DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 30, 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: knob 18 from ¶[0028], and database 50 from ¶[0029].
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: element 35 in fig. 2.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recites “the corresponding positioning plate (50) is configured to move laterally along a portion of the printer main body (14 until the positioning plates define a space to position the associated clothing tag (12) therebetween).” The ending parenthesis after “therebetween” appears to be placed incorrectly.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 8 be found allowable, claim 15 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodai (US 2021/0187975 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hodai teaches a printer for printing on an associated glass plate, the printer comprising: a printer main body; and at least one guide disposed on the printer main body, the at least one guide configured to position the associated glass plate on a portion of the printer main body (figs. 1-3, 6-10; printer 10, plate members 42R-L, conveying rollers 51-53, guide plate 56; ¶[0038]-[0039], [0047]-[0050]).
The associated clothing tag of the claim is not a positively recited element. Instead, it amounts to a material or article worked by the printer of the claim, and therefore does not impart patentability to the claim. Particular attention is invited to MPEP § 2115.
Therefore, despite the fact that Hodai is silent with respect to a guide configured to position a clothing tag as the medium specifically recited, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hodai to guide and perform printing on a clothing tag comprised of a material other than glass, e.g. paper or card stock, which are well known in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Hodai teaches a printer for printing on an associated glass plate, the printer comprising: a printer main body; and two guides disposed on the printer main body, the guides configured to position the associated glass plate on a portion of the printer main body (figs. 1-3, 6-10; printer 10, plate members 42R-L, conveying rollers 51-53, guide plate 56; ¶[0038]-[0039], [0047]-[0050]).
The associated clothing tag of the claim is not a positively recited element. Instead, it amounts to a material or article worked by the printer of the claim, and therefore does not impart patentability to the claim. Particular attention is invited to MPEP § 2115.
Therefore, despite the fact that Hodai is silent with respect to a guide configured to position a clothing tag as the medium specifically recited, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hodai to guide and perform printing on a clothing tag comprised of a material other than glass, e.g. paper or card stock, which are well known in the art.
Claims 2-6, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodai (US 2021/0187975 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2003/0159603 A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 2, Hodai teaches the printer of claim 1, however Hodai fails to teach or fairly suggest the at least one guide comprises an adjustable knob and a positioning plate attached to the adjustable knob and the printer main body.
Lee teaches a paper guide device for a label printer comprising an adjustable knob (figs. 1-2; adjustment knob 9; ¶[0007]) and a positioning plate attached to the adjustable knob and the printer main body (figs. 2-3; printer body 3, guide members 6 and 7, shaft element 8; ¶[0007], [0012]) is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the paper guide device of Lee into the printer of Hodai in order to provide adjustable means for the guidance of media of different widths.
Regarding claim 3, Hodai as modified by Lee teaches the printer of claim 2. Lee further teaches, upon rotation of the adjustable knob, the positioning plate is configured to move laterally along a portion of the printer main body (fig. 3; ¶[0013]-[0014]).
Regarding claim 4, Hodai teaches the printer of claim 1, however Hodai fails to teach or fairly suggest the at least one guide comprises two guides, each guide including an adjustable knob and a positioning plate attached to the adjustable knob and the printer main body.
Lee teaches a paper guide device for a label printer comprising an adjustable knob (figs. 1-2; adjustment knob 9; ¶[0007]) and two guides, each comprising a positioning plate attached to the adjustable knob and the printer main body (figs. 2-3; printer body 3, guide members 6 and 7, shaft element 8; ¶[0007], [0012]) is well known in the art.
Despite the fact that Lee teaches only a single adjustment knob connected to both guides, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to simply duplicate the adjustment knob taught by Lee in such a manner that each guide is independently connected to a respective adjustment knob, and to incorporate them into the printer of Hodai in order to provide adjustable means for the guidance of media of different widths.
Regarding claim 5, Hodai as modified by Lee teaches the printer of claim 4. Lee further teaches, upon rotation of the at least one adjustable knob, the corresponding positioning plate is configured to move laterally along a portion of the printer main body (fig. 3; ¶[0013]-[0014]).
Regarding claim 6, Hodai as modified by Lee teaches the printer of claim 5. Lee further teaches wherein the positioning plates are configured to move laterally along the portion of the printer main body until the positioning plates define a space to position the associated clothing tag therebetween (fig. 3; ¶[0013]-[0014]).
The associated clothing tag of the claim is not a positively recited element. Instead, it amounts to a material or article worked by the printer of the claim, and does not impart patentability to the claim. Particular attention is invited to MPEP § 2115.
Therefore, despite the fact that Hodai and Lee are silent with respect to a guide configured to position a clothing tag as the medium specifically recited, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hodai and Lee to guide a clothing tag comprised of a material common to clothing tags, e.g. paper or card stock, which are well known in the art.
