Shreevastav recites sidelink positioning integrity key performance indicators (KPIs) and sidelink positioning integrity results (Fig. 8, [0206],Step 300: positioning node receiving a device integrity capability request message from network/second node and transmitting a device integrity capability response message to the network/second node; wherein [0099]; [0208], Step 320: The positioning node determines/calculates/defined positioning Integrity KPI(s). One or more Integrity KPI and associated thresholds, integrity levels {i.e. result}, etc. can be configured {prior to performing positioning measurements in step 310—i.e. during step 300}; also see Fig. 5.)
the request message including at least an indication of target integrity risk (TIR) and a protection level ([0208] & [0097], Integrity KPI(s) can be determined and/or monitored based on input {a device integrity capability request message received from network/202/Node 120—see [0206]}; wherein [0145], Integrity KPI includes Alert Limit, {target—[0204]} Integrity Risk, Protection Level. )
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Shreevastav and apply them in the claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” to provide positioning node can calculate an estimated Integrity KPI/integrity level associated with its estimated position (Shreevastav; [0208]).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” does not recite wherein the sidelink positioning integrity KPIs include at least one of a time to alert (TTA) or an alert limit (AL).
However, in an analogous art, Shreevastav further teaches wherein the sidelink positioning integrity KPIs include at least one of a time to alert (TTA) or an alert limit (AL)([0145]; [0024]; positioning integrity KPIs includes AL.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Shreevastav and apply them in the claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” to provide positioning node can calculate an estimated Integrity KPI/integrity level associated with its estimated position (Shreevastav; [0208]).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” does not recite wherein the TIR includes at least one of an achievable TIR or a target TIR.
However, in an analogous art, Shreevastav further teaches wherein the TIR includes at least one of an achievable TIR or a target TIR ([0145]; [0204]; target Integrity Risk. ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Shreevastav and apply them in the claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” to provide positioning node can calculate an estimated Integrity KPI/integrity level associated with its estimated position (Shreevastav; [0208]).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” does not recite wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit, to the communication device, an indication that the requested sidelink positioning integrity KPIs and the sidelink positioning integrity results are unavailable.
However, in an analogous art, Shreevastav further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit, to the communication device, an indication that the requested sidelink positioning integrity KPIs and the sidelink positioning integrity results (Fig. 8, [0206],Step 300: positioning node {200/UE 110—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]} receiving a device integrity capability request message from network/second node{202/Node 120—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]} and transmitting a device integrity capability response message to the network/second node{202/Node 120—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]}; wherein [0099]; [0208], Step 320: The positioning node/200/110 determines/calculates/defined positioning Integrity KPI(s). One or more Integrity KPI and associated thresholds, integrity levels {i.e. results}, etc.) are unavailable ([0109], Medium integrity: This can indicate that the integrity KPIs and thresholds/results are defined, and the AL and PL are set such that sometimes the system may provide failure errors due to unavailability of proper position estimation, ) (Hence the UE transmits the node, an indication that the requested positioning integrity KPIs and positioning integrity results are unavailable.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Shreevastav and apply them in the claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” to provide positioning node can calculate an estimated Integrity KPI/integrity level associated with its estimated position (Shreevastav; [0208]).
Regarding claim 10, Claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” does not recite wherein the real-time sidelink positioning integrity information includes one or more do not use (DNU) flags associated with sidelink positioning assistance data elements including one or more of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource configurations, anchor UE location information, system frame number (SFN) initialization time, direct frame number (DFN) initialization time, real time difference (RTD) synchronization information, inter-UE synchronization information, sidelink antenna reference point (ARP) location information, sidelink angle of departure (AOD) beam information, or SL-PRS transmission-reception point (TRP) antenna information.
However, in an analogous art, Shreevastav further teaches wherein the real-time sidelink positioning integrity information includes one or more do not use (DNU) flags associated with sidelink positioning assistance data elements including one or more of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource configurations, anchor UE location information, system frame number (SFN) initialization time, direct frame number (DFN) initialization time, real time difference (RTD) synchronization information, inter-UE synchronization information, sidelink antenna reference point (ARP) location information, sidelink angle of departure (AOD) beam information ([0141]), or SL-PRS transmission-reception point (TRP) antenna information.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Shreevastav and apply them in the claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” to provide positioning node can calculate an estimated Integrity KPI/integrity level associated with its estimated position (Shreevastav; [0208]).
