DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is in response to communication filed on 07/30/2024. Claims 1 – 20 are pending on this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-4, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. U.S. patent No. 10,608,655.
Regarding claim 1. Fig. 5 of Li et al. discloses a method of calibrating a residue amplifier (RGA 116; Col. 1 lines 34-36) in a pipelined analog-to-digital converter (Col. 9 lines 37-38), comprising: obtaining a first calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 59-60) of a residue amplifier (116) that amplifies a first residue voltage (Col. 9 lines 59-60), which is output from a capacitive digital-to-analog converter (112; see Fig. 2) of a first stage (Col. 9 lines 40-42) of the pipelined ADC (Col. 9 lines 37-38), to a voltage output (first output voltage of 116) corresponding to a first output code (D1) of a second stage (162, 164) of the pipelined ADC (Col. 9 lines 37-38); obtaining a second calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 62-64) of the residue amplifier (119) that amplifies a second residue voltage (Col. 9 lines 62-64), which is output from the CDAC (DAC 112) of the first stage of the pipelined ADC (Col. 9 lines 40-42), to a voltage (second voltage output of 116 ) corresponding to a second output code (D2) of the second stage (162, 164) of the pipelined ADC (Col. 9 lines 40-42); and determining a final calibrated gain (determining 166 and CAL ENGINE) of the residue amplifier (RGA 116, Col. 1 lines 34-36) based on the first calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 59-60) and the second calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 62-64).
Regarding claim 2. The method of claim 1, Fig. 10 and Fig. 11 of Li et al. further discloses wherein the first residue voltage (Col. 9 lines 59-60) is a positive voltage (VREFP) and the second residue voltage (Col. 9 lines 62-64) is a negative voltage (VREFN).
Regarding claim 3. The method of claim 2, Fig. 3 of Li et al. further discloses wherein the first residue voltage (Col. 9 lines 59-60) corresponds to 1 least significant bit (LSB b0 connected to positive reference Vrp) and the second residue voltage (Col. 9 lines 62-64) corresponds to -1 LSB (LSB b0 connected to negative reference Vrn)
Regarding claim 4. The method of claim 1, Fig. 5 further discloses wherein determining the final calibrated gain (determining 166 and CAL ENGINE) comprises calculating an average (Col. 9 lines 15-17) of the first calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 59-60) and the second calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 62-64).
Regarding claim 15. Fig. 5 of Li et al. discloses an apparatus (160) for calibrating a residue amplifier (RGA 116; Col. 1 lines 34-36) in a pipelined analog-to-digital converter (Col. 9 lines 37-38), the apparatus (160) being a controller (Col. 3 lines 50-55) , comprising: a memory (Co. 14 lines 50-60); and at least one processor (Col. 14 lines 50-60) coupled to the memory (Col. 14 line 50-60) and configured to: obtaining a first calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 59-60) of a residue amplifier (116) that amplifies a first residue voltage (Col. 9 lines 59-60), which is output from a capacitive digital-to-analog converter (112; see Fig. 2) of a first stage (Col. 9 lines 40-42) of the pipelined ADC (Col. 9 lines 37-38), to a voltage output (first output voltage of 116) corresponding to a first output code (D1) of a second stage (162, 164) of the pipelined ADC (Col. 9 lines 37-38); obtaining a second calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 62-64) of the residue amplifier (119) that amplifies a second residue voltage (Col. 9 lines 62-64), which is output from the CDAC (DAC 112) of the first stage of the pipelined ADC (Col. 9 lines 40-42), to a voltage (second voltage output of 116 ) corresponding to a second output code (D2) of the second stage (162, 164) of the pipelined ADC (Col. 9 lines 40-42); and determining a final calibrated gain (determining 166 and CAL ENGINE) of the residue amplifier (RGA 116, Col. 1 lines 34-36) based on the first calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 59-60) and the second calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 62-64).
Regarding claim 16. The apparatus of claim 15, Fig. 10 and Fig. 11 of Li et al. further discloses wherein the first residue voltage (Col. 9 lines 59-60) is a positive voltage (VREFP) and the second residue voltage (Col. 9 lines 62-64) is a negative voltage (VREFN).
Regarding clam 17. The apparatus of claim 16, Fig. 3 of Li et al. further discloses wherein the first residue voltage (Col. 9 lines 59-60) corresponds to 1 least significant bit (LSB b0 connected to positive reference Vrp) and the second residue voltage (Col. 9 lines 62-64) corresponds to -1 LSB (LSB b0 connected to negative reference Vrn)
Regarding claim 18. The apparatus of claim 15, Fig. 5 further discloses wherein determining the final calibrated gain (determining 166 and CAL ENGINE) comprises calculating an average (Col. 9 lines 15-17) of the first calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 59-60) and the second calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 62-64).
Regarding claim 20. Fig. 5 of Li et al discloses a computer-readable medium storing computer executable code for operation of a controller (Co. 14 lines 50-60), comprising code to: obtaining a first calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 59-60) of a residue amplifier (116) that amplifies a first residue voltage (Col. 9 lines 59-60), which is output from a capacitive digital-to-analog converter (112; see Fig. 2) of a first stage (Col. 9 lines 40-42) of the pipelined ADC (Col. 9 lines 37-38), to a voltage output (first output voltage of 116) corresponding to a first output code (D1) of a second stage (162, 164) of the pipelined ADC (Col. 9 lines 37-38); obtaining a second calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 62-64) of the residue amplifier (119) that amplifies a second residue voltage (Col. 9 lines 62-64), which is output from the CDAC (DAC 112) of the first stage of the pipelined ADC (Col. 9 lines 40-42), to a voltage (second voltage output of 116 ) corresponding to a second output code (D2) of the second stage (162, 164) of the pipelined ADC (Col. 9 lines 40-42); and determining a final calibrated gain (determining 166 and CAL ENGINE) of the residue amplifier (RGA 116, Col. 1 lines 34-36) based on the first calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 59-60) and the second calibrated gain (Col. 9 lines 62-64).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 5-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior arts do not teach: amplifying, by the residue amplifier, a third residue voltage output from the CDAC of the first stage of the pipelined ADC using the final calibrated gain to obtain a third amplified residue voltage; determining a third output code of the second stage of the pipelined ADC corresponding to the third amplified residue voltage; amplifying, by the residue amplifier, a fourth residue voltage output from the CDAC of the first stage of the pipelined ADC using the final calibrated gain to obtain a fourth amplified residue voltage; determining a fourth output code of the second stage of the pipelined ADC corresponding to the fourth amplified residue voltage; and determining an offset of the residue amplifier based on the third output code and the fourth output code.
6. Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior arts do not teach: wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: amplify, by the residue amplifier, a third residue voltage output from the CDAC of the first stage of the pipelined ADC using the final calibrated gain to obtain a third amplified residue voltage; determine a third output code of the second stage of the pipelined ADC corresponding to the third amplified residue voltage; amplify, by the residue amplifier, a fourth residue voltage output from the CDAC of the first stage of the pipelined ADC using the final calibrated gain to obtain a fourth amplified residue voltage; determine a fourth output code of the second stage of the pipelined ADC corresponding to the fourth amplified residue voltage; and determine an offset of the residue amplifier based on the third output code and the fourth output code.
Contact Information
03/11/2026
/LINH V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845