Regarding claim 12, Hodai teaches the printer of claim 11, however Hodai fails to teach or fairly suggest each guide comprises an adjustable knob and a positioning plate attached to the adjustable knob and the printer main body.
Lee teaches a paper guide device for a label printer comprising an adjustable knob (figs. 1-2; adjustment knob 9; ¶[0007]) and a positioning plate attached to the adjustable knob and the printer main body (figs. 2-3; printer body 3, guide members 6 and 7, shaft element 8; ¶[0007], [0012]) is well known in the art.
Despite the fact that Lee teaches only a single adjustment knob connected to both guides, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to simply duplicate the adjustment knob taught by Lee in such a manner that each guide is independently connected to a respective adjustment knob, and to incorporate them into the printer of Hodai in order to provide adjustable means for the guidance of media of different widths.
Regarding claim 13, Hodai as modified by Lee teaches the printer of claim 12. Lee further teaches wherein, upon rotation of at least one of the adjustable knobs, the corresponding positioning plate is configured to move laterally along the portion of the printer main body until the positioning plates define a space to position the associated clothing tag therebetween (fig. 3; ¶[0013]-[0014]).
Claims 7-9, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodai (US 2021/0187975 A1) in view of De Munck et al. (US 9649857 B2), hereinafter De Munck.
Regarding claim 7, Hodai teaches the printer of claim 1, as detailed above. Hodai further teaches the printer comprising an ink ribbon (fig. 3; ink ribbon 61; ¶[0054]-[0056]), and a touch screen attached to a portion of the printer main body (fig. 1; display unit 25; ¶[0031]-[0032]). However, Hodai fails to teach or fairly suggest the touchscreen configured to receive at least one user input indicative of information to be printed on the associated clothing tag; and control the ink ribbon to print the information to be printed on the clothing tag onto the clothing tag.
De Munck teaches a label printer comprising a touchscreen configured to receive at least one user input indicative of information to be printed on an associated clothing tag; and control an ink ribbon to print the information to be printed on the clothing tag onto the clothing tag (figs. 3-10; printhead 18, main control unit (MCU) 600, touchscreen 606, touch panel 608, touchscreen 612, list 374; see col. 10, ln. 18-42, col. 21, ln. 1-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the touchscreen and controller of De Munck with the printer of Hodai in order to provide a user with selectable options to print a variety of information on a clothing tag.
Regarding claim 8, Hodai as modified by De Munck teaches the printer of claim 7. De Munck further teaches a database configured to store information to be printed on the associated clothing tag, wherein the information to be printed on the clothing tag is retrieved from the database responsive to the at least one user input (fig. 3; non-volatile memory 602; col. 11, ln. 61 to col. 12, ln. 22).
Regarding claim 9, Hodai as modified by De Munck teaches the printer of claim 8. De Munck further teaches the information to be printed on the clothing tag stored in the database includes one or more of price, text, one or more symbols, one or more barcodes, one or more logos, and languages (figs. 5-7J; col. 15, ln. 11-40).
Regarding claim 14, Hodai teaches the printer of claim 11. Hodai further teaches the printer comprising an ink ribbon (fig. 3; ink ribbon 61; ¶[0054]-[0056]), and a touch screen attached to a portion of the printer main body (fig. 1; display unit 25; ¶[0031]-[0032]). However, Hodai fails to teach or fairly suggest the touchscreen configured to receive at least one user input indicative of information to be printed on the associated clothing tag; and control the ink ribbon to print the information to be printed on the clothing tag onto the clothing tag.
De Munck teaches a label printer comprising a touchscreen configured to receive at least one user input indicative of information to be printed on an associated clothing tag; and control an ink ribbon to print the information to be printed on the clothing tag onto the clothing tag (figs. 3-10; printhead 18, main control unit (MCU) 600, touchscreen 606, touch panel 608, touchscreen 612, list 374; see col. 10, ln. 18-42, col. 21, ln. 1-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the touchscreen and controller of De Munck with the printer of Hodai in order to provide a user with selectable options to print a variety of information on a clothing tag.
Regarding claim 15, Hodai as modified by De Munck teaches the printer of claim 7. De Munck further teaches a database configured to store information to be printed on the associated clothing tag, wherein the information to be printed on the clothing tag is retrieved from the database responsive to the at least one user input (fig.3; non-volatile memory 602; col. 11, ln. 61 to col. 12, ln. 22).