6. Claims 6 and 15 are rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of application no. 18/788516, hereinafter referred to as ”516” in view of Zhang_1 (US 2026/0189914 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” does not recite wherein the protection level includes at least one of: an absolute horizontal protection level value, an absolute vertical protection level value, a relative horizontal protection level value, a vertical protection level value, a horizontal distance protection level value, a vertical distance protection level value, an azimuth angle of arrival (AOA) protection level value, or a zenith AOA protection level value.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang_1 teaches wherein the protection level includes at least one of: an absolute horizontal protection level value, an absolute vertical protection level value ([0033]), a relative horizontal protection level value, a vertical protection level value, a horizontal distance protection level value, a vertical distance protection level value, an azimuth angle of arrival (AOA) protection level value, or a zenith AOA protection level value.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Zhang_1 and apply them in the claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” to improve the positioning accuracy of the positioning result (Zhang_1; [0005]).
7. Claims 8 and 17 are rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 and of application no. 18/788516, hereinafter referred to as ”516” in view of Balasubramanian (US 2024/0056245 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” does not recite wherein the response message includes at least one of a first indication of whether a sidelink positioning service is unavailable, a second indication of a duration that the sidelink positioning service is unavailable, or a third indication of a loss of the sidelink positioning integrity.
However, in an analogous art, Balasubramanian teaches wherein the response message includes at least one of a first indication of whether a sidelink positioning service is unavailable([0115], second UE 340 transmits first response and indicate that second UE 340 is unavailable to participate in positioning session/service. ), a second indication of a duration that the sidelink positioning service is unavailable, or a third indication of a loss of the sidelink positioning integrity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Balasubramanian and apply them in the claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” to improve accuracy of determining positioning of UEs, such as in Uu positioning or sidelink (SL) positioning (Balasubramanian; [0006]).
8. Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 and of application no. 18/788516, hereinafter referred to as ”516” in view of Zhang_2(US 2025/0056571 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” does not recite wherein different SL-PRS resource hierarchies include at least one of sidelink positioning frequency layers, sidelink TRPs, SL-PRS resource pools, SL-PRS resource sets, or SL-PRS resources.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang_2 teaches wherein different SL-PRS resource hierarchies include at least one of sidelink positioning frequency layers, sidelink TRPs, SL-PRS resource pools ([0162]), SL-PRS resource sets, or SL-PRS resources.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Zhang_2 and apply them in the claim 1, 12, 19 and 20 of the “18/788516” to provide relative positioning based on the side link in different ways by using a flexible positioning method of the relative position in a side link communication, thus improving accuracy of sidelink-based relative positioning, by flexibly sending positioning reference signals (PRS)(0162)( Zhang_2; [0176]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-5, 7, 12-14, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shreevastav (US 2023/0221401 A1) in view of Shen (US 2025/0294512 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 19, Shreevastav teaches a user equipment (UE) (Node 1 200/110—Fig. 5/4b/11) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (530 of 110—Fig. 11; [0234]); and
at least one processor (520 of 110—Fig. 11; [0234]) coupled with the at least one memory (530 of 110) (see Fig. 11, 520 and 530 coupled) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive, from a communication device (Node 2 202/120—Fig. 5/4b), a request message to request sidelink positioning integrity key performance indicators (KPIs) and sidelink positioning integrity results (Fig. 8, [0206],Step 300: positioning node {200/UE 110—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]} receiving a device integrity capability request message from network/second node{202/Node 120—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]} and transmitting a device integrity capability response message to the network/second node{202/Node 120—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]}; wherein [0099]; [0208], Step 320: The positioning node/200/110 determines/calculates/defined positioning Integrity KPI(s). One or more Integrity KPI and associated thresholds, integrity levels {i.e. result}, etc. can be configured {prior to performing positioning measurements in step 310—i.e. during step 300}; also see Fig. 5.) (Hence, the UE receives from the Node, a request message used to trigger to report of positioning integrity KPIs and positioning integrity results.), the request message including at least an indication of target integrity risk (TIR) and a protection level ([0208] & [0097], Integrity KPI(s) can be determined and/or monitored based on input {a device integrity capability request message received from network/202/Node 120—see [0206]}; wherein [0145], Integrity KPI includes Alert Limit, {target—[0204]} Integrity Risk, Protection Level. ) (Hence it is obvious, the request message includes an indication of Integrity KPI(s) {target Integrity Risk and Protection Level}. ); and
transmit, to the communication device(Node 2 202/120—Fig. 5/4b), a response message that includes the requested sidelink positioning integrity KPIs and the sidelink positioning integrity results (Fig. 8, [0206],Step 300: positioning node {200/UE 110—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]} receiving a device integrity capability request message from network/second node{202/Node 120—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]} and transmitting a device integrity capability response message to the network/second node{202/Node 120—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]}; wherein [0099]; [0208], Step 320: The positioning node/200/110 determines/calculates/defined positioning Integrity KPI(s). One or more Integrity KPI and associated thresholds, integrity levels {i.e. result}, etc. can be configured {prior to performing positioning measurements in step 310—i.e. during step 300 }; also Fig. 5) (Hence it is obvious, the UE transmits to the Node, a response message that includes the requested positioning integrity KPIs and positioning integrity results.), from which it is determinable as to whether sidelink positioning integrity conditions of a computed location estimate are satisfied (Fig. 8, [0209] Step 330: The positioning node/200/110 transmits a positioning information report to the network. This can include the estimated position and/or the estimated integrity level; wherein Fig. 5, [0094], step 213-- Node 1 200 does position estimation and integrity level computation. ) based at least in part on the requested sidelink positioning integrity KPIs and the sidelink positioning integrity results (Fig. 8, [0206],Step 300: positioning node {200/UE 110—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]} receiving a device integrity capability request message from network/second node{202/Node 120—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]}, wherein[0099]; [0208], Step 320: The positioning node/200/110 determines/calculates/defined positioning Integrity KPI(s). One or more Integrity KPI and associated thresholds, integrity levels {i.e. result}, etc. can be configured {prior to performing positioning measurements in step 310—i.e. during step 300 }; Fig. 5) (Hence it is obvious, the UE determines positioning integrity condition of computed location/position estimate are satisfied based at least in part on the requested positioning integrity KPIs and positioning integrity results ).
Shreevastav teaches positioning integrity
Shreevastav does not teach sidelink positioning integrity.
However, in an analogous art, Shen teaches sidelink positioning integrity (accuracy)( Fig. 1; [0099],accuracy of sidelink positioning.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Shen and apply them on the teaching of Shreevastav to provide a method to ensure the calculation of ranging side link positioning results or improves the accuracy of ranging side link positioning (Shen; [0099]).
Regarding claim 2, Shreevastav further teaches wherein the communication device includes at least one of a location server ( [0093] &[0205], location server 130. ), a server UE, or an anchor UE.
Regarding claim 3, Shreevastav further teaches wherein the UE is at least one of a target-UE ([0093] &[0205], target UE 110. ), a server UE, or an anchor UE.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Shreevastav further teaches wherein the sidelink positioning integrity KPIs include at least one of a time to alert (TTA) or an alert limit (AL)([0145]; [0024]; positioning integrity KPIs includes AL.).
Shreevastav teaches positioning integrity
Shreevastav does not teach sidelink positioning integrity.
However, in an analogous art, Shen teaches sidelink positioning integrity (accuracy)( Fig. 1; [0099],accuracy of sidelink positioning.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Shen and apply them on the teaching of Shreevastav to provide a method to ensure the calculation of ranging side link positioning results or improves the accuracy of ranging side link positioning (Shen; [0099]).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Shreevastav further teaches wherein the TIR includes at least one of an achievable TIR or a target TIR ([0145]; [0204]; target Integrity Risk. ).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Shreevastav further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit, to the communication device, an indication that the requested sidelink positioning integrity KPIs and the sidelink positioning integrity results (Fig. 8, [0206],Step 300: positioning node {200/UE 110—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]} receiving a device integrity capability request message from network/second node{202/Node 120—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]} and transmitting a device integrity capability response message to the network/second node{202/Node 120—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]}; wherein [0099]; [0208], Step 320: The positioning node/200/110 determines/calculates/defined positioning Integrity KPI(s). One or more Integrity KPI and associated thresholds, integrity levels {i.e. results}, etc.) are unavailable ([0109], Medium integrity: This can indicate that the integrity KPIs and thresholds/results are defined, and the AL and PL are set such that sometimes the system may provide failure errors due to unavailability of proper position estimation, ) (Hence the UE transmits the node, an indication that the requested positioning integrity KPIs and positioning integrity results are unavailable.).