Regarding claim 16, Hodai teaches a printer for printing an associated clothing tag, the printer comprising: a printer main body; an ink ribbon (fig. 3; ink ribbon 61; ¶[0054]-[0056]); at least one guide disposed on the printer main body, the at least one guide configured to position the associated clothing tag on a portion of the printer main body (figs. 1-3, 6-10; printer 10, plate members 42R-L, conveying rollers 51-53, guide plate 56; ¶[0038]-[0039], [0047]-[0050]); and a touchscreen attached to a portion of the printer main body (fig. 1; display unit 25; ¶[0031]-[0032]).
However, Hodai fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein the touchscreen is configured to: receive at least one user input indicative of information to be printed on the associated clothing tag; and control the ink ribbon to print the information to be printed on the clothing tag onto the clothing tag.
De Munck teaches a label printer comprising a touchscreen configured to receive at least one user input indicative of information to be printed on an associated clothing tag; and control an ink ribbon to print the information to be printed on the clothing tag onto the clothing tag (figs. 3-10; printhead 18, main control unit (MCU) 600, touchscreen 606, touch panel 608, touchscreen 612, list 374; see col. 10, ln. 18-42, col. 21, ln. 1-28).
Additionally, the associated clothing tag of the claim is not a positively recited element. Instead, it amounts to a material or article worked by the printer of the claim, and therefore does not impart patentability to the claim. Particular attention is invited to MPEP § 2115.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the touchscreen and controller of De Munck with the printer of Hodai in order to provide a user with selectable options to print a variety of information on a clothing tag.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodai in view of De Munck as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2003/0159603 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Hodai as modified by De Munck teaches the printer of clam 16. However, Hodai and De Munck fail to teach or fairly suggest the at least one guide comprises: an adjustable knob; and a positioning plate attached to the adjustable knob and the printer main body.
Lee teaches a paper guide device for a label printer comprising an adjustable knob (figs. 1-2; adjustment knob 9; ¶[0007]) and a positioning plate attached to the adjustable knob and the printer main body (figs. 2-3; printer body 3, guide members 6 and 7, shaft element 8; ¶[0007], [0012]) is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the paper guide device of Lee into the printer of Hodai as modified by De Munck in order to provide adjustable means for the guidance of media of different widths.
Regarding claim 18, Hodai in view of De Munck and Lee teaches the printer of claim 17. Lee further teaches, upon rotation of the adjustable knob, the positioning plate is configured to move laterally along a portion of the printer main body (fig. 3; ¶[0013]-[0014]).
Regarding claim 19, Hodai in view of De Munck teaches the printer of claim 16. However, Hodai and De Munck fail to teach or fairly suggest the at least one guide comprises two guides, each guide including: an adjustable knob; and a positioning plate attached to the adjustable knob and the printer main body.
Lee teaches a paper guide device for a label printer comprising an adjustable knob (figs. 1-2; adjustment knob 9; ¶[0007]) and two guides, each comprising a positioning plate attached to the adjustable knob and the printer main body (figs. 2-3; printer body 3, guide members 6 and 7, shaft element 8; ¶[0007], [0012]) is well known in the art.
Despite the fact that Lee teaches only a single adjustment knob connected to both guides, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to simply duplicate the adjustment knob taught by Lee in such a manner that each guide is independently connected to a respective adjustment knob, and to incorporate them into the printer of Hodai as modified by De Munck in order to provide adjustable means for the guidance of media of different widths.
Regarding claim 20, Hodai in view of De Munck and Lee teaches the printer of claim 19. Lee further teaches wherein, upon rotation of at least one of the adjustable knobs, the corresponding positioning plate is configured to move laterally along the portion of the printer main body until the positioning plates define a space to position the associated clothing tag therebetween (fig. 3; guide members 6 and 7, arrows indicating movement of the guide members; ¶[0013]-[0014]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodai in view of De Munck as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Hashimoto (US 20150002602 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Hodai as modified by De Munck teaches the printer of claim 7, however both Hodai and De Munch fail to teach or fairly suggest a pedal operable by a user to control operation of the ink ribbon to print the information to be printed on the associated clothing tag onto the associated clothing tag.
Hashimoto teaches an ink ribbon printer comprising a pedal operable by a user to control operation of the ink ribbon to print the information to be printed on an associated medium onto the associated medium (fig. 1, 5; print button 107; ¶[0039]-[0040]).
The associated clothing tag of the claim is not a positively recited element. Instead, it amounts to a material or article worked by the printer of the claim, and therefore does not impart patentability to the claim. Particular attention is invited to MPEP § 2115.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pedal of Hashimoto into the printer of Hodai as modified by De Munck to provide a compact, integrated physical means by which the printer can be operated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ohnishi et al. (US 20140255075 A1) teaches an ink ribbon printer comprising a guide portion. Bouverie et al. (US 20130016368 A1) teaches an ink ribbon printer comprising an adjustable guide section. Dunn et al. (US 6835013 B2) teaches an ink ribbon printer comprising an input section for receiving using input.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TRK/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853