Regarding claims 20, Shreevastav teaches a network entity (Node 2 202/120—Fig. 5/4b/13) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (630 of 120—Fig. 13; [0240]); and
at least one processor (620 of 120—Fig. 13; [0240]) coupled with the at least one memory (630 of 120—Fig. 13) (see Fig. 13, 620 and 630 are coupled) and configured to cause the network entity to:
transmit, from a user equipment (UE) (Node 1 200/110—Fig. 5/4b), a request message to request sidelink positioning integrity key performance indicators (KPIs) and sidelink positioning integrity results(Fig. 8, [0206],Step 300: positioning node {200/UE 110—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]} receiving a device integrity capability request message from network/second node{202/Node 120—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]} and transmitting a device integrity capability response message to the network/second node{202/Node 120—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]}; wherein [0099]; [0208], Step 320: The positioning node/200/110 determines/calculates/defined positioning Integrity KPI(s). One or more Integrity KPI and associated thresholds, integrity levels {i.e. result}, etc. can be configured {prior to performing positioning measurements in step 310—i.e. during step 300}; also see Fig. 5.) (Hence, the node transmits to the UE, a request message used to trigger to report of positioning integrity KPIs and positioning integrity results.), the request message including at least an indication of target integrity risk (TIR) and a protection level ([0208] & [0097], Integrity KPI(s) can be determined and/or monitored based on input {a device integrity capability request message received from network/202/Node 120—see [0206]}; wherein [0145], Integrity KPI includes Alert Limit, {target—[0204]} Integrity Risk, Protection Level. ) (Hence it is obvious, the request message includes an indication of Integrity KPI(s) {target Integrity Risk and Protection Level}. ); and
receive, from the UE (Node 1 200/110—Fig. 5/4b), a response message that includes the requested sidelink positioning integrity KPIs and the sidelink positioning integrity results (Fig. 8, [0206],Step 300: positioning node {200/UE 110—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]} receiving a device integrity capability request message from network/second node{202/Node 120—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]} and transmitting a device integrity capability response message to the network/second node{202/Node 120—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]}; wherein [0099]; [0208], Step 320: The positioning node/200/110 determines/calculates/defined positioning Integrity KPI(s). One or more Integrity KPI and associated thresholds, integrity levels {i.e. result}, etc. can be configured {prior to performing positioning measurements in step 310—i.e. during step 300 }; also Fig. 5) (Hence it is obvious, the Node receives from the UE, a response message that includes the requested positioning integrity KPIs and positioning integrity results.), and
determine whether sidelink positioning integrity conditions of a computed location estimate are satisfied (Fig. 8, [0209] Step 330: The positioning node/200/110 transmits a positioning information report to the network. This can include the estimated position and/or the estimated integrity level; wherein Fig. 5, [0094], step 213-- Node 1 200 does position estimation and integrity level computation. ) based at least in part on the received sidelink positioning integrity KPIs and the sidelink positioning integrity results (Fig. 8, [0206],Step 300: positioning node {200/UE 110—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]} transmitting a device integrity capability response message to the network/second node{202/Node 120—Fig. 5/4b; [0205]}; wherein[0099]; [0208], Step 320: The positioning node/200/110 determines/calculates/defined positioning Integrity KPI(s). One or more Integrity KPI and associated thresholds, integrity levels {i.e. result}, etc. can be configured {prior to performing positioning measurements in step 310—i.e. during step 300 }; Fig. 5) (Hence it is obvious, the node determines positioning integrity condition of computed location/position estimate are satisfied based at least in part on the received positioning integrity KPIs and positioning integrity results ).
Shreevastav teaches positioning integrity
Shreevastav does not teach sidelink positioning integrity.
However, in an analogous art, Shen teaches sidelink positioning integrity (accuracy)( Fig. 1; [0099],accuracy of sidelink positioning.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Shen and apply them on the teaching of Shreevastav to provide a method to ensure the calculation of ranging side link positioning results or improves the accuracy of ranging side link positioning (Shen; [0099]).
11. Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shreevastav (US 2023/0221401 A1) in view of Shen (US 2025/0294512 A1), further in view of Zhang_1 (US 2026/0189914 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Shreevastav- Shen do not teach wherein the protection level includes at least one of: an absolute horizontal protection level value, an absolute vertical protection level value, a relative horizontal protection level value, a vertical protection level value, a horizontal distance protection level value, a vertical distance protection level value, an azimuth angle of arrival (AOA) protection level value, or a zenith AOA protection level value.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang_1 teaches wherein the protection level includes at least one of: an absolute horizontal protection level value, an absolute vertical protection level value ([0033]), a relative horizontal protection level value, a vertical protection level value, a horizontal distance protection level value, a vertical distance protection level value, an azimuth angle of arrival (AOA) protection level value, or a zenith AOA protection level value.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Zhang_1 and apply them on the teaching of Shreevastav- Shen to improve the positioning accuracy of the positioning result (Zhang_1; [0005]).
12. Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shreevastav (US 2023/0221401 A1) in view of Shen (US 2025/0294512 A1), further in view of Balasubramanian (US 2024/0056245 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Shreevastav- Shen do not teach wherein the response message includes at least one of a first indication of whether a sidelink positioning service is unavailable, a second indication of a duration that the sidelink positioning service is unavailable, or a third indication of a loss of the sidelink positioning integrity.
However, in an analogous art, Balasubramanian teaches wherein the response message includes at least one of a first indication of whether a sidelink positioning service is unavailable([0115], second UE 340 transmits first response and indicate that second UE 340 is unavailable to participate in positioning session/service. ), a second indication of a duration that the sidelink positioning service is unavailable, or a third indication of a loss of the sidelink positioning integrity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Balasubramanian and apply them on the teaching of Shreevastav- Shen to improve accuracy of determining positioning of UEs, such as in Uu positioning or sidelink (SL) positioning (Balasubramanian; [0006]).
Shreevastav- Balasubramanian teaches positioning.
Shreevastav- Balasubramanian does not teach sidelink positioning.
However, in an analogous art, Shen teaches sidelink positioning integrity (accuracy)( Fig. 1; [0099],accuracy of sidelink positioning.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Shen and apply them on the teaching of Shreevastav- Balasubramanian to provide a method to ensure the calculation of ranging side link positioning results or improves the accuracy of ranging side link positioning (Shen; [0099]).
13. Claims 9, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shreevastav (US 2023/0221401 A1) in view of Shen (US 2025/0294512 A1), further in view of Blankenship (US 2026/0113635 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Shreevastav- Shen do not teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive real-time sidelink positioning integrity information.
However, in an analogous art, Blankenship teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive real-time sidelink positioning integrity information (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Blankenship and apply them on the teaching of Shreevastav- Shen to provide real-time status of the AI/ML based positioning for reducing the risk for positioning integrity(Blankenship; Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Shreevastav further teaches wherein the real-time sidelink positioning integrity information includes one or more do not use (DNU) flags associated with sidelink positioning assistance data elements including one or more of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource configurations, anchor UE location information, system frame number (SFN) initialization time, direct frame number (DFN) initialization time, real time difference (RTD) synchronization information, inter-UE synchronization information, sidelink antenna reference point (ARP) location information, sidelink angle of departure (AOD) beam information([0141]), or SL-PRS transmission-reception point (TRP) antenna information.
14. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shreevastav (US 2023/0221401 A1) in view of Shen (US 2025/0294512 A1), in view of Blankenship (US 2026/0113635 A1), further in view of Zhang_2(US 2025/0056571 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Shreevastav- Shen- Blankenship do not teach herein different SL-PRS resource hierarchies include at least one of sidelink positioning frequency layers, sidelink TRPs, SL-PRS resource pools, SL-PRS resource sets, or SL-PRS resources.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang_2 teaches wherein different SL-PRS resource hierarchies include at least one of sidelink positioning frequency layers, sidelink TRPs, SL-PRS resource pools ([0162]), SL-PRS resource sets, or SL-PRS resources.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Zhang_2 and apply them on the teaching of Shreevastav- Shen- Blankenship to provide relative positioning based on the side link in different ways by using a flexible positioning method of the relative position in a side link communication, thus improving accuracy of sidelink-based relative positioning, by flexibly sending positioning reference signals (PRS)(0162)( Zhang_2; [0176]).
Conclusion
15. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415